Ocala, FL 
Ocala Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Wooded Gem

1    5/19/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 166  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.528 Rating) A great woods course.
- RAW BEAUTY - The natural elements here are solid. There are scenic terrain changes, great fauna and minimal manmade features in view. Although nothing here really blew me away, there were no blemishes or yawn type tee shots to be found.
- SHOT SHAPING - A great amount of thought will be required at the tee. I went back to my bag several times after having second thoughts from looking down fairway, with the disc in hand. Technical players will love this course.
- CHALLENGING - With much tighter than normal fairways and with an average hole length of 320 feet from the backs, posting scores below par on a regular basis is likely only going to occur for advanced players and above.
- ELEVATION FOR FLORIDA - Nice elevation changes for a south Florida course. There's a nice 25-30 foot down shot on (12). Holes (8) and (9) are nice 15 to 20 foot drops as well. Hole (10) basket is perched on a 15 to 20 foot ridge and it brings into play the rare Florida death role putt. However, I think several regions of the country would consider this course flat. Just prior to playing this course, it was listed as Florida's only permanent very hilly course. However, considering I've played five Florida courses with more elevation changes, I relisted the course info back to moderately hilly.
- CHILL AREAS - The Greenway course is almost entirely secluded. There are benches at most holes, so there's lots of good break locations to be tapped into.
- CHARACTER - First and foremost, every tee is shaded. Every tee is concrete and most holes have two tees for pros and ams. All of the tees have hole signage as well. There are a few mini shelters along the layout, there are directional path arrows, there is adequate seating and there are a couple picnic tables. As for missing items, I didn't see a practice basket and there are no alternate pin locations.
- OVERGROWTH - For a course this wooded, I was totally surprised by the less than usually overgrown brush areas. I played in mid May when overgrowth starts to build back real heavy too. I only saw one palmetto bush the whole round, although it's probably because my disc found the center of it.
Cons: No real issues with Ocala Greenway, its above average in all five of my core rating areas (Fun factor, Character, Uniqueness, Difficulty and Beauty). However it's also not elite in any of these core areas either.
- FORGIVENESS - Being wooded, this course will not generally be not be to kind to misguided shots. I think I hit a tree on at least half of the holes. Being a good mid range thrower, and scrambling for par, will be key to shoot low.
- NAVIGATION - Passable, but I've experienced much better on other similar type courses. To start. printing or downloading the map to your phone is a must, and I repeatedly checked mine. There are a bunch of directional ques along the layout, but it's missing in a couple spots to confuse the heck out of you. In addition, it didn't help considering the hole signage condition either, see con one line below.
- VANDELISM - I think there may had been a vandal that came threw just prior to my round. Every one of the hole signs appeared to have been beat up with a bat. Hole (9B's) tee sign was torn in half and hole (13's) tee sign was completely gone.
- SPACING - There are a couple of real nice opportunities to walk into the line of fire. (6b) to tee (7) is the best example, be wary of throwers on (6). There is also a close grouping of baskets and tees on holes (5, 7, 9B, 9C and 10). Other than that, not too bad.
- UNIQUENESS - Not to be confused with shop shaping, which is great (see pros). The hole variety is above average, but below average for courses I've rated 3.5 or higher. The greenway is almost all technical wooded shots and many of these holes will blend together after you finish your first round here. Several holes can only be played from one angle. There is no water along the course to force a line. No par 4s and no par 5s from the back tees. There is however a bit of elevation for a Florida course, as mentioned above in the PRO comments, but it's still very minimal. There is a nice dogleg on (12) and a couple other ones that are borderline. There are lots of pockets and tree gaps to hit as well.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a bit more from this course, considering its current rating. Still a great course and I would play it often if I lived within a 30 minute drive. IMO, I don't find the Greenway to be at same level as the top courses in the nearby Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville and even the Tallahassee metro areas.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Technical non typical FL Course

5+    1/10/2017   1/18/2017
Review By: screvy
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Will make you use every shot you have. RHBH, Flick Thumbers, Rollers etc. Tees are decent with well defined fairways. Once off the fairways from a non perfect shot is where all the shot uses will come in. Good mix of par 3s and 4s. Great elevation changes. Real challenge for a FL course.
Cons: Basket could be better. Signage is lacking or missing. If your first time here can be hard to find the extra hole. (After playing 4 go directly right and you will find 4b and 4c). (After playing 6 go to the left of the basket down the hill pass the palms to find 6b. 6b basket is straight down low ceiling shot. Go to the left of the basket up a hill and you will find a trail go left back the way you came walking on the trail to find 6c a short par 3). Rough is Rough, When you get off the fairway expect prickers, burrs, seed pods, sticks, sand spurs etc. Can be very hard to find your disc at times. Does not make for easy single player rounds. Course flow is horrible. After nine holes you are the farthest from the parking lot. All 24 holes is a very big loop, no bathrooms, no water.
Other Thoughts: Come to this course expecting to work on your technical placement type disc golf game. If you play smart and shoot a 70 or under your doing something right. I have played many rounds out here and def. know when i am on point and having a good day by the score i shoot. really will bring out your flaws and show you what you need to work on.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Florida course

1    8/13/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: bilborph
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded property, with some elevation changes, a rarity in Florida. 2 tee pads on most holes. Great setup, with options to play 24 or 18 holes. Local players are friendly and helpful. A lot of challenging holes, without being extremely long.
Cons: Hard for a first timer to find some of the tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: Local volunteered to play a round and show me the layout of the course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Superb, Phenomenal, Awesome...the verb is yours!

