Manchester, MO 
Paul A. Schroeder Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGoldenPutter Hole #4 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
My go to course for now

2-4    7/3/2017   7/5/2017
Review By: Raymond42c
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great for Beginners.
Short course with decent variety of shots. Even a Mando on #6.
Very shady for the sunny days.
Easy to get to, but away from the main park enough to not get too much 'outside' traffic.
Able to find every hole and never lost a disc.
Nice little park next to it, so you can drop the spouse and kids off and get a short round in. (or maybe that's a con, it's your call.)
Cons: Very steep hikes between a few holes. 7-8 is a pretty big hill.
Narrow fairways if you don't like that on half the holes. But open enough on the rest of them.
One reused basket for #1 and #6 (or I can't find #6, but everyone was using the same one)

*some construction issues with the current redo of the park offices - seems extremely temporary, and only affected play because I don't trust myself not to shank it into the bulldozer that was nowhere near my shot.*
Other Thoughts: Was able to find all the holes this weekend with no problem. (again, #1 and #6 seem to share the basket).

Shots going into the woods are still easy enough to find. The undergrowth isn't all that bad, but there is enough foliage to stop the disc from flying to far into the woods. Still, I'd suggest driving in the woods with a bright colored disc.

 Not as easy as it might appear

1    5/25/2017   5/25/2017
Review By: vesperdem
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of shade and some benches for resting.
Cons: Many holes deep in woods with very narrow "fairways".
Missing baskets or poorly marked.
Couldn't find the 8th holes basket.
The basket for hole 3 was simply missing.
Very hilly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs a refresh.....

2-4    1/22/2017   1/22/2017
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 187  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The typical pros:
Concrete pads that widen.
Signage at each hole. (Although some distances don't match the on line scorecard)
Good use of elevation and the wooden areas in the park.
Mostly wooded with even the "open" holes having plenty of trees as obstacles.
Cons: The old grey baskets were difficult to see. Time to upgrade to the Innova bright yellow style.

The flow of the course wasn't great. Some overlap as #6 uses a weak mando to the left to avoid throwing at basket #1. Some excess walking- 4 to 5, 7 to 8 come to mind.
Other Thoughts: Looks like the older course that it is. Wasn't an awful course, just need to redo a couple of holes to give it a wow hole or two.
Have played there three times. Won't rush to come back, but if friends wanted to play, would be willing to go.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really Enjoyable 9 Hole Play!

1    10/22/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1028  Reviewed: 977  Exp: 39.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Schroeder Park's DGC shows right from the start the amount of work that has been put into this course. First you see a very, impressive colonial looking course dedication sign. The concrete tee pads are shaped to be wider at the front. # 1 pad is a well engineered pad. The tee signs are basic fiberglass giving the usual information. There are plenty of garbage cans around. There's a sign at # 1 stating that the course is closed on Tuesday nights for league Play.

# 1 is just a pretty hole. It plays 262' slightly downhill through a natural looking fairway. 2 & 3 were both similar holes with visible baskets. # 4 was a pretty throw across a small valley playing 245-307' with a fairly tight window to hit, another pretty hole.

Matter of fact, all of the holes here were pretty. This was just a nice little park with very little underbrush. Just the right amount of rolling hills and enough trees for challenge. The course gives you a little bit of everything, some downhill, hysers, anhysers, uphills, some semi-technical. It doesn't have the dramatic downhill or any over the water shots.
Cons: I had a really difficult time finding this park. My GPS took me to totally different part of town. Then when I finally found the park, I drove in, looked around and saw no evidence of any disc golf course. So I left and drove all around the town, thinking there might be another entrance to the park. I finally came back, asked a maintenance worker and he directed me to the courses, saying, "oh yah, You can't miss it!" Buddy, I've been missing it for about an hour.

It's a little short for some players. I'd call it a nice little recreational course. Lacks challenge for many players.

There are some holes playing close to each other. As this course gets busy, players will have to be cautious.

