Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #6 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Worth The Drive!!

2-4    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course hasn't quite "got it all", but it's pretty darn close! The designers of this course seem to have gotten the perfect mix of distance/challenge/variety on each and every hole with the longer ones being fairly wide open and the shorter ones being narrower and/or having sneaky pin placement. Big arms and more experienced players will enjoy the distances on the longer holes and will be challenged by the great mix of wide and narrow fairways, constant elevation changes, and creative pin placement; yet less experienced or less powerful players can still enjoy the experience fairly frustration free.

Pin placement is outstanding on this course! Each one is either well protected by trees, sits on a side hill, or perches on the edge of the creek - there are no "gimme" putts or approaches on THIS course.

Every single elevation change in this park has been utilized fully. While that makes for some outstanding holes, it means that course flow stutters in a few places. For your first time here, you may want to print the map on here or take a pic of the map at the kiosk with your phone.

The flat, roomy concrete pads are perfectly sized and textured and their directionality is particularly nice for pin location and course navigation. The tee signs, as well, are particularly nice as are the well constructed bridges that allow creek crossings with ease.

I love that the tee signs and score cards display real-world, recreational-player-friendly pars, ranging from 2 to 5. (Sorry guys. Not ALL holes are 3s!!)

I have a really, really hard time picking a stand-out hole here as there are so many interesting ones, so....

The long blind drive over the hill, between the bushes, along the creek on #1 with pin placement on the edge of the creek starts the course off with a bang.

#3 and #15 look to be easy deuces, but sidehill pin placement with a bad putt could easily leave you with 5s.

The wide open drive to a tight pine alley on #9 may have you begging for mercy if you've got the distance but not the accuracy.

#12 is the ugliest hole on the course with a narrow lane over the creek, through a swampy area, up a steep hill, then a sharp right to the pin at the top. Following this with the huge, huge, huge, wide open drive on #13 really gives you a feeling for the variety and design elements of this course.

#17 leaves you with a choice - go for the ace and risk dropping in the creek if you come up short, or go for the shorter, safer drive and the long putt.

Finally, #18 - the perfect way to end the round with another risk/reward choice.....go for the ace and flirt with the creek and/or woods, or play it safe with a par of 2. You'll want to empty your entire bag on this one!! :-)

Bring your whole family when you venture here....there's plenty to do and there's even a dog park with agility stuff right at the DGC parking lot. Gardeners will enjoy a stroll through the rose garden between #14 and #15 as well. Nice restrooms are available at the top of the hill in the center of the park.
Cons: This is a very, very active multi-use park and other users are entirely oblivious to the sport of disc golf. It's a good idea to send spotters on the blind holes (especially #4 and #7 as both have prime picnic table spots right near the pin).

Navigation can be a bit tricky the first time through as the course meanders through and around the entire park and some routes aren't immediately apparent. The course crosses the stream in the park several times and hoofing it through 2 parking lots (to tee #9 and to tee #15). While the route to #15 is fairly well marked, the route to #9 isn't. Just leave the woods toward the parking lot then skirt the edge to your right along the drainage ditch. The tee pad is marked ON the access road directly ahead.

Check your tee sign on #4 as the basket in sight is actually #18. #4 is tucked up in the pines in an almost straight line from the tee. #5 is also a bit sneaky as the pin is in the trees to the left on top of the hill, not the one straight ahead.

The park crew has placed 2 porta-johns directly in the line of fire off the #7 tee this summer but I don't recall them being there last year. Just sayin.
Other Thoughts: Avoid playing here late Sunday afternoons during the summer as they offer Concerts in the Park at the band shelter and it appears the entire town shows up! If you do venture here after 4:30 on a Sunday, be prepared to have tons of people walk right in front of your throw or the basket, picnic in the middle of the fairways, park next to the baskets or on the tee pads, and even try to run you over while you're standing in the clearly marked tee box for #9!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    5/8/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Big concrete teepads
-Nice maintained course
-variety of holes
-challenging
-great area
-very clean
Cons: dont play in heavy wind. combined with the elevation, your shots may be unpredictable.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played at and its in a great location. Will be back soon!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's Grown On Me.

1    2/29/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: the_pwnerator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, Clean Park

-Rolling Hills make it very unique compared to more courses

-Will definitely Challenge your distance game

-Huge Hole variety, not one hole is even semi-identical

-Well manicured

-Still manages to have some wooded holes that will challenge placement

-BRAND NEW CONCRETE TEE PADS!
They are very large and have a triangular shape without the tip.
Cons:
-Terrible to play on when wet because of the slippery hills, not so much the mud.

-Especially for beginners it is mostly distance based challenge

-The park can be busy some days with locals interfering with some holes, but it's almost never dangerous unless the thrower decides to play a hole that they shouldn't be.
Other Thoughts: I used to hate this course because of the long distances but as I've progressed into a better player, it's definitely growing on me.

I would easily give this course 4.5 stars if it had concrete tees and stairs on hole 12 because of the dirt incline that can become very slippery and dangerous.

