Parma, OH 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #3 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 487ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3

1    7/22/2017   7/24/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Parma Disc Golf Course is located in the large, sprawling Veteran's Memorial Park. This large park has most everything that parks have including lots of baseball and softball fields. The disc course is set at the back of the second parking lot on the right. There is an small, empty kiosk there and a small shelter. There is a memorial sign remembering Mike "Spiggy" Bruda. Everything about this course is just a little tired. The colored signs are old but very functional and they do give the elevation plus-minus. The baskets are older DGA models w/orange on blue numbers. They're easy to easy from distances. Everyone has mentioned the concrete pads as being a bit on the short side. They are, but some have an extension poured to increase length. The baskets have orange tape on a rung which points to the next tee. There are also next tees signs making navigation pretty easy. Wood chips have been spread on wet areas around the course and there are about 40 yards of them still to be spread. There are some benches and a few garbage cans throughout.

I like the fact that this course has one teepad and one basket per hole. It makes navigation much easier. It makes it possible to put tape on the basket pointing to the next tee. I do understand that locals who play here all the time might grow weary of the same setup. Sorry, I'm only playing here once and I liked the simplicity. The two nines both loop back to the parking lot/start so you can refill or whatever after the front nine.

Because the distances aren't long (only one hole longer than 400) I guess I would call this a decently hard, recreational course. There are technical parts to it but just as often, the trees are spaced enough not to be too bothersome. There is always a fairway, and I felt the route to the basket was sometimes tight but always fair.

# 2 is a 272' downhill which has you throwing through a double mando although it's not overly difficult. #3 is 407' with a chain fence on the right but there is a small hole in it so you can retrieve your crappy throws. #9 is a slight downhill with a tricky S curve to it. # 10 is 278' into the woods with a fairly small window to hit. 16 was an interesting little 206' downhill, Ace run with a small ditch just behind the basket.




Cons: Yeah, the pads could be two feet longer.
Not a con to me but many players would like multiple basket placements or another set of tees.
Could be muddy after rain.
Probably gets crowded.
On # 13, there is some kind of construction project or has it been vandalized?
The # 13 tee sign has been trashed a little.
Other Thoughts: This course is simple and straightforward. I happen to like simple and straightforward. It's showing it's age but the equipment works fine. It's not flashy just comfortable. It's not designed for advanced players and pros but rec and some intermediates are going to enjoy it. This intermediates are probably going to shoot -10 but so what?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating game...Will be back tomorrow.

5+    7/20/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: Sardamemnon
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unusual shots required. Good use of terrain and space. Helpful maps. Multiple pin placements.
Cons: Too many thornbushes in what could be called a fairway. Too many small branches hanging into fairways that are not visible from tee, making shots go bad that are thrown well. Maps not updated when the layout is changed.
Other Thoughts: Clean up the fairways a bit and this course would be excellent.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent, But Nothing Special

1    7/15/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parma DGC is a nice 18-holes that winds through the woods of a nice park.

It's about impossible to get lost between holes, as there are large signs pointing you to the next tee everywhere.

Forms two nine hole loops, both #9 and #18 end by the parking lot.

Lots of other things to do in the area, and it's not a far drive from downtown Cleveland.

Concrete tees, solid baskets, detailed tee signs.

This course was designed so beginner's won't get destroyed, but also designed so advanced players have a challenge.

Cons: There wasn't really any signature holes here. A lot of holes kind of ran together, with the exception of a couple.!

Not much variation in terms of distance, a boat load of holes were between 250-300 feet.

Course can be really crowded, I came on a Saturday afternoon and some holes had a waiting line.
Other Thoughts: Parma was a really solid course, but I wouldn't say I'm glad I drove 30 minutes to play it. It just felt like it was missing those "special" holes that you remember after you leave the parking lot. The "Decent/Typical" description assigned to a 2.5 rating fits the course perfectly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Parma DGC

1    4/21/2017   4/21/2017
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great signage at each hole, fairly easy to navigate
-concrete tee pads on every hole
-good use of the hilly, wooded terrain
-pretty wide variety of shots required to find lines, no clear advantage for lefty/righty
-fairly well maintained, benches at almost every hole
Cons: -very short tee pads, as has been noted in other reviews
-baskets seem pretty played out, could use an upgrade
-despite the good signs, took me a few minutes to figure out where the back 9 was
-could use a little TLC in some areas (baskets, tree removal/trimming) to make it play a bit fairer
Other Thoughts: Played 18 this morning after a day of rain. The course had water everywhere, but still was fun to play and a good test for players of most skill levels. Parma has a decent layout that uses the terrain well- with some TLC, and possibly drier weather, I would rate this course closer to a 4. Despite the water, I enjoyed my round today!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tight wooded course

2-4    5/23/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 202  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 15.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tees
2) elevation changes
3) cool and shady for summer
4) good course design
Cons: 1) Virtually all in dense woods...no open bomber holes
2) Some holes very close to each other
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 4/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 4/5
Tees: 3.5/5
Signage: 3/5
Navigation: 3/5
Course design: 4/5
_______________
Total/Average: 3.6/5

I played this course for the first time at The Beauty, which is a PDGA tournament. This course is in a beautiful setting. It is located in a mature forested area. There are a few holes that pop out into the open and/or shoot from the open into the woods. There are no holes that are completely separated from the woods.

The tees are adequate. They seemed kind of on the small side for my 6'5" frame, but I don't run on the tees on wooded holes so it didn't interfere with my drives at all, but if you do run on the tees and you're taller, I could see it being a problem. This is a bonus for a summer course as it stays nice and cool in here (as opposed to Tri-C which is pretty much all in the open and hot as hell).

