Boulder (South Boulder), CO 
Harlow Platts Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #1
3 / 199ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Boulder Course

5+    9/15/2008   7/21/2009
Review By: The Crit Piece
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I happen to be very fond of this course because it was where I played my first few rounds and learned the game with a couple experienced buddies. Its really really easy and a great course to learn on. Its perfect for beginners because even with questionable drives you can still have alot of chances for pars and birdies to get you locked into the game right away. There are enough trees to make it challenging for the novice and some longer holes (specifically hole 2)
Cons: The easy difficulty may make this course boring for more experienced players who can end up with some pretty ridiculous scores like -7 on 9 and -12 to -15 if you play it twice. It can get pretty crowded in prime times. Its also a dog park where owners and their dogs wonder aimlessly across holes. Theres also a school right there so you occasionally have to deal with kids playing games all over the course and the misled junior high youth (usually wearing ICP hoodies. It makes them easy to spot) go their to smoke cigs (its the cool thing to do obv) behind trees and stuff so hitting someone with a disc is something you have to concern yourself with. Ive also been hit a few times because like I said there are alot of inexperienced players who, not necessarily at their own fault, will throw into you on holes that are harder to see. Also some trees really lend themselves to snagging your discs but its not a huge concern as their generally easy to avoid and not too tall so you can get your plastic down.
Other Thoughts: A great place to take your first timer buddy to learn the game without getting too down about a terrible score first time out. Its also a great place to pad your stats and ego so if youre in the area hit it up for a quick 9 and enjoy the great view of the flat irons.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Easy

5+    2/18/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: SeanMeacham
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole #2 is fairly technical with a long throw up hill. #8 is a long tee shot with trees/bushes lining the right side of the fairway. These are pretty much the only holes you can really let one fly. Otherwise a great beginner course with wide open shots and had multiple pin placements. If you are an advanced player you have the opportunity to birdie every hole!
Cons: Short, not very challenging....lots of traffic being that it is the only DGC in Boulder (which is weird). Otherwise a fun little course to work on some shots.
Other Thoughts: Only course that I have any aces on....I have aced hole #7 2 times, each one on different pin locations and 2 different throws.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 More Scenic than Challenging

5+    8/28/2008   6/14/2009
Review By: Lumberg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: big wide open field shots, incredible views of the Boulder front range & flatirons, nice cement tee boxes built in 2005-ish
Cons: usually crowded, folks walking their dogs or kids from the high school cut in front thru your line of sight often, little to no trees for challenge
Other Thoughts: hole 3 sits on this hill with the best view of the mountains, and watching your disc cut thru the air into that background is awesome. just not challenging enough for me

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 College Town Disc Golf Course

2-4    9/19/2008   5/19/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 59  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The scenery is awesome just below the flat irons and the local (resident, not student) disc golfers are helpful and have a passion for the sport. The practice basket area is nice too. It is open from one side and has trees on the other side. This gives players the chance to practice all types short and mid range shots.
Cons: The park gets a bit crowded and unfortunately it has a college town demeanor to it, which brings many rude and often drunk college kids with little respect for other players. The few times I have played there we have been thrown into and the group ahead of us has been jacking around or sitting down to smoke a joint (but, I admit, I did choose to play in Boulder after all). We also got cut in front of just as we were getting to a tee pad. I highly recommend playing the course in the summer or in the morning hours.
Other Thoughts: The city was talking about putting another course in Boulder, but I am guessing the economy has delayed it a bit. Otherwise, this is not a bad little 9 hole course. There are not a whole lot of obstacles, but overthrows on a few holes can leave your disc wet and lost in thick over growth. I found depth/distance perception challenging with the few elevation changes and the flat irons/foothills right above the course. I recommend printing out and taking the map with you to help you judge distances as I do not remember seeing any distance markings on the pads. When compared with the two Broomfield courses nearby, this is the best 9 hole course in the Boulder area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Go Buffs!

1    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 78  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is pretty good for a 9 hole course. The baskets are all in pretty good condition and the tee pads are in great condition and are numbered. There are some mature trees that provide some obstacles and some semi elevation changes. The park is well taken care of and all of the locals are very nice.
Cons: Some of the back holes are pretty open and short, easy to coast through. The park can be very busy, even on the weekdays, and dogs are running around everywhere and their poo is everywhere.
Other Thoughts: If in the Boulder area this courses is worth dropping by for a round. Great course for beginners and even for those more experienced players; a course where everyone can have a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Iron View!

1    11/5/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: philipbatalion@gmail
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, virtually no obstacles, can easily see holes & tees, some very long drives
Cons: no obstacles...i like them, too short and small,
Other Thoughts: i had a good time playing this course, i would recommend it for beginners, it def poses a challenge, i tend to like more obstacles and more scenery

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sooo under-rated

5+    10/25/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: pitcherofnectar
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has great tee boxes, great chains, a pretty good variation in altitude for where it is, and spectacular views of the Flatirons. Happy people abound and will always at least say "hi," if not more. It's located right in South Boulder, a 10 minute drive max from anywhere in town.
Cons: No official par numbers
Other Thoughts: The city has made great use of this patch of grass. The fact that they could squeeze this course into South Boulder outweighs the fact that there are only 9 holes. I don't think a course should be judged by the number of holes it has, but rather by the quality of holes it does have. This course is a fantastic place to spend Sunday afternoon with some friends and some beers. I have played this course at least 20 times, and have never had a bad experience. In fact, I've had nothing but a blast everytime I've played here!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Couse

5+    10/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: pjaxon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent short course for amateur play and solid setup for semi-pro practice. Great tees and baskets. As a 9-hole course, it can get crowded more easily than an 18 hole course & the park is popular for its other multi-use attractions... so don't expect to have this course to yourself unless it's early in the day. That being said, it's still a great course for a quick round with an awesome view of the mountains. It will help you work on your mid & short game.
Cons: Crowds can slow things down, wish there was a back 9.
Other Thoughts: Tuesday's at 5:30 (in summer and early fall) there is a group that plays best-shot doubles. New holes are sometimes improvised to make it more challenging.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/17/2007   10/17/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a nice 9-hole and it is a good excuse to go up and see Boulder. Most of the holes are short which can be good for beginners and short game practice. There are some elevations changes that add character to this course. The tee pads are very nice. Green grass park makes play nice.
Cons: The shortness of the holes does not allow for long distance shots. There is a swampy area near hole 2 that can hinder easy access to bad throws on that hole. This course can be busy on weekends. There are some holes that intersect so when it busy be careful.

The distances of each hole is not marked.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are nice to identify the holes you are on. Would like to see distances marked. They could do something like Expo Park In Aurora does with their tee pads. This course is nice because it is just down the Highway from Bird's nest so you can go play the wonderful monster of Bird's Nest in Arvada and jet on down the highway 15 minutes to cool off at Harlow Platts.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 school course

1    8/22/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course. basket to tee was easy to find. Good course for those thow are out for a quick play. Seemingly well kept.
Cons: Next to a middle school and a park setting. I played the course at a bad time-school was just released. Plenty of middle schoolers as targets (joke). Park was well used so a player must be alert.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.