Parma, OH 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #4 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Frustrating game...Will be back tomorrow.

5+    7/20/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: Sardamemnon
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Unusual shots required. Good use of terrain and space. Helpful maps. Multiple pin placements.
Cons: Too many thornbushes in what could be called a fairway. Too many small branches hanging into fairways that are not visible from tee, making shots go bad that are thrown well. Maps not updated when the layout is changed.
Other Thoughts: Clean up the fairways a bit and this course would be excellent.

Decent, But Nothing Special

1    7/15/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parma DGC is a nice 18-holes that winds through the woods of a nice park.

It's about impossible to get lost between holes, as there are large signs pointing you to the next tee everywhere.

Forms two nine hole loops, both #9 and #18 end by the parking lot.

Lots of other things to do in the area, and it's not a far drive from downtown Cleveland.

Concrete tees, solid baskets, detailed tee signs.

This course was designed so beginner's won't get destroyed, but also designed so advanced players have a challenge.

Cons: There wasn't really any signature holes here. A lot of holes kind of ran together, with the exception of a couple.!

Not much variation in terms of distance, a boat load of holes were between 250-300 feet.

Course can be really crowded, I came on a Saturday afternoon and some holes had a waiting line.
Other Thoughts: Parma was a really solid course, but I wouldn't say I'm glad I drove 30 minutes to play it. It just felt like it was missing those "special" holes that you remember after you leave the parking lot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Parma DGC

1    4/21/2017   4/21/2017
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 31.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great signage at each hole, fairly easy to navigate
-concrete tee pads on every hole
-good use of the hilly, wooded terrain
-pretty wide variety of shots required to find lines, no clear advantage for lefty/righty
-fairly well maintained, benches at almost every hole
Cons: -very short tee pads, as has been noted in other reviews
-baskets seem pretty played out, could use an upgrade
-despite the good signs, took me a few minutes to figure out where the back 9 was
-could use a little TLC in some areas (baskets, tree removal/trimming) to make it play a bit fairer
Other Thoughts: Played 18 this morning after a day of rain. The course had water everywhere, but still was fun to play and a good test for players of most skill levels. Parma has a decent layout that uses the terrain well- with some TLC, and possibly drier weather, I would rate this course closer to a 4. Despite the water, I enjoyed my round today!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tight wooded course

2-4    5/23/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 186  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 15.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tees
2) elevation changes
3) cool and shady for summer
4) good course design
Cons: 1) Virtually all in dense woods...no open bomber holes
2) Some holes very close to each other
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 4/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 4/5
Tees: 3.5/5
Signage: 3/5
Navigation: 3/5
Course design: 4/5
_______________
Total/Average: 3.6/5

I played this course for the first time at The Beauty, which is a PDGA tournament. This course is in a beautiful setting. It is located in a mature forested area. There are a few holes that pop out into the open and/or shoot from the open into the woods. There are no holes that are completely separated from the woods.

The tees are adequate. They seemed kind of on the small side for my 6'5" frame, but I don't run on the tees on wooded holes so it didn't interfere with my drives at all, but if you do run on the tees and you're taller, I could see it being a problem. This is a bonus for a summer course as it stays nice and cool in here (as opposed to Tri-C which is pretty much all in the open and hot as hell).

The course has many elevation changes. Nothing too extreme, but enough to make it interesting.

The design is pretty solid. There's plenty of forehand and backhand holes alike.

Problems with the course as I see it:

There's no open holes. This is all in the forest. I personally like this aspect, but for review purposes I'm letting you know that it is unbalanced in this regard. If you're looking for a bomber course, play Tri-C. If you want to increase your accuracy skills, play here.

Also, the course is compact. There are a few holes where the fairways are close to eachother and/or the basket for one hole is very close to the tee for another. This could operate as an interference and/or a safety issue, but it's not a huge deal. Just noting it FYI.

I found this course to be highly enjoyable. It's one of the best if not the best course in Cleveland IMO. You won't be disappointed!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Beauty

