Fayetteville, NC 
Mazarick Park - Glenville Lake Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #10 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 meh....

1    1/5/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: magilla311
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee boxes are in good condition, and the lines are nice and tight. There's a few nice long holes where you can grip it & rip it, but be wary & stay in the fairway (I'm still pulling thorns out of my back side). It's a helluva challenge for a new player.
Cons: The course is in pretty bad shape. Sure there are multiple trashcans, but very few are used. There are no course maps or scorecards on sight. We were lucky to run into someone that plays the course regularly, otherwise we would've been completely lost.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad!

2-4    12/29/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: pkbeast
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cool course, nestled in the woods. Fair ammount of long and short holes with lefty and right hand friendly shots. Come cool topographical changes along the pipeline and plenty of 450+ft holes to air a few out on. I especially liked the 468ft bomb along the path from the long tees. Great basket location and its pretty cool seeing all the 1980s era baskets chilling in their old locations like sentinels. The back nine are almost from another course it seems, they are down in lowlands around the lake. the temp drops off, the ground becomes soggy and all of a sudden if you grip one the wrong way, your in the woods and maybe the water. Challenging course for the first time I played it for sure.
Cons: Only cons here are the markers for the course ( a little hard without a map or a friend who has played it before) and the t-boxes fall off into nothin on many of the hole. Number 1 if you mis step on your follow through your gonna have a briar filled 15ft drop before you stop rolling. Nice course though! and awesome location to downtown and PIA. Watch the bridgeless parts. Balancing act required to cross a few holes. One of which on a pipeline, not bad for us younguns, but an old codger out there would meet his end.

Its worth a play! Get out there then head to Arnette... its awesome.
Other Thoughts: Nice day trip course! check it out!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nav training in Fayettenam

5+    11/1/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 441  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2017
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some sweet shots and can be tough when it wants too be. I love the design if it wasn't for a few dangerous issues and weird OB I'd rate it higher.

nice chainstars

Hole 10 loops back to the parking lot.

If you know how to play the old layout or are with a guide it is still playable and is a Rec level design that would be good for beginners or a quick mid round .



Cons: This course Could easily get a higher rating with some improvements. Tee Signs are needed. most holes just have the Hole # and distance painted on the Pad with no idea where the hole is. Also better navigation signs would be nice

The Pads are raised and are not friendly to a follow through.

If you don't know where your going the old baskets and pads can confuse you. Just remember that all pads are asphalt and not natural on the new course(hole 11 now has a concrete pad) and you are shooting at the chainstars not the old innova baskets.
Navigation overall can be an issue. I completely missed a hole the first time I played the course.

Hole 9 REALLY needs a bridge you have to either hike through the woods and around the corner to the bridge on hole 3 or do a balancing act across a large Pipe.

Hole 3 you throw across a bridge with a walking path that goes around a corner which is ok when a biker is NOT coming around the corner and almost takes a teebird to the Dome. This is a dangerous throw for the walkers who use the path. The same issue can come up on hole 7 and with a shot that is overthrown on hole 9.

When it rains there are some NASTY places on this course that almost seem like you in a swamp. Hole 11 and hole 14 come to mind immediately.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 3 because I do like the shots it has to offer and I enjoy playing it however there are small issues and design flaws that make it loss some points in my book. If tee signs were added and a bridge on 9 was installed I would look at giving this course a 3.5 but I doubt It would get more from me.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Prefer the OLD course

5+    11/11/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: PMGinNC
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The old course is a good confidence booster. Many birdie opportunities! We generally play this three times when we go.
For those that get hungry you can take a short walk off of 8 to a food mart for a snack during play. Lots of up and down shots make this even better.
There has recently been some cleanup work done (THANKS) on this old course.
Cons: The tee pads need a lot of work but are useable. Many dead and falling trees to watch out for and be aware of.
Other Thoughts: www.fayncdiscgolf.info

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation and Woods

2-4    6/6/2010   1/10/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 401  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Design:
*Elevation changes- one of the best features of this course. There are elevation changes on every hole with 8 Up/ 10 Down. Most changes are moderate (3-12 ft.) but 7 holes are bigger (15-30 ft. change)
* Terrain- This is mostly a woods course with a few holes slightly more open. 15 Woods/ 3 Mixed.
*Fairways- Nicely shaped with pretty good shape variety. 10 St/ 3 Left/ 5 Right
*Length variety- decent. 1 of 195/ 9 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-399/ 2>400 (415, 445)

Basics:
*Baskets- Chainstars are one of my favorites.