2-4    3/18/2016   3/25/2016
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 80  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you can't find enough positive adjectives to describe this course, you shouldn't be playing! And not just the course, but the land it is on. Whom ever laid out this course did a superb job of using the available land. I haven't played a ton of courses in Florida, but the ones I have seem to be flat, wide open expenses of land with palms and not that much variety. But not here! Now, this is Florida, so the elevation wasn't crazy, but ANY elevation is welcomed!

After a flat start on some easy short holes, you get into a series of small hills 6-11 that create some unique shots. #6 is a blind, tougher than it looks shot up hill. A big tree (oak?) in the middle keeps you honest. I TIGHT right cap is for the brave. Hit the gap, park the hole.

My favorite of the three being 7, where you have to throw a low, right-turn shot under a thick wing of water oak limbs. Keep the shot low and turning, and your parked.

#8 is a long, uphill toss. But thrower beware: flip right, or kick right and you are TOAST! There's a series of ravines that will grab your disc and take it to never-never land.

#9 is a LONG toss to a basket on a ridge, set back in the woods. Attack with something slightly understable so it turns right toward the basket.

#10 is fairly simple, another slight anhyzer shot up hill.

If my memory is correct, #11 is exceptional! Tough, hard, brutal, but fair (yeah, it can be all that and fair!) You throw down hill to a sharp left, land, then progress up to the basket, still turning left. I emptied my bag on this one, found my Eagle to be the best approach disc.

After this, the course flattens into a series of long, straight-ish holes. But can't grip and rip, the holes might be open, but there's enough trees and small islands to keep you honest.
Cons: Only cons - and this is anal, like not caring for the color of the pin striping on your 'vette - is the additional 6 holes are hard to find. We never did find the other 2 for #6, even after playing course twice.
Other Thoughts: Extremely easy to navigate, only exception being #7 to #8. There's a tee pad by the 7 basket that is an extra tee for #9. Turn immediately to the left after your approach to find the #8 tee.

Some ingenious person made a lost-and-found box for discs that allows you to slip them in, but they can't be shaken out. All courses should have one of these!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Low Ceilings, Guarded Pins, Sloping Fairways

1    12/30/2014   12/31/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 146  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Located on an old abandoned barge canal, Ocala Greenway has a rich history. This course could've been the canal used by ships to cross Florida and there is evidence of digs on holes 6, 6c, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, and 17. The course embraces this history as evidenced by the Lighthouse logo for the course and elevated lighthouse basket on hole 8.
-OG has that secluded feel, but also seems to be played frequently.
-Multiple tees and pin locations for every hole. All tees were concrete and well-sized.
-This course uses the low hanging branches of old oaks to perfection. A lot of the course is navigating tight, but fair moderately wooded fairways. There are even some sloping greens uncharacteristic of your typical Florida course.
-Unfortunately no bathrooms, but there are port-a-potties right by the parking area.
Cons: -Navigation is almost as challenging as the course. A map is a necessity and you will still end up doing a little extra walking even with the map. You also end up crossing the fairways of other holes while walking to the next hole.
-This course has the worst numbering of any course I have played. It is impossible to know which holes have a B and C, so once again you need a map.
-None of the hole overlap, but you will have to double back and cross fairways.
Other Thoughts: While it does have strange numbering, you will find 24 well-designed, technical holes at Ocala Greenway. This course also has probably the most interesting history of most of the courses I have played. I would be more than happy if this were my home course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Go with someone who has been there

1    10/17/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Tom Z
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting if you like central Florida flora (which I do).

Concrete T-pads.

Good signs at T-Pads.

Great information on score card. I loved the average score and handicap.

Fair variety of distances. Nothing under 200; nothing over 500. This is both a Pro and a Con. I like a couple of ace runs for players who don't throw far, as well as a couple of chances to really air one out for the people with big arms.
Cons: Poor signage. There was a large set of arrows at the parking lot pointing to the #1 T-Pad. Following the trail led to a couple of forks with no signage as to which way to go.

Once a hole was finished it was anyones guess as to where to go next. The course map might point you in the right direction but not accurately enough to find the next T-Pad.

The hole numbering system (4, 4b, 4c, 5) leaves a lot to be desired if using a cell phone app to keep score since the app only numbers thing in sequence. So when you cell phone tells you you should be playing 21, you are actually playing the hole labeled 15 on the T-Pad sign.

Too many blind shots. I walked the fairways quite often to find out where the basket was. The T-Pad sign would give you a general idea but it was still hard to know which set of trees to hook around and how far past them the Basket was.
Other Thoughts: A previous reviewer referred to the hills. I would definitely not call this a course with hills, although there were a few berms and ditches. Nothing like the 30 ft. elevation changes you may find elsewhere in the country. Of course there is nothing that can be done about this. After all, it is Florida.

