West Memphis, AR 
Mid-South Community College Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #14 (Taken 4/2018)
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Appealing Basic Amenities, Unappealing Layout

1    4/5/2018   5/30/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.043 Rating) A lightly wooded college campus recreational course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This is the type of course I'd bring a first timer two. Lightly wooded with a handful of open shots. The distances on a few holes with allow the five timers to get a look or two at birdie. The longer holes will encourage further development. There is pretty much no overgrowth. The two water holes are the only occasions where a beginning player could have a hic-up. There is ample bail-out room to the right on both water holes, but beginners will be beginners and sill throw a disc in.
- CHAINS - Brand new adequate Mach III baskets with the typical large viewable number plate accessory on top.
- TEES - Newly poured 4 foot by 12 foot concrete tees. Having just come from Bud Hill to play here, I kind of wish I had these tees over there.
- SIGNAGE - Unique imitation stone tee signs that probably cost a lot to make. Almost all the appropriate info graces the surface; hole number, distance, par designation, ob areas, artistic description of the hole layout. The only missing item on them is the next tee direction. Also, two nice course maps which can be found at the start of both the front 9 and the back 9.
- NAVIGATION - I had no issue finding my way around. Bringing a disc golf cart will be no issue as well.
- NIGHT GOLF - I think this would be a good night owl course if its allowed. I personally finished my first round here under darkness and had little issues.
- QUICK PLAY - I finished in 50 minutes as a solo. Figure a group of four in an hour and 45 minutes.
- MAINTENANCE - A fully groomed landscape that probably only doesn't see a cutting when there's a string of raining days.

Cons: A lackluster 18 that's short on imagination among other things.
- LAYOUT FLOW - The front nine and second nine are separated by 750 feet and there's a four lane major road between them. I seriously considered driving to (10) and in hindsight I wish I had as (18) finished 800 feet from where I parked at tee (1) and so I had to re-cross this major road again by foot.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - A birdie fest for skilled players. I'm about a 900 and I shot a 48 on first attempt. Holes (1) and (2) should have been listed as par 3s being both under 400 feet and lightly wooded. Shop shaping is not required on most holes and a minor factor on a handful of holes. Advanced players should be able to shoot low to mid 40s routinely and possibly even throw up a round in the 30s.
- UNIQUENESS - A snooze fest compared to nearby Bud Hill. Maybe one or two holes I'd list as moderately wooded. Minimal hole distance separation from about 200 to 425 feet. The only nice variety items I enjoyed was the back to back water holes, (7) and (8).
- ELEVATION - Go figure that a course on the flood plain of the Mississippi would be flat. The most any one hole varies here is 5 feet in elevation.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Several holes on the front play around soccer fields. Roads, parking and walking paths come into play more than ten times.
- CHARACTER - Appealing tees and signs, and also adequate baskets. After these core items, the extras and comfort items are absent. No multi tees, no alternate baskets and no practice basket. No seating at the tees and tee shading is light. No end of round gathering shelter or picnic tables.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Buildings and roads are constantly in view the entire road. I scored the course roughly a 2 out of 5.
- WIND - Likely an issue for this layout. The west edge of the layout is completely open with an adjacent road and open fields. The typical prevailing west wind is probably the most challenging aspect of this course.

Other Thoughts: Mid South CC is not going to win any awards, but for a campus course it's a reasonable layout that offers the basics of the game in a friendly format. If I went to school here I'm sure I'd play weekly. No need for the traveling player searching for top courses to stop by, but its worth a play once for those in the Memphis area, especially for newer players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/29/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 149  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mid-South Community College plays across a well-groomed campus. It makes good use of the relatively small amount of obstacles available to create a variety of shots: low ceilings, tight windows, and OB all factor in, and there is even water in play on a few holes that experienced players will have to consider but new players won't feel they need to run from. There are plenty of more open shots and some real bomber holes but trees and OB are frequent enough to prevent things from feeling too grip it and rip it. Hole lengths are nicely varied though never exceeding 400'. Experienced players will be playing for 2s on most holes but in a variety of fashions so as to keep the round fresh. Beginners will have to engage in introductory-level line shaping that makes for a worthwhile round that will never become a beatdown. Overall my sense is that this layout is good for a low-key round regardless of your level of play; just don't expect much beyond that.

The layout is quite spread out, with front and back nines on opposite sides of the street, but walking between holes is smartly minimized. All holes have concrete tees and are well-signed, so finding the next tee box is easy. Parking is plentiful.
Cons: There is zero elevation and obstacles are indeed sparse in coming so the level of technicality is capped. Design is straightforward and oriented towards par 3s so don't expect many wrinkles.

The sprawling layout makes for a lot of walking relative to the payoff of the play itself, and with little tree cover and no places to sit the sun can certainly get to you. Bring lots of water and stay hydrated; a stool would come in handy too if you're used to resting between throws. The layout can be hard to follow at a few points due to awkward and distant transitions, even if effort was clearly put in to minimize such moments.

