Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #12 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Solid park course with variety

2-4    3/11/2017   3/20/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I had the opportunity to play PK in the first PK Open tournament. The course was arranged in the super-long configuration... and it was a treat! The course is situated throughout a city park that mixes in both the open areas and wooded corridors. The open holes wrapped around the parking and recreation areas, but they were far enough from the parking lot where you didn't really have to worry about striking a car with a bad drive. Hole 4 took us through the back of the park and hole 5 had us drive across the lake back up to the pavilion. The rest of the course was weaving throughout the woods on well defined, sandy fairways. None of the holes were really straight. Hole 17 and 18 brought us back around to the pavilion from the other direction.

There was lots a parking available and restrooms on site. Signage was great, and each tee wasn't hard to find from the previous basket. In the woods, there was some serious unexpected elevation to contend with... but it was fun!

I'm sure the normal, shorter layout is a little friendlier for the newer players... but I had a blast on the long course. They did a really good job utilizing all of the park for this. This place is a great course to play if you're in the area!
Cons: Being a city park, there are people everywhere. Some of them know that there is a disc golf course, some obviously don't. Also there is lots of blind OB lining the sides of the fairways. Between gardens, yards, paths, dog parks, parking lots, and even a cemetary... it's a tricky course!
Other Thoughts: I'm definitely going to play this course again when I'm in the area. The super-long configuration was a blast, so I'm sure the normal park layout will be good as well.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent course - just wish it was somewhere else

2-4    10/16/2016   10/18/2016
Review By: Pro-D
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Even mix of right and left turns.
Multiple pins which can act as par 3s or 4s for added difficulty.
Good, solid tee pads.
Benches on every hole.
The final hole in particular is one that I've always enjoyed.
Cons: Location! This course is in the ghetto, for lack of a better term. There was an incredibly loud, obnoxious, probably drunk group of at least a dozen people hanging out at the picnic tables right next to the first fairway. An errant disc could easily cause a fight.
The second hole's fairway runs next to a couple of playgrounds and a 5-6 year old girl tried to run off with my friend's disc.
The signage here looks good stylistically and there's plenty of information on them, but they are incredibly hard to see unless you walk right up to them.
The first few holes and a couple in the middle run through other park amenities and you may run into pedestrian walkways or roads that you have to throw over.
Aesthetically dilapidated throughout the course. Some of the infrastructure here should just be torn down and replaced with grass if it's not going to be repaired. I also saw tons of trash littering the middle 6 holes that are a bit further back in the park. There were trashcans throughout the course, just inconsiderate people I guess.
Other Thoughts: I like the way this course plays. I visit Augusta often to play the IDGC courses, but I like to introduce people to the sport with this course since its pretty simple. My main issue with it is it's location. It probably wouldn't be an issue at 8:00 in the morning but if you're going to play this course at 4:00-5:00 in the afternoon, be prepared to deal with loud, obnoxious people and beer toting teenagers walking through your fairways (I swear I'm not an old man).
There were several shots, especially on the front nine, where I legitimately thought my disc might be stolen and so I basically rushed through these holes to get away from all the other park guests.

I don't think I would play this course again unless it was very early in the morning when you're less likely to encounter the other park goers.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

First time won't be the last time

1    4/23/2016   4/25/2016
Review By: hellbound
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are of a good sizes with pavers at the end of pad

Benches on everyhole

Multiple pins in ground in most holes.

Great use of area around park.

Many holes that stand out as signature holes
Cons: I love the idea of the wooden tee signs and the extra art work that's on them. However I found them to be a little hard to read without being right up close.

Wish the water came into play. I understand in years past it did but not anymore.
Other Thoughts: What a great course. Starts you out on a nice left to right hole with lanes on bothsides for an easy birdy. After that the course starts to challenge you some and also reward you with a short hole or two mixed in.

Plenty of shade throughout the course and tucking you away from many of the parkgoers as you make the turn into the back nine.

Hole 18 is a standout in my mind with all the extra touches from the landscaped bushes and flower boxes on backside of the pin.