This is a very enjoyable course if you are with someone who knows there way around. If you are and out of towner you will probably not have much fun as you will spend most of your time trying to figure out where to go.

This course has the potential to be a 4 or 4.5 with awesome signage. I play disc golf to throw disc not to try and figure out where the next T-Pad is or where the Basket is.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course and hike

1    6/22/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has excellent signage (yellow poles), tees, and course conditions if you don't mind hiking and some wildlife. There are also trash cans, benches, and a pavilion.
Cons: Some wildlife signs and course information could have been provided at the parking lot, for example one or two route(s) to take back to parking lot if you get caught in a storm. Unless you have a car/bike, public transportation didn't seem like an option to get to course. Some baskets can be hard to see, so the brush makes throwing and disc recovery a concern.
Other Thoughts: The most fun course I have played to date. I loved the hiking, elements, and course conditions. DO NOT go to Marshall Swamp Trail entrance unless you want a long hike there and back to course. Watch out for snakes at Hole #2, and be mindful of where you place your bag because of ants. I played during hot, clear weather, so I am not sure how bad the bugs get when it is muggy. Be careful if you play alone since disc recovery can be a problem if you throw into the brush. The course really surprised me after Hole #5, for example the inclines and declines became nice challenges.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Greenway

2-4    6/15/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 151  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing in summer here I expeceted a very green and rough course. What I got was very unexpected. At a time of year that most wooded courses are very dense, this one was very managable. Course is in great shape. Rough is present. However, not growing into the fairway like most wooded courses in summer. This being said there is still plenty of challenge and things to bite you. There are shots with slight up hill with low branches to force you to stay low, but not too low or you are in the ground. 24 total holes. Signature holes such as #8, The Lighthouse that plays a little up hill to a slightly elevated basket with roll away potential on a missed upshot or putt. Another early highlight was #3 that plays slightly uphill to a cluster of spooky large oak trees. Signature bonus hole 6c plays on a hogback with basket under another spooky oak tree.
Elevation on a number of holes, more than most any course in Florida. Built on abandoned barge canal property, evidence of the dig is still very visable and creates a lot of fun slopes and gullies. Another highlight was 11 a slight uphill shot to a basket under a large tree with roots exposed by erosion reminiscent of DeLaveaga Park in CA. The roots are in just the right spot to protect short up shots from skipping to the basket or also may push you into a tricky but fun gully along side of fairway. Hyzer shot on 12 has a key hole trimmed through the trees to view the basket, saving a long recon walk. Trees on other holes are trimmed so perfectly to give tight yet very defined fair lines. Hit the line, not chuck & luck. This is a Disc golf sancturay. The course is dedicated to disc golf with no paved walking trails, no car noize, no playground with screaming kids or other actavities to bring other park users into the area. The short walk to hole 1 brings you into the woods to where you cannot see any signs of civilization making for a very zen round. Concrete tees and baskets are in great shape. Great signage by all long tees give info for long & short tees and DIRECTION OF NEXT TEE so pay attention. Also some occasional next tee signs after baskets show direction to next tee or next bonus hole. Never got lost looking for next tee and we did play all 24.
Cons: Sand on most greens and on the tees. Sand can stick to your disc on wet days & get inside your bag.
Large red ants everywhere. Bring your stool, not to sit on but to place your bag on or there will be ants on your bag, then one you.
Could not find my way back to the car for more water after what would be 9 or 12 holes and I do not think you come back to parking area until hole 18. No rest room for the ladies. Just a port-a-potty. However, it was clean with no smell on this day. Did not see a practice basket. I saw others use basket 18 for a pre game practice basket as it is close to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: Looks like every tree out there was planted to make you think before you throw. I have played Greenway a few times and it is now one of my favorite courses in Florida! I have never given a 5 star review. However, as for the over 50 courses I have played in my home state of Florida, this is one of the best.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just Perfect

5+    5/4/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 22 Holes of beautiful D Golf.
Single use park..No tennis, no walkers, just golf.
Great mix of shots, lots of elevation for FL. Very scenic. Some good bird opps if you hit ur lines
Nice signage, multiple tee boxes
Cons: I wish it were closer to Orlando.
Maybe if there were one Par 5 like a 800+ foot hole.
Other Thoughts: I played the Selah Ranch courses in TX, the two highest rated on this site, and I think Greenway is right up there with them. Maybe better

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun In The Florida Woods

2-4    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 145  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 42.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2017
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A short to moderate length technical course set in a wooded, hilly park, seemingly dedicated to disc golfing. Very scenic and fun with a lot of different looks.

Two sets of concrete tees.

Very nice benches, some with small covered pavilions over them, make for nice resting spots.

The park is very clean and generally well maintained.



Cons: Porta potty style restroom.

Some of the tee signs were vandalized or missing.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, and fun to play. I would be happy if it were my home course and would enjoy playing it regularly if it were close by. Some of my friends consider this their favorite course and it's on my top 10 Florida courses list.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.