Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #14 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Okeeheelee Disc Golf Course Is Okie Dokie In My Book!

1    3/29/2019   3/29/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you drive in to this massive park, you're thinking about how big the whole park is and how much is going on. The disc golf course starts by the water ski course and the Pooch Pines Dog Park. At the start of the course, there is a kiosk with not much information on it, a garbage can and a practice basket. There is also a special marked parking spot for whoever holds currently holds the # 1 bag tag. The course has nice long concrete tee pads and DGA baskets. The metal signs show the distances for all three pads, the long Blues, medium Whites and the short Reds and also for two basket positions. If you can remember to look, the signs also show the next tee's position. The baskets are white Veteran models with the number on top. What they don't have is a spoke painted black indicating the next position. The # 4 sign is bolted onto the back of the stop sign and the # 16 sign is bolted onto the small fence making them a little tougher to spot. The on-line map is easy to read and follow.

From the Whites, you'll find most holes in the 330 to 375' range. #'s 13 and 18 were much longer. Water comes into play several times whether you're throwing over it like on # 5 with the basket at 383' (Whites) but with only a 125' water carry or # 7 with the basket set close by the water on a little peninsula or # 14 which requires a 283' water carry.

My favorite hole was # 12 which plays 360' downhill with the basket set up in a thicket of palms.
Cons: These are fairly minor and some might not be a con at all.

The signs don't indicate which position the basket is in.

Pretty good chance you could drown your favorite disc here with the water around and about you.

A couple of blind basket placements

I think two holes use the sidewalk for a pad.

You will have to occasionally wait for walkers, joggers, in-line skaters, etc.
Other Thoughts: From the medium White tees, I think the course play pretty darned close to an Intermediate level. From the long Blues, it would hugely challenging. I understand they have monthly tournies here. I like this course but it's easy to like when you can just skip the longish water carries. And if you get bored with the golf you could probably enjoy watching some serious water skiers at work.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okee

2-4    2/24/2018   3/2/2018
Review By: adlacro
Played: 114  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with varying pin positions and multiple tees to every hole. Baskets are DD Veterans and are still in great shape. Course winds its way through a very nice section of a large county park just off the Turnpike with challenges on every hole, from a park road that is not heavily traveled that plays OB to a lake on 4 and 5, plus a small pond that comes into play on 13 and 14. Blue and white pads are concrete, reds are mostly natural. Concrete pads are ample in size allowing for full comfortable run-up. The holes are tough but fair with good usage of land, including (surprising) elevation on a few select holes. Restrooms by hole 4-7 as well as by 10's tee area, as well as water fountains.
Cons: The park tends to be rather busy, including the dog park near 9, 17, and 18. Dog park is treated as a no-fly zone. The other one can be those challenging grove of trees guarding 12's basket. You may throw a great drive there and struggle for par. Other than that there are no other gripes.
Other Thoughts: Okeeheelee is the best park for disc golf currently in Palm Beach county. Any skill level can play there and enjoy its challenges and not feel too overwhelmed. It's worth your time should south Florida be a spot you want to play some disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Fun

1    7/29/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 189  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 44.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really like this course. One of the more scenic courses in this area, it features rolling hills, water features and nice use of available flora. It is also one of the more fun courses in the area and features multiple sets of tees so that every skill level can have a fun round here. This course really put a smile on my face!

Free.
Cons: Like most of the area courses, this one would be best played early in the morning on a weekday to avoid the walkers/joggers/bicyclists. Some of the holes are near park roads and will require waiting for cars to pass before throwing.

The course could use some more benches or picnic tables.
Other Thoughts: We had a blast playing this course, and it does have some scenic signature style holes. I may be in the minority here as I prefer this course to the similar nearby Commons Park course. This course is just more fun and charming in my opinion.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in Palm Beach

1    5/29/2017   6/8/2017
Review By: Brave_Sir_Robin
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Big sign at the parking area showing course layout and upcoming local events.
+Disc drop-off box for stray discs found in the park.
+Practice basket right behind the aforementioned layout sign.
+Great tee signage with available lines, distance, and pin placements.
+Tee pads in great shape on the AM/PRO tees.
+Plenty of variation in difficulty, from elevated pin locations to OB and hazards.
+Course layout was logical and circled back to the starting area while giving a scenic tour of the park's back area.
Cons: -Can be difficult to find the disc golf area for a first-timer to the park (next to the dog park area).
-Park patrons can get in the way of quite a few holes (4, 6, 7, 11, and 12 come to mind). Mind you, this round was during a holiday, so YMMV.
-Rec tees are still on exposed ground, which could be a bigger issue after a storm passes through.
-Hole 14 has a large, deep pond that is deceptively further and larger than I expected at first glance. I lost one of my better distance drivers to the drink (my fault for not playing it safe, I guess).
-Holes 9 and 10 are by the dog park, which could be a distraction for non-dog lovers.
-Some of the early holes are by roads and parking areas, which increases the difficulty and risk of hitting park patrons and parked cars.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I liked this park and will probably make another trip up here to play it along with Commons Park on a day off from work. The course has plenty of difficult but reachable holes for all player types (lefties included) and I enjoyed the scenic views from some of the hillier hole placements.

I would suggest coming out either really early in the morning, later in the afternoon, or during the winter months because the park gets HOT in the South Florida heat. My friend about passed out from heat exhaustion by the time we got to hole #18, and we both had plenty of water prior to coming out.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in Florida

5+    1/27/2017   1/27/2017
Review By: NightRavenKW
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - A practice basket is provided right near parking and hole #1.

- 3 pads for each basket. Two each are concrete pads

- Makes excellent use of water and terrain features.

- The course starts and ends near parking making the day easy after a round or two.

- Signs at each basket easily mark where the following pad is and distance for each shot.

