Florence, SC 
Mars Bluff Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great Idea!

1    5/27/2018   3/26/2019
Review By: williams363
Played: 52  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy 9 holes that play really fast.

Some technicality in the wooded area.

Good for practicing mid-range discs.
Cons: Not much here to complain about other than it's small and not very difficult. But it wasn't designed for amateur or pro level players.
Other Thoughts: While traveling, I decided to stop by. Glad elementary schools are giving their kids the opportunity to learn the game and play at school. It's a huge positive for the game overall. Wouldn't travel here to play this course; but it's good for the community and kids locally to learn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mars a-hacks

1    4/1/2018   4/2/2018
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 325  Reviewed: 320  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mars Bluff is a short, simple 9-hole layout. If you overlook the flaws, you will see the makings of a decent, beginner-friendly layout.
- Short and fast. That's your round here. Average hole length is 164 feet with only two longer than 175. I carried three discs and that was one too many.
- Course offered some decent layouts. #1 starts out throwing between two trees, but that's only to disguise a wide-open layout. Holes #3 & 4 play in the woods. #7 is the best hole by far, a 272-foot, slight downhill shot throwing through a generous gap to an open field. Course needs several more holes of this caliber to be taken seriously.
- Holes #3 & 4 are nothing more than glorified long/lag putts. I nailed my long putt on #3 - can't call a 95-foot shot an ace - and skimmed my putt on #4 to within 3 feet of the basket.
- There's plenty of room to grow and/or modify layouts here. You could easily remove one of the lesser holes - #4 or #8, for example, and create a better layout with minimal effort.
- Aimed at kids/beginners. Course is behind an elementary school. Enough said.
Cons: Course is in a state of disrepair and neglect. The basket for #5 is gone. Several other baskets are bent and/or leaning. Also, I couldn't find a tee marker for #6.
- The course is lacking challenge and enjoyment. Except for #7 or 9, I felt like I was practicing approach shots, trying to get up and down in 2. I guess that's what happens with a course that features 4 holes at 111 feet or shorter.
- No amenities here: benches, bathrooms, water fountains, or trash cans. That's only going to be an issue if you're trying to play a 24-hour marathon. Everyone else will be gone in 20 minutes or less for their round. It was 13 minutes from the time I turned off my truck to when I was back in it.
Other Thoughts: This wasn't what I expected. Had wanted to bag the course for a long time because it wasn't 'that far' out of the way. I pictured it in a neighborhood park; didn't realize this was a school course.
- This course is best served as a practice spot. With open fields and baskets, you can be practicing all types of shots, angles, and goals.
- That said, even if I were going to college across the street, I don't know how often I'd stop by here. It's clear the course isn't a priority for anyone.
- Florence needs a better course than this. There's got to be a park with enough room to make a more enjoyable layout than this one.
- With a little attention, course gets a ratings bump from me. As it is, it's a one-and-done for me. At least I carded a 1, which is still a higher rating than this course deserves.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great course for the kids!

5+    3/16/2018   3/16/2018
Review By: Sparkles
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great ace race chances with short holes and a great beginner course to teach on.
-Easy to navigate layout with good signage.
-Greens are kept very well.
-Baskets are in decent shape (except hole #5 is missing)
-Very quiet and relaxing location.
Cons: -Too easy for more advanced players. (this course is designed for kids)
-Wildlife on holes #4 trough #6 can become a problem during the summer months.
-Only open on the weekends or when School is closed.

Other Thoughts: I had a blast at this course with my 6 and 7 yr olds. They really got into this course with it being easier. I loved that the smaller layout engaged them into the sport of disc golf. A great place to hold Ace Races and family gatherings with the course also having a huge picnic area with tables.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the most fun of any of the elementary school courses that I've played. I wouldn't have said that after the first two holes. A wide-open shot 90-foot shot across a field. A 200-foot similar shot. But then the course actually veers into the woods. Yes, the shots are short. Very short. But there are some tight channels to throw down. Though little more than upshots, at least these are interesting upshots.
There are some more open shots at the end but the open shots here are well-maintained and look much nice than those at similar courses. I think it has the potential to provide a great introduction to the game for kids, mostly because of how interesting the holes are. They won't be making throw after throw across open space, especially since most holes are under 100 feet. (If this were close to the highway, it'd be worth a stop for those that want ace runs.)
I also appreciated how much the course stayed away from parts of school property that could be damaged or would often feature other student activities.
Cons: The major issue is the tree down across the middle of the fairway that at this point, I would assume is never going to be removed. On the one hand, it's not a big deal, no one is here for an elite experience. On the other, kids are going to trying to cross this hazard.
A third of the tee shots are approaches. The course is an elementary course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Where Is the Love?

