Providence, NY 
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Pretty, Pretty, Pretty Good

1    6/21/2020   6/23/2020
Review By: mullethead326
Played: 206  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hyzer Creek is a delightful wander mostly through mature pines, using the creek as the defining feature. I'm a picky reviewer about course design and the course held my interest throughout. I really like that the designer used the creek in a variety of ways and wasn't afraid to set baskets uniquely to test your placement ability from the tee or fairway and your nerves on the putting green.

I felt like the course was appropriate for a wide variety of player skill levels and strengths. Although having a big arm was beneficial on some uphill or longer holes, technicality, shot-shaping, and selecting a landing zone was far more critical.

The holes ranged from seriously open (12) to tightening throughout (8, 15) to pretty claustrophobic (11, 16). Although there are similarities in a few holes (e.g. downhill putter shots) the distances and obstacles played differently enough that I didn't feel like I was duplicating efforts.

I will always love the aesthetic of short woods par 4s and 5s that are designed to sucker players into trying to attack too much. I absolutely spent several shots scrambling, said I regretted my decisions, and went right back to attacking the next holes.

The "flavor" I got from the course was very similar to what I got playing Harmon Hills for the first time. The courses are very different in challenge, length, and terrain, but Hyzer Creek seemed to share the same commitment to finding the best unique features and building holes and the course around them, from a designer who had a vision and knew the land well.

Any course willing to devote a page on its website to this much sass about poison ivy: http://www.hyzercreek.com/poison_ivy.htm is a winner in my book.
Cons: The baskets are a little difficult to see and signage is weathered. I scrupulously avoid knocking a course for lack of amenities unless it is clearly a problem. The only real improvement I would like to see in this vein is navigation--the paint on trees leading to the next tee should be refreshed.

Holes 12 and 17 playing into each other is definitely an issue. It could be improved with signage at each tee advising players to be aware of opposing traffic, but can't be obviated without rerouting one of the holes entirely. It was not an issue when I played, but still bears mentioning as a flaw. Similarly, 5's teepad is too close to 4's basket. Current 17 would be one of the best finishing holes I've ever seen--it kinda ruins the momentum of the course to play such a dope hole, walk a quarter mile, then play current 18 and backtrack out.

I think there was some of bias toward CW spin--it would be favored mildly on 2, 7, 14, & 17, and lots on 4 & 9. Conversely, CCW spin would be favored mildly on 13 and lots on 8 & 16. I think the net effect is that CW spin-dominant players have an easier time on the par 3s that are difficult to access (4, 9) but that advantage isn't quite made up for the CW spin-dominant players because 8 & 16 have an extra par stroke to play with.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely go back. This is not the most challenging or grueling course I've played, but it was among the most fun. Easily within my top 10% courses of 220 or so played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hyzer Creek DGC

1    6/22/2019   6/22/2019
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 34.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -incredible course design on a fantastic plot of land with lots of elevation; mostly wooded but with several meadow holes
-concrete tees, decent signs, and baskets that catch well
-nice balance that challenges lefties & righties equally
-forces you to be thoughtful & accurate off the tee on virtually every hole
-0 traffic made for a relaxing, leisurely round on an amazing property
-navigation was fairly intuitive, but the next tee indicators (orange dots painted on trees) helped immensely
Cons: -tough to spot the grey baskets on several holes
-lots of backtracking to reach next tees on the back 9
Other Thoughts: Played Hyzer Creek today on a friends recommendation, and I'm glad I did. What an amazing property- one of the most scenic, challenging courses I've played in New York! Didn't see another soul during my round, which was surprising for a Saturday afternoon...outstanding course design uses the natural features very well, and will challenge intermediate/advanced players alike. Highly recommend playing this course if you visit the area, you won't be disappointed!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzered Out

1    8/4/2016   11/3/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 226  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course with 18 holes traversing across a beautiful Adirondack mountain forest. The course gives you a little bit of everything playing downhill, uphill, across slope, straight, left and right curves. The elevation is more hilly than mountainous and incorporated well into the course. All the holes are wooded and the fairways range from very generous to moderate to quite tight. Good mix of distances and pars. Course was well maintained with very little underbrush. Nice tees and baskets with decent tee signage. Two loops of holes back to parking lot.
Cons: Only one playable layout. Holes 12 and 17 have some interfering overlap mid fairway. Hole 18 is out of flow and backtracks to parking lot. Annoying flying insects.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great experience at Hyzer Creek as evidenced by giving this a "very good" rating. Rec to intermediate players will really enjoy the course the most and caters well to them challenge wise. For me it was a little on the short and easy side except for a couple poke and hopes.

