Austin, TX 
Our Savior Lutheran Church Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Church Course Has Gone To Seed!

1    9/30/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1175  Reviewed: 1122  Exp: 39.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At one time, someone went to quite a bit of effort to design and construct this little 9 hole course. I'd be willing to bet that the person who ramroded this project has moved on to another position because no one seems to care anymore. The course has been neglected for long enough now that if something isn't done quickly, it will probably just up and disappear.

There is a large sign at the start announcing that this the "Keith A. Looman Disc Golf Course" along with a big "Welcome" and list of sponsors, volunteers, contributors, distributors and carburetors.

Where to start? The grass is anywhere from knee high to chest high in places. Luckily, it's this wispy stuff that isn't thick and so finding your disc in it is realtively easy. But who want's to throw off into tall prairie grass. It's fairly easy to locate the tees because of the benches that are next to each one. There are little round patio blocks with the hole # on them. They are somewhere close to the benches and signs. The signs are homemade and have the hole # on one side and I as discovered later, the distance on the other side. The baskets are older DGA models, I think.

Right when you enter the church's parking lot, there is a small sign that reads, T Box 1 Start here, along with an old picnic table and garbage can. Someone tried to make this a little staging area. I think here, part of the onetime fairway has been lost due to a construction project on the left.

I found the # 1 basket down in the tall grass. I think the # 2 tee pad was set in the wooded clearing but that now has been taken over by one or more homeless dudes. There are two shopping carts loaded with priceless treasure and other debris. I didn't want to intrude so gave them and their junk a wide berth.

Cons: Entire course is played in this tall grass.

Baskets are almost obscured.

Homeless encampment by tee # 2.

Windy,

Signs are crumbling.

Was just an easy rec course before. Now it's an easy rec course that is not worth the effort.

A basket is set down in the corner with thick woods around it. Between the rough and the tall grass, I elected to skip throwing to it. I think it's # 4.
Other Thoughts: In it's present state, I can't imagine anyone wasting their time here. As a dedicated course bagger, the time I spent here was painful. There was not one redeeming quality about this course in it's current state. While I appreciate the time and effort that someone gave to build the course, it's just no fun to play now. The church should either remove it or take the effort to mow, trim and make it once again, playable.

And in the process, send the homeless guy packing, too. There is a gazebo near his camp that was once used it for some kind of church or youth group talks. I wouldn't want any church youth activities going on this close to the encampment.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent place to bring a beginner or practice

2-4    10/5/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a relaxing, quick 9-holer that is a good place to introduce new players to the game.

The course is never crowded and can double as a nice practice area with options to make up alternate lay-outs.

Each tee has a bench and the holes have next-tee arrows on cement medallions in the ground near the baskets.

The first tee is obvious as soon as one enters the parking lot.
Cons: The course is very short and every hole, except hole 1, can be played with a righty hyzer.

A wooden gazebo is very much in play on hole 4. Holes 4-8 have some pretty thick schule areas and crowd each other with hidden baskets.

Tee areas are dirt, which is slippery when wet.

The baskets are single chain models.

Other Thoughts: This course is on a church property. Please help keep the place free of litter, particularly beer cans.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of time

1    9/10/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can't say there are many with this course. The nicest thing about it was the scenery and the church which had really nice stained glass windows. Short of that, there wasn't much excitement on this course. It is easy to find your disc on almost every hole, I will say that.
Cons: Where do I start? It's EXTREMELY short, probably best if you're looking to take your kids or something. It was a little tricky to find and also difficult to navigate once you got there. Short of a few random stones pointing the way, there isn't much for the newcomer to figure out where to go. With holes #3 & #4 missing, it's very easy to skip right by them and move on to #5. I could have put a similar course together in a backyard somewhere, very disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Not planning on going back until they make it bigger and maintain their baskets. This course is only good if you've never played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Too much Poison Ivy

5+    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: TheConnection
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course
Easy to follow
Benches
Distance Markers
Cons: Poison Ivy
Snakes
Tee Boxes are slowly eroding and have no maintenance
Other Thoughts: I've been playing disc golf for about a year now. This course was fun when I started, and even when I've thrown in the woods (especially easy on #3) I've never lost a disc.

However, all of the wooded areas are absolutely packed with poison Ivy. I've removed this from the courses I will play due to the overgrowth.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner and Amateur course.

2-4    11/14/2002   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 217  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner and Amateur course. There are some trees that provide hazards/shot selection but otherwise basically flat and shortish straight shots.
Cons: Very open on some holes. Some holes are pretty overgrown and very heavily infested with poison ivy. I caught PI so bad there one summer I had to take the rest of the summer off. So if you do play here make sure it's in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Very nice thing that the church put this here for the community and that it is a public course. Great for newer players and kids.

Update: This also makes a nice 2nd round after playing Manor...it's not a bad self confidence booster. lol

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Too Short

1    5/2/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or kids due to it's short distances. It is a free gift to the cummunity from Our Savior Lutheran Church.
Cons: The course wraps around the church. The church has a daycare which uses the playground which has a low fence. I was afraid to throw very hard because I could just see my disc going over the fence and decapitating a young Lutheran.
Other Thoughts: Great place to go Saturday morning with the kids.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.