The course plays alongside roads and fences and through more central parts of the campus at several points, so conflict with cars and students could certainly arise. The campus was empty during my late-July Saturday visit, though.

The concrete tees are painted and I found them often to get very slick when wet. The grass seemed regularly watered so this compounded the problem even on an otherwise clear day.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth a stop to break up a road trip, which is what I used it for. Would also be a good course for casual rounds if I lived in the area. Wouldn't consider it for much more than that, however.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confining campus

1    9/29/2016   10/7/2016
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 138  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets and excellent signs at each tee.

The water holes (#7 and #8) are picturesque.

Fairly easy to navigate and find each hole (as long as participants are aware that the front nine and back nine are separate).

Plenty of parking available.
Cons: This course is literally ON a college campus. Hole #18 requires throwing across a campus green that may be frequented by students hustling to class. In addition, other holes may require throwing near college students depending on the time of day. Also, several of the baskets are located within 20 feet of parking lots, vehicles and other obstacles.

This course feels cramped. The holes are shoehorned into the not-so-available space.

Hole #8 doesn't have much of a fairway. Your options are likely an anhyzer over the edge of the pond and trees or trying to squeeze a hyzer in between trees and lampposts.
Not much variety on the front nine. Most of the holes are fairly open.

Very windy. Throwing might be challenging due to the unpredictable breezes and the claustrophobic design on several of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Mid-South Community College is near the interstate and the location offers an opportunity to snag an additional state if you're passing by Memphis. However, the course could be a frustrating play with the wind and frustrating proximity to roads, parking lots and vehicles. This course would likely be more enjoyable on a calm day during college break.

While several reviewers mentioned the road dividing the front and back halves, there is plenty of parking available near the #1 and #10 tees, so a 30-second drive is the safer option.

Mid-South Community College has several amenities, including new signs and good baskets. But despite these niceties, the course design is poor and confined, hence my rating. Avoiding the many surrounding obstacles will require extreme caution and plenty of luck. Establishing a disc golf course in an area that can endanger autos and academics is a recipe for disaster.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hmmm...

1    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 246  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, great signage. Manageable water holes.
Liked the back nine better than the front- better use of trees. Shorter but more challenging.
Liked the two water holes on the front nine- both very manageable even for shorter throwers off the tee.
Cons: Seven of the 9 front nine holes seemed liked the same throw off the tee. Kinda boring....
Crossing the main street (twice- no matter where you park) - lot of traffic!!
No elevation to speak of....
Other Thoughts: Like the previous reviewer- seemed like two nine's.
Without the two water holes, I'd give it 1.5. The back nine rates rates a 3 in my book and the two water holes bring the whole course to the 2.5 that I rated it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Two 9-hole courses?

1    11/22/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: aclay
Played: 146  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 34.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine has two water holes (both fairly easy carries but with obstacles, so there is some challenge). It also brings out of bounds into play to make shorter holes challenging. One hole has out of bounds within 20-25 feet on three sides, and two of those are less than 15 feet. Trees, although not abundant, are used well, particularly on the back nine. The course maps are very helpful.
Cons: A four-lane U.S. Highway runs through the middle of the course. Open flat terrain and limited trees can make some holes feel repetitive. Holes 1 & 2 are listed as par 4, but both are under 400 feet with no significant obstacle. There appears to be room to make one of them (probably 2) 50-75 feet longer and make it more of a legitimate par-4.
Other Thoughts: While this is officially an 18-hole course, it really plays like two nearby 9-hole courses. I don't know of many people who would walk across four lanes of traffic on a busy road and think they were on the same course. The front 9 is definitely better than the back 9 with slightly longer holes, both water holes, and more/better use of O.B. The front 9 is on the north side of U.S. 70, and the back nine is directly across the highway on the south side.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 unique signs and tees

1    2/1/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool looking Faux stone tee signs
tees have been painted green-nice touch
nice course map in the parking lot helping you navigate
the designers have tried to maximize the use of foliage which is difficult since most the trees are bordering large grass ball fields.
The water shots are scenic and manageable for most players.
Good hole variety
Cons: unfortunately, the terrain is mostly flat and open.
Other Thoughts: When I played this course there was extreme wind, stronger than any wind I have ever played in. I used a firebird on almost every hole. The previous review also mentioned strong winds every time he has played. I would put this in the cons if I could confirm that these are normal conditions for the course. Great design work on a property with a lot of limitations. I would have loved to have a course like this available in college. It is a convenient stop off the freeway if you are passing through.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 new improved 18 hole course

2-4    1/22/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: DiscoBriscoe
Played: 187  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new design has fewer open holes, used more of the trees, etc.
-added 2 water carry holes.
-much improvement over the old design
Cons: -still can have ankle deep standing water in a few places in the fairways and even "greens".
-although when we played the campus was empty, 2 or 3 of the holes seemed to be where people would be present when school is open. I could be wrong.
-not really a con, but the flat openess of the area helps the wind be a real force to be reckoned with all 3 times I've played there. [helps you learn but can ruin your score]
Other Thoughts: The pictures are from the old design and are no longer accurate.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.