The course was very solid on the whole front 9 and I was welcomed on hole 1 with a metal hit off the tee and hole 5 was probably my favorite. Then the course kind of hyzered out on the back 9 for me a little bit in places on 10, 11, the signature hole 16 tight winding "fairway" with the basket in the creek and the awkward flow to 18. Holes 12 and 15 were my favorites on the back 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzer-iffic

1    7/3/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 464  Reviewed: 359  Exp: 17.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hyzer Creek is really great course, it has enough of the features I like to satisfy all of my disc golf needs. There is constant elevation change, from mild to major. The fairways are usually not too tight, but often wooded enough to require accuracy, and have good variance in distance and changes of direction. There are a few long holes that zig zag their way through the trees, and a few that might give up the ace. Water is present, but nothing too extreme. There are some places with heavy rough, which I explored unintentionally, but I left with all my plastic. The tees are concrete paved, and the baskets are all in good condition.
Cons: Some of the tees could be longer. The signs could be better. I wasn't sure of the best way to get back to the car after 18. We played hole 9 again on the way out, since it was nearby. No benches or trashcans. Pay to play. More cons than I usually list on a 4.5, but none of them really affect play, aside from size of the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: An awesome course in a really beautiful area. The front nine play easier than the back. From the first hole to the last, I was fully digging it. Unusual in a sense, for a course that has five par 4's and two par 5's, that the two holes that are the longest by far are not the par 5's. I really liked the open bomb from the elevated tee on hole 12, with the boulders marking off 400' and 500', leading up to the pocket in the woods where the basket is hidden across the creek. Having the basket for hole 14 embedded in a large rock was a nice touch. Hole 16 is epic, downhill and twisting through trees to a basket that is planted in the middle of the creek. 18 is a fun finisher, if you can hit the gap coming off the tee a good chance for birdie. I only made one birdie (hole 13), but missed a few opportunities for more. My first and only round played there yielded a 70 (7 over par). With any luck at all I will be able to return for another round some time, and give it another shot. Overall very fun, I would say check it out if you get the chance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout in the Wilderness

2-4    5/27/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: toddnick
Played: 82  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Isolation; lack of crowds
- Great piece of property utilized well in course design
- Easy to navigate even the first time
- Great test of your game
- Some great basket placements
- Premier holes: #5, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16
Cons: - Rough around the edges; tee pads, hole markers
Other Thoughts: Got to play two rounds Memorial Day Week-end (Thursday afternoon and Friday morning). One other group was out on Thursday and had the course to myself on Friday. And what a beautiful course to enjoy on your own. Lots of great elevation change, tight wooded shots and a few awesome bomb it holes (#12 and #15). Camped just a few miles away at Autumn Moon Campground (nice place to use as a base).

I highly recommend hitting this course if you get the chance.

Did this course on a long weekend disc golf journey that was mainly Vermont courses; and this course holds it's own with the best of Vermont (Brewster Ridge and Black Falls).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ton o fun

1    7/19/2013   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful a combination of long holes and short holes.Great scenery. a fantastic variety of shots. Lots of elevation. (coming from Florida this means a lot). A great deal of "hiking". The pay for play is not a problem, and the cost very reasonable. This course will test your management and your skill level. If you have big arm this is for you. Very little to no water issues except for a couple of creeks.the scenery is wonderful and wild. No crowds when we went.My friends and I love this course and when we are in town again we will most certainly play here again. .
Cons: NONE AT ALL :)
Other Thoughts: come and play the owner(s) are great the course is great and it will test your skill level, maybe not the best course for the novice thrower but you can still have a great time. Be prepared to hike and enjoy the great upstate NY wilderness. We love this place.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great surprise

1    7/14/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: krob190
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The entire course keeps you guessing with a variety of hyzers and anhyzers. There are tight windows that require the occasional thumber or tomahawk and elevated pins that present a lot of challenging putts from the backside of greens.
Cons: The hole signs on the tee markers are small and it is tougher to navigate the map of the hole than it should be. Some baskets should really have flags posted above them to allow for easier spotting along the tree lines.
Other Thoughts: This place is literally in the middle of nowhere and it was a great surprise in terms of quality. There are a few bomber holes where you can unleash the driver, but the majority of the holes require planning and precision. I will most definitely return after the deer flies are gone for the season. Killer track!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Part of the Wilderness

