Coos Bay, OR 
Mingus Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #7
3 / 214ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Short coastal wooded course

1    8/18/2017   8/27/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mingus Park is the largest park in the city of Coos Bay, located just a few minutes from downtown. The park is very nice and features a lake, Japanese garden, pool, tennis courts, a baseball field, and playgrounds. But the majority of the park is heavily wooded and quite hilly. This is where you'll find the disc golf course.

-The course makes good use of the elevation change. You'll need both a backhand and forehand to manage the hills.

-Even though none of the holes are longer than 250 feet, to score well you'll need a variety of shots.

-It's a peaceful place to play disc golf, among the huge, old Douglas firs. It gives you that misty Northwest coastal forest feel. You cannot see any sign of the surrounding city on the course.

#4, a downhill touch putter hyzer shot was fun, but the signature hole here is without a doubt Hole #6. It's a 250 ft tunnel shot straight downhill. Even the slightest bit of angle on your disc will carry it far off line.

-Unless you really shank one, you shouldn't lose a disc. The undergrowth is mostly ferns. But watch out for the right side of hole #2 and hole #6. These are the easiest spots to lose one.

-Two teepads per hole, which can make for a full 18. However, they tend to be very close together and not offer much of a different shot.

-Not very windy like most coastal courses.
Cons: -The teepads are much too small for a full run-up. You will have three steps at best. I would favor one large teepad over two tiny ones.

-As is the case at Winsor Park, someone spray-painted the entire basket yellow, chains and all. This certainly makes them more visible in the woods, but the paint is flaking off and now they are an eyesore.

-During the winter rains, I would imagine this course being dangerous. Steep dirt trails + heavy rains = mudslides.

-The tee signs may have at one time been nice, but several are now missing or defaced.

-No chances to throw a driver.
Other Thoughts: -While this course lacks tee signs, road signs point you toward the course. This is very nice. However, Google Maps will take you to the main park entrance on the south side of the park. You'll need to go to the north side of the park and take the gravel road to the right of the school administration building to find the course.

-Winsor Park is 10 minutes north and has a similar feel, minus the severe elevation change. Both are worth the stop by if you're in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice 9 hole course

1    8/21/2017   8/25/2017
Review By: Nate32
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: This is a very nice 9 hole course in Coos Bay Or. There are two tee pads for every hole just like Winsor which is in North Bend.
-All the holes hear are really wooded and have a lot of undergrowth.

- The tee signs are bad but at least they say which hole it is.

- This course has spray painted mach 2s.

- This course is in decent shape but a ton of trees and bushes. All the holes here are close together but walking from number 2-3 is a little tricky to find the teepad.

I thought some of the holes were fun like number 6 which was a downhill one.

This course comes right back to your car so you will have no trouble searching for it or walking back about a mile

Cons: Navigation can be a little tricky on some of the holes. Also there is a ton of undergrowth so you could lose a disc on some holes if you grip lock it.

- The teepads are way to small but at least their concrete. On number 9 I had to shorten my run up because the teepad was a foot high off the ground.

- There are a lot of trees next to the teepads. I felt like this course should be some where else because there are way to much undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: This course is great course to play if you are on a road trip a just want to stop and for a little while. But you don't want to make the trip out there because its probably not worth it. This course is also on a hill. But it was fun to play in all!

 

2-4    10/2/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-tightly wooded fairways, but always had a decent line to hit.
-nice forest setting. in the middle of town, but feels like its in the cuts
-uncrowded on a beautiful thursday afternoon
-i didn't have much trouble finding errant throws because there were enough paths through the underbrush pre-trampled for your convenience
-#6. really fun hole.
-two sets of teepads per hole, making 18 holes. the teepads were all level and in good condition.
-good flow. once i found 1, i was able to get through easy, except 3. the teepad is right next to the parking lot opposite side of 1.
Cons:
-short. i never pulled out a driver, and i don't throw very far. several times i had bad drives that hit trees, and i was still looking at an easy birdie
-2 wooden poles instead of baskets, and one badly vandalized basket (half of the chains broken) lots of trash.
-all fairways straight and short. shortest course i've played
-the tee pads could've been a bit bigger
Other Thoughts:
-this is a nice casual course. i get the impression that this area gets lots of use from area "bad asses" at night, but saw no such traffic on my 6:00-7:30 visit. i think of all the courses i've played this one shows signs of vandalism the worst. the two missing baskets are a bummer, but don't let it deter you. this really is a beautiful course. for every piece of trash or graffiti there are 10 big healthy trees and ferns.
-some of the nicest people i've met have been on oregon DG courses. This guy walked with me out of his way about a half mile to show me where the course was. much respect from ca.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Mountain Golf

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 169  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Solid Tee pads (even for the Oregon Rainforest climate)
-Great course flow
-Tee signs for every tee pad
-Wonderful overall course design
-Challenging for skilled players
-Lots of excellent elevation changes
-Well defined fairways
-Never crowded (I've played probably here 30 times over the last few years, and only seen half a dozen other golfers!!!!).
-Very secluded feeling, even though it's in the middle of the city.
-Beautiful huge Doug Firs give old-growth forest vibe.
-Two tees for each basket. And each tee is individual enough to make the whole new again.
Cons:
-Two baskets missing, tones installed on those holes.
-Vandalism of baskets is a regular occurence.
-Shrubbery can swallow discs during spring/summer/fall. Be careful on the downhill throws.
-As stated in previous review, there are some questionable people walking through the course at times.
Other Thoughts:
I really enjoy playing at Mingus. It's funny when you drive to the center of town, and then walk into a seemingly old-growth forest to play DG, and don't see another soul the entire time.
The course has wonderful tee shots! Most all the holes are in the 240-260' range, but they aren't boring or simple. And the entire course plays along a fairly steep hill. Errant shots can be punished very badly, and you must take care with your upshots to land them softly as to avoid roll aways.
My main problems with the course are the baskets. There are 7 mach II baskets, and two tone poles. The other two baskets were there originally, but have been stolen over the years and not replaced. It's really unfortunate that the Coos Bay / North Bend DG community doesn't pay more attention to this course! With Windsor less than three miles away, no one seems to play Mingus and it is left for the vandals.
Personally I think that Mingus is a FAR superior course for skilled players than Windsor, but Windsor takes a lot less effort, and is much easier on the body (no hiking).

If the basket situation was remedied, I would give this course 3.5 stars.

P.S. There have been rumours floating around for the past few years about this course getting removed. It's still there, and I don't think there is any truth to those claims.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, short, and a little creepy...

7/6/2007   3/5/2008
Review By: j_mardis
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Forces you to have many different shots, not just a big hyzer, plays through an old growth forest, but not so technical that you have to be lucky, two sets of tee pads for nine baskets
Cons: Creepy, seems like a place some weird people hang out (besides disc golfers), not all holes are baskets
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't take forever to play, like some

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.