Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / --   3 / 269ft.   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A Great Option in the West Suburbs

5+    8/9/2017   8/9/2017
Review By: amryan11
Played: 36  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - concrete tees for every hole in great shape
- signs for most holes (at least 2 missing, some damaged)
- generally avoids congested areas of park well
- water hazard adds some interest, especially on Hole 19
- multiple tees for many holes
- ample parking
- excellent variety of hole lengths and pars
- great for beginners to have some easy holes and still work on long game without being overwhelmed
Cons: - many tee signs had numbers missing, and at least 2 posts weren't even there
- baskets aren't the easiest to see
- some potential to hit pedestrians, many activities in the same park
- very little elevation change
- alternate tee locations are very hard to find, some may be gone
- some walking between holes, and not always clear where to go next, though there are some "Next Tee" signs
- most holes are somewhat open/no dense foliage-type shots
Other Thoughts: I think this is one of the better courses in the Western suburbs, not least because it has a lengthy 19 holes. While it is a bit lacking in elevation change, it does try to create some interesting shots around an otherwise ordinary park. It incorporates a pond, setting up an optional shot over the pond on Hole 19 which is a lot of fun. I love the variety of hole lengths and the park is generally kept very nice. It would be great if they fixed some of the broken signage, and a map could really help. Most of the time it's pretty clear where to go, but a few times I wasn't completely sure since I haven't been to the park in several years. The baskets aren't as noticeable as the yellow-top Innova baskets, but they are all in great shape and catch the discs well. The tee pads are all pristine concrete, I just am not sure if the alternate tee markers are still around. I didn't look super hard but I didn't see any either. All in all, this is a more interesting course than some of the others around and definitely worth a visit from time to time. I probably go here more than anywhere else in the Western suburbs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid city park course

1    8/4/2016   8/6/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 206  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The usual: concrete tee pads, signage including several next tee markers, and plenty of trees. Numerous holes had markers for varied distances- though those were grass tee areas.
Course was in a large city park where there were a lot of youth football teams practicing in the area well in front of the course. The course wound around various fields and through several other areas dedicated only to the disc golf.
While not a lot of elevation, there was enough variety in the holes to make it enjoyable. Baskets were positioned in a way to best utilize the trees to make there be thought to the shot.
Cons: Lot of walking from hole to hole. Potential to hit pedestrians on some of the walking paths.
Older silver baskets were tough to see (though I was playing late in the day.)
Other Thoughts: Was in Chicago for the week for work... played a few nine's, this was the first 18 and I really enjoyed it. Looked at the rating and some reviews and didn't expect much and was pleasantly surprised. If you like city park type courses, you'll love this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Open Lengthy Course

2-4    9/21/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, decent amount of trees to navigate around. Also sports a pond in the center of the park that comes into play on a few tee shots. I enjoyed the length of the park, most of the par 4's played short, but the par 5's tended to play very well like par 4's.
Cons: A slight bit to open and little to no elevation changes throughout the course. For what it is, it's great. If you like open courses with some solid distance, this would be the course for you.
Other Thoughts: The course par is certainly not for the advanced player, several par 4's under 300 feet and so on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  ice patch

1    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: fireball42
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a nice well kept park with parking close to the first tee.has a practice tee and a 19th hole over the pond as well.

some good variety of length a few tunnel shots and a few hyzers as well.
Cons: several hazards including baseball field, busy streets, pond, a few backyards with very clear no trespassing signs and pedestrians. They are generally avoidable though unless your shot is very wacky.

some fairways play very close to each other and errant discs could be a hazard to players. ( a buzzz landed about 10 ft away from me at one point)
Other Thoughts: i went here in february, and although there was no snow, a very large ice patch had settled on the left side of the fairway of hole 3. normally i would just avoid the hazard by playing to the right, but to the right was the pond. there was only 15 or 20 ft or so between hazards. my GF threw out onto the frozen puddle and luckily the disc was retrievable. definitely a little scary for a new player like me. It is not really a Con as im sure that puddle is not frozen 9 months out of the year but they should still salt it down or something.

overall not a bad course but nothing special either.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of park

