Manawa, WI 
Manawa Middle School Share
Uploaded By: dmerkle Hole #2 (Taken 9/2015)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Not as bad as expected

1    6/10/2017   6/11/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 252  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts by the north end of the parking lot of the ELEMENTARY school not the middle school first off. The baskets are all Mach 3's that are all still in surprisingly good shape for being permanent. The flow is very easy for the first 6 holes at least. The course will never, and I mean NEVER be busy when playable. Which is not during school hours. This is an excellent course to learn the game for younger players which is always a plus. Plus if I lived here I'd be happy to have this here. There is some elevation and some woods. The distances aren't crazy long for anyone on this site but are actually very challenging for little kids (maybe a bit much so). This also seems like it'd be pretty windy with the open farmland around here adding to the challenge.
Cons: It is a bit tricky to find the final 3 holes I will admit. Basically all you have to do is walk west across the street from the north parking lot of the elementary school and you'll see a post and 4'x4' marker between the woods to your left and the baseball diamond to your right. The next 2 play in the woods back towards the road. Just not well marked for first timers. The signs are long gone and only a handful of post even remain on the first six.
Other Thoughts: This course is better than a lot of school courses I've played. There's nothing more annoying to me than people complaining about navigation issues in reviews but then NOT helping others out with them in the review. I get that not too many people are actually going to play here. But I did and it would have been amazing to know where hole 7 was. That can make peoples experiences better at certain courses. I don't recommend going anywhere out of your way to play this but if you're nearby it is a pretty quick round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Something to do if stuck in Manawa (aka Sturm Foods)

2-4    9/17/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: dmerkle
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1
Pros: A quick drive from the Sturm Foods facility, so you can jump over on a long lunch break or for a quick round after work. Baskets are still in good condition and the ground is well maintained on 1 through 6. Decent elevation changes on the first few holes.
Cons: Can't be played during school hours.
Corn fields will devour discs if you're not careful.
Not impossible to hit the school or kiddies at the playground.
Signage is missing in many places.
Tee boxes are not well defined.
Not easy to find 7 through 9.
8 and 9 need to have some work done in the forest.
Other Thoughts: This course should be called the Manawa Elementary School because that's where a majority of the holes are at. Not a course worth going more than 20 minutes out of your way for but still in good enough condition that it's worth the time if you're in the area.

Why did I go here?

1    8/22/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: Apparently this is a 9 hole course, that wraps around the middle school. More on this later.

Ummmm....errrrrr....uhhhh...well, there's baskets. I guess that's a positive. There's also a nice parking lot, so it's got that going for it.
Cons: It says here (and in reviews below) that this is a 9 hole course. I only saw 6 baskets...and if there were three more holes across the road, I wasn't going to waste the time to find them.

Good luck finding the tee pads. There were a couple posts that used to have some semblance of signs on them, but those were pretty much disintegrated. Near the posts, there were boards in the ground, but I could only find a few of them.

The first couple holes play next to corn fields, which I imagine would do a fine job of hiding discs if you were to throw into it.
Other Thoughts: This course helped me to realize something about myself. I'm a sadist course bagger. You have to really hate yourself to go out of your way to play this place. Thankfully, it's off limits during school hours, so you won't be tempted then, at least.

 Manawa Mania

1    8/28/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 947  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Boards in the ground mark the tees although a few of them were not found by me.

2) Mach baskets with the number plates facing the tee . . . nice work!

3) Benches were available along the upper ridge on the first few holes.

4) Good variety of where you get the challenge on this course. First three holes present elevation change and wind. Holes 4-6 are all fairly short flat and open and this is where you need to get your birdies. Then holes 7-9 present you with dense woods to navigate.

5) Hole distances are varied somewhat creating different holes with distance variation.

6) Turf is in good condition in most spots.

7) Course seems to be free of garbage.

8)
Cons: 1) Signs are missing or destroyed in most places, boards in the ground are very tough to find in spots,

2) Navigation from 6-7 is not intuitive at all and there is no sign.

3) Not enough challenge on this course to bring me back often.

4) Hole #8 and 9 needs some serious cleaning to make the hole "realistic". If this happens the course will be much better.

5) Grass tees in the open areas and dirt in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This course is jekyll and hyde because the first 3 holes are nearly wide open and use elevation as about the only interest. Holes 4-6 are flat and wide open, and Holes 7-9 include the only trees on the course, but Holes 8 and 9 seem to just be too tight to be a really good holes. Some underbrush needs to be removed to have a "realistic fairway", but overall there is a balance that makes this course playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better school courses

1    8/4/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 198  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 21.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good baskets
-Decent tee signage
-Good distance and shot shape variety
Cons: -Dirt tees
-Navigation a bit confusing at the end
Other Thoughts: It's a typical school layout, running around the periphery of the school grounds. The good news is that it doesn't conflict with school playgrounds, so one could play it during school hours, but it might be discouraged. There is a nice variety of terrain to throw, but it's mostly wide open. The last two holes follow a nature trail through some thick woods. Hole distances are appropriate for the width of the fairways.

The final three holes are across the road, so some simple signage leading the way would be nice.

In all, a nice 9 holes for most skill levels.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.