Belden, MS 
Old Warrior Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: bazkitcase5 Hole #10
3 / 207ft.   3 / 300ft.   5 / 891ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Gold Level Challenge

1    1/6/2018   3/15/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 312  Exp: 4.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (3.894 Rating) A monster course where the professionals can hone in their game.
- CHALLENGING - The guy at the park entrance gate asks me which scorecard I wanted. "Blue or Gold?" My response, "What's the difference?" His response, "A lot." So I asked for both scorecards and looked them over and decided to play the Gold. How tough can a 10,000 foot par 69 really be I thought? Well... It was a complete and utter beat down. In my top 5 toughest layouts I've ever played. Length and precision is needed. There are two mammoth par 5s where water runs down the entire length of the fairway, once on the right side and once on the left side. Talk about major gut checking throws. Several twisting elevation tee plays where the fairway lane is less the twenty feet wide and the hole exceeds 500 feet in length. Every aspect of my game was tested here and I was truly humbled.
- RAW BEAUTY - I played during the dreariest part of the year, early January and it still looked awesome. It doesn't take a genius to realize that the natural elements here will pop in the early spring. Lots of beauty water views and plays. Lots of elevation changes in the 25 to 35 foot range and maxing out at 50 feet on any one hole. A limited number of manmade structures in view and many of the holes are all natural. In totality, I'd put Old Warrior Run in my top 20 for most beautiful courses played (233 courses played as of this review.)
- UNIQUENESS - Among the most diverse set of holes I've ever played and currently slated at sixth in my spreadsheet. Just about every type of hole one can imagine is here. 1,000 foot par 5s, placement par 4s, technical short par 3s, bomb-it par 3s and 4s. Heavily wooded tunnel shots to completely opens holes. Up shots, down shots, left breakers, right breakers, water clears and parallel water plays. It was truly an inspiring and entertaining mix.
- SIGNATURE HOLES - There are definitely some jaw droppers out here. From the gold layout, holes (7) and (10) take the cake with each of these two holes needing multiple throws cautiously played along water's edge.
- CHARACTER - A touch above average. Although the extras and amenities are here, they are definitely below average for courses I've rated this high. The tees are too small for this style of course at 4 feet by 10 feet and a couple were not concrete. The baskets are not top of line like those seen at the top tier courses. The signage was a hodge podge of versions over time with the latest version being flimsy vinyl stuck into the ground with metal wire. There is seating at most tees and shading is fairly good. There is also an very nice bathroom and a shelter with picnic tables by tee (1).
- SCORECARDS AT GATE - Be sure and request the scorecard when entering the park gate. There's a map on there and it made navigating this interesting layout bearable.

Cons: A few minor issues, but otherwise this course rocks.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Old Warrior Run has two independent layouts traversing 90 percent of same space. For example blue layout (15) is identical Gold layout (14) and Gold layout (5) is fully independent and plays no part in the blue layout. This is going to cause a lot of confusion and some substantial flow issues.
- DISCONTINUITY - There are some substantial gaps in the layout. I'll state again, be sure a request the scorecard at the gate.
- MAINTENANCE - Not too bad, although the park does have a slight run down feel to it. The hole signage and tees have seen better days. It would be really nice if the course could drop about 10 Gs to spruce up the feel a bit. Perhaps an upgrade of the baskets is warranted as well.
- FORGIVENESS - Even for those playing the blue layout, leaving behind some plastic is a real possibility. From the Golds, players will need to be able to throw over 400 feet on demand and be able to throw precise time and time again. Those that can't, will take a whooping. Lower skilled players playing the Golds will constantly find themselves scrambling for par or bogie.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners and also novice players below a 850 rating even from the shorter Blue layout. There are 2 sets of tees on most holes. The Blue layout appears to be geared toward rec and intermediate and the Gold layout is best served for pros and advanced players. As a players with about a 900 rating, I don't think I could ever crack par from the Gold tees. I'd be willing to bet that there's been a few players from nearby Tupelo who have played this course once and then stuck with Veterans going forward.
- TEN TEE GOLD - This particular tee starts from across a street. So when a park patrons decides to park on the road in front the tee what do you do as a disc golfer? If you said "practice skip plays off the truck's windshield" you'd be wrong. I personally had to alter my teeing location for this hole. There is absolutely no benefit in the tee being placed on the other side of the road, I'm baffled as to what the designer was thinking.
- PAY TO PLAY - I want to say It cost me 4 or 5 bucks to enter the park with my car. Completely worth it in my opinion.
- TERRAIN - If you have bad knees or ankles I'd stay clear of this course. There are lots of raw fairways with roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Probably not the best course for the disc golf cart, but doable.
- TIME PLAY - Old Warrior Run is going to take a chunk out of your day. This one took me just over 90 minutes solo playing the gold layout. I could see a group of four seasoned players playing the Gold layout at around 3 hours. Perhaps the Blue layout can be tackled in 2 1/2 hours with four players.

