Blairsville, GA 
Meeks Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Brilliant!

1    9/2/2018   9/2/2018
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 134  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I loved this course. I first saw it on this site back around 2013 and thought it looked awesome. But after I saw it, I never had seen it again. Until a few days ago. And I found out it's only 74 miles away from my college campus. I knew right then and there I was going to play here and bring a couple of friends. It's well worth the hour and a half drive. The layout is stellar, and the fact that the space is quite limited (maybe 20 acres) makes it even more impressive of a design.

-The woods are beautiful. The whole land is gorgeous, so it makes the holes more pleasing. To add to that, there isn't a bad hole here. I've played many forgettable courses with high ratings but there isn't a hole here that is forgettable in my book.

-Two sets of pads on every hole. The shorts are funner for beginners but the longs are what make this course stand out. You have more variety in length, and a good amount of challenge but nothing too brutal. Course is relatively wooded, but you'll be able to throw some bombs here.

-Both of my friends as well as myself all loved hole 15. We all threw more than one driver on this hole. It's 447' long and downhill the entire way; so it plays a little less. Hole is quite difficult because it demands accuracy, as the fairway cuts slightly right and there is a mando tree that'll make you question throwing a bomb. I threw a saint with little power and was pin high, but I landed in the woods to the left and they are penalizing. I bogeyed this hole and it didn't feel as bad as it would on most holes here, but it's worth the effort to bomb a driver. A birdie on this hole would be extra.

-#11's the other hole we all loved. This is that one hole that you have to love, otherwise you should never consider designing courses. It's 269' (223' from the short pad) and is down a large hill. This hole (as well as all the others) is scenic. It is tight, so you'll have to be accurate to receive the pleasuring sight of watching your disc hit the bottom of the hill from the tee.

-The tee signs give hole info and if the baskets are tough to spot, there are arrows that show where the fairway turns. Some baskets are difficult to spot, but the fairways are well defined so they are easy to find.

-Course is demanding and deceptive (from the longs) but you can be saved if you get in trouble. The rough is sketchy in some places and will make you wish you had a get out of jail free card. It's tougher than I anticipated; I actually shot +1 here with seven bogeys (AND with an ace on hole 1!). But I had some easy opportunities for redemption that I blew. It's the perfect challenge for a player that's looking for a fun time

-Danger! But the fun kind. Some holes play on the side of the hill that is thrown up and down on holes 10 and 11. It isn't too likely that you'll end up all the way down, but the hill can impact your score.

-Many other signature holes. Both of the par 4's (holes 3 and 9) were great bomber holes. Some tight left turning fairways (downhill #8 and uphill #10). And right turning fairways (14 and 18.)

-North Georgia Canopy Tours isn't too far. With that being a gem of a course as well, you may feel the urge to go there too. I actually passed a place with an 18 hole course (know it was 18 because I saw the eighteenth basket) on the way over. It's about twelve miles from here and it isn't on this site but it may still be open for play.

-The course and park are on the opposite side of the highway, so you won't have to worry about pedestrians.
Cons: -It's cramped. Holes 5 and 14 practically share a fairway. The road is very close to #3, and I agree with one of the previous reviewers on how it's odd that #2 isn't the first hole and how #1 isn't the finisher. But my first throw of the day was an ace, so I'm personally happy with what's hole 2 not being the starter.

-The main problems are the overhead branches. Some of them are good and make the holes more challenging. However, the last five holes are better off without the overhead branches. #14 is nearly 400' and the branches are like 3' off the ground. #16 has some overhead branches, but I think they'd make this hole a great challenge if it wasn't for the drag pile and the tall tree stump in the middle of the fairway. #18, you better not backhand this hole if you are a righty. Don't do it.
Other Thoughts: -If the last few holes had less branches to deal with, this course would be in my top 10. I really loved it. Whenever I'm home from college, I usually don't bother drive more than 25 miles to play somewhere. But most of the golf in the WNC is pretty mediocre and has a "raw sewage in the middle of the barn" odor to it that tells me to play Meeks Park. From what I saw, this course is pretty secluded too. But if you live in North Georgia, you have your options open and will less likely get tired of the golf down there. I've played this along with North Georgia Technical College, Rose Lane, and North Georgia Canopy Tours. Those courses are all well worth the time spent, even though they are pretty spaced between each other.

-The pars on the tee-signs are way overparred. The par of 56 given on the hole info seems perfectly right. Ten of the holes are under 300' and the longer ones are generally more open and allow long drives. Pars should be adjusted.

