College Station, TX 
Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 A little bit of fun

1    7/2/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A short course that offers a different look on every hole. Located in a very nice park with facilities. There was a sign for every hole when I visited. Plays quickly when no one else is using the park. Lots of opportunity for birdies. Good beginner course.
Cons: I don't think any hole was over 250', and there were two par 4's? Come on! Natural tees left me slipping in the mud once or twice. The layout is sort of unconventional. Begins in the middle and spirals out.
Other Thoughts: Used to live in College Station, and still have family there. Oaks is one of three new 9 holes courses installed since my last visit. After playing, I wished I had chosen another, since I only had time for one between thunderstorms.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Easy, but Very Fun to Play.

2-4    1/4/2010   1/5/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, fun, and semi-technical. Oaks Park is set within a nice public park with good bathroom facilities, as well as other activities to keep the family busy. This is a Houck course, complete with new high quality signs. However, don't expect to be wowed by this very short pitch and putt, but expect to be pleasantly surprised at the overall enjoyment factor this course has. There are three holes that have water in play, but even if you throw it in - you should have no problems retrieving it.

BEST HOLE/S: #3; #9
Cons: Oaks Park has glaring issues that prevent it from ever rating higher than a couple of discs, so take the cons with a grain of salt. First, given the small usable area, this course will never be anything more than a pitch and putt. Hole distances range from 163' to 228' according the tee signs, and it even lists holes #6 and #8 as par 4, which is a joke to most players. If you're past beginner level, you can almost guarantee at least birdie on both holes.

The course has no parking, which may have been the reason for the weird conical design where the course starts in the middle of the park and works its way out around itself to the edge. We just parked at the street and started on hole #8. In addition, the overall design has some real line issues. Hole #4 and #7 force to get more lucky than good because there is no real throwing lane, so just be prepared to work your way around the trees at odd angles.

There also looks to be a horseshoe pit that can come into play on hole #8, so watch out. Plus, we chose to play in the morning on a cold day, but the locals say this course can get extremely packed on a good day. If it gets packed, watch the interchange on holes #3 to #4. If you play from the left side of the #3 tee sign, you shouldn't have an issue, but the right side is a much cooler shot and the one most would prefer to play. However, if your disc even flies slightly right, you will run the risk of nailing someone on the #4 tee box, which felt like it sat right in the middle of #3's fairway.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #7
Other Thoughts: Oaks Park isn't the best course in the College Station/Bryan area, however - besides Southern Oaks Park, it was the only course in the area I wanted to play again right away. Maybe it was the ease or speed of play, or the short lines that made for an interesting casual round of golf where one can shoot low - I don't know, but I think the enjoyment factor of this course speaks volumes. It seems to have a lot of technical issues, and again - it's not a high caliber course, but it's the perfect place to bring a newbie learning to play or relax for a quick easy round of golf. Plus, being under a mile from Wolf Pen Creek, it's a no brainer that, if you're in the area and should you have time, try to hit this place and enjoy.

Having finally played all of the current courses the Bryan/College Station area has to offer, I have made two separate lists for you to consider when making your next visit to Aggieland. I have ranked them first by overall course quality and then my personal enjoyment rating which varies a bit from the first list. Please note however, I enjoyed all of these courses, and none of them stood out as the clear favorite.

Course Rating and Quality:
1. Research Park 3.5 discs;
2. Southern Oaks Park 3;
3. Wolf Pen Creek 3;
4. Austin's Colony 2.5;
5. Oaks Park 2;
6. Bonham Park 1.5;
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC 1;
8. Tiffany Park 1.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best & 5 is worst)
1. Southern Oaks Park
2. Wolf Pen Creek;
3. Research Park;
4. Oaks Park;
5. Bonham Park;
6. Austin's Colony
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC
8. Tiffany Park

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Play it with One Disc!

2-4    11/12/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: Clark
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short, quick course. A typical game lasts about 25 minutes with a small group.

The baskets are in excellent shape. The signs are helpful for some of the more tricky holes.

The course is moderately wooded, and trees obscure the basket on a few holes. Be prepared to pull out a variety of mid-range shots, but leave the drivers at home. The longest hole is a mere 228ft, but it is a par 4! So be looking for some very low scores even among beginners.

You will use almost every shot on this course. The holes offer hyzer, anhyzer, blind, tunnel, and ace-potential shots. This course would make a great warm up for the mid-range and putts on the way to a longer game somewhere like Research Park. One could play this course easily with a single disc. I shot three under par with a Discraft Buzzz, and I am a fairly new player.

There is a public restroom at the pavilion, which is near the 1st tee as well as the 9th hole.

A small creek comes into play on a few of the holes, but it is shallow enough to retrieve sinking discs. The next tee is always pretty easy to find as well.
Cons: Dirt tee pads.

Just one tee placement. This course could really benefit from a set of longer tees. There is certainly space on most of the holes.

A few holes have poor drainage after a rain: The third hole floods considerably in the approach / basket area; hole four had a large puddle; and the ninth hole also had a sizable fairway puddle. Caution: the rain drives the fire ants out into the open.

The small park is loaded with features to attract non-golfers: a basketball court, a covered pavilion, and a concrete cookout pad. Be prepared to skip hole 2 due to children near the basket.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect neighborhood course. The holes are short, and the play is quick but varied. Apartments line the back of the park, and the sorority houses are nearby. A few restaurants are just across the large street on the south end of the park. It would be possible to catch a quick round while waiting to be seated at Johnny Carino's or Ozona.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/6/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 9.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a small neighborhood park that takes up about one city block. There is a small but always wet creek that runs right down the middle of the park and comes into play on a few holes.

There is a restroom in the covered pavillion right in the middle of the park.

The flow of the course is excellent. If you want the quickest round in College Station this is it.

This course requires just about every shot in your arsenal. #1 is a hyzer over the creek. #2 is across the footbridge to a tree guarded basket. #3 is back across the creek with an anhyzer route. #4 is a short blind hyzer with blind ace potential. #5 is a short tunnel. #6 has you throwing between the corner of a covered basketball court and some cedar trees to a basket in the open. #7 is another anhyzer through some large shade trees. #8 is probably the longest hole and has some elevation drop to the pin located just over the creek. #9 is a little pinballish but there is a way through if you can find it.

Cons: Dirt teepads.

All of the teesigns are missing. You can see where they were originally located from the concrete in the ground with a broken pipe sticking out.

Some might say this course is too short and easy. I think it's just right.
Other Thoughts: I played all 6 courses in the BCS area and this was the busiest. That says alot about a course. It has a high fun factor, it's a fast play, and it's shady. What more could you ask for?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/10/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: ryandr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Small course that is good for practicing short technical shots through tree hazards. Good for beginners wanting practice without structured fairways.
Cons: All wooded holes with no tees to start at. Only one hole had a tee. No signage to designate the order of the holes or the beginning or end.
Other Thoughts: Essentially, you show up and spot a basket and go from there. There was a small creek dividing the park. Lots of trees and other obstacles (covered basketball court, playground equipment, etc.) to avoid. This is basically a good course to make up your own paths and start-points. You set the difficulty level and go.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.