Amenities:
*Navigation- there are many "Next tee" signs that help.
*Restrooms- good
Cons:
Design:
-Fairway 7 has a road down it's whole length. Not only does this detract from the beauty of nature, but everything to the right of the road is OB and I think that's dumb. I don't like this hole.
-Navigation- There are long walks to tees 6, 11, 18, so these are harder to find. Five baskets aren't visible from the tee (3, 4, 7, 9, 12)
-Walking over the large drainage pipe on hole 9 might be a difficult balancing act for some people.

Basics:
-Tee signs need improvement. Very minimal, length only, most tacked to a tree.
-Tees are below average. Asphalt that might get too soft on hot summer days.

Amenities:
-The online map is outdated, so it's misleading and useless.
-No scorecard, warm up basket, or message board. No benches and few trash cans out on the course.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950) It's between White and Blue. It's either a more difficult White or an easier Blue level. The numbers came out closer to Blue so I landed on that, but I bet that Blue level players will score pretty low here.

~Water- there's only a little in play on a couple of holes and some in view but not in play on a few more. When you can see the swamp it's rather scenic; I just wish that the water came into play more.
~One big detraction is the decaying remains of the original course. There are old rusting yellow Discatcher baskets and unmarked cinder tees scattered near the first few holes. To make it even more confusing, the old 1st basket is inside the park just off the parking lot, so I saw several new players shooting for it then getting lost and bewildered. This is unsightly and confusing and I think they should remove it all.
~The course is in the heart of Fayetteville, so it's easy to get to. I hate to say it, but the ambience of the surrounding area doesn't thrill me, so I started out on an off note. This park does offer a good opportunity to get away from civilization, and after a few holes I did feel out in nature and away from that bad vibe I had driving there.

Bottom line-- if you like woods courses with nice elevation changes, and you're in Fayetteville, it's worth stopping by to play. My Enjoyment Rating is Above Average, but I still wouldn't recommend making much of a trip to go there.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~My more detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast Times in Fayette-Nam

1    12/22/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 163  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 11.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply fun. The course is predominately wooded with some tall, old pines. It's very fairly wooded, only a couple of holes are borderline "unfair" or luck based. Great use of elevation, much more rolling than I thought it would be and there's a slew of fun, downhill ace-runs and birdie fests. A couple of holes had some nice creeks to throw over and a little lake even threatens on one hole. Fairways are well-defined and easy to spot and the course flows pretty well once you figure out where to go. Nice baskets as well. The tees aren't the worse and they're pretty level which is great but they're aren't real flush with the ground.
Cons: Navigation, it really can be tricky. I'm usually a whiz for finding the next hole but this place had me scratching my head a couple of times. Hole #4 is not obvious to find (hang a right up the hill), hole #11's tee pad is non-existent as far as I can tell, and hole #18's tee is past that construction/mulch pile area and to the left once you get back into the woods again. The layout for the old course really throws you off on the front 9 but easy to avoid as long as you remember not to throw towards yellow, rusty baskets.

Hole variety: It's a little repetitive. All the holes are generally some sort of variation of an S-curve or just generally straight, with the exception of #12 that bizarrely hooks left at the very end.

Mobility: This only comes into play a couple of holes but they were bad. Hole #1 has only a steep, eroded path leading to the fairway that's fairly dangerous. The big culprit is hole #9 which throws over the creek. The problem is there's no way to cross said creek unless you're nimble enough to balance across the large metal pipe that goes over it. My broken foot and I had to bushwhack our way back to the bridge to cross over.

Quite a bit of trash and litter unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: This course is like OT Sloan's (Sanford) bigger, older sister. The holes are longer (probably average out to around 300'), it's more mature and fair with concrete tees and its wooded-ness, and it's just really fun to play. The old course and park layout also leads to some great safari golf potential if you get bored.

I will definitely play it again after my foot heals, for sure.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 15 really good holes

2-4    10/30/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Frank Delicious
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole at this course except for 7, 12, and 16 are good holes. Hole 2 seems a little tacked on but is a solid technical hole. Hole one is a great starting hole and hole 18 is a very good finishing hole. The course is tight like every NC course but unlike many tightly wooded courses, this course doesn't just make you throw straight shots all day. If you want to shoot under par on this course you will have to use all the shots in your bag off the tee. I found myself throwing S curves both forehand and backhand, controlled hyzers, controlled anyhyzers and some longer forehand shots that really tested my line shaping skills.
Cons: The first big problem with this course is navigation. Do not go out there without a map or a guide. There are signs in places indicating where the next tee pad is but these signs are not always easy to see and some have been torn down. Couple that with the old course still being in and new players will get lost very easy.

The three holes I had the biggest problems with were holes 7, 12, and 16.

