Flagstaff, AZ 
McPherson Park Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #14
-- / 321ft.   -- / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Awesome course!

2-4    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy parking right at the first tee which is very easy to find. Large cement teepads on all of the holes, no problem with them. Baskets are in great shape, one of my favorite kinds as well! Large pine trees all over the course that come into play on nearly every hole. Each hole unique from the rest, you don't feel like you are playing the same hole more than once. Great balance of shots, straight on, hyzer and anhyzer throws are needed. If you throw a well placed drive, an easy par or birdie is possible. There are some shorter holes that beg you to go for that ace. Then there are a few very long holes that play downhill, let it rip and you will see your disc just sail! There is a great balance of uphill, downhill and flat holes. Baskets are carefully placed, near trees or next to rocks. The scenery is increadible! Nice mountain fresh air, breathe it in! Not much for trash cans on the course, but there was hardly any trash to be found! Amazingly clean! Most have only one teepad, but there are several rubber pads that are for the pros. Nearly all the holes have multiple pin placements. The land the course is on is nearly exclusive to disc golf, no need to worry about other park users.
Cons: I really have to get picky here. The signs by the teepads are nice, some are a slightly damaged, but not enough to read the sign. The course was very easy to navigate, there are trails from the baskets to the next teepads which are very easy to follow. There was one spot where it may be confusing, but nothing to big. It was somewhat windy when I played, not sure if that is common on this mountain or not. I don't see it as a con though, others may.
Other Thoughts: I nearly rated this course a 5/5. Great design, good challenge, awesome scenery and clean! Get some better signs and you could easily call it a 5/5 course. I definately enjoyed this course as you can tell. If anywhere in the area, this is a must play.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great View of the Peaks

5+    9/28/2008   3/22/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 161  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cement teepads
Bright Red painted baskets
Elevation changes, both up and down
A few holes with multiple settings that are fun and longer
Cons: Very rocky so your plastic will be punished
Baskets spit a lot of good putts
Kind of easy, good players will not shoot over par (54)
Not a lot of variety, baskets seldom move (only have one setting for almost all)
Other Thoughts: If you're in town I would definitely play. Just make sure that it is open. I like to play here for a quicker round (1 hour if you dont have to wait).
Personal favorite holes are 3, 7, 9 long, 10 long, and 17 long.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course...

2-4    5/22/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun course to play. Has a lot of trees here. The layout is kind of funky but fairly easy to navigate. The overall distance of the course isn't all the challenging as I think I threw one or two drivers on the whole course.
Cons: Lots of rocks to tear up your disc's.
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun playing this course while I was on vacation.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mcpherson dg course

5+    7/30/2009   11/3/2008
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: amazing scenery of the san francisco peaks. moderate elevation changes on holes 1-7, 8-13 alot more elevation, 14-18 moderate elevation changes. some short technical holes on the front 9 more longer ones on back 9. very clean fairways with no low hanging branches. large concrete tee pads is a big plus. some holes have multiple pin positions.hole ten is worth multiple throws from the long tee. the tee signs are great, giving you the length of the hole and other pin placements. clean dg course for the most part, you dont see to much trash around at all. very enjoyable to play. favorite holes 3,10,12,15(rubber pad).friendly locals.
Cons: alot of trees,but it only makes you better. can be packed in summer. more trash cans needed. the front 9 can get confusing for a first timer. longer pin positions. rocky in places.
Other Thoughts: must play if you are in town. closed for winter. you are bound to have a great time at this one. Hole 15 has a longer tee pad area,look for the rubber pad way behind the cement tee. when you are walking from 12's basket to 13 pad you walk past it. its on the left ( probably one of the best holes from the rubber pad ).....also 17 has another rubber tee pad area. dont miss out on these two long positions. Mcpherson offers alot of fun for am and pro players. dont miss out

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another top notch course in Flag

5+    10/25/2006   10/25/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course a had a good mix of long and short holes, lefts and rights. It's more spread out than Thorpe so it feels less crowded on Saturday afternoon.
Cons: I guess the only con is that it's not as fun as Thorpe, I know that's not very subjective but I've always found Thorpe to be a more fun course. I think this course is also a bit harder. It's seems a lot easier to mess up a shot and turn an easy par into a double bogey. Where at Thorpe it seems easier to save yourself from a bad first shot.
Other Thoughts: It's tough to rate courses in flag as there all so good. Well taken care of and well thought out. If this course was by it's self somewhere, than it would get a higher rating. but since it's one of 5 great courses in Flag it's got a higher standard to live up to.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another good Flagstaff course

1    7/17/2007   10/20/2008
Review By: Rizbee
Played: 248  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 39.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced design - good mix of left, straight, right holes, variety of lengths, though no really long holes. Good signage and excellent tees. Some terrain variation, but not much seeing that it's in the mountains.
Cons: Nothing memorable about the course, which to me is a con. I'd like there to be something that stands out as a signature hole or element to the course.
Other Thoughts: Another well-maintained, good to play course in Flagstaff. Another reason this is a great town for disc golfers. More oak and other deciduous trees than at NAU or Thorpe. Definitely worth the stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.