Austin, TX 
Our Savior Lutheran Church Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Church Course Has Gone To Seed!

1    9/30/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At one time, someone went to quite a bit of effort to design and construct this little 9 hole course. I'd be willing to bet that the person who ramroded this project has moved on to another position because no one seems to care anymore. The course has been neglected for long enough now that if something isn't done quickly, it will probably just up and disappear.

There is a large sign at the start announcing that this the "Keith A. Looman Disc Golf Course" along with a big "Welcome" and list of sponsors, volunteers, contributors, distributors and carburetors.

Where to start? The grass is anywhere from knee high to chest high in places. Luckily, it's this wispy stuff that isn't thick and so finding your disc in it is realtively easy. But who want's to throw off into tall prairie grass. It's fairly easy to locate the tees because of the benches that are next to each one. There are little round patio blocks with the hole # on them. They are somewhere close to the benches and signs. The signs are homemade and have the hole # on one side and I as discovered later, the distance on the other side. The baskets are older DGA models, I think.

Right when you enter the church's parking lot, there is a small sign that reads, T Box 1 Start here, along with an old picnic table and garbage can. Someone tried to make this a little staging area. I think here, part of the onetime fairway has been lost due to a construction project on the left.

I found the # 1 basket down in the tall grass. I think the # 2 tee pad was set in the wooded clearing but that now has been taken over by one or more homeless dudes. There are two shopping carts loaded with priceless treasure and other debris. I didn't want to intrude so gave them and their junk a wide berth.

Cons: Entire course is played in this tall grass.

Baskets are almost obscured.

Homeless encampment by tee # 2.

Windy,

Signs are crumbling.

Was just an easy rec course before. Now it's an easy rec course that is not worth the effort.

A basket is set down in the corner with thick woods around it. Between the rough and the tall grass, I elected to skip throwing to it. I think it's # 4.
Other Thoughts: In it's present state, I can't imagine anyone wasting their time here. As a dedicated course bagger, the time I spent here was painful. There was not one redeeming quality about this course in it's current state. While I appreciate the time and effort that someone gave to build the course, it's just no fun to play now. The church should either remove it or take the effort to mow, trim and make it once again, playable.

And in the process, send the homeless guy packing, too. There is a gazebo near his camp that was once used it for some kind of church or youth group talks. I wouldn't want any church youth activities going on this close to the encampment.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

family fun

2-4    4/9/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 171  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice open shots for beginners
- hard to lose a disc.
- quick to play a round, no ones here.
- its disc golf after church.
- fairly short for some good ace opportunities.
- easy to navigate despite no map and signage ques.
Cons: - only 9 holes, no alternate tee pads or basket placements.
- too short and easy for advanced players.
- tee boxes are less than desirable.
- lack of shade from the summer heat.
- lack of interesting shots to throw. #3 was an exception.
- no course map or practice area at course.
Other Thoughts: - several shots parallel high voltage electrical lines and poles. some may find it interesting, others will find it annoying. a quick play if you are nearby and great for beginners. easy to play at night. not recommended for the explorer. there are more enjoyable course nearby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Waste Your Time

1    7/11/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: snevets
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short with a few obstructions.
passable for beginners; boring for intermediate/advanced
Cons: short; nothing very interesting going on
no maps and basket indicators are chancy at best
the only poison oak is where the church is WATERING the lawn. WHY?
Other Thoughts: if you only have an hour or want to work on throwing styles with midranges go ahead and give it a shot.
if you are new: do not treat this as standard. it isn't.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Boring course, nothing to recommend it

5+    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's short and extremely easy.

There's a little outdoor praying area at 2's tee, and the church's crosses come into play (particularly for lefties or forehand shots) on 9, so I guess that might be an appeal.

If you've never aced a hole in your life, this is certainly a course that can help you fix that.
Cons: It's short and extremely easy.

And even if you are looking for a very easy course, like if you're bringing kids or non-disc-golfers along, I'd say Block House is still the better option.
Other Thoughts: Why do baskets seem to get taken from church courses? Zilker's been up for decades, and I've only seen one hole get stolen. Cactus Patch and Our Savior have lost four between them. It drives me nuts. Every hole that gets stolen means future courses that aren't going to get built because they're worried about theft. The thieves are damaging their own hobby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent place to bring a beginner or practice

2-4    10/5/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a relaxing, quick 9-holer that is a good place to introduce new players to the game.

The course is never crowded and can double as a nice practice area with options to make up alternate lay-outs.

