Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #14 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Home Course

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: Ace_star2103
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As my home course, I play here as much as possible. This course has many rolling hills and a beautiful layout that challenges and player-from long holes to difficult approaches. There are a big variety of holes, such as holes 3, 5, 6, ,15, 17, 18 which are all ace-able. Holes 2, 7, 13, and 16 really let you rip out your farthest shot. There are many trash cans as well as updated maps detailing where the hole is. The hole is usually easy to find, but some are wrapped around the corner.
Cons: The only real con is no tee pads. This shouldnt be a problem because the ground is flat from all of the past tee offs. There really isnt a struggle to find the hole or the next hole, but if its your first time here i'd recommend looking at the map on the post before you tee off. Hole 12 is a pain in the butt, but if you get a straight shot up the middle it is pretty easy to get par or even birdie. Nice summer nights can get crowded. There are youth football practices as well as cheerleading, but the only hole this affects is hole 10. Sunday nights in the summer there are concerts. If you like to listen to some music while you play and dont mind skipping a few holes it isn't that bad. great course that really challenges all parts of your game.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with plenty of challenges and other things to do. There is a dog park, tennis courts, a giant playground by hole 9, and many grills and benches to eat. Summer can get crowded with many golfers and casual walkers through the park. Tournaments run Friday nights in the summer for more advanced players. A great course for beginners becuase of the open fairways and also a great course for pros alike for the distance throws, technical approaches, and wide variety of holes. A great place to come out and spend a day at!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A gem of a course - I'll be back!

2-4    8/19/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 242  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superb terrain for disc golf: Rolling hills, slopes and elevation changes all over the course, with some fairways incorporating both up and downhill into a single hole, and two holes (13 & 14) playing flat.

Great variety, requiring power and finesse with a nice mix of distances, lines (hyzers, annies/FH, straight), fairway types (mostly open, some lightly wooded, a couple densely wooded), and a few unique holes - never gets boring. Open (or relatively open) hole layouts allow for several different ways to attack the basket.

Excellent use of carefully tucked pins, guard trees, slopes and water to create challenging pin placements to keep you humble.

Nicely illustrated tee signs on with distance and hole-layout to help you find the next tee and get you pointed in the right direction.

A small stream comes into play and adds character, but isn't intimidating.

Course takes you all around a clean, well maintained, visually appealing, small, city park, with some really scenic spots, including a nicely landscaped garden, with a trellis & benches (genuinely suitable engagement and wedding photos) in between holes 14 & 15.
Cons: Non DG traffic can affect, delay or prevent play on some holes (football & soccer practice).

Course plays near a road, parking lot, tennis court, which detracts from playability as well as the course's awesome atmosphere.

Personally I don't mind blind holes (this course has several), but they don't work well when other fairways are nearby. On quite a few holes here, the basket that seems most obvious from the tee belongs to another hole, and the correct basket is tucked away around a corner (threw at the wrong basket a few times). Navigation a bit tough in spots, but not too bad (course map was a big help first time out).

Concrete tees would be an improvement.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course! Without exaggeration, easily one of the most enjoyable courses I've played to date. Has a unique charm and certain vibe that's all its own. Despite its flaws, it really bumps up the fun factor. Not championship caliber (doesn't pretend to be), but certainly well designed and challenging. Has you continually thinking and rethinking about how you should approach your shot. Pins placed on slopes present risk/reward opportunities: an upshot that landed only a few feet from the basket ended up about 75 feet away after a particularly nasty roll.

Navigation and basket confusion will be an issue for some as I suspect many will visit this course only once or twice while visiting Frankenmuth (print course map).

SLIPPERY WHEN WET!! Pickles' review is spot on about wet or windy days greatly reducing course's playability.

While playing here, I was thinking, "a solid 4, possibly 4.5," but shared use of the land, (football & soccer practice), as well as the non-DG elements that can come into play (parking lot on hole 10, tennis court on hole 11), and lack of concrete pads have me holding back that half a disc. Perhaps lacking in terms of "championship pedigree" compared to excellent courses, Memorial Park is every bit as good they are in an altogether different way, and stands apart from them in its uniqueness.

