Broomfield, CO 
North Midway Park Share
Uploaded By: gToe Hole #1
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Middle-of-the-road Midway Park

1    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: markjfun
Played: 94  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at North Midway Park is nothing special, but it's certainly not terrible either. Each hole plays in a very linear fashion along a drainage ditch. As unappealing as this may sound, the park is nice and clean, the grass is well manicured, and overall, the course is pretty handy for a quick round of 9.

What it has going for it:
- Pleasant park atmosphere
- Quality baskets
- Some of the tees are on sidewalks with plenty of room to throw
- Not used much, so you don't have to worry about the pace of your game
- Good range of distances (240 ft - 450 ft)
Cons: Where it falls short:
- Dull layout (basket placements could be much more creative, even with the limited space)
- Tee pads not officially designated. Although at least half of the tees are numbered with spray paint on the walking path, the other half are not marked whatsoever (just throw from somewhere near the last basket you just played?)
- Worn out numbers on the baskets makes it hard to always know you're throwing at the correct target
- Watching out for bikers, runners and kids on playgrounds (they were there, Valkyrie Kid!) does take away from the game a bit
Other Thoughts: The map from the Links/Files section was definitely helpful to me as a newcomer. At first it may seem obvious where to go since all the baskets are along the creek, but on several occasions, the map reassured me that I was playing the basket on the correct side of the ditch.

Before going to North Midway Park, you should know what to expect - it's not going to blow your disc golf socks off, but if you take it for what it is, you just might have fun here. Don't worry about finding the exact tee pads for the ones that aren't marked on the sidewalk. Just consider this a place to play casual disc golf. If you're looking for more structured and challenging courses, head over to nearby Interlocken Park or Westminster DGC.

Parting muse: My girlfriend, who has played about 10 total rounds of disc golf in her life and who comes along with me from time to time (bless her heart), said as we were walking to the car, "...and I got a hole-in-two!!"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 There's A Playground At Each End!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I was doomed from the start when I started from the wrong playground. The information I had didn't say that there was a playground at both ends. I threw a few discs this way and then I fired a couple the opposite direction. Like someone said, I couldn't really decipher the markings on the sidewalk or maybe I just wasn't so inclined to do so. Maybe I was just wondering why there no kids on any playground. The park looks wide enough that the neither the houses nor the business's should come into play.
Cons: I'm never a fan of courses with not clearly marked tee-boxes. I want to know where to throw from? and what the par is? and when to eat? and where were the kids on the playground?.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good place to practice. I'd love to see someone actually put in some pads. And why are the baskets all sitting in the middle of the grassy lawn? Why didn't they hide a couple behind a tree or something? And finally, where were those kids?

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Midway Park

5+    3/21/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is normally quiet with few people in the line of most throws.
Cons: No specific tee pads. The course is on a green belt leaving little room for shot variation.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to practice throwing putters and mid range discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun small local course

2-4    7/15/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: myaccounts420
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well manicured course, it's in the back of a very quiet park, not a lot of people at all.

This is a great practice course, the so called Tee-boxes are all on the sidewalk, there are red numbers painted with arrows pointing towards a basket and also silver number painted in slightly different spots to sort of create an 18 hole course.

I like this course a lot actually, I can ride my bike to it play a quick round and head home, and since the baskets are just up and back its fun to create different shots by making your own tee-boxes and really just work on your game.
Cons: I wouldn't hold a tournament here that's for sure, its a very simple course. Start at one end of the park and play to the other end then come back.

No real challenges, big arms can leave the drivers at home.

A little tough to navigate the first time, if you have really good eyes like my buddy and I you can actually see the numbers on top of the baskets that are facing you from the Tee so you at least know which one to play to.

We created a couple of our own Tee-boxes to makes some of the hole more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Not much to say, very well kept up, a couple baskets had stickers ripped but other then that its just always good to get out and play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of Metal

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice manicured grass field, with good baskets
-The course was empty
-There was a random orange traffic cone in the middle of the course
-Good opportunity for some safari rounds
Cons: Ummmm....lets see where to start...
-No tee pads...though I assume that cryptic writing on the sidewalk with all of the random numbers was suppose to be some kind of tee pads but you would have to be that guy from the Davinci Code to figure the actual intended tee pads for the baskets, I suggest just choosing your own tee pads it is more fun that way.
-Well if the moons aligned and the huge coincidence of two groups of people playing the course at the same time ever happened they might end up hitting each because of crossing fairways.
-Hole 1 throws very close to a playground so use caution because the children are our future
-Very wide open holes that get boring after 6 or 7 holes that feel exactly the same as the last hole
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy safari disc golf or enjoy good puzzles at figuring at where the tee pads are then this is the course for you if not don't waste time. Unless you are really desperate to play..I suggest this is one course you skip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast, Empty, Terrible

