St. Paul, MN 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #16 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Only go on Low Traffic Days

1    5/22/2019   5/29/2019
Review By: Sveden
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Inside the city limits.
Cons: Fairways, tee pads, and pins way too close together. Forced to walk across fairways multiple times to get to tees. One tee pad is probably 60-75 feet away from a pin.
Other Thoughts: If you go to this course don't go at peaks times unless you are wearing a helmet.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Breathe the free air

2-4    9/29/2018   9/30/2018
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played here last year when it was 9 holes - the additional 9 holes make it definitely worth your time if you are visiting St. Paul, which I do often for work and to see family. TCDGFAN's review does a great job of highlighting the major pros and cons.

My favorite aspect of Highland Park is that it doesn't chew me up and spit me out like a lot of other TC disc golf courses. I'm an intermediate player, and will never throw 400', and keeping my drives off trees in heavily wooded courses is a problem.

Most of the new holes are either wooded tunnels, or in the open but with many mature trees. But they are short and so you can save par even on an errant tee shot. They also are either up or down hill. They also have excellent new Prodigy baskets.

If you like to enjoy a round, and score near par, this is a course for you, especially if Kaposia and company kick yer butt.
Cons: The layout I played may have been temporary, and I hope so. There some really wonky walkabouts from hole to hole, and some holes are total dead-ends, forcing you to backtrack 100%. Some also require you to cross fairways to the next tee. On a busy day that would be interesting....

Also, they have astroturf teepads in the new wooded holes, and they are completely covered in dirt and have offer very poor footing
Other Thoughts: St. Paul has an 18 hole course with potential. I'd like to see them shuffle the direction of a few hole to improve flow, but it has promise and potential.
BTW, I also saw a flock of wild turkeys during my round. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Temporary 18 doubles the fun!

5+    7/14/2018   7/16/2018
Review By: TCDGFAN
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Free
2. Now one of the few 18 hole courses in the immediate St. Paul area.
3. Very clean and well kept, rough is very forgiving
4. Easy enough for beginners but some interesting shots for int/adv
5. Generally easy to follow.
6. Concrete tee pads and good baskets, especially on the new 1st 9
7. Hard to lose a disc
Cons: 1. No water or big elevation shots
2. Mostly shorter holes
3. Shared park and some close fairways to tees but generally the design was laid out well enough to avoid any issues
4. Not the most exciting course
Other Thoughts: Local legend Cale strikes again upgrading this historic course. Get out to play now if you haven't played in a while (or ever)!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Which way do we go George?

5+    7/7/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: Flanakookn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: This is usually the course I bring new players to which should tell you how easy it is. That is not to say that it's not a bit of a challenge from time to time (depending on where that rogue disc lands). There is some length to a few of the holes so if you're playing from the longs makes that par a bit more difficult to get.

Multi-tee course so depending on the skill level of the group you have options.
Cons: No signage or directional markers. If you don't know where you're going you'll get confused easily.

There are a couple of holes where the folks on the tee pad are firing into your path but if everyone is paying attention it's not that big of a problem.
Other Thoughts: They are totally missing an opportunity to add some holes to this course.

There is space to add up to 5 maybe 6 holes at least here. I've even contacted the builders and offered to do the work myself, but to no avail.

 Not too shabby, pretty typical.

1    8/11/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: dohmenator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some big trees provide the need for some skill shots while having some wide open shots as well. If you are pretty new to the sport or very casually playing, there aren't any super long holes, so even newer players can come up with birdies. Its right in St. Paul so very close for a lot of people. This is always appealing and can facilitate some good growth in the sport. Concrete tee pads are a HUGE plus.
Cons: There really aren't any long throws. Just a personal preference of mine. The pads are concrete, but they are very small. There is also no signage, so if you've never been, you will probably have a little bit of a hard time the first time around. You also throw over or very close to a street and sidewalk on hole 4. Made me a little anxious.
Other Thoughts: All in all, not a bad experience for me the first time out. I aced hole 4 so I am a little biased. I wouldn't go here regularly to get my serious disc golf fix in, but it is nice to have some other places to mx it up sometimes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Extended for the NSG

1    7/11/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 317  Reviewed: 299  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Important: this review is based on having just played the Highland "Extended" 18 hole course set up for the National Senior Games on 7/11/15***

The Highland Park disc golf course (not to be confused with Hyland, also in the Twin Cities) boasts large, level, concrete tee pads on every one of its nine holes (numbers 4, 5, 6 & 8 with multiple tees), and quality DGA baskets (multiple positions on holes 1, 3, 5 & 7). It plays through a well-maintained, and low undergrowth park, using mature trees and slightly rolling elevation to pose a decent challenge for Recreational players. The permanent holes range from 173 to 402 feet in length, and require control on holes 4 (do NOT get to the right, where the steep, wooded slope, and sometimes wet conditions will ruin your day), 5 (tourney 9: left to right with some ceiling to play through), and 8 (tourney 12: don't confuse the basket out in line with the tee: your target is around left, by the HUGE tree, roadside).

The added holes (three on the other side of Edgcumbe Road, an island hole in the driveway turnaround by the shelter, two below that lot, and two out past the playground) were cleverly set up to challenge Advanced Grandmasters, yet playable from modified, shorter tees, for a couple of more 'experienced' players in their 80's.