Update 4/13/12
CONCRETE TEE PADS ARE IN!!!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Muth

5+    10/16/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love this course. Long 600 + foot shots all the way down to 140 foot tight shots. Their is elevation changes, woods, and water. This is one of the best courses on the east side of Michigan. Stretch well ahead of the round, hills plus distance will hurt the next day!
Cons: No solid pads

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Anhyzer-Bush
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time playing a course in MI, and honestly I think this course ruined me. Coming from CA where summer time means a lot of dirt and dust, relentless sunshine and too many people on every course, my rounds here were a treat. While at first glance, the park seemed like a vast wide open expanse for chucking discs, it was obvious the designers of the course took the time to utilize the green rolling hills in such a way as to make the course not only fun, but fairly challenging. Drives consistently went farther than I was anticipating, yet I still found myself having to make challenging puts to save par. Elevation changes, distance throws, and a few holes where I had to "steer" myself around some obstacles all made for an excellent course. Throw in some unique local architecture and its definitely a must play any time I'm in MI.
Cons: I only have 2 gripes -
1. If it weren't for the locals who were playing ahead of us, it was very easy to get turned around (despite having taken a photo of the course layout for reference.)
2. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was a treat to play. Green rolling hills, wide open, long distance throws and unique surroundings made it impossible not to play a second round. It almost felt like playing on a real golf course, except there was no drink cart rolling around the course. Couldn't count on my patented 50' skips, but I found I didn't really need them anyway. I would recommend this course to anyone from a first timer to a skilled pro. You are guaranteed to have a good time...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Great Course

5+    5/20/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Clean Park. Nice tee pads and baskets. Giant playground on hole nine if you have children to take a braek and let them play. Grass is very well maintained. Lots of parking. Great holes for both lefts and rights.
Cons: large groups of people that will not let you play threw. We were stuck behind a group of 12 and a group of 11 they were inconsiderate and would not let the line up of people behind them play threw, has happened more then once.
Other Thoughts: Besides the large groups this is a fun course. We enjoy our selfs ever time we go.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    9/6/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to play, built in a park in downtown Frankenmuth. This course is wide open with a ton of long holes and some place perfectly on hilltops and sides to test a players skill. All holes are grassy and nicely kept.
Cons: Maybe a little too many wide open holes, could use a few more trees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park

5+    4/24/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful course that is very well kept. A large variety of elevation shots and enough water hazards to keep things interesting. A few tough technical shots as well. A great place to practice your distance driving.
Cons: Quite a few holes that are too open. It would be nice if there were more trees on quite a few of the holes. No long water shots, just a creek. Lack of tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Right next to the Frankenmuth Brewery. Nothing like finishing off a day of discing with some great micro brews.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 At Memorial Park, everyday is Christmas

1    11/1/2010   2/20/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 22.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
When I first pulled up, my first thought was, "Woah!" as my eyes wound up and down, scanning the terrain. To say there is a lot of elevation is a gross understatement. But, as this is a park, traversing the course is not at all difficult nor dangerous.

In addition to great changes in elevation, you dont just throw up the hill and back down once, as the hills are used repeatedly. The entire front 9 was undulating bliss, and the only stretch of flat was the middle of the back 9.

Lush grass covers almost the entire course. The trees are a mix of leaf and pine to offer challenge at all times of the year.

Great signage that was a slick design. Although they were simple 4x4 posts, they had small graphic signs. But the signs were the width of the post, which makes random vandalism much more difficult. Great idea.

A winding creek was used for a hazard for nearly half of the course. It is just the perfect size; small enough to leap back and forth, and wide enough to be a big headache. It never leaves you alone here.
Cons:
Midway through the back 9, this course used the only flat, featureless patch of land on this property. It was all the more jarring, as there were almost no trees at all. Blah. To be fair, at least the holes had a nice distance challenge, and there is not much else they could do to make holes here better, but it is unfortunate that this land had to be used at all.

No cement tees. I found this more and more unbelieveable as the round wore on, because of the quality of the course was so high.

Quite frankly, I can't think of anything else.
Other Thoughts:
If it weren't for the few dead flat holes on the back 9, I would say you couldn't find a more perfect city park for a course (in the sense of an open grassy park, rather than forested.) This park is beautiful, well kept, and the course is very well designed, offering up a range of challenges and shots required.

The fun factor is in the stratosphere, and with the addition of a stiff breeze, you are going to need all your wits about you to score well. There are many holes here that can tuck your heart in their pocket, but for me, #11 with its weeping willows and setup for a beautiful winding RHBH s-curve is the best.

I never in my life thought I would ever think "I HAVE to go to Frankemuth", but I was so very wrong. I don't think I will ever drive to Detroit again without stopping to play here along the way.

At Bronner's they say that "in Frankemuth, everyday is Christmas." At Memorial Park, this couldn't be more true.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: rortopan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Grass was cut and well maintained
-Easy to follow signs
-Lots of open space for long shots
-Nice elevation changes
-Beautiful gardens
Cons: -Lots of blind holes, fun but easy to lose a disc
-No tee pads, just trampled dirt
-Small parking lot
-Loose dogs from the dog park

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.