Liberty Corner, NJ 
Harry Dunham Park Share
Uploaded By: Aupps Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 331ft.   4 / 602ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Alt. Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Some Spark At Dunham Park

1    8/9/2019   8/17/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + The course weaves throughout a quiet field park setting.
+ The tee pads are solid and lengthy.
+ This is a great place for driving and approach practice.
+ Current tee signs are clear and accurate with diagrams, distances and pars.
Cons: - The course is mostly wide open and flat.
- The baskets are showing signs of age and disrepair with rusty cages and chains and slightly slanted poles.
- Two of the tee signs are missing outright.
- Some holes have absolutely impenetrable rough/undergrowth areas.
- The information board has seen better days. Plus, there is no practice pin or lost disc box.
- Some park amenities near a few fairways mean potential safety hazards for other park goers.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole here is hole 6 because of the combined challenge of tree dodging on a gradual downward slope and avoiding the nearby parking lot OB while throwing towards the pin on a peninsula. My least favorite hole is hole 7 for no reason other than it claimed two of my discs in that jungle zone in the middle of the long and short fairways.

As for the course as a whole, Harry Dunham Park is just fine. For a nine hole course, I was impressed by each hole having a short and long tee pad, even if they are made of cracked and worn asphalt. This enables old hats and newbies alike to get in a round or two. One solo session can be completed in about half an hour.

Your session here will be a gentle challenge. There are no truly meaty tasks. However, there are certainly some trees to dodge like at holes six through eight, but most everything else boils down to power metering and angle control with one or two noticeable elevation changes. There is a forested area behind hole 8 that might be a lot of fun to play in, but it will likely not be developed for disc golf. So, what is here works just fine. It's just a shame that there isn't more to this course.

Bottom line: It won't reach out and grab you, but the basics are here. Play multiple rounds, and you'll find yourself having a good time at Dunham.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice for beginners and for practice

5+    5/31/2018   11/1/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2019
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
+ Great for beginners. Short.
+ Even though it's an open, park setting, there are a few shots that require shaping due to trees - so I'd say it's not a bad practice course for intermediate players.
+ Well maintained, good signage and tees.
+ A few of the holes feel very different based on the choice of tees.
Cons:
- Park can be busy with walkers. You'll have to wait.
Other Thoughts:
- A fun short course. Come to practice.
- The par 4's are pretty generous, so come to score!
- If you're developing a forehand, this is the best place to come play:

Hole 2: Nice long opportunity for a FH to fade in around the berm and tree guarding the basket.

Hole 3: Shorter FH opportunity, but a little less forgiving on the left side.

Hole 4: If you can't make the length, a shorter straight BH will keep you off the berm. But if you have the length in your FH, you can take the berm out of the equation.

Hole 5: FH takes the woods all along the right out of play. Short, although remember to compensate for the raised green.

Hole 8: Can be played with a low and straight BH, but if you have a high FH, you have a clearer path.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well designed 9 hole in a nice park

1    10/24/2018   10/25/2018
Review By: The Katana Kid
Played: 138  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 3.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harry Dunham Park was a fun and quick round not too far from the freeway on a road trip through New Jersey.

The asphalt tee pads do the job. The tee signs that are still there are well done, which include distance and par.

The short red tees are a course length of 2241 feet and are par 30. The second asphalt blue tees are longer (2670 feet) but are par 27. I like this thought since the red tees give the beginner/novice some birdie chances which make it a more rewarding experience, hence a fun time. The longer blue tee with a lower par challenges the intermediate player, even if it's only a small challenge. It's a built in course handicap for players of different skill levels that want to play together.

The course plays around the outside of the park. This design allowed me to play off to the side even though the park was full of families with kids at the playground.

The course plays counterclockwise so it favors s RHFH, since you're constantly throwing left to right. Since that's my go to shot I list this as a Pro. Others may list this as a con if they favor a RHBH.

Navigation is good until you get to 9, where you can't see the tees from 8's basket. You'll think/hope you are following the trail to your right that leads into the woods, but not so. You need to head toward the open area and there you'll find the red and blue tees around the corner in front of the woods. Maybe the yellow tee is deep into those trees. If so this course would be really cool.
Cons: The walking paths in the park had many pedestrians out for a walk in the park. This was not a big problem but caused me to wait a total of 2-3 minutes.

Hole 6 plays near the parking lot but I felt it was far enough away to be no problem.

If all of us disc golfers would be courteous and careful there should not be a problem here since the designer used the space well to keep our discs away from other park users. And I expect there will always be other users of this park since it's so nice and well maintained.

Other reviewers complained of mud and bogs, but I saw no problem. I hit the tree on 7 and had to go into the area which would be the most likely bog, but it was fine.
Other Thoughts: DGCR shows a third set of yellow tees that are 4935 feet total and a par 31. Yikes! That's an average of 548 feet per hole. I saw no sign of those yellow tees, but I imagine some locals have a Pro level layout which includes some detours into the surrounding woods. There is no course map posted, but if there was one created to show the yellow tees that would be nice.