- The course is very well maintained.

- Common buildings have nicely kept restrooms.

- Very nice park with other activities around from a dog park to kayak rentals for the lake.
Cons: - Since the park is so nice there are always other park goers on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you're in the area. The park is extremely nice and is a good place to hang out for the day and get in a couple rounds of disk golf. This is at least in my top 3 of courses. It uses water, terrain, and elevation to make the course fantastic. One feature I don't see too often is placement of the Pro tees. Often the pro tees are merely about 20' behind the amateur pads. This isn't the case here. Almost all add a good distance to the hole. A few even incorporate different challenges to the course. Hole 4 for example requires the pro tee to throw over the water where the amateur pad doesn't cross the water. You can play the amateur one round and go to the pro pads for a different take on the course. Well done.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Okeeheelee Park

1    5/1/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 199  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads

Has tee signs

Has next tee signs under baskets

Has some benches throughout course

Course flows pretty well

More open than wooded fairways

Some holes have changes in elevations

Good use of the surrounding water

Free Parking

Restrooms at multiple locations
Cons:
Roads and trails are very close to some of the fairways

Very busy park with other parkgoers - didn't see many players on a Sunday afternoon

Many opportunities to lose discs in the water especially with the wind blowing
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice course where I was surprised by the amount of elevation here. There are some rough spots near the water where I'm glad I didn't throw any discs in and I didn't see any hazardous wildlife here. Lots of parkgoers, such as skateboarders, kitefliers, and sunbathers were here but didn't prevent me from playing the hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 On par with many other courses!

2-4    11/2/2015   12/20/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Elevation worked into the course very well.
-2 sets of concrete tee pads per hole. Excellent length and very grippy.
-Good variety of hole types and length
-Pretty good tee signs with plenty of hole information.
Cons:
-Some challenging/tough water carries on a few holes
-Park can get very busy and other park users often hang out on the course.
-A few holes too close to park roads or parking lots.
Other Thoughts:
My favorite part of this course is the elevation use. It is very rare to find this much elevation on a FL course. If it wasn't for the palm trees you might forget your in FL. The park itself quite expansive, some signs leading to the disc golf course start would be nice. Basket placement was well thought out here, not one basket sitting in the middle of a wide open flat field. They have something for players of all different skill levels with three sets of tees. My biggest complaint was the couple holes playing a little too close to park roads. Also on a few holes other park users were hanging out in spots where I was going to be throwing, that's always frustrating. They could also use some benches on a few holes. Overall it's a pretty nice course I would enjoy playing again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Under Wind Swept Skies

5+    3/12/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation... In Florida. Quite rare in itself

Bathrooms and water available

Challenging for all skill levels, with a variety of shots required.

Fair pars set

Water hazards in play

Obstacles and some foliage in play

Grounds, facilities, and baskets well maintained

Friendly and active club

Accurate signs

Concrete pads, pro and am.

Good continuity between holes. Not that hard to navigate

Fairly clean grounds

Cons: Wind comes into play quite a bit

Disc hungry palm trees

Few benches by tees

Almost always overcast if not at least drizzling at some point in the day.

Hazardous wildlife in and around water (gators, snakes, snake heads) comes with the territory, its Florida after all.

Foot traffic and cars close to fairways occasionally

Getting to the park via public transit is a nightmare. A loooonnng walk awaits you from the park entrance to the first tee pad. Get a lift there!

Other Thoughts: I played Okee every weekday for 2 months straight. Every single one of those days it was overcast, cloudy, and often rained. There was never a day where it was just sunny! It was often windy. I was really pretty bad back then. Playing every day like I did really helped me cut my teeth. The local club has some great people in it who were very inviting and helpful. Dan Rigg is an awesome, laid back guy who does a bang up job organizing events and making improvements to the park. Its not the best soflo has to offer, but its pretty challenging in my opinion. When the wind is acting up be prepared to part with a disc if you are by the water. Avoid taking the bus here at all costs, its nothing but aggravation. I know first hand.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/27/2015   3/6/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The front half of this course is pretty decent. The water carries on 6 and 7 are particularly fun, but there are bunch of interesting holes with some decent elevation changes. It's as mostly open course but there is a decent amount of variety in terms of hole lengths and shapes. There is a fair amount of trees spread across the course and they do affect shot shape to some degree, but they don't define fairways precisely. For big arms, there will be plenty of chances to air out a disc, across both land and water.
If the park is empty, as it was for me, it can be a lot of fun, with a ton of throws that I would like to have another go at, whether itis landing it across the pond or atop the hill.
Cons: Pathways are a problem both with both crossing paths and some that run parallel to the fairways. Over the back nine, this problem becomes much worse. Several fairways are pretty much along the park roadway. A lot of parking spaces are directly in the path. With a lot of patrons in the park, cars on the road or vehicles parked along the fairway, its going to be tough to play here. Several holes will likely be skipped and others will only be played after long waits for the route to clear.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

5+    12/15/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: Bd 37
Played: 66  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation in south florida
Plenty of shots for RHBH and LHBH or flickers
Good mix of length, tight lines, S shots, water shots
Cons: Course is regularly trashed (beer cans, bottles, etc)
Don't wear your favorite new shoes, they will be covered in seed pods by the end of your round.
Water eats a lot of discs, especially 14
Snakes are around so watch out if your going in the water for plastic
Don't expect to get any plastic back if you lose it here. There are a lot of poachers that just steal plastic and never return it. The club members do a good job with their lost and found but they are fighting a losing battle with the karma-challenged A-holes who vulture peoples plastic.
Other Thoughts: Now that most of the tee pads are in the course is getting better. Need some signs to warm all the pedestrians that they are walking into a disc golf zone as most of them seem a little annoyed at our presence

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.