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of space in a multi-use park. Good mix of short and long holes. Very nice driving alleys on several holes. Longer, two shot holes had some obstacles that made placement of drive important. 300-400 foot shots had good variety from the white tees. Short holes had nice obstacles and good use of low hanging limbs.
Cons: Tees are a bit short on some of the longer holes. Can't control it, but the goose droppings were so numerous that it built up on shoes and caused poor footing on the concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: Play it if you are in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for the Area

5+    8/27/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 82  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -20 Holes in a land of 9 holers
-Distance Variety
-Shot Variety
-Water comes into play a few times
-Shots require thought
Cons: -Park is frequently crowded
-Not a ton of variety in holes.
-The longer throws always seem like a drag because they are all low shots.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course about 25 times this summer, many of the holes on this course still make me think. This is a hallmark of good course design. The biggest problem with the park is that it is used for everything. I've had a number of bad run-ins with other park-goers, specifically the parents of the cheerleader kids after asking the parents to move off the fairway of 2 several times.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good length in a nice park

2-4    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 88  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, the course is in a big park with lots of healthy, mature trees. It's one of the prettier public parks you'll see.

The course is well maintained with very good signs (You can get a little lost at a few places on the course. Between 4 and 5 and between 9 and 10 come to mind). Most of the tees that are a moderate walk from the previous basket have an extra post along the way pointing you where to go. On top of that all the tees have concrete pads of decent length.

As for how it plays, this is a nice place to come out and practice your driver. Unless you throw 300+ feet consistently you're going to have a few holes where you throw your driver twice. Several others will present you with a healthy approach shot remaining for your second shot. It's not a wooded course (only 16 has enough trees to resemble a wooded hole), but there are enough tall trees to create obstacles to avoid off the tee. It's not open enough to simply let loose and throw as hard as you can; usually there are one or two trees you need to make sure to avoid before hitting the clear.
Cons: It's not a very difficult course. It's a good course for beginner or intermediate players, but it's very forgiving.

There's not much in the way of a memorable hole. The finale, 19, is over a pond. It's an easy distance to clear, but there are trees on the other side of where you'd probably like to land. An unfriendly bounce off of those could drop you back in the water.

As a multi-use park (baseball, football, walkers/bikers) you can run into people throughout the course. The baseball is sufficiently out of the way unless you really lose control of one and for the most part the walking paths aren't too in the way, but I played one time where youth football was everywhere and 2-3 of the holes were not playable.
Other Thoughts: This course will not force you to into tough shots. If you make a mistake it's on you for not hitting your line. Even then, you'll have a chance for a recovery on your second shot.

It's a pretty well designed course with good signs in a nice park. It's not especially memorable or difficult, but it's good at what it does. If you're in the area it's worth a minor detour to play. It's not a destination course or one I'd rate in the upper echelon of the state, but it's just below that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey Day Throw

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole length is a nice feature of this course. For a newb like me, this allows for a good variety of distances to both instill confidence as well as sober myself. The tee boxes are concrete and the signage is more than adequate, often times for holes where the next tee is some distance from the last hole, there are posts along the way that point the way to the next hole.
Cons: The park is multi-purpose, so there is some dodging to do. There is a path that weaves throughout the course, as well as multiple ball fields along the way. Annoyingly, today there were pickup games of football that, rather than utilizing existing fields, were taking up course space and blocking access to the tees. Very frustrating.

It was also pretty moist around holes 7-12, which didn't really bother me, but with the wrong footwear, socks might get a little soggy.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course for a new player like myself, who can really have some fun without worrying about constantly tree-ing my discs. I could see how the lack of shot variety might bore some more advanced players, but I don't see myself getting bored of this course anytime soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: ChiBlender36
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of hole lengths for a chicagoland course
- A good amount of straight tunnel/low ceiling shots
- Provides one with good work on their line shaping of tee shots
- Lots of ace opportunities
- Multiple lines on most holes
- Almost every basket is well placed around the limited amount of trees on the course
- You can air it out on some holes and have some fun
- Nice tee pads, great signage (shows alt tees/distances, & points direction to next tee), & adequate baskets
Cons: - Fairly straightforward and deuceable holes, with the exception of a few that require giant tee shots
- Without wind, course can play pretty easy
- Course can have issues with rain and flooding
Other Thoughts: Good course to go out and have some fun. With ace opportunities and chances to air it out, a solid course in the chicagoland area. Wind often makes the course much more challenging as it's so wide open. I've been playing this course for 8+ years and grew up on it, really helped me tone my game and work on all kinds of different shots. Good course in a well populated area that gets crowded on the weekends, but not a problem as the course usually flows very nicely.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great starter course