The course has many elevation changes. Nothing too extreme, but enough to make it interesting.

The design is pretty solid. There's plenty of forehand and backhand holes alike.

Problems with the course as I see it:

There's no open holes. This is all in the forest. I personally like this aspect, but for review purposes I'm letting you know that it is unbalanced in this regard. If you're looking for a bomber course, play Tri-C. If you want to increase your accuracy skills, play here.

Also, the course is compact. There are a few holes where the fairways are close to eachother and/or the basket for one hole is very close to the tee for another. This could operate as an interference and/or a safety issue, but it's not a huge deal. Just noting it FYI.

I found this course to be highly enjoyable. It's one of the best if not the best course in Cleveland IMO. You won't be disappointed!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Beauty

2-4    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: kinger
Played: 53  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Excellent use of terrain, great variety.
~Concrete tee pads, baskets are in great condition.
~Ample benches, trash cans, park amenities.
~Wooded holes are cleared well, and manicured.
~Easy navigation, nice flow throughout the course.
Cons:
~Many of the concrete tees sit above the surrounding ground and should be backfilled.
~Thick, thorny underbrush right off the fairways.
~Midrange and fairway driver friendly, would like a few holes open to big drives.
~While there is good variety for a wooded course, it's all wooded....lot's of trees and tight fairways throughout.
Other Thoughts: My first visit to this great course was for The Beauty C-Tier tournament. Played two rounds, and walked away satisfied....this is a great wooded, technical course. Fantastic mix of uphill & downhill holes, some tighter than others. Nice concrete tees, defined fairways, and very challenging. Numerous blind holes which was tough for the first round, my second round went much smoother. Well maintained and groomed, the locals all indicated this is the best course in their neighborhood. The local club should be proud for the overall experience this course provides. Don't expect to bomb drives, and pars can be hard earned. Placement off the tee is critical. A challenging and very enjoyable layout providing ample shade. The course is located in a huge public park, but disc golfers are mostly excluded in their own wooded basket sanctuary (aside from some adjacent walking paths on a handful of holes). Big parking lot right by the entrance to the course, public restrooms, playground, ball fields, and many more park amenities provide entertainment for most anybody. Worth playing again and again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 "That would have been a great shot if that tree wasn't there!"

2-4    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Parma DGC was really a pleasant surprise. The trees are very frustrating, but it's a fun type of frustrating. Every shot you want to avoid hitting these trees, which could be a game in itself. The navigation was very easy. It is a very fun course in a very nice area of Parma. The holes vary in distance, from 200s to 500s. This course would appeal to intermediate-advanced players due to the technicality of it. Many hills and changes of elevation throughout the course.
Cons: I'm not against heavily wooded courses, but I do like a like a little bit of variation. There aren't any holes here where you can throw for a ton of distance. This is NOT the course to bring a beginner to. All of the trees would really frustrate someone who is just starting out with the sport. I'm pretty sure the course is very muddy after rainfall due to the constant shade throughout the course, it was pretty muddy when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I think Parma DGC is the best disc golf course in the city of Parma. This is a really fun course, and I hope I will come back and play it again soon!

Overall grade: 4/5 (Would recommend)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Place to Fly, in Parma

5+    9/3/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: ZeroZilla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Challenging, yet fair, terrain and elevation.
- Well-kept fairways, baskets, and tees.
- No water hazards.
- Not overcrowded.
Cons: - Some backtracking in course layout.
- Dense underbrush in OB areas.
- Every hole is wooded. Expect to encounter trees!
Other Thoughts: Playable by beginners, but challenging to even the intermediate player, Parma DGC is the best course in the Cleveland area. OTOH, it is not to be played alone, because of the aforementioned brush (you will need help to find a disc at some point, unless you plan on playing it safe the entire course...). Trees provide challenging obstacles, and interesting layouts...but even off-the-beaten-path areas are not unnavigable. A blast to play! 5.0

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    6/28/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Varied terrain
-Nice tees and well signed, plus baskets are marked with the direction of the next tee, look for orange tape on the rim
-Well maintained
-trash buckets are located around some of the holes
Cons: -Can be challenging for beginners, some tight lines and tough pin placements


Other Thoughts: This is one of the top courses in Northeast Ohio, IMHO. Elevated shots, uphill, down hill. The only thing really missing is a water shot or two. Front 9 is easier than the back 9, but both are great.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 71  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super-friendly locals. Mostly clean course. Great tee signs. All baskets have numbers on them. Cement tees. Easily accessed off of the freeway. Nice mix of holes and elevation.
Cons: Course was a bit dirty (broken bottles, beer cans and some other random garbage). A few hole-to-tee transitions were confusing and backtracked.
Other Thoughts: The review a few down by BogeyNoMore sums up my thoughts on this course. Challenging but not demanding. Beginners could easily play this, but seasoned players will find it enjoyable. Course is separate from the rest of the park, but not that far away from the rest nor from the surrounding neighborhood.

The "top of the hill" tees for holes 12 and 15 were my favorite area of the course. Most of the course is wooded, but it isn't dense and the underbrush for the most part is not going to eat any discs.

While I enjoyed my round, I would only play again (and will for sure) if I am already in the area. An hour's drive can take me to some much better courses.

Parma is a great local/multi-use park course. If you live in the area you should be playing here regularly. Hard to say if it's worth a local trip -- I enjoyed my round and was glad I made the trip, but any further away than the hour I drove and I probably wouldn't feel the same.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.