Howard, WI 
Pinecrest Park Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty   (Taken 4/2009)
A look out over the course in early spring as a storm rolls in



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Under Construction- Course remodel

5+    5/23/2017   5/23/2017
Review By: Bennie Dubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thank you to Simon and Jeremy (re-designers) and the Village of Howard (suburb of Green Bay) for improvements and redesign. This course is located between the Azko-Noble Sports Complex and Mountain Bay Trail.
This is the ONLY full 18 hole course on the West side of Green Bay. While the other 2 courses Pamperin and Perkins Parks are doubled up 9's with alternate tees.

1. Full 18 hole course, now separated into front and back 9's that will both start and finish at the main parking lot.

2. More effective use of space that incorporates many different throw styles throught the course. Whether you are Lefty or Righty, backhand or sidearm/forehand, beginner or pro,there is something here for you.

3. Technical yet rewarding holes make birdies a possibility more so than ever before. As well as mixing it up distance wise for more even gameplay.

4. Elimination of the swampy/wooded holes that can be problematic for regular play. Many holes near the back previosly required boots in the spring and fall if you hoped to leave with dry feet.

5. More accurate distances on signage. I have personally paced off many of the new holes to find them fairly accurate in distance. Something that I and many other people have complained about for years.

6. In its new configuration this course maintains most of its length yet feels like a faster course than before. I no longer feel like i'm in for a LONG WALK when starting this course.

7. Better use of woods and tree lines give this course the feel of a more wooded park setting than the giant field with brush and trees that it realy is.

8. Pro=Red and Am=Blue tees are marked (concrete cornerstones)

New tees are marked, new pin locations are set, new signs are mostly accurate (i.e. distance and flight path).
Cons: Again... Under reconstruction! That being said, this course is not currently open in its new configuration. However with minimal work it will be very soon. Or do what i did and go on a slow day and play without baskets.

1. New tees are marked but not installed.

2. New pin locations are in but no baskets.

3. The new fairways need to be cut and the old ones need some time to grow out.

4. Holes 5 & 7 need walking paths across swampy areas. These are easily navigated with some care at this time.

5. There is not an existing map on site for the new configuration. You will have to wing it.
(However if you follow the signs your next destination should be apparent as each hole leads into the next fairly well. I experienced minimal trouble but only due to the fact that new pins aren't in yet and the old ones are.)
Other Thoughts: I am looking forward to playing this course when finished and check it regularly. I would like to see a few things incorporated with this redesign.

1. A short practice hole (not just a pin) from the wooden footbridge towards the tee box of new hole #1.

2. Maintaining of the back original wooded holes and pond as alternate/bonus holes. Strictly for a short fully wooded/technical option. With the previously mentioned practice hole and new holes 1-4 it could become a secret 9. With access from the parking lot by the pond. As well as keeping use of the existing footbridge. This course needs more wooded area, not equal or less than the current layout.

3. More picnic tables

4. A donation only box. Please don't make this pay to play. However, i would gladly donate money to see this course improve over the years.

I had a chance run in with Simon and Jeremy (designers) on a rainy spring day in April. A few things you will see in the near future and coming years.

1. Concrete tee boxes

2. Benches at tees

3. Garbage and recycling bins throughout the course.

4. Tree Transplants

5. New accurate site map with course layout.

6. Better course grooming

A friend and i finished last season and started this season with the mind set of being "Cautiously Optimistic" after seeing this course get ripped up.
However after my talk with Simon and Jeremy i now believe this course is headed in a better direction and have the mind set of "Anxiously Waiting".

*My low rating is ONLY due to the fact that things aren't finished as of yet and the course is not truly playable. I will change my rating when that time comes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Prairies at Pinecrest

1    5/28/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 939  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Painted timber laid in the ground at the front of each tee-box . . . red for the short tee and blue for the long tee.
2) Tee-signs have the basic information for Par, Hole #, and distance. The map is present but not super descriptive, but at least you see the general layout of the hole. They are located by the forward tee mostly, which puts those playing the long tees at a disadvantage.
3) Two sets of tees offer multiple skill levels a chance to play an appropriate distance. The long tees are mostly just additional distance without varying the shot shape or difficulty very much.
4) Mach baskets with number plates . . . some of my favorite baskets out there!
5) Mowed fairways seem to be very fair and I would even say forgiving. Not once did I end up in the tall grass the entire round so I never had to look for my disc at all. The prairie is also very clean of weeds, saplings, etc so it gives a really nice visual appeal to the course.
6) Minor elevation changes mostly with slight rolling fairways. There are a few holes with 10-20' of elevation change on the hole, but most are fairly level with only a few feet of elevation change per hole.
7) Creative use of a big soil mound on one hole. The basket is on the left half of the mound and there are a couple trees on the right side that would block your putt. I threw right behind those trees which is the only place you don't want to be.
8) There are a few garbage cans on the course, and I didn't see much garbage scattered which is nice.
9) Port-o-potty is available at the first tee parking lot area. I was happy to see this after my 2 hour drive!
10) 13-16 are wooded holes which breaks up some of the monotony of the open prairie type holes.
11) Excellent distance variation on this course with some in the 100's, 200's, 300's and even a 400' from both sets of tees. There are more 400's from the longs which makes the good sense.
12) There are a handful of holes that demand a hyzer, some that demand an anhyzer, a few that are pretty straight, and a good bunch of holes where you can choose from a couple routes. I like it when a course shows this variety to really challenge all parts of your game.
13) Course sign with a big map at the first tee.
Cons: 1) Dirt tees are rutted out and will hold water when it rains.
2) A handful of the distances seemed to be way off, not sure if there was a redesign from the original or if someone mis-measured, but some seemed off.
3) Wooded holes seem like these will often be wet and muddy and filled with mosquitoes so you might want to move quickly through these shorter technical holes.
4) #12 basket was missing a ring making it catch differently than others.
5) My opinion the balance of the wooded, open, and tightly wooded is not the best. I like tighter wooded holes better so only 4 tighter holes is less than I like. While the rest of the course is prairie, there are evergreens and some mature trees that create a slightly different shot selection than just a wide open whatever you want to throw.
6) The pond on #15 drains right into the front of the tee on #15 . . . I don't see why they couldn't have taken the pipe in between 14 and 15 instead to save creating a wet muddy mess on one of the tees.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course because it has a decent variety, it didn't look like it would have that variety when I got going but then there were the few holes whci used the treelines and a few scattered trees as obstacles. Then unexpectedly late in the round you dip into the woods for 4 holes. I certainly did not expect the water to be present even from the tee. Fortunately I threw right of the pond.

