McLean, VA 
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
pretty much unplayable

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Other Thoughts: McLean is unfortunately barely playable. When I was there, there were trees down in the fairways, which were badly overgrown in places, one basket was down, and there was a steady stream of pedestrians on the walkways along the holes.

It seemed like there were some nice holes, if it had been playable, but unless someone restores this course to its former -- well not glory, but whatever it had -- it isn't worth visiting.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Celebrate the adversity

5+    6/21/2017   6/29/2017
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 341  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 37.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course has fun throws
* The park is rarely crowded and is a nice break after work
* I (only once) had a fox pick up my drive on hole 8 and move it closer to the basket
* The course is open to the public and close to where I work
* Very nice baskets
* There is signage
* Trash cans on holes 1 and 5
* Access and parking are reasonable
Cons: * Even good drives can require a long search or be lost
* Even good drives (and approaches) may not have a clear path to the basket
* Most baskets do not have an unobstructed 'putting circle'
* As a botanist I divide the understory vegetation into two groups: that which makes you itch and that which makes you bleed - the roses are wicked year around! All vegetation is thick enough to hide discs - long searches can be needed even for good shots.
* In the 9 months I have been playing this course, I have never seen a mower or evidence of mowing
* Drainage is really poor and the course stays wet longer than most
* Bad drainage seems to support a noticeable biting insect population
* The tee pads are short, uneven, hold water, and are worse than natural tee areas - the two natural tees will be a welcome relief
* Throwing across pedestrian paths is a regular occurrence, so be courteous
* Signage is minimal
* Perhaps you can use the bathroom at the library, I do not know if one exists at the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course for hucking mids, putters, and the occasional fairway driver. As the previous 2017 review says, with a little love this could be something special. However, as Leslie Howard says in the 1934 version of the Scarlet Pimpernel: "Nothing in the world is so bad as something that is not so bad." This course will test your ability to maintain a positive attitude and have fun, and certainly that is something worth doing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Wish They'd Let Us Help (EDIT: PROGRESS!)

5+    6/18/2016   5/2/2017
Review By: Sully68783
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 9/19/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the potential to be a nice little pitch and putt/family course. The baskets are great, and there are some nice shots (3, 4, 5, 7, 9 come to mind).
Cons: Unfortunately, it's a neglected mess. I've been begging the Park Authority to let the NOVA Disc Golf Association get in here and clean out thorns and invasives to make the fairways reasonable again. SOMEONE must care about golf here, because they put in new DISCatchers just a few years ago.

UPDATE: The County has come in and gotten rid of ALL the overgrowth! Still a pitch and putt, deuce or die course, but now with decent lines, almost no lost disc risk, and much more fun factor. Hopefully, this is the start of something.
Other Thoughts: With even rudimentary modern teepads and some serious vegetation control and maintenance, this would be the perfect place for new and younger players to learn. RHBH turnover/RHFH hyzer on 1. RHBH spike hyzer on 3. Long drive and putt (or roller!) on 4. RHBH flex shot on 7. This course encourages a lot of classic shots. It's just a shame no one is taking - or, maybe CAN take - care of it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

McLean Dies Hard like John McClane

1    4/3/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with sweet brand new bright yellow DisCatcher Pro 28 baskets and one practice basket. Signage is ok and fairly easy to navigate. Provides some technical variety of shots carving through the wooded fairways and along and over the Dead Run creek, and also has a couple fun ace runs.

I'm not sure if maintenance has improved, or the vegetation just hasn't started growing but the course was very playable although muddy. The brand new baskets are a positive sign that disc golf life still exists here.

Small municipal park provides some other activities including a basketball court and several tennis courts and playground.
Cons: Small 4'x'4' boxed natural tees, muddy on tees and the course in general as it's low lying and flat terrain. Rough off the fairway consists of lots of thorns and poison ivy. Tee sign for hole 4 was mangled and tee sign for hole 6 was laying on ground.

Safety issues, hole 1 plays blind over the walking path and bridge. Hole 2 plays over tee 9 and the walking path. Hole 3 and 4 also play over the walking path.
Other Thoughts: McLean Central Park is one of the oldest disc golf courses in the area and the old school design still provides some decent challenge and fun. Some upgraded tee pads and a little more fairway trimming would go a long way to reviving this into a great beginner course again. As it stands now the course is passable, but hopefully trending upward. I'd only recommend playing here if you happen to be in the neighborhood and itching to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very familiar but still passionately hate

5+    12/12/2011   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I worked at J. Gilbert's across the street and the course was easy and quick enough to play between shifts. Every hole is an ace run and I have about 3 aces here.