2-4    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: kinger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Excellent use of terrain, great variety.
~Concrete tee pads, baskets are in great condition.
~Ample benches, trash cans, park amenities.
~Wooded holes are cleared well, and manicured.
~Easy navigation, nice flow throughout the course.
Cons:
~Many of the concrete tees sit above the surrounding ground and should be backfilled.
~Thick, thorny underbrush right off the fairways.
~Midrange and fairway driver friendly, would like a few holes open to big drives.
~While there is good variety for a wooded course, it's all wooded....lot's of trees and tight fairways throughout.
Other Thoughts: My first visit to this great course was for The Beauty C-Tier tournament. Played two rounds, and walked away satisfied....this is a great wooded, technical course. Fantastic mix of uphill & downhill holes, some tighter than others. Nice concrete tees, defined fairways, and very challenging. Numerous blind holes which was tough for the first round, my second round went much smoother. Well maintained and groomed, the locals all indicated this is the best course in their neighborhood. The local club should be proud for the overall experience this course provides. Don't expect to bomb drives, and pars can be hard earned. Placement off the tee is critical. A challenging and very enjoyable layout providing ample shade. The course is located in a huge public park, but disc golfers are mostly excluded in their own wooded basket sanctuary (aside from some adjacent walking paths on a handful of holes). Big parking lot right by the entrance to the course, public restrooms, playground, ball fields, and many more park amenities provide entertainment for most anybody. Worth playing again and again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "That would have been a great shot if that tree wasn't there!"

2-4    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Parma DGC was really a pleasant surprise. The trees are very frustrating, but it's a fun type of frustrating. Every shot you want to avoid hitting these trees, which could be a game in itself. The navigation was very easy. It is a very fun course in a very nice area of Parma. The holes vary in distance, from 200s to 500s. This course would appeal to intermediate-advanced players due to the technicality of it. Many hills and changes of elevation throughout the course.
Cons: I'm not against heavily wooded courses, but I do like a like a little bit of variation. There aren't any holes here where you can throw for a ton of distance. This is NOT the course to bring a beginner to. All of the trees would really frustrate someone who is just starting out with the sport. I'm pretty sure the course is very muddy after rainfall due to the constant shade throughout the course, it was pretty muddy when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I think Parma DGC is the best disc golf course in the city of Parma. This is a really fun course, and I hope I will come back and play it again soon!

Overall grade: 4/5 (Would recommend)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Place to Fly, in Parma

5+    9/3/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: ZeroZilla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Challenging, yet fair, terrain and elevation.
- Well-kept fairways, baskets, and tees.
- No water hazards.
- Not overcrowded.
Cons: - Some backtracking in course layout.
- Dense underbrush in OB areas.
- Every hole is wooded. Expect to encounter trees!
Other Thoughts: Playable by beginners, but challenging to even the intermediate player, Parma DGC is the best course in the Cleveland area. OTOH, it is not to be played alone, because of the aforementioned brush (you will need help to find a disc at some point, unless you plan on playing it safe the entire course...). Trees provide challenging obstacles, and interesting layouts...but even off-the-beaten-path areas are not unnavigable. A blast to play! 5.0

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    6/28/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Varied terrain
-Nice tees and well signed, plus baskets are marked with the direction of the next tee, look for orange tape on the rim
-Well maintained
-trash buckets are located around some of the holes
Cons: -Can be challenging for beginners, some tight lines and tough pin placements


Other Thoughts: This is one of the top courses in Northeast Ohio, IMHO. Elevated shots, uphill, down hill. The only thing really missing is a water shot or two. Front 9 is easier than the back 9, but both are great.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 69  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super-friendly locals. Mostly clean course. Great tee signs. All baskets have numbers on them. Cement tees. Easily accessed off of the freeway. Nice mix of holes and elevation.
Cons: Course was a bit dirty (broken bottles, beer cans and some other random garbage). A few hole-to-tee transitions were confusing and backtracked.
Other Thoughts: The review a few down by BogeyNoMore sums up my thoughts on this course. Challenging but not demanding. Beginners could easily play this, but seasoned players will find it enjoyable. Course is separate from the rest of the park, but not that far away from the rest nor from the surrounding neighborhood.

The "top of the hill" tees for holes 12 and 15 were my favorite area of the course. Most of the course is wooded, but it isn't dense and the underbrush for the most part is not going to eat any discs.

While I enjoyed my round, I would only play again (and will for sure) if I am already in the area. An hour's drive can take me to some much better courses.

Parma is a great local/multi-use park course. If you live in the area you should be playing here regularly. Hard to say if it's worth a local trip -- I enjoyed my round and was glad I made the trip, but any further away than the hour I drove and I probably wouldn't feel the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with great elevation changes

1    10/24/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked course. My first time there on my own and I had no trouble finding my way around the course. Fun use of the hills and elevation changes through the forest. With a good combination of distance and technical shots. Lots of wildlife. There were deer all around when we finished hole 18.
Cons: could use a clean up. It looks like some jerks broke some bottles throughout the course. I didn't see any trash cans or I would have picked them up myself.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.