Other Thoughts: Wow, what a behemoth of a course. Old Warrior Run has a 4.28 rating amongst trusted reviewers, tops in the state of Mississippi as of this review. (3.71 Ross Barnett, 4.25 Tombigbee, 3.88 Moccasin Bend, 3.88 Lake Lowndes, 3.95 Chautauqua.) I was told to check this course out by fellow trusted reviewer GMcAtee who intrigued me when he said it was one of the toughest layouts he's ever played. Having now played it as well, when someone asks "What are the toughest course you've played." Old Warrior Run will definitely come up in my response.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Born to Run

1    4/19/2017   6/10/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 310  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old Warrior Run DGC at Trace State Park is a good course featuring a lake that comes into play a few times, some open and some mild to densely wooded holes, and at times moderate changes in elevation. Roads also create some OB boundaries in places.

The park is in nice shape, and there are usually sign markers that are numbered, with the distance of the hole on most. The tees are concrete, with short natural pads on several. The Innova baskets are totally adequate.

The flow of the course is decent. I liked the back 9 a little better, but most of the holes have good variation and are interesting. My favorite holes were 1, 4, 10, 12, 13, and 18. The fairways offer enough room even in the woods to have a chance at par if not birdies.
Cons: The cost is $4 to enter the park. There isn't a lot of shade on holes 5-10 and a couple of others. A map could be helpful to navigate where to park, and the long walk between holes 4 and 5. I parked near the gate, and started on hole 10.
Other Thoughts: Only got to play one round at this course, but it was good enough warrant the cost of entry. It isn't my favorite course in the state or even the area, but I'm happy to have made the trip

I scored a 2 over par (56) on the long tees. Had a bogey on the first hole, a double bogey on hole 5, and a birdie on hole 8. Pars everywhere else. It isn't super difficult, but enough to be challenging for the average player, and frustrating to beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course in Mississippi

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 447  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful state park with excellent camping facilities and a disc golf course playing around a lake. Good tee pads, and good baskets. Enough lake shots you will be tired of those after playing here.

The gold layout is the 2nd hardest course I've ever played that combines two holes on the original layout for a double lake shot! Really awesome!

The views here are amazing! The tee signs are very unique, also.
Cons: Navigation. The tee signs don't give you any idea of the hole layout. Just hole number and distance. No tee signage for the Gold layout either. Print a course map!!!!

Most of the water shots are righty friendly. Good chance you will lose a disc. So, Bring some water discs you don't mind losing!
Other Thoughts: The park office always has an excellent selection of discs for sale.

I've heard the park now has two sets of baskets for the original course and gold course. Haven't been back to see for myself. I should be updating this review soon!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Lake Course

1    4/26/2016   5/22/2016
Review By: air show
Played: 154  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 19 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Concrete tee pads and Mach lll baskets.
+ Pay 4 dollars at main gate for vehicle permit and ask for course maps and score cards. Get both maps one for Old Warrior and one for Trace Gold you will need them both.
+ Great disc golf atmosphere. Even the Rangers are DG fans.
+ A great diversity of many different types of holes.
+ Beautifully manicured turf through out course.
+ Some elevation changes but not drastic.
+ Plays amongst many majestic trees.
+ 5 or 6 scenic water holes. I would pack a minimum of 2 water discs.
+ Depending on which layout you play there are many bomber holes
to let the big dog eat.
+ Course length and elevation changes make for a great workout.
+ Clean restroom by hole one.
+ Camping on site.

Cons: - Even with both maps navigation can be a problem. When entering the wooded portion of the course both layouts play amongst each other and first timers may find themselves wandering in search of the right baskets to throw at.
- Many of the water holes seem to be RH bias.
- A few holes play along side or over park roadways so take care.
- During prime camping season park goers and campers may cause conflicts on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most well maintained State Park disc golf courses I have ever played. The manicured turf and the scenic water holes make this course a must play for me when I am in the area. Moreover, a short distance away in Tupelo are 3 or 4 quality disc golf courses making this area a fantastic DG destination. Also the course designers and state park officials at Old Warrior Run DGC should be commended for creating such a beautiful disc golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced course

1    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: dustan32
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Holes 1,2,3,4,5, and 11-18 were really nice somewhat technical holes with nice lines and very fun to play esp 3, 12 and 16! The course outlay was awesome and the views were great. The gift shop has a very wide selection of innova discs.
Cons: Holes 6,7,8, and 10 were kind of disappointing because the lines were all normal with only the water to avoid. Unfortunately, the only discs available at the gift shop are innova brand discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that would definitely call you back to this tucked in state park literally in the middle of the woods. So many great views and would have loved to see holes closer to the big lake!