-I also heard from a local that there are singles events held here on Tuesdays, but me forgetting to ask what time they start, I don't know when to go. If you attend those events, please message me. And if you haven't played here, then do it if you contemplate it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

1    7/6/2018   7/16/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 47  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Excellent tee areas, concrete tees, good signs with par and distance.
-A few baskets are blind, but the yellow band makes it easier to see if you walk around a little
-Fairways are good quality, mostly grass, not super long, but not short enough for big skips.
-Rough is fair, it is adequately challenging and yet not impossible.
-Amazing elevation use, not a whole lot of massive drops, but there are some hills and undulations that are made to be a distinct part of each hole.
-Trees are very good here, there is a stretch of trees that separate the two more open parts of the course, this section isn't top of the line woods play, but it is good and fun.
-Relatively easy to navigate, I probably would need help without a map, but with the map, I only had to check it twice.
-This course has a cool vibe. It feels like a typical park course, but the distances are long, also, this course is in a rural area that does not have a whole lot of options, and this course is an amazing option that could hold its own in some larger city areas.
-Very large park, that is also really pretty, it is almost solely devoted to dog walking and disc golf, which is super cool.
-A wide variety of shoes here, a lot come down to personal preference, but there is equal opportunity for all types of shots.
-Most holes are wide open or mostly open, which allows for your creativity to run wild in regards to how to get around the few trees in your way.
-An impressively small amount of garbage for a course that deserves to be well known
Cons:
-Disc Golf Paths aren't great, easy to slip. However a couple holes play near a walking path or two, and those are high quality.
-There is a river nearby, and 17 is the only hole that it could come into play, I would have like some more water.
-A couple holes could use some established OB, there are some holes that are pretty easy and would be much better if a path was OB.
-Not a whole lot of benches
Other Thoughts: this course gets a 2.5/4 on the new shoe index, that being said, I played in post-thunderstorm conditions, i.e. it was super wet
This course deserves to be played way more than it appears to be, because it truly is a wonderful course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course near Smokey Mt. NP

1    1/1/2018   1/1/2018
Review By: shai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete pads. Two tees on every hole. Easy navigation. Decent use of elevation and distance.
Cons: One hole (12) had two tee positions one 20 feet behind the other. They each had the same line and the same look... Could not understand this considering the effort and expense to build such nice concrete Tee pads. Maybe a tree was taken down after the construction...
Other Thoughts: A little dull, but well-maintained, and an excellent vacation course with no complaints or serious downside.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meeks Park

2-4    6/10/2017   6/11/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 178  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for most tees

Most holes have two tees

Has tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has next tee signs posted throughout - easy to navigate

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Has some mandos

Nice scenery

Free parking - but it's a walk to the first tee and from last basket

Restrooms

Water fountain
Cons:
Most holes play across the walking path or very close to it (one can expect some delays)

Some of the gravel tees are uneven

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between holes 13&14 and 16&17
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice, fun 18 hole course outside of Blairsville that I enjoyed playing on a Saturday afternoon. A quirky thing about this course is you have to walk down the fairway of hole #1 to get started. I have to wonder why the designer did not make hole #1 the finishing hole and hole #2 as the starting hole instead. This course is more wooded than open where some of the wooded fairways for the long tees have lines tight enough to make it challenging. At the time of this review, I counted 12 concrete tee pads that looked freshly poured - hopefully all will be finished soon. The remaining tee pads that are not concrete are uneven for some holes. Almost half of the holes play across the walking path or very close to it so one can expect some delays on a nice day like I did. The course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between holes 13&14 and 16&17. Holes 5 and 14 seem like they share the same fairway. Although not a destination course, it is a very good course to play if you're in the area. I made a nice day trip in the mountains with this course and Yahoola Creek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    11/27/2015   11/27/2015
Review By: Spinney105
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great layout!
-greatly marked
- multiple tees
-nice scenery
-beautiful course
Cons: -tee boxes need to be leveled.
-walk ways run through the course
-must watchout for pedestrians.
-pedestrians can mess up your flow If you have to wait.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have ever played! Great lay out and amazing flow to the course WILL PLAY AGAIN! It is a great all around course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Satisfied

1    7/12/2015   7/12/2015
Review By: RobbieRob14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2016
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Good baskets
-Easy access from the highway
-Easy flow of the course
-Great scenery
Cons: -Gravel and uneven tee pads
-Inaccurate par ratings on tee signs
-Not a great layout
Other Thoughts: This course is on a piece of property that has the potential to be a great disc golf course; lots of ups and downs and a good mix of open and wooded areas. However, the design does not take advantage of the land. The wooded holes look like they just decided on a tee and pin location then removed zero trees in the fairway.