There's a donation box by the sign near the 1st tee - Looks like the $ is being put to good use - no signs of neglect like many other courses. I hope the locals are earmarking some of that for concrete pads.

Bonus Info: Only minutes from downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's own "Little Bavaria," known for its fried chicken, beer, and general charm. Great place to bring the family or grab a bite and a brew after (or in between) rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Course

1    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~The course is spread throughout a wonderful park
~Left my map at the hotel, but was still able to navigate from tee to tee with ease
~Makes good use of the hilly natural terrain
~Great mix of holes and layout
~Hole signs with numbers and layout next to each tee area
~Challenging and fun course
Cons:
~Lack of concrete tees
~No hole indicators on baskets
~Shot to a few wrong baskets due to layout Con #2 above
~Shared park space can make play difficult when busy
Other Thoughts: I played a round while vacationing in Frankenmuth and had a very enjoyable time. The wife and kids kept busy on the playgrounds and walking around the park while I made my way around 18 great holes. Natural tees didn't provide any discomfort as the worn away grass areas are well compacted and fairly level. I did end up throwing to a few wrong baskets due to some holes having a couple baskets within close proximity of one another and no numbers on the baskets to properly indicate which hole they belong to. Plenty of hills and valleys add to a nice mix of holes that make their way across open park space, through lightly wooded areas, over bridges and around a meandering creek. Plenty of opportunity to throw your longest drivers as well as tee off with precise mid ranges. The diversity and mixture of scenery ties this course together really well. Unfortunately I had to skip a couple of consecutive holes as the one had kids playing all over the fairway and the other went next to the high school football practice field which was being used by the team during my round. Recommended if you are in the area, I know I'll revisit if I ever head back up to Frankenmuth.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial Park

2-4    8/3/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Best use of elevation I have seen.
-very well maintained
-not at all repetitive. every hole is unique
-great variety of long/short, hyzer/anhyzer, up/down/flat, open/tight.
-brand new concrete tee pads that are HUGE
Cons: -It can be confusing. I was with someone who knew the course. I'm not sure that I would have been able to find my way around or know where/which one the basket is if I were alone
-in a multi-use park. most park goers are oblivious to disc golf. I've had to skip holes because of picnics right next to the basket
-on sundays nights there are concerts in the park. although the Elvis reincarnate?/impostor was pretty cool I would have rather been able to play all of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole: #18
I don't remember the distance but it is very short, maybe 150.' good risk/reward hole as there is a creek and a bunch of trees behind the basket.

Least favorite hole: #12
247' shot. there is really no fairway. it's throw into some trees and pray.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your arm

5+    4/2/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Pickles
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course provides mostly long wide open fairways. If distance is a problem for you then this course is going to be a problem for you. A few par 4's and a 670 ft par 5 on hole 13 that is just awesome!!! You could maybe eagle it you could get 2 nice long drives. Hole 18 is barely 100 ft, very ace-able. Don't worry about the creek on hole 18 cause its relatively shallow. I love holes 3, 4, 16 and 17 because you stand on top of a hill and just bomb it as hard as you can!!
Cons: Be careful on hole 1 because of the creek to the left. Hole 12 is tricky and thru the woods at a really weird angle and would be impossible to even birdie. I par-ed it last time I was there and that was rare. Be very careful on hole 6 and 15 because there is a big downward hill behind both baskets. One major con is that this course is next to a school and there are always football practice blocking hole 10 and cheerleaders on hole 7 and the boys soccer team blocking all of hole 13 next to the church. All of that was going on at the same day too last fall. Really messes with your game. If its windy or rainy then be prepared to have a bad day. Also I recommend carrying a baseball to dislodge your discs from high tree limbs on certain holes like 3 and 5.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, not every hole has markers but it is pretty easy to navigate. Map at hole is nice and the park is just gorgeous. Can be really hot in the summer as there isn't much shade, but thats not really a con. This course really helps your long range driving! Check it out, its sweet!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 well