1    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course provides nice baskets as well as a properly manicured grass field. There was not a single person at the park. There are also a fair amount of long shots.
Cons: This course has no real design. It looks like it used to be a park, and they threw some baskets in the middle of a field. Despite being a small up-and-back course, it is extremely frustrating to navigate. There are no signs, no directionals, and every single tee box is on a single pathway that spans the entire park. These are not tee boxes either, they are tiny numbers spray-painted on the sidewalk and can sometimes be impossible to find. Once you're at the box it is always hard to tell which basket you are throwing to. We found ourselves throwing in the general direction of two baskets, and finding out which one was the true goal once we got closer. Finally, if more than one group played this course at a time there would be massive collisions and a lot a waiting required.
Other Thoughts: This park is a gigantic open field with poorly placed tee boxes and no design thought. If you want to get out and throw, you can do it here - but dont expect much.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2010   5/18/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers a nice distraction from it's Fast Pace Surroundings. Nice Baskets
Cons: There is no real Difficulty & It's hard to Navigate even though you can locate All Baskets (Tee Pads are not marked). It plays Up & Down a Wide Greenbelt with little obstacle, outside the very small waterway (2 feet wide) than runs along the South Side of the GreenBelt.
Other Thoughts: It does it's best with what it has (but it has little to offer) The baskets are nice but you basically have to make up you're own TeePads. If you can stay out of the Tiny WaterWay, you can easily shoot Under Par here.

It's in a bad location. Reminds me of another GreenBelt Course, "Pioneer Park" , in Greeley, CO - If you live in the area it's not a bad option, BUT, if you don't it's not worth a trip on it's own!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A waste of 7 baskets

2-4    9/27/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 185  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice quality baskets. Located in a park with nicely mowed grass. The park is usually dead empty.
Cons: Pretty much all 9 holes are the same exact layout. You go East down the one side of the park trying not to hit any cars and then loop around and go West up the other side of the park trying not to leave a disc in some one's back yard. Otherwise this is wide open disc golf. Two baskets could have done the same job. One to the East, and one to the West, repeat.
Other Thoughts: I read on here that some new tee boxes had been painted on and a couple of the baskets moved so I went back and gave it another chance. Still awful. Holes 1 and 9 have some new trees sort of in the way if you don't hit anyone on the playground. I looked for ways you could make it more challenging and the only thing I could think of was teeing off from inbetween some of the office buildings which doesn't seem like it would be appreciated by those companies. It makes me sad to see these expensive baskets used in such a lackluster way. More of a frustrating experience than fun. Hopefully the parks and rec dept will find a more challenging spot in town to relocate these to.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stick to Interlocken

1    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has some very long shots. It is in an okay park. The baskets are nice. Hole number five is very unique. You throw from a platform above the green sludge creek.
Cons: The course is difficult to access with only four parking stalls. There are no official tees just spray paint on the walkways. There are parking spaces for the apartments along the length of the park that run the risk of getting hit. The "water hazard" is more of a 3 foot wide pile of green sludge. Don't throw into this. The course is poorly marked and difficult to navigate. The course offers little variety.
Other Thoughts: If you are in this part of town, go south a couple miles to interlocken park. It is a million times better.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  New Tees marked!

5+    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: BillyB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New tees have been painted on the sidewalk that runs the length of the course. In the past - we had usually played each tee from the basket of the prior hole.

The new tees make the course more challenging in general by bringing new trees into play, etc.

Also - basket #5 has been moved.

Tees for 10-18 have also been painted. When playing the 'back 9' we usually play the holes in reverse order. (10th hole shoots at the 8th basket from the front 9, 11th hole shoots at the 7th basket from the front 9, etc. - which means both 9 and 18 shoot at the same basket).
Cons: Completely flat course.

Some of the newly painted tee boxes are TOUGH to find.

The tee for hole 5 is on the bridge over the creek near the playground. Look around after you finish #4 and it will make sense.

This means that hole 5 plays OVER the basket for number 4. The course usually isn't crowded so this has never been an issue for us.

If you're playing the 'back 9' - the tee for number 14 is on the path between the houses. Again - after you finish #13 it will make more sense.
Other Thoughts: The new tee markers make the course much more challenging in general - although the marks for 9 and 18 make this one a SHORT hole.

I wouldn't make this a destination course - but if you're in the area - its a quick 9 or 18. (we work in the area and can run through either the front or back in about 25 minutes)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.