Palatine, IL 
Margreth Riemer Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Interesting Reservoir Course

2-4    7/27/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a large hill with two ponds at the bottom.

Uses elevation fairly well.

Good signs, tee pads, and baskets.

Good practice in wind, as it is a open course with few trees.

Uses punishing rough on sides of fairway to force better throws from the tee.
Cons: Rough can be very thick and underestimated when playing. Makes looking for even a slightly poor throw take longer than it should. Always look where it goes.

Pretty open and fairly short course with little obstacles between you and the hole.
Other Thoughts: It is an interesting place to play and it does well with the land it is on. Overall it is an average 9 hole course, but I may stop by now and again to play a round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Simple at First Glance

5+    7/14/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Tom_rrsh
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well defined fairways, excellent signage, and good use of change of elevation .
Cons: Can be overly windy, no trees (for shade or for obstacles), a walking/jogging/biking path winds through the course so you do have to be very mindful of pedestrians/joggers/cyclists. Very tall and very thick grass on either side of the fairway can make it difficult to find your disc if you don't keep it on the fairway. Perilous brick tee boxes that can be slippery, and create footing problems
Other Thoughts: This course has the same feel as the old course at St. Andrews, thick roughs and strong winds. That being said, the narrow fairways actually make this a very technical course. Beginners will lose discs. There are several holes that I recommend sacrificing distance for accuracy, specifically hole 7 which is short enough to drive to the basket, but strong cross winds and a steep hill along the right edge of the fairway may make you reconsider. Holes 2 and 5 are unique. Hole 2 is a blind, downhill, dogleg left, that can be very unforgiving. Hole 5 is a down hill dog leg right, and if you go to the right of the basket at all you may find yourself looking for a disc for a very long time, because of the steep hill down to the reservoir, and the tall grass. But for the most part if you can keep it straight, you will have no problems with this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Windy And Smelly

2-4    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: Derbodis
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great distances for each hole

-Not usually too crowded

-Pretty difficult to land a disc in the retention basin water

-Easy to find discs in the high grass

-Many of the holes are straight forward, no confusion

-Signs have an accurate mapping of where the hole is

-Nice size tees
Cons: -The water smells like rotten eggs and sulfur

-Although easy to find the discs, it takes a while to actually do so. Once you are within 5 feet of the disc, you won't miss it. Otherwise, you're searching for a while just for the area

-On top of a big reservoir hill, so the wind takes your disc for a ride (not usually towards the hole)

-Steep drop-offs from the tee to the fairway
Other Thoughts: With my group, we found 2 discs while here. One was in the retention pond, so it smells awful! Of course that's the one i happened to find. Another was just in the tall grass a ways off of the 7th hole. Not exactly beginner friendly, but oh well. Adds to the challenge

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OPEN

5+    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a unique park for the area. There are some large hills sloping toward the retention ponds. This is a very open area with tall grass. Only a few trees scattered around the park.

Tee signs and brick tee pads

Good Mach 3 baskets with # plates.

Couple of fast sloping greens.
Cons: Very wide open. I can throw a right hand back hand hyzer on every hole.

The tee pads are rather short and there is no run up room from behind since they are elevated off the ground.

Larger areas of tall grass could be mowed around the baskets making it more enjoyable to play.

Several holes play very close together. They built a fence to protect the tee of #7 of incoming hyzer bombs from #6.

Water was not utilized in the design.
Other Thoughts: I would not drive too far out of your way to pay this course.

Durty Nellies is not far away. Great place to get a drink and there have been some pretty good bands that play here.
http://www.durtynellies.com /

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not your average park

5+    10/15/2013   7/10/2011
Review By: hankbuck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Volunteer "Stewards of the Course" have been, mowing to expand playability one all holes, making this course much easier to play without as much risk of losing discs then previously. The course is in great shape right now.

The Challenging Course, the tall grasses force you to play the course as it is laid out. Good change of elevations. Other than dog walking this park is pretty much dedicated to disc golf. You can download a scorecard from the Palatine Park District web site, and also submit your low scores.
Cons: If you don't stay on the course, it is easy to lose discs, and you might want to wear long pants, because some of the prairie is rough on the legs. But I have found more disc's then I've lost.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if this course was 18 holes. It looks like they have the room.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Growing Up - Updated 7/12/2013

5+    6/16/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 125  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In my reviews I normally try to write just enough to be descriptive and helpful. For this course, my home course, I hope readers can tolerate a bit more.

Margreth Riemer Disc Golf Course has just been expanded to 18 holes. I may be biased because I have been working on the expansion for several years, but I truly believe that once tee-pads are in and the back nine is "broken in" a bit more that this course will be one of the best in the Northern Suburbs and will be a true 3.5 rated course.

But that's an opinion subject to debate. What can't be debated are the facts.

*The scenery here is unlike any course in the area. From hole 15's teepad on the hill you can see all of Palatine and can even see the Chicago skyline on a clear day. The hill is one of my favorite places to be because it's such a great view!

(Okay that was more of an opinion, now onto the facts)

*This course is the only course in the area where elevation drastically comes into play on just about every hole on the course

*There is a huge variety of distances in the hole lengths ranging from just under 200' to the upper 400's and everywhere in between.

*Even though the park is busy, the course is well isolated and other park users don't come into play. A lot of park district run courses in the Chicago area are cramped... not the case here. The course is sprawled out over an 85 acre park.

*Walking through this course is quite a workout... the hilly terrain makes for great exercise.