The tee pads were also extremely disappointing. I knew they were gravel going into the round, but they are extremely uneven and unsafe on some holes. Concrete tees would help this course tremendously.

Don't trust the par info on the tee signs. Hole 1 says that it is a 280' par 4 and 9 says it it is a 733' par 6? I read somewhere that these are the par ratings for recreational use, but if you have rec/amateur tees, then what is the point? I had to refer to dgcr during the round to find the real information about the pars.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 You will enjoy this one

1    3/14/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well manicured, technical and challenging pin placements. A good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Teepads are not ideal. A couple throws could get close to pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: I played at the Meeks Madness and love it when they move the pins to the Island and across the road.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Best of North Georgia

1    4/5/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Easy course to navigate. There are small signs throughout the entirety of the course which clearly display the current hole, and the hole next to come is never far away.
- Baskets and tee areas are in excellent condition.
- A long and short tee are available for every hole, all of which are well marked.
- Great variety of throws needed throughout the woods. You will use every disc in your bag.
- A course designed for the intermediate player. Expert players will certainly have fun, but beginner players may see it as too much of a challenge.
- Even a bad day on the disc golf course can still be a good day for a hike. Wonderful scenery in Blairsville, GA make for an aesthetically pleasing afternoon.
- Clean area, free of trash and graffiti.
Cons:
- Although foliage is well maintained, the grass could certainly be cut more frequently.
- As of the beginning of April, hole #3 is gone due to construction.
- Meeks Park is a popular spot for walking dogs and running, so when teeing-off one will need to be aware of others nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is only my second course played in Georgia, and I must say I am thoroughly impressed. This is a course I would certainly recommend for intermediate and expert players. Be on the lookout for tournaments during the year, as this is a course very worthy of often tournaments. The course is very easy to find and easy to navigate, just remember your most comfortable tennis shoes, as you will be doing a lot of walking. I look forward to soon returning to Meeks Course to play another round!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meeks Madness

1    2/28/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 410  Reviewed: 291  Exp: 15.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Meeks Park in Blairsville GA has many of the features that I love to see in a golf course.
There are many holes short enough in distance to score 2's, and there are very long and challenging holes. Mostly the long holes are very open, while the shorter ones have trees to navigate. Elevation changes will be a factor on many of the holes. All of these factors are blended well throughout the course, and in the wooded fairways left and right are both well represented. 1 and 2 are wooded, 2 substantially uphill. 3, 4, and 5 are very open and lengthy. 6 and 7 are back in the trees. My advice is throw something stable on 6, I turned my drive over and wound up at the very bottom of the hill. Not easy to recover from that. 8 starts in the woods, requiring a downhill hyzer to make the more open pin position. 9 is a beast, 733 feet but fairly open with water on the left of the fairway. 10 is back into the trees and up the hill. 11 is a nice downhill ace run if you can hit the gap between all of the trees. 12 and 13 continue through the wooded area. 14 is back over the grassy field a good distance, and 15 is a downhill anhyzer edging the woods. 16 woods, 17, and 18 woods. Very fun, and distance is manageable on 75% of the holes. It is not a pushover, but not overpowering, especially once you get past 9. I really liked the land and the layout was pretty good.

Short and long tees are marked well by white signs with distance. Not paved, but two fairly level dirt tees on each hole. Baskets were good Discatchers. Not much traffic on the course, but it was lightly snowing when we started our round. This one I would love to play over a few times because there are a few great holes.
Cons: Cold, and breezy. Some of the open, lengthy holes were sort of bland, but the elevations on the hillsides and even some water added enough to still be interesting. Improved tee box surfaces would be cool, but my rating would stay at 4. Dogs are required on a leash, so mine was kind of irritated. There is a small dog park. Trails could potentially bring pedestrians in nicer weather.
Other Thoughts: The drive between Helen and Blairsville was scenic and mountains make awesome disc golf terrain. Worth the long drive to play this course once. Wish I had regular access. Did not play well, which was frustrating but acceptable. Better conditions would have been nice but what do you expect the last day of February? Birthday luck helped me hit a nice jump putt on 8 for a birdie, first of two at on the round. Reminds me of Rankin Lake.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with variety

2-4    6/28/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: hjevetts
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long open holes in fields mixed in with mostly wooded holes. Makes for a good variety. Some holes you can just chuck your drive others require lots of thought. 1 mando. 2 tees on every hole.
Cons: Poison ivy. Just watch out for it. 1 hole where it's easy to lose a disc into insanely thick brush.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course with lots of shade. Good for all skill levels.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.