Each tee has a bench and the holes have next-tee arrows on cement medallions in the ground near the baskets.

The first tee is obvious as soon as one enters the parking lot.
Cons: The course is very short and every hole, except hole 1, can be played with a righty hyzer.

A wooden gazebo is very much in play on hole 4. Holes 4-8 have some pretty thick schule areas and crowd each other with hidden baskets.

Tee areas are dirt, which is slippery when wet.

The baskets are single chain models.

Other Thoughts: This course is on a church property. Please help keep the place free of litter, particularly beer cans.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Glad it's there.

5+    4/8/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I know every course has its' "perfect" time to be played and Old Saviors is during wildflower season. This course is a simple yet pleasant 9 holes. As I stated when the wildflowers are in full bloom the majority of the course is covered and it is beautiful. Play at sunset you will be happy. This is a course to play when you do not want to be bothered by other golfers or want a place to introduce young children to the game. I also like to use this as "cool down" round after playing all day.
Hole #1 and #4 are the best IMO, and while no holes are extremely challenging if you miss long or left on a few you will be in trouble.
Cons: Watch out for poison ivy as many have stated, but if you make accurate shots this won't be a big issue. Don't know why but #5 stinks. Seriously smells like @ss. It is a bit overgrown right now, and it can be difficult to find discs in tall grass, but they won't cut the field while the flowers are in bloom obviously.
#7 and #8 play into each other. This isn't a big deal here as this course rarely has multiple groups playing on it.
Other Thoughts: This course is nothing to write home about but if you catch it at the right time it can be very enjoyable. The majority of the year it is just a simple, boring P & A course. However, when it is in bloom like it was recently it is worth playing for sure. Looking for a place to stick your kids in a bluebonnet field and not be bothered for pictures, stop by #6 as it is a perfect area. I know I emphasized natural beauty but I feel it is this courses' redeeming quality. Not to mention being surrounded by nature is my favorite aspect of the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice beginner course

1    10/23/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short and open with a few small obstacles, great for kids and beginners
-great place to bring the family
-well marked with signs on each hole and next tee markers in the ground near each basket
-hole 1 is a fun skip hyzer shot
-dirt tees in decent condition, good enough for the kids and beginners
-easy to find, quick to play, plenty of parking
Cons: -too easy for most players
-single chain baskets
-TRASH - it was disappointing to see how much trash, including beer cans/bottles and cigarette packs, was thrown about in the bushes near the tees. such a shame and a bad mark on the disc golf community
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole rec course fulfills its purpose well: introduce kids and new players to the game. There are no frills and there don't need to be.

The shots are mostly open with minor obstacles on just a few holes. Hole 1 is actually a really fun tee shot: basket is behind a couple of trees and the hyzer route is complicated by a telephone pole. Good practice for a short skip hyzer.

Most players can skip this course but it is perfect for the family, introducing the game to beginners, and the church crowd. That said, even experienced players could play here and have a fun time trying to shoot a 18.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Baskets on holes 3 & 4 have been replaced

2-4    9/1/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: Old Fuz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very easy to follow and every hole is pretty much wide open. It is an easy course which is good for beginners.
Cons: Poison Ivy as others have mentioned.
Other Thoughts: FYI. The baskets on holes 3 & 4 were replace this week.

 Waste of time

1    9/10/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can't say there are many with this course. The nicest thing about it was the scenery and the church which had really nice stained glass windows. Short of that, there wasn't much excitement on this course. It is easy to find your disc on almost every hole, I will say that.
Cons: Where do I start? It's EXTREMELY short, probably best if you're looking to take your kids or something. It was a little tricky to find and also difficult to navigate once you got there. Short of a few random stones pointing the way, there isn't much for the newcomer to figure out where to go. With holes #3 & #4 missing, it's very easy to skip right by them and move on to #5. I could have put a similar course together in a backyard somewhere, very disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Not planning on going back until they make it bigger and maintain their baskets. This course is only good if you've never played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Bad Beginner COurse

1    9/10/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: mavjr24
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: This is a very good short short course. The tee boxes are really nice with cool marking stones that point to the next hole.
Cons: The course is missing baskets for #4 & #6. Terrible course layout and really bad maintenance.
Other Thoughts: This is an alright course. Definitely won't be going back there EVER. Played with only my putter the entire course and still hit 8 out of 9 birdies. This course is probably the worse short course in town. Falcone Pointe & Wells Branch made more since than this course did.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.