If you are a course bagger, like me, then you'll like this peaceful and enjoyable experience. For me it's my only New Jersey course. I'm giving it a 3.0 because I'm giving them credit for an awesome course through the woods from the yellow tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sandbox Mode Park

5+    3/15/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Am and Pro Pads, all concrete
-Simple to navigate/good layout flow from tee to tee. Signage is weak and probably not accurate, but its not really necessary to figure out where to go next.
-Quick and Fun. Great If you only have an 45 min- or an hour or so to play
-Bathrooms open during most of the year
-Beginner friendly
-Well maintained park
Cons: -Simple and Boring: Little variation and no surprises to be seen here
-Park floods very easily, even after light rain or snow melting
-Morris County locals in the park: High in the running for the title of most entitled, ignorant, selfish,petty, rude, bossy, vain, fake and elitist people in NJ. Don't throw anywhere near them, and expect to wait awhile for them to finally move along. You may occasionally get some nasty glances from them, because in their eyes you must be a drug using criminal if you are playing disc golf. A few will be estatic if you hit them, their family, or their cars with a disc... Before you can apologize you will be served legal papers.
-Two or three present opportunities for discs to vanish without a trace, or to go OB into a road, or some uptight local's backyard
-You only really need a midrange to play most, if not all of the course.
-Chains are pretty rusted
Other Thoughts: A very simple, straightforward, boring, beginner-friendly nine hole course. Its pleasant and good for a warm up, or to work on midrange shots and putts. Don't go out of your way to check it out, you aren't missing anything. It still three times better than nearby Chimney Rock DGC though.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Perfectly Fine Course

5+    3/1/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 101  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 4/22/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harry Dunham is a great course for playing a lot of perfectly fine holes quickly.

This is a great entry level course because it gives you enough variety without being too challenging to lead to frustration.

Two tee pads per hole allows you to play 18 different holes in about 45 minutes - 1 hour.
Cons: -If you have a big arm, the course will feel very short.
-There definitely is a good change of landing on walking paths, playgrounds or roadways. So look before you throw!
-Baskets are getting pretty rusty
Other Thoughts: Harry Dunham is a fine course. It won't provide experienced players a lot of challenge but for those new to the sport its great exposure. Even though its only 9 holes, there are two tee pads per hold so you can still get 18 different shots.

This isn't a course that you put on a bucket list, but for a quick round its perfectly fine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A course to cut your teeth on

2-4    4/25/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: UCC Wizard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean park, Restrooms, quick paying.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course. Few difficult holes, if any. Walking paths EVERYWHERE and lots of walkers. Several holes up against little kid playgrounds, parking lots, and soccer fields. No wooded holes to speak of, a couple random trees at best.
Other Thoughts: Played this course a few times to practice for a Birdie Bash I entered here. Other than that, I doubt I'd make the drive again and its only 25 minutes away. If your wife or small kids want to learn how to play, this would be a nice place to bring them. Not trying to kill this place, its pretty, and friendly, just gonna bore an avid disc golfer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  GNATS!

1    6/30/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: GarageRock
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is huge and well manicured with many amenities. The course itself is well maintained, and pretty easy for beginners, like myself. You can get free equipment if you stop by the Basking Ridge Recreation Center nearby. There are plenty of things to do if others in your party aren't playing. Huge play area for kids.
Cons: Gnats...lots of them! The entire park is full of gnats for whatever reason...they'll be in your face all day. Not much of a problem, but very annoying if you hate that sort of thing. Other paths in the park either cross the course or pass close by, so you have to wait for others to get out of the way before you throw.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Casual Course

5+    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Well maintained signs and baskets
* Very clean/tidy park
* Two tee locations
* A couple of holes where you can air out your discs
* Great for beginners or casual playing
* Lots of parking
Cons: * Lots of pedestrians
* Soccer course to the left on two holes
* Could be an easy course for better players
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses for nice, casual playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play it only if you're in the area

5+    10/16/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2015
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -This is a great course if you are a pro and you want to teach a beginner the basics of disc golf
-It has a couple of middle distanced par 4's so you can take out your big arm
-There's a blue tee and a red tee so good disc golfers can be a little challenged on the far layout
-Open if you really want to break down your mechanics and not worry about hitting a tree
-Variety of short holes and long holes
-Different sports fields so you can play there after or before your round
-If you just want to play a casual 25 minute round or you are in a rush, just play a round here because a round takes about 18-27 minutes with one person and 20-33 minutes with 2+ people
Cons: -If you are a 900+ rated player, do not come here. It will be a waste of time for you
-Only 9 holes, so if you want 18 holes, you have to play the same 9 holes again
-If you are a beginner, it could be easy to hit a person on a sports field or on the playground
-In the summer, the rough will get tall and thick so be careful
-Pedestrians on walking paths could be a hazard
Other Thoughts: Don't be tricked by the photos because this course isn't horrible, but it really isn't a course that is going to be in your top 25 courses. I recommend only come here if you are in the area.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginners Course

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sickwell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open with a couple par 4s. There are bathrooms there in case you need them. The baskets are in perfect condition and the grounds are well maintained.
Cons: Not too much challenge. No trees really to throw through it is pretty much all straight throws to the baskets. Some holes are a little close to the playground so you need some accuracy but i have never had a problem.
Other Thoughts: I started playing on this course I think it is a great course to practice on. It has two starting tees which is always nice.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.