McLean, VA 
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
  Pitiful

2-4    2/27/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: sirfrolf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Proximity, if you happen to live nearby. It was somewhat amusing to laugh at the sorry state of this place. You get to know what a zero rating course is, so you can better rate other courses in comparison.
Cons: This course is a neglected disaster. Missing basket. Missing tee box. Missing and damaged signs. Swampy. Dense pricker thickets. Downed trees everywhere. Poorly designed course - unimaginative, unchallenging, and many shots go right over paved walking paths.
Other Thoughts: I thought this place was bad many years ago and went back thinking there may have been improvements made. To my dismay it got worse. Keep driving to the disc golf course at Bluemont!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worse Course in the area

2-4    10/8/2010   3/5/2011
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: None that I can think of. OK, it's the closest DG course to the Capital Beltway (495). That's all I can think of.
Cons: Where do I start? Mud, mosquito's, missing tee pads and basket, lousy baskets, lousy signage, it was like someone decided to plop down a bunch of baskets, then got bored and went and did something else.
Other Thoughts: This is not worth your time, unless you are desperate to play and it hasn't rained in the last 15 months (OK, that's an exaggeration). I would highly recommend taking the trip to other near-by courses, such as Bluemont (9 holes), Burke Lake and Giles Run (pretty far, but the best course in the NOVA region).

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 McLean

2-4    7/21/2008   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 671  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 18.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Once you get past the thorns, poison ivy, terrible tee boxes and baskets, completely overgrown nature of McLean you'll find that there are actually a couple of fun holes out there or you might just turnaround after the first hole :). The disc golf course at McLean can be a bit tricky to find back behind the tennis courts. Hole 1 starts out with an interesting little sidearm shot just past a bridge and near a small stream placed near the pin.
Cons: As mentioned above, the jungle back here is pretty intense. Poison Ivy and prickers can be found on pretty much every hole and often not far from pins or fairways. The teeboxes are absolutely terrible with nearly no runup room; additionally, they are boxed in with wood planks making runups nearly impossible. Frequent flooding helps keep McLame muddy and wet pretty much year round. Finally, the old Mach I baskets, while being a fun novelty, make putting a virtual slot machine of spit outs and blow throughs. Despite this bit of folk knowledge circulating, putting on a bad basket that randomly rejects good putts does not make you better! A simple, inexpensive mod to add an inner set of chains would greatly increase the catchability, though it may not be worth the trouble.
Other Thoughts: From the depths of my heart, I loathe this course and the dark, stinky swamp that it resides in. Like young Luke Skywalker I had to enter the forest of evil and look into the eyes of the ancient Mach. I have learned to control my fear and have felt the hatred of the darkside flowing through my veins but I have...I have conquered the ivy...the thorns...the muck...

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 McLean Central Park

5+    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A pitch and putt course. Midrange and putter enough.

- Although holes are short, they are technical. All holes have water, tree, or brush obstacles. Obstacles are reasonable without being ridiculous.

- Holes 1 and 9 need to throw across streams.

- Almost all holes are out of sight from the tee. This makes distance a challenge. Plenty of hyzers and S-turns.

- Course not crowded. Guaranteed to play without waiting.

- Holes easy to find and follow.

- Course was very fun to play.
Cons: - Tees are dirt/mud

- Hole 5/Tee 6 missing.

- Walking trails cross several fairways. Need to be mindful of walkers
Other Thoughts: - Would have given it a higher rating, but it was missing a hole and tee.

- Wear old shoes or boots. Ground can get muddy.

- Not a destination course, but was very fun to play.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Boggy When Wet

1    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Some baskets scattered about a lightly-wooded park at which to throw is better than nothing.
Cons:
Single tee/single basket. Tee locations are small, uneven mud pits - throwing from a standstill recommended. Baskets are single chain and not in good shape. Tee locations 5/6 have been dis-assembled. Basket 5 missing. Course retains water very well - was like a bog. Some holes play (blindly, at times) near/across walking paths. Some tees too close to neighbouring basket. Flat-n-short.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a meadow/lightly wooded area of a multi-purpose park. Some challenging basket locations near creek, and most holes require a bit of a turn or fade. All holes but the ~350' #4 are in the mid-100/low 200s. Tee #1 is down the path from basket/tennis courts, and the course flows in a counter-clockwise direction. Lots of work (preventing erosion of the creek bed? Installation of walking paths? I'm not sure) going on in the area of holes 3-6.

If it was within short walking distance of home or work, it would be worth wandering over time to time to practice/play safari, but its not worth making any special effort to visit.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 If you weren't looking, you might miss it.

