Royal Oak, MI 
Wagner Park Share
Uploaded By: BogeyNoMore Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Marker


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

5+    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Malachy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the first park I played so I always will have fond memories

New signs for each hole course is easily manageable
Course is well maintained by the city
The locals are nice people
Back 9 holes are actually different experience than the front 9
Cons: Some kids hang out here drinking and being loud but don't disturb people playing.
Other Thoughts: parking is found on the side street if its full theres another street you can turn down and park at
Half the course is a dog run so be on the lookout for dogs (generally not a problem)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Different Relaxing Course

1    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: pjveltri
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix of great holes, great locals, challenging tree shots and long open bomb shots can be found here, every pad for the front 9 has a marker with a fairly accurate distance on it.
Cons: Not very well marked to next tee
back 9 tee pads left unmarked
park is overly crowded with people loitering on course and walking through holes while teeing off
short tee pads, can maybe only get two steps on them
Holes crowded together
No parking lot
No maps
Other Thoughts: Playing on this course for the first time was very hard for me, had there not been a local in front of us I would have been entirely lost.. Hole one is down a hill and completely blind from the pad, also hard to tell where the 10th pad was to determine whose turn it was. I did have a lot of fun here, although I wish the course was more spread out. The tee markers only show distance and although they appear to have a map carved into them, they don't.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in the Heart of Metro Detroit

5+    7/29/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 242  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf itself here is really quite good.

Course design makes very good use of several elevation changes (maybe 15' or so). Dual concrete tees provide significantly different lines to the basket. Throw in some strategically placed trees and the result is some pretty good shot variety and one of the more challenging nine basket courses you'll find anywhere. Surprising # of holes over 300' for a niner - gives you a chance to use distance drivers. Even has some blind holes.

A recent upgrade (for 2010) are some pretty nifty tee signs/posts on the "front nine" tees, with hole #, distance, and spot to sign for Aces (photo posted). Made by a local player/student as part of a school project, they look great, are a nice aid to navigation, and are sure to help first-timers. Hopefully, tee signs for back nine are coming soon.

Good course for Safari rounds.

Small, quiet, park in the burbs is a pleasant setting, looks great in the spring and fall and makes for quick rounds. Easy to skip ahead and come back to a hole.

Baskets are old, but in decent shape.

Plenty of shade on hot summer days.
Cons: Park attracts some low-life teens weekday afternoons - never seen them here weekend mornings.

Parking is a joke - you have to park on the street in front of houses (but this probably helps to cut down of traffic).

Tons of the leaves in the fall can make it tough to find discs - suggest using white drivers in the fall.

Outside chance of hitting oncoming traffic with an errant drive on hole 13 ( 2nd tee on hole 4).

Dual tees can require common sense and etiquette when different groups (on the front & back nine) want to throw at the same basket.

Typical negatives found on most courses: some vandalism, occasional trash, and idiots have already begun defacing above mentioned tee signs with vulgarities and poor art work.
Other Thoughts: Wagner is my favorite 9 basket course in the area. Course is showing its age in spots (signs and such) but has held up well considering its age and how little maintenance it gets. This place just has a certain charm to it.
- Thurs night doubles league - if you don't want a slow round, avoid Thu evenings.

Only a couple of miles from Starr-Jaycee Park - another 9 basket, dual tee course, that's not bad, (but not quite as good as Wagner in my opinion). They make a nice combo played in tandem.

Minutes from vibrant downtown Royal Oak - great restaurants, night life, brewery, good times to be had regardless of how your round went!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Everything Average

5+    11/2/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: mohmandm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: This course has a wide variety of holes. There are some that force you to go through a line of trees. On other holes, you are left with a wide open shot down hill, over a hill, or slightly up hill. For the size of the course, there actually are a couple of decent over 300' tosses. In the fall, it looks amazing. There's a party store that carries some discraft discs across the street. I'm not sure if many of you knew this but the remake of Red Dawn was partially shot here. Look for a disc golf basket in the movie.
Cons: There are a lot of annoying players here. It seems like a spot for troublemaking high schoolers to hang out. There is profanity written everywhere. I don't mind having 9 baskets with 18 tee pads. The problem is that the tee pads are just way to short. I like to take a long approach so this causes some problems. It wouldn't be so bad if the ground was level to the start of the tee pad but most aren't.
Other Thoughts: Because I literally live 3 minutes away I enjoy playing here just to keep the rust off. If you have time, go to Firefighters, Riverbends, or Stoney