1    9/22/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 115  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course at an elementary school, and right next to a university, so it is terrific exposure for the sport to people who could well become life long disc golfers.

There are a couple of interesting holes, mainly 4, 5, and 7, but 5 is in need of major maintenance, and 7 needs a little love too.

Hole 5 is a nice right turning shot through the woods with a finish out in the open, but was only barely playable on my visit (more on this in the cons section). Hole 7 is a slightly downhill shot through an early gap between two rows of trees, but if you've got the arm for it there's a monster hyzer line out to the right over the trees, but a bit of trimming is needed to make either of these lines play well. I also enjoyed the first hole, teeing off between two trees to a fairly close by basket for a good ace run. Speaking of ace runs, this course is full of them, and that's not a bad thing.
Cons: This course needs some love. It needs somebody to love it. It needs maintenance. When I visited, hole 5 was only barely playable due to two downed trees. Hole 7 needed some good trimming to make it play better. While I personally like the potential challenge hole 7 could provide, I don't think it's a very appropriate hole for elementary school kids. There was a damp swampy ditch not too far off the tee, right at the gap in the trees that would likely come into play heavily for an elementary schooler, especially if they missed the gap a little and caught a tree.

Several of the holes are kind of filler-ish, if you know what I mean. After two holes, I thought this was going to just be 9 baskets in a field. In reality, it's more like 4 or 5 baskets in a field, and 4 or 5 holes that require at least a little shot making.

Hole 3's basket is only 15 or so feet from the middle of 4's fairway. Speaking of hole 3, it's basket is not the one right in front of you as you walk up to the tee from the previous basket. That's the basket for hole 6. 3's basket is off to the left, into the woods, a little confusing on the navigation front. And speaking of hole 6, I kind of thought this was a weird-ish hole. It seemed to me that the turn to get around the trees to the basket within the given length of the hole was a bit too severe, although in retrospect, I think a cut roller may work well there.

The tee sign posts were easy to spot, but many of the actual tee markers were nowhere to be seen, and some of the baskets were in rough shape, bent from what seemed like close encounters of the lawnmower kind, but still quite functional.
Other Thoughts: I ran into a group of what appeared to be Francis Marion students playing the course, and queried them about the maintenance issues. They indicated that hole 5 had been blocked since December 2012, 10 months earlier, which leads me to ask, "Where Is the Love?" It seems that this is a course with potential, in an area that has few disc golf options. It needs somebody to care for it. I would probably give this course a solid 2 disc score if it were well kept, as it is, it's a one for me.

There is a convenience store within quick walking distance of the course for any snack/refreshment/restroom needs. I don't recall seeing any benches on the course, or any restrooms or water fountains at the park.

Hopefully, someone will start to care for this course and it won't fall into a state of unusable disrepair. While I wouldn't go too far out of my way to play, I think Mars Bluff could be a great success with a little love.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Race Place

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *All Innova Discatcher Pros
*All Tee's are marked with numbered post.
*Easy navigation with good signage.
*2 of the Holes had fairly wooded designs.
*A great course for children to learn the sport.
Cons: *Very short distances that offer little challenge
*Located on School property, this course is too congested to play on weekdays.
*A Beginner Course or Ace-Race course, there is no-real challenge for better players.
*The goal for #6 is damaged.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is small, I still found it worthy of at least playing as a warm-up or ace race course. The design for this course was perfect taking in consideration the small amount of land used. If in the neighborhood, I would recommend to at least try once.
*Great course to introduce children or new players.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/4/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: mattpoin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great course to learn on.
Cons: The design is boring--lots of flat, open fields with no obstacles. Access is limited to hours when the neighboring school is out.
Other Thoughts: Holes 3 and 4 cross over each other. If playing on a day with heavy traffic (which is unlikely), it could create a problem.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Not too good

1    10/10/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: troydurham
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course had 3 holes that were OK. It was easy to find the course....
Cons: Tee boxes were hard to find. Hard to find where the next basket was... Course was very short and way to open...
Other Thoughts: Not a great course..