A few maintenance issues keep this course from being better in my opinion as does the fact the course is more praire dominant than wooded dominant. I feel this is more of a preference than a good or bad thing on the course, but I would more likely come back if there were more of the wooded holes.

It is still a solid course and if I lived nearby I would not avoid this course, it would mix wel with Triangle for the elevation and Pamperin and Perkins for the more wooded mix of holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Immature Course, Wet and Open

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big arms have a few holes on which to really let loose. This makes a good practice course- majority of holes are wide open so any throwing style can find success. Two sets of tees. Holes 13-16 are wooded and curved in both directions to finally put some variety on the course.
Cons: The four wooded holes at the end of the course are so wet and muddy that they are virtually unplayable except July through September. Wooden bridges are poorly implemented; you will find yourself stepping into mud or water before and after bridges. Fairways are seldom maintained to the point that disc searches are often necessary even after shooting into the middle of the fairway. Rough is deceptively thick and long and eats discs frequently. Location of course is seemingly always windy, even when nearby areas are not. Signs have not been updated since course was rearranged and often display incorrect maps and distance measurements. You will find yourself teeing off alongside marked tee areas to find decent footing.
Other Thoughts: This course may mature into something special, but for the present time it is difficult to recommend over any of the other courses within a 30-mile radius.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pinecrest is decent

5+    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 228  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 19.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are 18 holes here, better than 9 at Pamperin, 9 at UWGB, 9 at the new park, and 18 at the whitetrash resort called Baird Creek.
Hole 11 has a basket on a neat elevated mound of a green, but the hole is just wide open.
There is some elevation here, but maybe 25' change at most on any one hole.
The wooded holes are nice and tight, but none are long, just midrange or putter holes.
Multiple tees (red and blue), but the pad area SUCKS!
Left/right/straight balance is okay, but just because most of the course is wide open allowing either route. Only 2-4 of the holes play into or out of the woods which requires a hyzer or anhyzer.
Cons: The tee areas are AWFUL. They are marked by a 4x4 post laying on the ground in the front. They are rutted, bare dirt/mud, and not level at all. They are just plain bad.
Most of the course is just wide open. Fairways may be mowed to highlist a particular route and flight path, but with lack of large trees, you can throw at the basket from any direction. If you end up off the mowed fairway, you'll be searching through some real long and thick grass. Searching happed often because the wind acorss this open meadow can wreak havoc.
The wooded holes had no fill or woodchips brought in. Thus, they are soggy and after a rain can be a swamp. This also creates a bug haven so bring some spray.
Variety lacks severely. While the wooded holes do offer some balance, there are only 4 of them and none are long at all. So, you're mainly throwing around 300' across open fields. You may or may not have a tree border on one side of the fairway, and you may or may not have a bit of elevation from north to south oriented holes.
Typical douches playing in the city parks that vandalize, wreck, and otherwise contribute absolutely nothing useful or worthwhile to anything. Not nearly as bad as Baird though
Other Thoughts: The village is putting a bit more effort into the park. I see some larger trees planted. But if they really want to do something with the place, and give GB area discers something to rave about, they should study Token Creek in Madison. Pinecrest is the only course that could be made outstanding in GB. They could terrace some CONCRETE tees, make some elevated greens, add some more trees, and even install a few small ponds or 'sand' traps for some OB features. I personally love woods and elevation. I don't consider Pinecrest hilly at all, and the wooded holes don't impress me much either.
All in all, GB is a VERY lackluster disc golf area. All the Appleton area courses are better, and just 30 miles away is Winter Park in Kewaunee or Silver Creek in Manitowoc.
I would not recommend this course to a traveller who only had time to play one or two in a day. I would recommend Pinecrest as probably the most solid of all the GB courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/27/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course map at first hole
Well labeled red and blue pads
Both left and right turn holes
Lost of long holes to really air it out
Course flows well, not much of a chance to get lost (except from 16 to 17)
Well maintained fairways
Cons: High grass can just eat your disc when trying to make a low glide off the fairway
Open field for most of the course can mean lost of wind to play with
No real elevation change, pretty flat.
The wooded holes can be real muddy, so step carfully
Other Thoughts: Nice site next to the sports complex that is devoted to disc golf. I recommend playing 2 rounds, but bring food/water because there isn't much near by to make a quick run to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.