Navigation is a little tricky around # 4.
Other Thoughts: Fun, easy, enjoyable course to play. You can get through it in 30-40 minutes, stress free with little worry of losing discs or falling off any ravines. Excellent courses for beginners or less skilled players but sill good fun but better players. I'd love to live near this course or better yet, wrap it up and take it back to Washington with me.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

5+    8/25/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: CatPoopie
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good variety among holes
-Challenging for beginner and intermediate players.
-Multiple hole placements that can actually change your strategy.
-The park has caretakers on staff, so it never gets overgrown.
-Small area that really maximizes the available space
Cons: -Some of the baskets need to be replaced, and some of the wooded areas need to be cleaned up.
-There is a crazy amount of poison ivy and poison sumac just to the right of the fairway on hole 4.
-Holes 7 and 8 need to be clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: A lot of reviewers mention how crowded this place can be. I play here a lot and I suppose that's true to some extent, but I've never been concerned with that. This is a solid course layout with plenty of challenge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old Faithful

5+    8/21/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: blake13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete teepads
- Well-manicured grass throughout
- Ample trashcans
- Good use of elevation
- Nice mix of long and short drives
- Nice mix of open and technical drives
- Located in a nice park
- Multiple pin placements
- Quick to play
Cons: - Crowded at times
- Overlapping fairways (the basket for Hole 1 is in the line of the throw for Hole 6)
- Lousy tee signs
- Only 9 holes
- Lack of a permanent mando sign for Hole 6; keeps getting stolen
Other Thoughts: Schroeder is the best 9 hole course in St. Louis. It only takes about 35 minutes to get through the 9 holes, but I can easily play three rounds in a row. Despite the course being tucked into a relatively small area, the design allows for nearly every possible shot to be used. Trees become a factor for several of the holes, while others are pretty much wide open to bring out the high speed, high glide drivers. The multiple pin placements keep the course from getting boring and demand different approaches when they are in place. Don't let the low rating for this course fool you--Schroeder is a fantastic place to play even though it only has 9 holes. You will have a fun time and keep a pretty low score, too, as the pars are reasonable (locals play all par 3s).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golden Niner

5+    5/30/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: lbond
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent variety for a nine hole course.
- Locals are always very friendly.
- Concrete Pads
- Multiple basket placements and extra set of natural alternate tee pads
Cons: - Tee pads can be short
- Can get congested between 7 and 1
- Lots of local teenage turds come out and mess with the picnic tables and benches.
Other Thoughts: I love Schroeder. This was the course I started on and is still the best 9 hole I have played. It has a great variety of shots both in and out of the woods, the baskets are changed regularly and the park setting is very nice. If I were traveling around playing, this probably wouldn't be on my list to visit, but as a nice local 9 it can't be beat.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Schroedog

5+    11/8/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schroeder offers quite a few different shots for only being a 9 hole course. It also varies due to multiple basket locations for each hole and for some of those locals..there are actually extra flagged tee pads that are used to play an 18 hole league on Tuesday nights.. of course you can play these other times as well. This course features concrete tee pads, metal tee signs, trash cans, park benches, bathrooms and small pro shop located in the park & rec center. This course is easily the best 9 holer i have played to date.. Also i really recommend checking out the tuesday night league that i had mentioned before.. It runs all year long with glow thru the winter. begins around 530pm.
Cons: Can get congested with new players who dont necessarily know the finer points of disc golf yet..

Also.. do not throw in the yard of the white house near hole 6..this old lady will take your disc and not return it.. she has a stack of a few hundred in her garage..
Other Thoughts: Awesome design by Dave Mac again.. Great job by course captain Grant Goodrich on keeping it clean up there

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Basket Switch-a-roo!

1    9/15/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Great course that has decent "flow." Good for beginners and noticed lots of veterans on the course as well. Seems to be a popular place, and even has a disc shop on site! Tees are interesting shape that gives you the option of taking some interesting approaches.
Cons: The flow is good, but still got lost briefly, many baskets are in view when teeing off, and hole 7/8 had the baskets swapped which was a little confusing at first, but got it sorted out.
Other Thoughts: Had fun, be careful of other players and pedestrians!

 Great way to squeeze a course in a park

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I gave this course a 'very good' partly because of the excellent signage. The maps proved to be pretty accurate. Although all the holes are pretty short there is plenty of variety in elevation and challenging squeezes through woods to get to the basket. A great park to bring your family to play on the excellent playgrounds and water park while you fit in some disc practice.
Cons: Although well laid out for the amount of space available, it might be even better to make it a 6 hole course to provide some longer tees. A little crowded, but fortunately stays out of the way of other park functions.
Other Thoughts: Excellent use of space. Just goes to show that its well worth it to fit in a well thought out course to any park that can find a few acres that are underused. Wish my hometown (Newnan, GA) could figure that out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.