5+    1/1/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 671  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 18.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madison Meadows disc golf course is situated in a large open park off of Westmore-Myers and Madison - just a few blocks from the Lombard Commons disc golf course. While it is pretty wide open and flat, the course utilizes tree cover fairly well to create holes which both work the basics of the disc golf shot and offer up multiple routes to many of the pins.

Challenge - The course is probably serves up its best challenge to low to mid-level amateur players who throw between 300-400 feet and are still developing some of the basic disc golf shots (long turnovers, sidearm, overhand shots, rollers). For players that have already mastered the basics, this course is going to be a birdie fest mixed in with a couple of pars when putts are missed - it just isn't all that technical off the tee and only a few holes have enough distance to let the big arms take advantage.

Longer arms should look around for the blue dots which indicate where the Pro tees are. Myself and several others laid out most of these many years ago but I feel they still greatly enhance the course in terms of adding both distance and technicality.

Navigation - Where they haven't been vandalized by other park users (football/baseball) or others, the signs are pretty helpful and there aren't any huge leaps you need to take when navigating this course. Do remember that there are now 19 holes!

Maintenance - The parks department seems to take very good care of this park. The pond is looking better and better each time I come back and the grass is almost always mowed nicely.

Other park amenities - The park has lots of other stuff going on if you aren't wanting a whole day of disc golf or if you have brought a child along. There is a nice playground on the East side of the park, just okay tennis courts, football and baseball fields, and a small inline skate hockey setup right by hole one. In addition, you can fish for panfish, bullhead, and some small bass in the small pond near holes 3 and 19 - its quantity over quality, but the times I've done it, its still been enjoyable.
Cons: Risk/Reward - There aren't any holes which I can think of which have true "risks" to going for big shots, you will rarely find yourself punished for missing a line OTHER than having a longer approach shot for par. Unfortunately, there really isn't much potential to create this type of feature in this park because of the absence of any usable punishing features (brush, OB, water, etc.).

Challenge - Advanced to Pro golfers aren't going to find much here to get too excited about.

Mud/Drainage - I would almost go as far as to say avoid this course completely in the winter and spring because the drainage is terrible. Hole 1 is usually a good indicator of what is to come as there is often a 20' diameter ring of mud around the whole cement tee. The back holes often dry out first, but usually the Meadows aka "the swamp" is just that in the winter.

Other park users - This is suburban Chicago so you will find the usual assortment of cranky old folks, over-entitled teens, and ultra-aggressive football folks along with a smattering of friendly onlookers as well. The Lombard Falcons club specifically have created a lot of problems in this park by destroying most of the field areas, leaving tons of trash, and generally attempting to blockade against any other uses of the park. Yes, I'm a little bitter : ) but this group has in the past gone out of their way to make other park users feel uncomfortable so it is something to be aware of when visiting this park.
Other Thoughts: Overall: Having grown up with this park in my first years of golf was really a blessing. While not super challenging, it is one of the best parks I can think of for learning how to throw a variety of shots as a beginner.

Fun facts: Madison Meadows and the Lombard Commons are also both old home courses of the famous pink-haired Scott Papa, aka Dr. Disc, and PDGA #008 Steve Matul.

If you are looking to buy discs while you are in town, there is a shop adjacent to the 7-11 in "downtown" Lombard (St. Charles & Main) which have really nice folks and some rare old and collector discs often still on the shelves. The prices are sometimes a little steep but if you want to find some old Discraft or Millenium, it's worth a stop.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.