2-4    8/20/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: midmittendgfiend
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The grass in kept almost immaculate. the signage is good. location is easy. lots of other stuff to do down the street. Favors big arms on a few holes. disc location is easy. very wide open if you like that.
Cons: The hills are a lil tough on you. huge rolls on the hills. very little risk / reward action. long holes call for big arms which i am not yet. lots of other things are going on. some holes run along unnecessary places. such as right next to tennis courts and over peewee football practice. those coaches are d bags. they will throw your disc 100 foot away from your lie and mess your game up. so it would be best to skip those holes when that is happening. navigation can also get a little sketchy since many pins are visible on a lot of holes. it gets confusing sometimes
Other Thoughts: now that im developing a better arm and better technique, i might appreciate it more now. id like to work with it to try to see if i can get better scores at this course. i think i gave this course too many discs

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  my favorite course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: fanaticalfiend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean with lots of elevation changes!! super fun and challenging! never seems to be crowded when i play there, quite a few times we were the only group on the course.
Cons: no tee pads, grass only... not that big of deal to me though
Other Thoughts: the baskets on 17 and 18 were missing today, i hope they were not stolen. was a bummer not being able to finish our round..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial Park

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful. Really. It was probably the best looking course I have ever played. The Layout of the course was really nice. Several up and downs. Several challenging placements of drives. Challenging mainly because they are blind. I would suggest bringing a map or you won't know where you are throwing to. Tee Signs are really good. They give you a good picture of the hole.
Cons: My First Con is that Basket 1 was very hard to find. I drove in from the EAST (BRAY Road) and when I hit the park I turned into the first parking lot (Rose Garden). "Tee" 15 is right there but I had to walk down over the hill to the left to find Hole 1. The Sign for the course is facing AWAY from the parking lot. You have no idea that is what it is. Again, BRING A MAP. Standing on the Tee there are a couple holes with multiple baskets in view so without a map you will not be sure where to throw.
Other Thoughts: Find the parking lot where the DOG PARK is and follow the road back. Hole 1 is just over the bridge. I would suggest putting a sign on the road somewhere pointing to where hole 1 is. My wifes family lives off lake road (clio) and when we visit I will be sure to return.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Watch it Soar!

5+    5/26/2014   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite course so far. I play it as much as I can. It has many elevation changes, which offer some up-hill approaches, and some awesome elevated tee areas. Generally, this course is very open, some wooded areas that come into play. For players with the big guns, this course offers a couple long par 3's, four par 4's, and one par 5. Challenging pin placements on some of the holes, where they are tucked behind tree-lines or nestled in the middle of some pines. Course is very well maintained and tee areas are well marked. New tee pads were put in during the 2012 season, making this a top notch course all around.
Cons: Always windy there

Other Thoughts: Great for the beginner and for the seasoned player alike. This course offers a great variety of play. Water is in play on most of the holes, due to a small stream that winds through the entire park. Easy retrieval though should a disc go in the water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a great rip course

5+    7/29/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite close-to-home course. It has a lot of elevation changes, which mean you'll be walking up and down hills in the fairways. It's a great beginners course because the fairways are usually fairly wide open and forgiving.

However, it is not just a simple course. It has a good variety of different types of holes, with intriguing pin locations and long approaches. It is a distance course, but you need to have finesse to keep your score low. Good signage and course navigation is very easy.
Cons: Hole #12: This is the bane of my existence. It's only about 230 ft, but its over a bridge, through the woods, uphill, a sharp right before another 35 ft to the pin, and to grandmother's house we go. Absolutely ridiculous. Parred it once by luck throwing through the trees. Plus, this hole pisses you off just in time for the 670 ft hole #13, which is also incredibly hard to par. Fun to throw though. Also, hole #18 is just retarded. It's a course par 2, 180 ft. I usually back up to the tee on hole #5 to add about 100 ft and at least make it a challenge.

There's usually construction going on somewhere on the course, which has changed some of the holes, although they are all back now. It would be nice to have something other than grass for a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to throw. You get your power shots and your technical approaches. Once the course stops getting disturbed and the holes stop changing (and if they get tee pads), my rating will be a 4. It's also located in a pretty nice, gigantic park. There's tennis courts, an ampitheater, and a dog park too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.