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rest stop on your way to Myrtle Beach.

1    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 130  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a small park rec course that is directly behind Wallace Gregg Elementary School.
-Nice little course that is perfect for introducing new players to the sport. As well as offering an activity for non-players, or even an afternoon activity to take a date.
-As it's been said, there are 2 holes that are under 100ft. So if you are looking for that place to empty your bag trying for an ace, this is it. *#3 will make you earn it, since it's 15ft inside the tree line. Good Luck, and have fun!
-If you are coming to Myrtle Beach, by way of Florence, then a stop here can make for a nice break.
-great place to practice your short game.
-If you have children, then there is playground equipment nearby.
-DISCatchers
-Sign posts, with footage.
*I made a course map, and added it to the "links/files" tab.
Cons: -Some of the markers are missing, but the tee signs put you nearby.
-#3 doesn't specify where the basket is, so it's very easy to mistake the #6 basket for number 3. Just remember, that 3 is in the trees on the left.
-Because this Course requires you to park on school property, and more specifically where the buses pick up the kids. School hours may not be the best time to play here.
-Did not see any bathrooms or porto's nearby. I think we can safely assume, the elementary school is off limits.
Other Thoughts: Mars Bluff is what it is: A small playground rec course. You aren't going to come here for a challenge. Maybe a DG fix, to introduce a new player, to add another course to your courses played list, but it's not going to be for the challenge. I played this course with one disc, and shot well under par.

I've updated the "Map Location". It now pinpoints the correct location of the first teebox. The course is behind an elementary school that is about a half mile down Francis Marion road. The school will be on your right. (Provided you are coming from 501/E Palmetto) When you turn into the parking lot, drive along the front of the school until you see a road that goes behind the school. Look for the Bus schedule signs. The park will be on your left. In other words, The park is on the South side of the school, and in back off to the side.

The course is very clean, and in good shape. Except for the bent basket on #6. There are nice wrought-iron park benches located throughout the course. It may not be a challenging course, but a person could have fun here. Especially if you are introducing new players to the game. It's not a bad little course, it's primarily to be enjoyed by locals, elementary students, and the College students down the street. If I was on my way to Myrtle Beach, and I needed a 15 minute breather this place is perfect. I wouldn't drive out of my way to play here, or make a special trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cubby's Wet Dream

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice place to introduce children to the sport.

The course is addictive like a scratch off lottery ticket, everytime you get so close that you want to keep trying over and over.

Course would be a nice place for a small group to have an ace race.
Cons: Don't even bring the drivers out of the car, (unless you want a meat hook for hole 6.)
longest hole is a wide open 272 feet. Only 2 holes are over 200 feet and all 9 holes total just over 1,000 feet.

Course is suited for small groups of small children. A 99 foot wide-open par 3 gives you an idea of the challenge level you should expect.
The fairways cross each other and the holes seem too closely spaced to safely teach disc golf to a large group of kids in physical education class.

Hole 3 is missing the small markers for the tee.
Hole 6's tee sign does not indicate that it is a hard right meat hook shot, the basket for hole 7 is directly infront of the tee for 6.
Hole 7 throws over a slimey swampy area that the kids will not want to throw or walk over.
Hole 8's tee sign is missing, so it takes a little searching for the broken tee markers.
Other Thoughts: The basket for 6 is back, but it is damaged.

Holes 1, 2, 3, and 8 are simple shots that will tempt you to empty your bag.

The address given takes you to the university, to get to the course, you must turn left just past the university and follow the road to the emelentary school on the right. Course is behind the elementary school, so you may have problems playing during school hours.

Playing this course is like beating Jessica Simpson in Jeopardy, it's fun at first, but eventually you will want a challenge.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.