If this was closer to the house then 2.5 hour drive I def. could see myself making this a home course. Easily could play two rounds with both rounds being different basket combos.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun Course

5+    11/18/2015   11/18/2015
Review By: Drawz
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Nice park. Great course for beginners and Advanced alike. Lots of different shots and subtle terrain changes. My fav. course in Augusta. Often lots of people to pick up a game with.
Cons: Hole 2 is near a play ground. Not in the way but can be a distraction. Not much they can do about it, but almost the entire course has sand fairways. Just the type of soil we have in this region but it can be annoying picking up a disc and its covered in sand. The back 9 has tighter fair ways and a bad shot can quickly be 20 feet into thick woods.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Nice family park. Always nice people I love this course! Must play if in the Augusta area.

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Clean little course

1    7/23/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.4 Years
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a well kept little city park. Nice concrete pads, good signs and plenty of benches and trash cans. Baskets and all features are in good shape. There is even a practice basket near the parking lot.

Fairways are clear and well defined. Underbrush in the rough isn't too bad. There is really nowhere where you are likely to lose a disc.

Several holes have multiple basket positions. This really helps add some length and variety to the course.

Not a ton of elevation here but some subtle ups and downs do come into play.
Cons: Length. Not only are many of the holes under 300', there is simply not a ton of variety here. The lengths are so similar you will likely use the same disc on many drives. It gets a little repetitive.

There also seems to be a lot of straight or RHFH shots. Not a ton of line shaping or big sweeping angles.

As with most multi use parks this course suffers from fairways next to other park facilities. Hole 1 has a few picnic tables within range, Hole 2 has a lovely playground on the left, and then there are multiple spots where you are forced to throw over a walking path. Not great stuff.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is worth a stop of you are close by. Not worthy of going out of your way to play, but serviceable if you are nearby. It is a pretty quick play, and the atmosphere in the park is pretty nice. Plus it has a huge tank on the grounds. How cool is that? Just don't expect a diverse or overly challenging course. Most of the fairways are pretty open, and the ones that are wooded are either wide enough to be forgiving or have sparse enough trees to make shots easily manageable. Not really any memorable holes here, but nothing that will frustrate the heck out of you either. Just simple straightword, putter and mid golf.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 More like PK disc golf sanctuary!

5+    6/15/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: Deezus Christ
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 39 Not
Pros: Impeccably maintained by the man, the myth, the legend.....FAST EDDIE! Great parking, easy access, a nice mixture of holes for both rec, intermediate, and advanced players alike. You can almost always find someone to play a round with you if you're up for it.
Cons: The only con I have is that I'm not able to play here every single day.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance stop by and chat with Fast Eddie. There's more than a 99.9% chNce he'll be there in his bright white shirt chugging along on his golf cart or partaking in a quick round. Every one is a better persons for knowing Fast.
Get out there and go play Pendleton King, it's a gem!.

0 of 39 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    5/30/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: cbeveridge3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 36 Not
Pros: I have played this course over 100 times and it never gets old. There is a nice blend of wooden and open holes strategically placed. The course is maintained well and the surrounding nature is pleasant. There are easy as well as difficult holes as well as A and B positions for some holes. This is a great course for any skill level.
Cons: Hole 2 is beside a playground

1 of 37 people found this review helpful.

  Saturday February 21, 2015

1    2/21/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: Jdub67
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 34 Not
Pros: Straight forward course, great for beginners or intermediate players.
Mostly sand, few dog legs, easy to navigate.

Had a 51 and out, 5 under par.
Cons: Big groups. .rate of play people, rate of play !
Other Thoughts: Good parking, warm up basket, safe environment.

7 of 41 people found this review helpful.

 A Visitor’s Perspective on DGCR’s Most Infamous Rec Course

2-4    2/16/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: mrclc
Played: 266  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.7 Years
31 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pendleton King Park is one of the more impressive city parks I've ever been to. Technically, the entire 64-acre tract is a bird sanctuary, which makes it even more noteworthy that a dog park, play equipment, and a disc golf course can coexist with the magnificent landscaping and twittering birds scattered throughout the grounds. I don't think I've ever played a park layout in more pleasant surroundings.