The disc golf community is clearly supportive and broad-based, as they were able to provide a mix of donated temporary baskets from a Prodigy to a Mach X, and everything in between. There were young folks helping out with spotting for our event, which suggests that the Minneapolis - St Paul - Bloomington (etc.) clubs are there to help and would be a good place for visitors to touch base.
Cons: The fact that it's only nine holes, and the lack of big distance (or, on the flip side, even tight lines) probably deters Intermediate, Advanced and Open players from playing here too often. As it is, I doubt folks find too much of a thrill in re-playing it. If it were expanded to something like the 18 we played, that would be a really different story. I'm told that the low area after hole four can really stay muddy. It's apparently a little difficult to determine the tee area (along the walking path) for hole 9 (tourney 13). And I was a little concerned that the long basket on hole 7 (tourney 11) plays so close to the long tee on 5 (9).
Other Thoughts: As far as nine hole courses go, Highland is better than average, and the hosts and the park did a great job of getting 90% of it really well mown and freshly mulched for the big event (odd that our 17th fairway and 18th basket was in the leftover tall stuff, but I still appreciated all the rest of the effort. Historically, it was neat to see the old pool building and pump house (built by the WPA during the Great Depression) are still features of the park. One of the local players noted how cool it would be if the pool building could be remade into a 'clubhouse' for the course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun, popular little coarse.

2-4    6/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 147  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well groomed park.
Fine tee pads and baskets.
Friendly locals, casual crowd.
2 miles from my Aunts house.
Cons: No tee signs,
It's a newbie crowd so sometimes they are in weird places not paying attention, so look twice.
Can get crowded quickly.
Other Thoughts: This was my daily player while visiting my wife's Aunt in St. Paul. To that end it preforms perfectly.
It plays quickly if the traffic is light. I mostly played it on weekday mornings in the summer, not too bad. I will play this coarse every time I am in town.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

2-4    9/7/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has wide-open fairways and no underbrush to speak of. No lost discs!

-Well worn paths lead you to the next tee immediately (except for 9).

-More than just a pitch and putt. Some holes require a big arm, or a good approach game.

-Great grass all over the course. Well mowed with no rough to speak of. This allows for nice casual barefoot rounds, which I really enjoy on a nice summer day.

-The WPA building is a pretty cool course feature.

-Nice trapezodial teepads. Run-ups aren't really necessary, but some players might find them a bit short.

-The people playing here are pretty friendly. Not the greatest players, but I've never seen a roaming pack of 6 players that slow the whole round down.

-#4 is a fun little hole. It's a short hole, but there is a large drop-off immediately to the right of the basket. It makes you think about your shot, which doesn't happen often at this course.

-This is a great course to take a beginner to. It's easy enough for learning, a beautiful city park, and you can't lose discs.

-Decent baskets
Cons: -Wide-open fairways mean little to no shot shaping is required.

-CAUTION: There must be a hornets nest in the trees on the walk from five to six. I nearly got swarmed.

-I still haven't found #9's teepad, but I usually just tee from the walking path.

-#8 can be a bit confusing at first. You can easily think that you are shooting straight ahead at #9's basket. Just remember that 8 is the long hole that follows the road turning left.

-No trash cans on any holes, but the litter wasn't too bad so it's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: The wide-open nature of this course allows for a great opportunity to learn a disc. If a have a new disc, I often come here to learn how it flies. Much more entertaining than field practice.

This is a great course to go to if you don't have 2 hours to play a round, but it doesn't offer much for repeat players. I've only played here 3 or 4 times, but I feel like thats all I need to play here before I get totally bored with it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for a warm up

1    9/6/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: frylock
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ~Nice Baskets
~Easy beginner course
~Great for warming up or brushing up on your skills
Cons: ~Tee pads are just TOO short
~No signage
~No numbers on tee pads
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course if your looking to warm up before a big round. We hit this one up on our way out to Hyland. Unless your with someone who's been here before navigation can be a little confusing, but after one round through it's easy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good but unspectacular

5+    2/7/2012   8/19/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If played as an all par 3 it is a decent length, fairways are well kept, nice bathrooms on site. A quick play for those in search of a faster round.
Cons: Extremely busy, cement tee off locations seemed to be a little bit shorter than usual, no signage.
Other Thoughts: The course was pretty well maintained. Some more experienced players would think that it's too short, but for the casual player it's okay. There is a section of woods that really only comes into play for one hole; this is a wasted opportunity to add some new elements and difficulty to the course. The tee off for hole 9 can be difficult to find as it is a painted (and badly faded) line on a pedestrian walkway, I would've never found it if I wasn't golfing with somebody who had been there before.

UPDATE: This erosion at this course around the tee pads and baskets has become quite bad. Avoid this course during the spring thaw or after rains as these areas of the course essentially become giant swamps. Several baskets will puddle up to the point where you can't finish the hole unless you're willing to get your feet wet up past your ankles. This significant problem forces me to knock the course rating down from a 3.0 to 2.5. Once this is fixed I will feel comfortable moving my rating back up to 3.0.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.