Hole 7 from the longs is a long hyzer down a walking path. The tee shot itself is fun and probably plays 400' The two problems with this hole are 1) you can't see all the way down the walking path. If you can throw 400' you need to check to make sure people aren't walking near the basket b/c you could hit them. 2) the walking path plays OB and also makes up the majority of the driving lane. Even with a good drive a player can land OB. A better way to play the hole would be to make everything right of the walking path OB b/c that punished overly aggressive throws that get knocked down.

Hole 12 is very odd. When you come up on the teepad you see a slightly S curved fairway with no pin. If you walk down 300' or so you will see the pin tucked up and to the left in some woods. The percentage of getting to the pin are very low and the pin seems out of place tucked away with no real good fairway to it. Most players will just throw a mid or fairway driver straight 300' and then pitch up to the basket for a tap in 3. Very low scoring separation on this hole.

Hole 16 is a downhill shot that is 260' but probably only plays 220'. The issue with this hole is that you have to hit a 8' gap about 70' away to get to the basket and there does not appear to be any other way to throw this hole. The gap is just too small for most players to hit consistently and seems like one of those shots you try when messing around with your friends. The gap needs to be widened to provide a fairer tee shot.

The other big con for me was the teepads. They were made of rough asphalt that was hard to pivot on and were already eroding due to water. They were also quite small and would drop off in the front so if you follow through off the teepad, you would hurt yourself.

I could also not find an asphalt teepad for hole 11 after looking around for a while. I ended up teeing off from a dirt pad next to a yellow pole (all the other tees I played were blue). I assume I just could not find the long pads for that hole and there was no signage to really help me.
Other Thoughts: This could could be a great course with a few improvements. They should really remove the short old course and see if they could recycle the baskets to make a new course somewhere in the area. That and tee signs would really clear up the biggest overall problems with the course.

Watch out for people. I had to stop multiple times mid teeshot because people walking around the park would cut through a fairway or emerge from some side trail you can't see from the tee pad. There are a lot of walking trails, especially on the back 9, scattered throughout the course so be on the look out.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 riddle me this

1    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of baskets here. found one with weeds growing up through it, looks like its been here a while. wasn't many people here at all, which was sad because if i had been shown how to play this course i wouldve rated better.
Cons: couldnt figure out how to play the course, think i played it backwards or something. cleans up near pipeline. with course map and signs this could be nice.
Other Thoughts: had fun even though i didnt know where i was going, course is def worth playing, if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dazed and confused

1    9/25/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 261  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 41 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fairly nice park, with lots of trees and plenty of shade. Good use of elevation, as you are throwing up or down hill a lot. Although it's a wooded course, it isn't too tight. The 18 new baskets are really nice. The tee pads were in good shape.

There is a bathroom and fishing pond on site.
Cons: Some of the older baskets were surrounded by waist high grass and looked neglected. The few tee signs I saw were not very informative about distance.

There is no course map, so it was extremely difficult and confusing to navigate this course. Too many contradicting signs directing you to a tee pad. I saw several tee pads without any identification marks as to what hole it was intended for.
Other Thoughts: I was a little disappointed with this course. It is almost impossible to navigate this course with out a local. Since there are no maps available, this will continue to be the case if you are coming in from out of town, like I did.

This course has a lot of potential with 27 baskets, but without knowing which basket from which tees, it makes it irrelevant. It was not fun spending extra time trying to navigate the course, and still not being sure if you are doing it correctly.

I would wait until a map is available before I played this course, or make plans to meet a local if you can.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    2/17/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really nice park with great views. A beautiful lake along with some nice woods add to beauty of this place. Nice eastern NC fairways which are tight but fair. Restrooms and trashcans. This course will test your accuracy. Each tee is marked by a steel pole painted either...white, blue or gold. There are a couple of holes that have multiple tees, but it's hard to find them the first time you play. The design takes advantage of the available elevation. Tees on the new 18 are all asphalt. Course is now marked on every hole pointing you to the next. Leaving the old holes, while confusing the first time, is a really nice touch and some extra holes for your discing pleasure.
Cons: When I played here in the summer some of the fairways were fairly overgrown. A couple of holes play over or down a paved walking trail. No real tee signs, but the hole number is spray painted on each pad, and a marker with distance was visible.
Other Thoughts: The first hole can be a little hard to find the first time you play, but it is in the cul-de-sac as you first enter the park.
-My favorite hole is #7, there are 2 tees that give you a different look. The basket is perched on a fast green. The long tee is a hard left with a ton of OB, and the short tee makes you throw a tight shot that fades right.
Hole #1 is a blast as well. A nice start with a nice downhill run.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.