Luckily for us, the golf isn't bad either. The holes are divided between the open, amenity-filled area of the park and a wooded, nature trail area beyond. Most are pretty straightforward ~275 footers that play straight or basic doglegs in both directions. A handful of holes offer multiple baskets with more challenging B pins to break up some of the monotony, and largely do so with success. Less skilled players should find enjoyment in weighing whether or not to attack holes with a fairway driver for a shot at 2 or shaping a mid for a tap-in 3. This very basic risk/reward may seem simplistic for intermediate and above, but it's really enjoyable for a rec player like me who's just excited to flirt with par.

All the little course amenities are here: concrete pads, abundant trash cans, benches at every tee, mid-round restrooms, bag hangers, visible next tee signs when needed. The baskets are older, but still catch well and show no signs of vandalism. Flags (when necessary) and bright orange hole numbers aid in visibility.

Many of the fairways and greens are sand, which may seem like a given for a local, but is a delight for a Midwesterner used to slogging through sticky mud in the winter and spring. I imagine this keeps the course drained and dry more often than not.

I can't speak to the "friendliness" of the course, but it's certainly clean.
Cons: As a popular park course, PKP also seems to experience all of the classic park course drawbacks. Mob golf runs rampant, as my twosome had to wait behind clusters of 8 and 13(!) at one point.

Nearly all of the open holes play near to other park amenities, but only Hole 2 offers any real concern to the considerate player, as the fairway abuts a large play area and the green backs up to a park entrance driveway. Hole 3 plays over this same driveway, but close enough that it would be next to impossible to be surprised by and strike a passing vehicle. The rest of the open holes provide a clear enough view of the surrounding area that park patron safety shouldn't be an issue.

Because the vast majority of the wooded holes are so straightforward, they tend to blend together in an amnesiac smoothie of mediocrity. Holes 10-15 are a blur, and I couldn't recall any of them from memory.
Other Thoughts: PKP is probably a 3 for most on this site, but a fun factor aimed directly at my skill level combined with top-tier course and park amenities force this reviewer to give it the extra boost. In a nutshell, this is the kind of park I'd be thrilled to call my home course, a feeling I clearly share with Fast Eddie and the rest of the PKP crew. It's no 5-disc wonderland, but it's definitely worth an hour of your time.

We played Pendleton King twice as a cooldown course after tackling the IDGC over two days, and it works admirably in that capacity. Bring your confidence level back up after getting beat down across town!

31 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 A Walk in the Park

1    1/18/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 144  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8 Years
17 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Pendleton King is just aesthetically pleasing. lots of bushes and gardens around. The transition between holes 8 & 9 is probably the best walk between holes I have ever seen. The rolling hill, manicured bushes, and beautifully framed fairway make 18 the signature hole and perfect finisher. The gated garden and gazebo behind the basket just adds to the beauty.
-This course has the best benches I have ever seen on a DG course. They were all long with stained wood and small wooden plaques saying who donated them.
-Lines are fair at PK and the rough is not punishing. Lots of well-sculpted fairways through somewhat dense woods. The holes out of the woods were lightly wooded, fun shots.
-The teepads here are great. Long trapezoids with bricks at the front of the pad. Great grip.
-The next tee signs are well-placed and do a great job of pointing you the right direction.
-This course defies the stereotype of your typical course in a city park as it is not overly short and provides a decent challenge for the more experienced player and not completely turning off newer players.
Cons: -Crowded! Both the course and the park itself are overrun with people. I would definitely try to play at non peak hours. We played on a Sunday evening and had to do a lot waiting and playing through large groups.
-Several holes are very dangerous as Hole 2 plays right by a playground and restrooms, Hole 3 over the park road, and several holes play in close proximity to the walking path.
-The course can get repetitive at times. Holes 10, 12, and 13 felt like the same hole. I feel like some more work could have been put in to the design of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I really loved this course. It was a lot of line shaping, but was just a very pleasant disc golf experience. It was like playing disc golf in the secret garden except with 100s of people. While not the best in the area, this course provides a great alternative to the grueling long courses at the IDGC and the gimmicky holes at the Hippodrome. After playing 9 courses in the area over a 2 day period I kept asking myself, "What doesn't Augusta/N. Augusta have to offer?"

17 of 22 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.