The obvious signature hole on the course is hole 15... a huge 420-ish foot bomb down a giant hill. But holes 2, 8, 11, and 16 are also epic holes that would fit right in on high caliber courses.

Since its installation in 2004, the front nine has not been super popular among the DG community, mostly because it does not have nearly as many trees as is often preferred, making for a relatively easy round. Now, however, the challenging back nine compliments the "warmup" front nine nicely.
Cons: This course is not perfect, and it never will be. The underlying "con" of the course as a whole is the dismal state of the roughs. It can get very very long and can eat up discs unless you watch carefully and use a spotter. It's very unpleasant to walk through and I hate it! The Park District will never go wrong with mowing more here.

Also,

*Most disc golfers, myself included, enjoy trees. There aren't a whole lot of them here!
The dearth of trees means there's not much shade on hot Summer days, and a round of 18 holes can be pretty grueling.
Other Thoughts: I think this review will be lost in the reviews since it was originally an older one, but that's okay. Hopefully some people will see it and find it helpful.

As I mentioned earlier, once the back nine of this course is broken in a little it should be a great Chicagoland destination course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Palatine Course

1    5/17/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 139  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Putting a disc golf course in this area was a great idea, the land is definitely great for it. There's a lot of elevation change here and I had a good time playing it. The course flows very, very well and I didn't lose anytime looking for the next tee.
Cons: It'd probably just be easiest to list these:
- Watch out for the red-winged blackbirds. I was attacked at the first tee by one of these little kamikaze bastards. They're the most aggressive bird I've ever seen.
- The lakes that this course play through are kind of gross looking and polluted and that gives this course a sort of gloomy vibe
- The grass is pretty high in the rough which makes it pretty painful to look for bad drives.
- There's only 9 holes when this course could easily be expanded to several more.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of your way to play this course. It was a nice break from driving for me but I don't necessarily know if I'd go back and play it again. This course doesn't really offer any signature memorable holes, but if you have an hour to kill and you're in the area, you might as well check it out. :)

EDIT: Updated an old 2.0 rating to 3.0 because of the nine new baskets. I haven't played it with the new nine yet though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Time

1    9/10/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic park, and great elevation change. Many holes seemed wide open and easy to birdie/eagle, but wind and a few well placed trees added more difficulty than expected. Designers could have used the elevation a bit more but I think it was used solidly. The wind can make the holes seem longer then they are. Favorite hole was either 2 or 5. Two seems short but it is easy to shank your tee shot; the hole is flat for about 100ft, but then drops at about a 45 degree angle for the last 150 to the pin. Even keeping your tee shot down wont prevent it from ending up wide left or right depending on how you throw. Five is a dogleg that plays a bit more tricky then it looks. For rhbh players you have to choose to either drive straight at the pin or hyzer it around a tree, both shots are great risk/reward.
Cons: Could be a little longer and use the elevation more. It would also be nice to see more trees put in around the course to make it a bit more difficult.
Other Thoughts: Playing this course at 6:30pm and the temperature at 65, I had a great time playing. The rough wasn't as bad as some people have reported, although I think this is because I played later in the season and it was trampled down a bit. There are some very fun holes and with a little work this course could be a lot better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

1    6/23/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of air space to take pretty much any line you'd like.
- Solid elevation.
- Well mowed fairways
- Different then most courses in the area
- Not crowded
- Decent Teepads
- Baskets are in great shape
- Tee signs are solid
- Course flows well
Cons: - Not required to hit any particular line.
- The wind swirls up and over the hilly terrain and is difficult to read.
- The rough is thick and it can be hard to track errant throws.
- Course lacks challenge besides the wind.
- Tee pads are too small.
- The hole design is not all that interesting, and does not utilize elevation to its fullest.
Other Thoughts: Margreth Riemer Reservoir is basically a prairie course with very few aerial obstacles. You can choose pretty much any line you want. What's more important than your line is where your disc lands. If you do not sit a shot in the fairway it will be in knee high grass. In combination with the rolling hills and minimal reference points errant throws are hard to track even if you watch your throw finish. Wind is likely the biggest challenge factor on this course. With lack of trees its hard to read the prairie grass and figure out what the wind is doing down the fairway. The overall course design is lack luster and has very little wow factor. A more "aggressive" course designer might be able to utilize the elevation better but the lack of aerial obstacles is a major detriment to the course. Really the only way to raise my rating of this course would be a complete redesign. Hit it if you are in the area or want to learn how to play the wind. Otherwise it is not worth the trip.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    9/12/2009   6/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 463  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Deceptively tough course makes great use of area (plays around two reservoirs).
- Pretty significant elevation changes on some holes, which is great in this part of the state. Hole #3 is a good upshot, even if it is a bit short. Also some nice downhill holes to crank on.
- Fairways are clear. Tall, thick grass as rough on every hole makes accuracy a bonus.
- Decent hole length. All can be deuced, but only a few are gimmees.
- A few strategically placed trees can make a big impact (#1 has two that seem to be put there to aggravate golfers)
- Good scenery, especially in the back reservoir.
Cons: - Tee pads and baskets are OK, could use some new ones.
- Watch that disc... in some parts, especially on the sloping parts, the rough can be brutal.
- Some holes are pretty brainless, with no obstacles and no length.
Other Thoughts: - I would recommend bringing a disc that won't act too squirrelly. If you shank one, and it heads towards the water, you could be in for a long search.
- Usually pretty windy up here, which only compounds the need for a predictable disc. Can make for some interesting rounds.
- Doesn't get too wet, compared to some other courses, due to the elevation. This is always good.
- Definitely a unique course in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.