 The Best Course In The South

5+    5/20/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: ConnorGraham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is absolutely my favorite course. The terrain, the views, the design, and the difficulty all make for an incredible disc golf experience. You do not need to play the Gold layout for you to enjoy the course, or for the course to be challenging. The front 9 plays a little more open than the back, but much harder, due to all the H2O lurking around. The Hole # signs are ingeniously creative. They are in the shape of like a Longhorn skull, with # and distance on them. Each hole is different, and provides a unique challenge to your game. Benches are available, more through the back 9 than front but still. You need to have everything game-wise, to play well here. But even if you don't, you will have an enjoyable time. Nothing beats the scenery, the knowledgeable staff, and the ability to buy discs when (not if) you put one in the water!
Cons: The only thing that needs work is signage. You can get mixed up on tee pads and which basket you're throwing to (granted thats only on like hole 4, the rest is just pads) They need to update signs for most holes, and improve how easily it is to maneuver the course no matter what layout you are playing.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is the best course in the state, and in the South. Definitely worth taking a trip to come camp out and play! I am very fortunate to live <10 minutes away from this course. PS - Bring your swimming trunks in the summer/spring!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trace Gold

2-4    3/10/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 90  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The views are beautiful! It is a long course, but not just long as in throw drivers each shot until you are at the basket, you have to have placement shots. For a person with a short arm, this makes the playing field a little more even with the long arms.

The hole design themselves are top of the line.. I love hole four. Hole five through ten are some of the best water holes I have ever had the privilege of losing discs on. Hole ten is a signature hole, and one of my favorites any where.

Overall, it is very challenging which makes for a great play.

Cons: The course itself is a little confusing to navigate without a map of the course. Losing discs can suck, but I think that adds to the fun personally.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 5 Star Disc Golf!!

2-4    11/11/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is Mississippi disc golf. Championship level course, well-trimmed Bermuda grass everywhere, top-notch design, good variety, challenging, lots of concrete pads. Tons of money and tons of love put into this course!
Cons: This is a tough course, so noobs stick to the shorts, good players get over here this is how good disc golf should be played in this beautiful Mississippi land!
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. Don't let the one star and half star reviews fool you. Without those people sour about some baskets missing for however long, the score would be way higher. Went there yesterday and saw baskets everywhere, 24 of them, and all easy to navigate! Played there again 11/11/12 and came back here to update my review - this course is one of the top five I've played in my life, and I've played everywhere in Michigan!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 2012 SNDC

1    7/20/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: manglin
Played: 40  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (I'm reviewing the Trace Gold Course)

The course was in great shape for the SNDC. Fairways were mowed and trees were pruned to perfection. The course has nice baskets that are clearly marked. Playing from the long tees, you the shorter tee signs along the way that worked as "yardage markers", similar to ball golf.

Benches and trash cans abounded. The course plays around water and provide a good use of the mild elevation changes. Some holes were open while some played through the woods.

This is a championship caliber course.
Cons: This course is for a limited set of players: the super long arms. It was fun to play in doubles format, but as Intermediate player, I would likely not enjoy this course by myself.
Other Thoughts: I'm reviewing this after playing the Southern Nationals Doubles Championship. The course was in pristine condition.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Woulda coulda shoulda been awesome.

1    4/16/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Mach7
Played: 122  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The course is beautiful at a glance with stunning lakes used as OB on almost half of the holes. The course's lush green fairways are well maintained.

- Cool wrought iron tee signs that are custom made and offer you a place to hang your bag.

- Lots of long bomber holes for the big arms, with a good variety of technical holes.

- Concrete tee pads on all 18. Most of the holes feature multiple tees.

- Excellent risk/reward. The use of the lakes as OB is very well done with clever basket placement. The course gives you the opportunity for birdies, but fairly penalizes bad or overaggressive throws.

Cons: - Missing baskets. I followed the maps of Old Warrior Run and Trace Gold, yet couldn't find 6+ baskets on the course. I ended up playing to trees near where the baskets should have been.

- Multiple long walks between baskets and tees.

- Poor navigation signs.

- Some of the open holes, in the middle stretch of the course, become repetitive.

- Campers in the center of fairways. This is unacceptable on a pay-to-play course.
Other Thoughts: Old Warrior Run has the makings of a 4-star course, yet not being able to find baskets, poor navigation and tents in the fairways ruined what should have been an amazing experience.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.