St. Joseph, MO 
Missouri Western Share
Uploaded By: lammogn Hole #17 (Taken 9/2012)
5 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Pretty good

2-4    8/21/2017   9/6/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 94  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Easy to follow some variety. Short and mostly able to par on front. Longer on back. good baskets. Elevation changes.
Cons: Hard to find its behind the football stadium but once you find it easy. Cross bridge for front then back to parking area for back 9
Other Thoughts: Pretty good campus course and fun to play

Ace runs, easy twos, and some great plains wide-open bombers too.

5+    6/23/2017   6/25/2017
Review By: Nova P
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's on the campus of Missouri Western State University, and I think their grounds crew must have blackmail material on the Dean, because they have the sort of budget that allows them to be out there mowing every week. Even though the course is carpeted in a mix of wild grass and clover, it never gets disc-gobblingly thick. The only time the grass gets tall is when it rains for many days in a row (such as in April) and the ground is too soft to mow, and the second consecutive dry day, you can be sure they'll be out there mowing.

The baskets are in great shape, there's ample parking, and the course is quite easy to follow. The front nine warms up your arm with mostly under-300-foot ace runs and must-get birdies, then the back nine plays up and down an open and rolling hillside with lots of 400-or-so-foot par 3s. There's just enough trees on the front nine that you can't just lazily flip a disc at a basket, although there's nothing quite so dense or technical as a typical forest tunnel shot.
Cons: There are no tee pads, and ruts have formed at some tee areas. There is just one trash bin, and the only three benches are on the front nine. The information kiosk at the first hole has an active wasp nest inside it, so watch out! Also, MWSU is a dry campus, so keep your drinks on the down low, or John Law might ask you to kindly leave. (They generally don't get out of their patrol cars, though, so you'd really have to make a big show of yourself to get their attention. Ssh.)

The course is split into two major halves by a very deep forested ravine with a trickle of a creek at the bottom, and 75-100' of super-dense forest (practically jungle from May through August) on either side. This wooded area is lushly carpeted with ivy (some poison, some not) and high weeds and thorny vines at least five feet high from the ground. If you throw into these woods from holes 1-4 or 10-12, watch where it went in and don't take your eye from that spot. If it's more than a few feet into the thick, you will likely come out with some new scratches from grabby thorns, and a peculiar kind of vine that I've seen nowhere else that is coated in razor-sharp spines as densely as hairbrush bristles, which will leave you looking like you fell off a motorcycle if you brush against it.

Long story short: don't throw into the woods. No good comes of this.

For three weeks late every summer, the Kansas City Chiefs have their training camp at the football stadium adjacent to the course, and the crowd control barricades can make holes 1, 8, and 9 a bit of a hassle. Also, when the camp is in session, the ample free parking lot becomes a pay lot. This is a minor ding, as it is very easy to avoid playing during training camp, and the moment they are done for the day, the crowds go home and the pay lot becomes free again.
Other Thoughts: It's been over a year since the last review, so here you go.

If you're in St Joe, come on by, it's a fun course, with a lot of variety of shots, distances, and looks. I know I devoted a lot of words to the rough, but as long as you don't throw in there, it's a non-issue.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Baskets

5+    11/25/2015   11/27/2015
Review By: disc-n-old
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets on the front 9 really helped this course out, now they match the newer back 9 holes. I'm new to the sport and this time of year works out good with all the leaves off the trees, due to the discs going into the woods. Grounds are still kept up really nice, like other reviews it still could use some concrete pads due to the rutting of the grounds. This course is just 5min. from my work so that's a big plus. Front 9 being short are good for newbie and old newbie like myself, so I can at least hit some birds on it. Navigation to next tee really easy. You can park and step out of your car tee #1 is close to play the front nine, and tee #10 is close to play the back.
Cons: The back 9 are long and I don't really care for the blind shots over hills. Tees need some work or concrete installed. Woods and deep ravine on several holes will eat discs.
Other Thoughts: With the new baskets this bumps this course up in rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short in the front, Long in the back!

5+    4/5/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: DamonMorgan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open fairways
The holes vary from right to left, varying your shot selection often
Most of the front 9 holes are short and make for a fun ace challenge
The back 9 is long, open, and tons of fun!
I especially like holes 11, 17, & 18
Cons: Needs: Concrete tee pads, new baskets on the front 9, more beches, trash cans, and signs
Other Thoughts: I didnt even like this course until it became an 18 hole course, and now its a course i play occasionally during the week. I've met several good players at this course. I hear they have a great league I've been meaning to play in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: dylanagibson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course. The front 9 is a good mix of technical shots and the back 9 is where you can show off your arm.
Hole 1, 2, 3, 12, and 16 are all fun holes to me. 1 and 3 are good holes to try your forehand throw because the right bend at each. 12 and 16 are downhill and if you get a good drive you can shoot under par.
Cons: Grass tee pads, especially for hole 11 because it's on a small, steep hill below a tree. You have to throw really low to avoid it and you have to watch your footing or you're falling down the hill.
Hole 17 is up hill and always seems to be against the wind could have been moved up 100-200 feet and it would still be the most difficult hole on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.