Broomfield, CO 
North Midway Park Share
Uploaded By: gToe Hole #5
3 / 142ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 A Boring Down & Back

1    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 13.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained with a playground area, small drainage bed that runs the park, and the baskets are in great shape. The park is very open and runs almost 2800', so it's a great place to open up and air out your long driver. This may be a stretch, but some might even enjoy the freedom of making their own tee box area since you can mix things up a bit and play some safari golf.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: This is a true up and back that is one of the most boring courses I have ever played. I don't know what is worse, the design or not knowing where the next box might be. First the design - think of the course as three diamond shapes overlapping a strung together in a long line. #2 and #8 play over each other as well as #3 and #7, which usually isn't hazardous since the course is so open.

Like its brother East Interlocken Park down the road, it suffers from another fatal flaw of not having any tee boxes. Is it really that had to plant a post with a number or something that shows where the box could be? The sidewalk has some markings, but they don't make much sense, so I recommend just playing basket to basket.

Also note that the pins for #3 and #4 both have a #3 posted on top. This is confusing for first timers on an already confusing course. With houses on the left and right, this is one of the first times I have ever thought a strip of land might be better without a course. At least if you're in the area this could be some good practice with your new drive r.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: Unlike East Interlocken Park, there isn't much you could do to ever make this a great nine hole course. The land simply isn't conducive to a good design, and it's too bad that Broomfield can't finish the deal and put in some tees - I don't think that's asking for too much. My suggestion is play the mildly better East Interlocken Park if you're in the area, or even better - go down the road a few miles in either direction and play Westminster DGC or Harlow Platts Park in Boulder.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ummm… lets see… it has baskets

1    7/17/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 372  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 37.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
I had to search for something to say here... Uhhh... there's nice green grass and a nice little run-off creek. The Mach III baskets are good. That's about all.
Cons:
-There are no tees at all, and thus there are no tee signs or hole lengths!! This is one of the few courses I've ever played that doesn't even have tees marked. I guess you just finish one hole and then throw to the next basket, so it feels like you're just making up a course. This felt very unsatisfying to me.
-There's no fairway variety; every hole is straight.
-The course is almost totally flat and there are very few obstacles except for a small run-off creek and a few trees.
-Although the park has nice grass, it's in a narrow piece of land squeezed in between buildings. Going out (1-4) there are apartment buildings, businesses, and parking lots on the right side. Then playing back in (5-9) there are houses all along the right side.
-Even though it's for beginners many of the holes are too long for them; some are over 300 ft.
-On hole 4 the basket was mislabeled as #3.
Other Thoughts:
The course desperately needs to mark some tees! At least then there would be a consistent course. This course is best for new players, and that may be it's only real value. However, after playing here even beginners might think that disc golf is boring and kind of dumb. Also, they'll never be able to reach the long holes that are over 300 ft. I might take a first time player here to show them how to throw, but I'd be sure to emphasize that most courses are much better than this. For me, playing it once was more than enough, so I have no desire to play here again.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Course Played

1    2/8/2008   3/27/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I was introduced to the sport on by Luke (Luke@DiscTrips) so I have waited to write the review until now. This will not take into account the current construction items discussed in other reviews.

- The park was very well maintained and is certainly designed for beginners and is a great introduction to the sport.
- wide open fairways with no elevation changes throughout.
- trees are scattered and play very little into shot selection and difficulty (it is a beginner course)
- very quick course to play, even with a group.
- no map required to follow course.
- only shot at losing a disc is to a yard with a dog along the last couple of holes
Cons: - no tee pads
- no restrooms
- no obstacles
- no tee signs
- only 1 trash can at parking lot
Other Thoughts: Absolutely great course for beginners and even experienced players looking for a quick round. I would play this course with a mid-range and putter only to add some challenge.
I think a more experienced player could select some alternate tee pad locations to try and factor a tree into the approach just for fun.
This would also be a great course to practice drives in the open field when others are not playing. I would give to have this short little course within a couple minutes of my house. Very fun - take a beginner with you and introduce them to the sport!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course Under Construction.

1    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 23.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Looks like a sweet little course.
Cons: Can't Play right now.
Other Thoughts: See the latest photo. They've got the whole park torn up with ditches and equipment. Right now it's best to stear clear. There's another very nearby named East Interlocken.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great place for a first time

1    11/9/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: philipbatalion@gmail
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy to see baskets, great open area, no lost discs here, pretty empty even on a sunday afternoon
Cons: no tee pads, no obstacles (but great for first timers), unless you realize that it is basket to basket, it could be confusing
Other Thoughts: this is a great little park in Broomfield, the whole area is open for disc golf, and is great for first timers to practice drives and everything else, came here after another course was super packed and tough

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It has baskets...

5+    10/20/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Usher
Played: 78  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy course to play quick. 9 baskets in a open field that plays down and back. The area is well maintained.
Cons: No Tee Pads, and since it is a down and back, if there are others playing, you can kinda get in each others way on hole #2 and #7(baskets close to each other).
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, don't waste your time. Drive 5 minutes south to East Interlocken Park
for a much better course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 20 minutes of fast fun

1    8/23/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quick little down and back course. Wide open with short tee to basket. The course was well kept. Grass mowed and green. It was actually pretty fun.
Cons: Tee to basket...nothing else. No real challenge anyewhere beyond just the game itself. No trees in play no water in play just down and back
Other Thoughts: If you have 20 minutes to burn, this is your course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.