Blairsville, GA 
Meeks Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 430ft.   4 / 733ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee: Basket is tucked to the left 700' from here with an ob creek running to the left of the entire fairway and behind the basket.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Meeks Park

2-4    6/10/2017   6/11/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 111  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for most tees

Most holes have two tees

Has tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has next tee signs posted throughout - easy to navigate

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Has some mandos

Nice scenery

Free parking - but it's a walk to the first tee and from last basket

Restrooms

Water fountain
Cons:
Most holes play across the walking path or very close to it (one can expect some delays)

Some of the gravel tees are uneven

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between holes 13&14 and 16&17
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice, fun 18 hole course outside of Blairsville that I enjoyed playing on a Saturday afternoon. A quirky thing about this course is you have to walk down the fairway of hole #1 to get started. I have to wonder why the designer did not make hole #1 the finishing hole and hole #2 as the starting hole instead. This course is more wooded than open where some of the wooded fairways for the long tees have lines tight enough to make it challenging. At the time of this review, I counted 12 concrete tee pads that looked freshly poured - hopefully all will be finished soon. The remaining tee pads that are not concrete are uneven for some holes. Almost half of the holes play across the walking path or very close to it so one can expect some delays on a nice day like I did. The course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between holes 13&14 and 16&17. Holes 5 and 14 seem like they share the same fairway. Although not a destination course, it is a very good course to play if you're in the area. I made a nice day trip in the mountains with this course and Yahoola Creek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    11/27/2015   11/27/2015
Review By: Spinney105
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great layout!
-greatly marked
- multiple tees
-nice scenery
-beautiful course
Cons: -tee boxes need to be leveled.
-walk ways run through the course
-must watchout for pedestrians.
-pedestrians can mess up your flow If you have to wait.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have ever played! Great lay out and amazing flow to the course WILL PLAY AGAIN! It is a great all around course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Satisfied

1    7/12/2015   7/12/2015
Review By: RobbieRob14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2016
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good baskets
-Easy access from the highway
-Easy flow of the course
-Great scenery
Cons: -Gravel and uneven tee pads
-Inaccurate par ratings on tee signs
-Not a great layout
Other Thoughts: This course is on a piece of property that has the potential to be a great disc golf course; lots of ups and downs and a good mix of open and wooded areas. However, the design does not take advantage of the land. The wooded holes look like they just decided on a tee and pin location then removed zero trees in the fairway.

The tee pads were also extremely disappointing. I knew they were gravel going into the round, but they are extremely uneven and unsafe on some holes. Concrete tees would help this course tremendously.

Don't trust the par info on the tee signs. Hole 1 says that it is a 280' par 4 and 9 says it it is a 733' par 6? I read somewhere that these are the par ratings for recreational use, but if you have rec/amateur tees, then what is the point? I had to refer to dgcr during the round to find the real information about the pars.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 You will enjoy this one

1    3/14/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well manicured, technical and challenging pin placements. A good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Teepads are not ideal. A couple throws could get close to pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: I played at the Meeks Madness and love it when they move the pins to the Island and across the road.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Best of North Georgia

1    4/5/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Easy course to navigate. There are small signs throughout the entirety of the course which clearly display the current hole, and the hole next to come is never far away.
- Baskets and tee areas are in excellent condition.
- A long and short tee are available for every hole, all of which are well marked.
- Great variety of throws needed throughout the woods. You will use every disc in your bag.
- A course designed for the intermediate player. Expert players will certainly have fun, but beginner players may see it as too much of a challenge.
- Even a bad day on the disc golf course can still be a good day for a hike. Wonderful scenery in Blairsville, GA make for an aesthetically pleasing afternoon.
- Clean area, free of trash and graffiti.
Cons:
- Although foliage is well maintained, the grass could certainly be cut more frequently.
- As of the beginning of April, hole #3 is gone due to construction.
- Meeks Park is a popular spot for walking dogs and running, so when teeing-off one will need to be aware of others nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is only my second course played in Georgia, and I must say I am thoroughly impressed. This is a course I would certainly recommend for intermediate and expert players. Be on the lookout for tournaments during the year, as this is a course very worthy of often tournaments. The course is very easy to find and easy to navigate, just remember your most comfortable tennis shoes, as you will be doing a lot of walking. I look forward to soon returning to Meeks Course to play another round!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meeks Madness

1    2/28/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 322  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 14.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Meeks Park in Blairsville GA has many of the features that I love to see in a golf course.
There are many holes short enough in distance to score 2's, and there are very long and challenging holes. Mostly the long holes are very open, while the shorter ones have trees to navigate. Elevation changes will be a factor on many of the holes. All of these factors are blended well throughout the course, and in the wooded fairways left and right are both well represented. 1 and 2 are wooded, 2 substantially uphill. 3, 4, and 5 are very open and lengthy. 6 and 7 are back in the trees. My advice is throw something stable on 6, I turned my drive over and wound up at the very bottom of the hill. Not easy to recover from that. 8 starts in the woods, requiring a downhill hyzer to make the more open pin position. 9 is a beast, 733 feet but fairly open with water on the left of the fairway. 10 is back into the trees and up the hill. 11 is a nice downhill ace run if you can hit the gap between all of the trees. 12 and 13 continue through the wooded area. 14 is back over the grassy field a good distance, and 15 is a downhill anhyzer edging the woods. 16 woods, 17, and 18 woods. Very fun, and distance is manageable on 75% of the holes. It is not a pushover, but not overpowering, especially once you get past 9. I really liked the land and the layout was pretty good.