That's about it.
Cons: Poorly maintained. Thorn bushes everywhere. Short holes. Not a lot of thought put into hole placement. Natural tee pads are for sh*t. Baskets are old 14 chain baskets that don't hold anything. It's all around a terrible course, but if you work within 5 minutes, it's fine to blow off steam and take a walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: The course could be so much better with a little maintenance and some real baskets and tee pads. It could actually be a decent little 9 hole course and would really drive the interest of beginners that need confidence in throwing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wasted Potential

2-4    6/9/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has potential to be a great beginner course. It also has a nostalgic feel to it because it feels as if it's unchanged since the late 70searly 80s.
Cons: It seems like it was last maintained in the early 80s. There are thorns everywhere, including on the fairways. I'd understand if they were contained to the rough, but the fairways should be clear of thorn vines and bushes (bush is a very loose term). Quite a bit of poison ivy and poison oak as well, but I don't remember seeing any on the fairways. Almost every hole requires either a very precise shot andor a blind shot, which wouldn't be bad, except that there may not be any way to retrieve your disc. Granted, I played the day after some hard rainthunderstorms, but about a third of the course wasn't just muddy, but had standing water. Considering the mosquito problems, I'm thinking that this wasn't exclusively due to the recent rain. The tee sign for 4 is damaged.
Other Thoughts: If this course were properly maintained, it could be a great beginner course. Unfortunately, with all of the various issues, I couldn't recommend it to beginners or seasoned vets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Still a little muddy

1    4/10/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: Treplexity
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners if they can put up with the overgrown conditions. This was my 5th game of disc golf, I got an Eagle on tee 9 and scored 4 under par total.

Seems as if only a few locals like myself play the course, so it's never crowded with players.

More advanced players are better off traveling to Burke Lake, but I live in the neighborhood of this course so it's something fun to do after work while the weather is nice and I don't have to worry about traffic.
Cons: Muddy, and very overgrown-not kept up. People walking their dogs or strolling their babies may cause a minute or two wait between putts.

The post for tee 3 is damaged

Tee 9 is heavily damaged, the tray of the basket sits on the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is the first time I've been able to get to tee 2, there's flooding all around the tee but it's gotten better. Course is still really muddy, but seems to be getting better every day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It was Not Pleasant The Morning I Played!

1    7/6/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McLean DGC is one of the old school courses. Everything from the old fiberglass signs to the natural tee pads to the elementary Pars (325 foot/ Par 5) to the overall shortness of it, shout 1980's vintage. It's like when visit an Open House and see shag carpeting and avacado appliances. It's a lot dated! It could be a decent little beginner/family pitch and putt with a fair amount of work put in to it. The baskets are a wide range from older rusty, single chains to a brand new Discatcher with the yellow band.
Cons: The course is badly overgrown and desperately in need of some serious pruning. One sign is trashed and one basket has been badly beaten. The whole course is sitting in low lying wetlands type area and thus is marshy in many places.
Other Thoughts: I happened to play early on a wet morning. Everything was wet and soggy. The ground was saturated, the overgrown plants were dripping wet. It was not a fun experience. It was so wet and miserable, I didn't even worry about the Poison Ivy. I just tried to throw very carefully, stay our of trouble and get my soaking wet body back to my car.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Bad course

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Pat 'the French'
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Near DC
You can play alone...
A lot of parking spots.
Cons: Muddy,.
A lot of pets on leashes.
Very old installations.
Lots of bushes.
Other Thoughts: Don't come !
There're better courses.
It's hard to find disc in this jungle.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Currently Unplayable

5+    4/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: heyorayo
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I work in great falls so it is/was nice to play this course like everyday after work. That's really the only good part of this course.
Cons: They have not maintained it one time since I don't even know how long, definitely 0 times this whole year. It is now practically a rainforest of tall grass and newly growing bushes and other vegetation. I called the fairfax county parks operation dept and put in a work order for Maintenance on the grounds, but it was never fulfilled, even after two months later when I went to check on it. It's frustrating to watch a course just get neglected like that. It's not a bad property but in its current state you don't want to go anywhere near this course in fear of a tick or spider bite due to the immense overgrowth.
Other Thoughts: Even when this course was playable it is really like a beginner's course. Most of the holes are between 100 to 200 feet, with a couple that are a little bit longer. It is pretty moderately wooded making it necessary to have a pretty accurate shot around the curves. A couple holes have a creek you throw over so that is pretty interesting. There is no change in elevation at all so that's really no fun. The rough is thick as the dickens in some parts so definitely check for ticks often as i have been bitten there. This is really just a course that you would play if you happened to live close or worked nearby. Bottom line, an my suggestion... Don't waste your time, play a better course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.