5+    4/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic little throwback course - Great old Mach I baskets.
-Pleasant meadow-like setting - Large clearing, Majestic old trees, large forest canopy.
-Creek comes into play on many holes.
-Good use of area/terrain
-Pretty good beginners course - Couple of challenges or oddities - Overall a "pitch & putt" course. Great for approach practice.
-A great "get a round in at lunch" course.
-Ace Run Opportunities
Cons: -Can be Wet & Sloppy - Very Wet & Sloppy - Course sits in a low spot near downtown McLean.
-Poison Ivy!!!!!! Some times LOTS of it.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. - Lots of dog walking & joggers.
-Tee pads are bad at best - Tough to keep maintained due to water runoff.
-Located in city park but very well hidden - Could be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: McLean Central Park is one of the oldest courses and possibly the 1st course in the DC Metro Area. With the exception of the alternate tees, it has not changed one bit since it was first installed back in the early days of the disc golf craze. Back in the day it was my home course and I had taken it under my wing for a spell. Held a tournament there called the Swamp Thing, that should tell you something about the course. If you can catch it during a dry spell, you're in for a very pleasant round.
Most holes are short and many are a little quirky thanks to the creek and the old trees. Don't let it's little look fool you, there is still plenty to pay for if you make a mistake. The tee boxes are a mess but they are very tough to maintain because they keep getting washed out in a good downpour. Overall they do an antiquate job.
Actually, I commend the city and all those folks that have kept the course going and maintained over the years. It could have been very easy to let it get over grown, washed out and unusable. In dry conditions, when the grass is cut, the course lends itself to an array of shots including rollers and tomahawks.
Playing this course is to step back in time to a place before the 500 ft. huck, the monster hyser when "the one who has the most fun wins" was just an infant. If the opportunity arises you should play this course if for no other reason then to say you did. You might even add it to your favorites. I did.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 fun in the swamp

5+    4/11/2008   8/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 34.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated in a nice neighborhood park not far from the District with good tree cover. Makes good use of available obstacles (trees, creek, even a bridge). A couple nice precision shots. Near a public library so you can borrow a computer and find out where the good courses are ;-) It really is in a pretty setting.
Cons: Course does not drain well. Seems like pin #2 is always in a pool of muck when ever I go there. Terrain is flat so no fun from elevation. Lots and lots of undergrowth, extremely easily to lose sight of your disc, especially on holes 6-8 near the creek. These same holes also have some pretty well guarded fairways so some accidental kicks into the smegma are a real possibility. Course is very short, #4 may top 300' but just barely. Possibly the worst tees I've ever played.
Other Thoughts: A few of the holes here are fun. In particular I like #1, a 225' right bender located on the edge of a small creek, an ace run has to miss a small bridge just before the basket. #4 is a respectable huck through a few trees with some trouble off to the right. 6 through 8 are short precision shots that need to be threaded through the trees. I got my first 'ace' ever on #9 which was really just a long putt (145') across a creek.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A good afternoon.

1    7/16/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: cbowl06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a shaded course, has a nice feel to it for a afternoon out. It is a good course for beginners/intermediate players. Works on your skill set alot to get around trees and obstructions.
Cons: A short course. Not the course for you if you like long nice fairways. This is a wooded course, so you get all of the trees, the creek, the piles of brush. If you have an off throw, there is a good possiblity of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: I've played part of this once, and went back to finsih it. 1st time it was sloppy, there was brush all over the place. 2nd time they had cleaned it up, and it looks a lot nicer now. easier to navigate too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fairway?

2-4    6/17/2008   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to DC
Parking is easy
Cons: Really don't have proper fairways
Tee pad are severely damaged
Only 9 holes
Lays in a small river valley so often is wet
Distance is too short
Other Thoughts: Really could stand to have someone come in and cut down (gasp) some of the smaller trees to create a more even fairway. Really because of the small trees you have to get lucky to get your disc close to the hole despite the fact that they aren't long holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  muddy, short, 9 holes

2-4    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: wildcardct4th
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good for beginners, par is really easy. In a local park. Can be played in about thirty minutes.
Cons: Muddy, very easy to lose discs, i've lost two in the three times i've played. The par is way to high. Very easy to birdie about 7 of the holes and eagles aren't uncommon. Beginners should play at par or even under. Thick bushes and woods on both sides. There was also park construction going on and I couldn't even play the last hole. Watch out for the creek on the right of hole #8.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully not going back.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.