McLean, VA 
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
McLean Dies Hard like John McClane

1    4/3/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 177  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with sweet brand new bright yellow DisCatcher Pro 28 baskets and one practice basket. Signage is ok and fairly easy to navigate. Provides some technical variety of shots carving through the wooded fairways and along and over the Dead Run creek, and also has a couple fun ace runs.

I'm not sure if maintenance has improved, or the vegetation just hasn't started growing but the course was very playable although muddy. The brand new baskets are a positive sign that disc golf life still exists here.

Small municipal park provides some other activities including a basketball court and several tennis courts and playground.
Cons: Small 4'x'4' boxed natural tees, muddy on tees and the course in general as it's low lying and flat terrain. Rough off the fairway consists of lots of thorns and poison ivy. Tee sign for hole 4 was mangled and tee sign for hole 6 was laying on ground.

Safety issues, hole 1 plays blind over the walking path and bridge. Hole 2 plays over tee 9 and the walking path. Hole 3 and 4 also play over the walking path.
Other Thoughts: McLean Central Park is one of the oldest disc golf courses in the area and the old school design still provides some decent challenge and fun. Some upgraded tee pads and a little more fairway trimming would go a long way to reviving this into a great beginner course again. As it stands now the course is passable, but hopefully trending upward. I'd only recommend playing here if you happen to be in the neighborhood and itching to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Still a little muddy

1    4/10/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: Treplexity
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners if they can put up with the overgrown conditions. This was my 5th game of disc golf, I got an Eagle on tee 9 and scored 4 under par total.

Seems as if only a few locals like myself play the course, so it's never crowded with players.

More advanced players are better off traveling to Burke Lake, but I live in the neighborhood of this course so it's something fun to do after work while the weather is nice and I don't have to worry about traffic.
Cons: Muddy, and very overgrown-not kept up. People walking their dogs or strolling their babies may cause a minute or two wait between putts.

The post for tee 3 is damaged

Tee 9 is heavily damaged, the tray of the basket sits on the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is the first time I've been able to get to tee 2, there's flooding all around the tee but it's gotten better. Course is still really muddy, but seems to be getting better every day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short, but not awful

7/8/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First hole is a good dogleg. Signage is fine. Easy to get to. Very quick to get a round of nine finished. We were the only ones on the course mid-afternoon.
Cons: Too short for most players. My daughter noticed the bugs while we played, but it didn't seem bad to me.
Other Thoughts: Maybe we caught the park at an OK time. Not swampy at all. Poison ivy wasn't a problem either, although it was probably around more than we noticed. Most of the driving areas were clear enough to walk through without incident.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Poison Ivy

10/14/2007   3/29/2008
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short holes with overrated pars is a good ego stroke, but really it should be marked 8 lower than it is. Some holes are a lot of fun to play (1, 5,7) but still not difficult.
Cons: Not very difficult. Poorly mapped and marked.

If you go off the fairway at all on 1, 2, 3, 4... you will be all over the poison ivy and it will be all over you.
Other Thoughts: I go here every once in a great while just to change things up.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.