1    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 132  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads and descriptive signs at every hole
- Most amazing scenery I have seen on any course
- Hyzer creek is well used throughout the entire course. On one hole the basket is placed within the raging creek
- Lots of elevation including downhill and uphill throws
- You will have to utilize every kind of throw in your arsenal throughout this course
- Not heavily used so it is likely you and your group will be the only people on the course. It will be just you and the beauty of nature.
- Very good directional signage. My group and I navigated the course the first time we played without using a map. Around hole 14 the flow gets a little confusing but there are signs to lead the way. In fact they have signs anticipating wrong moves and telling you to turn back.
- The course is formatted in two loops so at hole 9 you are back at your car if you need to pick something up. You wont want to leave after 9 holes though
- Although the course is mostly wooded there are a few openings which allow for a couple 700 foot holes. These holes have huge boulders with distances printed on them to let you know how far you threw.
- Almost every hole is unique and provides a different challenge or different view. You will not get bored on this course
- Lawn chairs and tables at almost every hole to provide for relaxation and taking in the scenery
- There is protective fences at the tees where it might be possible for someone teeing of to get hit by someones errant throw on the previous hole.
Cons: - There aren't many open longer holes so it might not be appropriate for professional tournaments, however it is definitely enjoyable for all skill levels professionals included
Other Thoughts: I didn't know what to expect, but one glance at the first hole and my jaw dropped. I didn't look back for the rest of the course. I will say I had a lot of fun and did not want my round to end. It was definitely worth the four or five hour trip to play

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  I love this course

5+    5/11/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Anna Baker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/16/2013
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love being out there, there is no encroachment of humanity, no pollution, just wilderness, a clear unpolluted creek, wild animals, and it is extremely quiet and peaceful because the nearest town is many miles away. The fairways are all open at least 20 feet wide so if you miss them it's your fault and if you pure them it's to reward a good throw not "tree love". Pro quality baskets and concrete tee pads on all the holes. One downhill bomb hole is 700 feet long with boulder rocks that mark 400 and 500 feet like on a ball golf driving range to test your Testosterone level even if you're a woman. Good accurate course maps in the pro shop and on every tee sign which give accurate view of each hole. An outhouse with toilet paper near hole 1. The pro shop has a nice selection of discs both new and used, and other disc golf equipment.

Hole 1 is a great downhill shot into a gully, you need to know how to throw down because it drops off 30 feet. Hole 2 is the opposite, it's only 250 feet but it goes up a steep hill at the end so you have to be able to throw 350 feet to reach 250. Hole 3 is very short but goes over the creek, try to slam it into the rocks to stop at the basket. Hole 4 is very tricky as the fairway goes 10 feet uphill and then it's level for the next 300 feet. The next few holes are nice but hole 12 is disc golf paradise because it's a 700 foot downhill shot and the fairway is a 200 feet wide field so you have no excuse not to open up and goose it. More tricky woods holes, then 15 is also an open field, and everybody's favorite is 16 because you have to be able to precisely calculate your upshot within putting in your comfort zone to putt because if you miss the putt it's going to be OB because the basket is in the creek which is 4 feet wide. Makes you decide if you should layup again for the drop in or dig deep into your putting repertoir of your brain and make the 25 footer so your competition has to layup and lose a stroke on you, or go for the putt and go OB and lose 2 strokes on you. Because of this, you never know whose winning until the tides are turned by 16. 17 is a 650 foot crazy dogleg from a huge bomb tee shot over a field and then dogleg into a wooded fairway, for another 350 feet. But my favorite is 18 because it goes over a canyon and the creek is OB. The scores range from 2 to 6 on this, or higher, and it gets aced all the time too. Not unusual to gain or lose several strokes on your competition at the last hole. Some people question that you have to walk back to the tee pad when you finish the hole but it's only 150 feet and it brings you right to hole 1 so it's a good design.
Cons: Blackflies in May, are very bad and swarm around you unless you keep walking or unless it's windy. In the middle of the summer there are also deer flies which can bite right thru your shirt. Both can be handled with copious amounts of DEET. Bring coffee and all provisions because the nearest store is 4 miles away (Stewarts). Only one tee pad per hole, no amateur tees.
Other Thoughts: I just love going there. There are usually cool people on the premises for hanging out some of them even camp overnight, camping is free. Bring your dog or dogs the owner is dog friendly. Don't leave your garbage please take it with you Carry In Carry Out. No illegal substances are allowed.

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  One of the Best!!!

2-4    4/30/2011   4/16/2013
Review By: Semimental
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Hyzer Creek is an Amazing course that everyone should play at least once or more in their lifetime! Well thought out and designed to accommodate any disc golfers who are up for the challenge!!!
Cons: 2 1/2 hrs. from Westchester County, other than that-no complaints
Other Thoughts: Don't pay attention to any negative reviews, No matter how Good a couse is there's always going to be someone who doesn't like it, I'm definitely not one of them, Always have a good time at the Creek!!!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.