Short and long tees are marked well by white signs with distance. Not paved, but two fairly level dirt tees on each hole. Baskets were good Discatchers. Not much traffic on the course, but it was lightly snowing when we started our round. This one I would love to play over a few times because there are a few great holes.
Cons: Cold, and breezy. Some of the open, lengthy holes were sort of bland, but the elevations on the hillsides and even some water added enough to still be interesting. Improved tee box surfaces would be cool, but my rating would stay at 4. Dogs are required on a leash, so mine was kind of irritated. There is a small dog park. Trails could potentially bring pedestrians in nicer weather.
Other Thoughts: The drive between Helen and Blairsville was scenic and mountains make awesome disc golf terrain. Worth the long drive to play this course once. Wish I had regular access. Did not play well, which was frustrating but acceptable. Better conditions would have been nice but what do you expect the last day of February? Birthday luck helped me hit a nice jump putt on 8 for a birdie, first of two at on the round. Reminds me of Rankin Lake.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with variety

2-4    6/28/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: hjevetts
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long open holes in fields mixed in with mostly wooded holes. Makes for a good variety. Some holes you can just chuck your drive others require lots of thought. 1 mando. 2 tees on every hole.
Cons: Poison ivy. Just watch out for it. 1 hole where it's easy to lose a disc into insanely thick brush.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course with lots of shade. Good for all skill levels.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    3/28/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 100  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Scenic, easy to navigate, decent mix of long/short, left/right, uphill/downhill holes.

- short & long teepads available.

- course stays relatively close to the parking area on most holes.

- overall good use of the land provided to squeeze in an 18 hole course..

- beginner friendly short pads.
Cons: - natural teepads are heavily worn-in. Better teepads would be a nice course upgrade someday.

- when entering the course area there is a disc golf course sign but then you walk down the entire hole 1 fairway to get to the teepad to start your round.

- water fountain at pavilion was broken, apparently vandalized.

- Pedestrian factor is high, so be careful and mindful of those on the walking paths which come into play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: - This was a nice little course on a nice piece of land. A great place to introduce a newcomer to the sport. Park includes a dog park and nice walking path but all other park amnenties are across the street.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice retreat in the N GA mountains

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a nice, quiet piece of property with an interesting bit of terrain. Lots of elevation to work with and water from a nearby creek come into play. There are a great mixture of wooded and open holes. There are some very tough greens on this course to add to the challenge, an aspect that I believe that more courses could use.
Cons: Rocky hillsides and a number of gopher holes will give your ankles a workout. The leaves are a bit thick in places and can make it difficult to find a disc or can hide that ankle twisting rock. There are a few places that a walking path crosses the fairway, but the park did not seem busy enough for this to be a major problem.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, but will give you a workout. There is a lot of uphill walking to be done, but it is all worth it, because the layout really uses the property well. The tee pads are a fine crushed gravel that can be reshaped and leveled before your throw.

This course can play very easy or very punishing. No one particular hole seems hard by itself, but combined they leave little room for mistakes. One bad tree combined with some of the severely sloped greens and steep hillsides can lead to some very disastrous results. The wind can also prove to be a problem as the course is wooded, but not densely enough to provide a good wind break. Water from the small creek only comes into play on one hole. This makes the approach shot fairly tough, but very picturesque.

This course is definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice way to start a vacation

1    2/28/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: rvan84
Played: 69  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this course to be very nice. There is a nice mix of length and woods. The elevation changes really add a lot to this course. A few of the holes that run along the edge of hill are very interesting. They can really add to the amount of rollaways you will see in your round. This is definitely a good this while still being annoying. The few mandos that are on the course really add a lot to the way the holes play. The way the trees add to the design is amazing. While not a championship length course it is more than adequate with the trees to let you really go at it.
Cons: The biggest downside to this course is the lack of concrete pads. I played during the winter and the leafs piled up on the rock pads made the footing rather rough. I also think the signage on course could be updated. It is nice as is and good to have the distances listed. However it would be nice to have the layout of the holes on the signs. As stated above it would also add a little to the score if it was a little longer. Even when I played during the week it was very busy. Since the course plays around a park with walking paths running through it, you must be very careful to not hit any pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course. It was in pretty good shape for the amount of leaves that were on the ground. If you are passing through this is more than worth the stop. For the amount of space they had to work with and the layout of the land they made a very good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.