Tulsa (Sperry), OK 
Mack Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: notrpmp Hole #4
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Pleasant roadside surprise in Sperry!

1    5/22/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 117  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-baskets pretty good when I played here (Mach something...)
-concrete tees, decent signs/navigation
-good "disc golf trees" without tons of low branches; this makes for fun lines weaving through trees without having to worry about the ceiling too much (bring a Comet!)
-good use of a little creek on 9
-fun holes that seemed better than average when compared to other little 9-hole courses I've played; not just a pitch and putt
Cons:
-on holidays or afternoons, the first half of the course might be pretty crowded (this is a guess based on the location of the pavilion, picnic tables, etc.)
-I played just after some rain, and there were a couple swampy areas (especially on holes 3 and 5)
-9 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun little course on the northern outskirts of Tulsa. It's definitely in the top half of all 9-hole courses I've played, mainly because of the use of the trees and the challenge being higher than many similar courses. This is not one where intermediate players or beginners can expect to birdie every hole. You ought to have chances, but your golf shots need to be working to score well here.

Rating: I have a hard time going above 2.5 mainly because I'm comparing to the other courses I've rated. I'm not knocking the course, but it is what it is. The designers did very well with the park they had available, and I really like playing through the kind of trees here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Miniature Hakiey

1    3/23/2017   3/23/2017
Review By: Trip68
Played: 31  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great 3 hole course. One of the best.
Wooded, but not as frustrating as Chandler.
Not crowded.
Optional tee' s on some holes.
10 holes! Kinda unique.
Cons: Only con is the baskets.
Kinda rough, but playable.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for all.
No jogging path, no playground equipment to get in the way.

Don't know if Sperry can budget new baskets, or maybe a private donor would be awesome.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Everyday

5+    10/24/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Schuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is a nice place. The trees provide greate shade and definately add to the challenge. The best part of this place is no matter the wind direction, it will not effect your shot. The greens have thinner tree dispersal, but outside of the park there are denser stands that block N and S winds.
Cons: The lack of options when shooting. There is basically only one lane for some of the holes you have to hit to get it to the pin. The ground holds water pretty well after a rain. The tee pads are a little short.
Other Thoughts: Great place. When playing for a full day I come here first to warm up then I will hit some other courses. Great location and easy to find.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very interesting

1    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a 9 holer, this was very neat. The location was interesting to say the least. It sits in "rest area" next to a busy road. There are big beautiful tress that run through the whole park. It kind of has an East Texas feel because of the setting and the trees. There are nice concrete tee pads and accurate tee signs as well. The baskets are ok even though they are old and worn down. Mostly all of the shots are midrange shots but there are a couple of driver holes. The trees make for tunnels that must be hit to score well. There is tons of shade which is good on a hot day. Navigation is very easy for the newcomers. The bathrooms that are on the grounds are nice to have. Nobody else out there so playing at your own pace and being able to throw multiple throws without holding other people up is possible. Very beginner friendly with technical holes but they are fun as well. No places to lose plastic. The course was mowed and very clean but there were only a couple of trash cans there.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Found a couple of the alt tees but only 3 of them. The parking lot was kind of shady, when we pulled up there was some funny business going on, but they soon left.
Other Thoughts: Very cool little park. There is a playground there so the little ones have something to do if they dont want to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Signs
- Concrete Tees
- Very clean park and never crowded.
- Lots of Trees which makes even the short holes challenging.
Cons: - Holes 4 and 5 are very close together. This would only be a problem if it was busy, but I couldn't ever imagine that.
- Could be very wet if just recently rained.
Other Thoughts: - I think with a little rearranging, you could make this little park into 18 holes. But it is a very fun little course even with 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little gem

4/22/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty park. Not ever crowded. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Alternate teed back 9 is difficult to navigate. No concrete pads for it. Just look for the blue boards on the ground.
Other Thoughts: I like this little course. Lots of trees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.