  Love this place

5+    8/2/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: MisterPO586
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's one of the first courses I've played at and I can never get bored of it. The holes are different everytime and for how small it is it's a lot of fun. I also like it because it's right by my house.
Cons: Trash and pros sitting on their fold-up seats.
Other Thoughts: Quit your fold up seat sitting.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite little course

5+    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: discin248
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent holes for a small course
short and long holes
good hill shots
quick play
Cons: One garbage bin in the hole park by play structure so there is trash everywhere
vandalism
can get a little crowded for a small course
Other Thoughts: Some disc golfers brought in a garbage can on one of the holes.
City removed some of the picnic tables
Fun course to play if your short on time
I live a mile away so i often squeeze a game in at lunch or right befor night fall

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: jmacphee9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: elevation, not too boring. this course is fine to play at but by no means a great course. the regulars are pretty cool guys most of the time and lines arent too bad for a popular course.
Cons: graffiti, trash, dirty old man steals discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Motor City Chain Gang !

5+    4/8/2007   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 93  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 32.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Dual tees makes this course an 18 hole course packed in a 9 hole park.
Cons: Emerald ash borers and vandalism to baskets & tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I won the 1989 MCCG Novice division here. Aced #2 back when there was bushes guarding the pin and aced the original #5

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty gem of a course!

5+    8/20/2004   1/18/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is surprisingly long for as small as it is with a couple holes that top 500ft. The shorter holes offer some heart racing ace runs. The tee placement is tricky and challenging in most cases with a fair amount of ellevation changes. Multiple tee pads keep it from getting to be boring and the same 'ol thing if you play it frequently. I really like the different tee pads because it changes the shot selection drastically in some cases, and makes it possible to play a full 18 holes without just seeming like you are playing the shorts and the longs. Unless you have no control what-so-ever you will not loose any discs.
Cons: Unfortunately, most of the con's of this course have little to do with the course itself.
Parking is non-existant! You must park along the curb, and on the weekends you can be looking for a while.
The course is a city park in a less than safe neighborhood so you should not bring anything valuable. That is a bummer because this course would be a great night golf course because of its size and the small chances of lost plastic. But, if you are playing here, you are familiar with Detroit and it's suburbs and if that's the case then its just an average neighborhood.
Course maintenance is bad. Litter and overflowing garbage cans are everywhere. The baskets and tee pads are old and dilapitated and could use to be updated.
Other Thoughts: This is where I played my 1st round of disc golf and I learned to love the course and the sport right here. It is a nice little course to get a quick round in and to bring beginners....in the daytime.
I love playing here and would give it a score of 3+ if the cons weren't so bad. I haven't played here in some time so, if it has been cleaned up since, someone leave an up to date review.

If the above mentioned cons do not bother you then do yourself a favor and bang out a round here.

Oh ya, favorite hole, #8
The hole plays about 375ft from atop a small hill down into a valley. Looks pretty straight forward except for the large bushy group of trees on the right just daring you to test them. Hyzer a shot in over top of those trees and you got a nice chance at a birdy, (or an Ace, if your arm is that big!)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 112  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Mostly open course, but still a decent amount of trees to alter your shots, even though a few of the trees in the pictures have been cut down. Also good use of small hills to make elevation shots on a couple holes. Theres no way to lose a disc here either.
Cons:
Course Maintenance--
Not the best, it has old baskets and small tee pads too.

Course Navigation--
Big map at hole 1 but its hard to navigate for the first time, signs are unreadable.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
Its a typical detroit suburban city park. One reviewer said its in a "less than safe neighborhood", but anyone from the area knows its alright.

Course Access--
There is no parking lot, your gonna want to park on the side of Detroit Ave, and Hole #1 is by the playground.

--Can be busy at times.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.