Howard, WI 
Pinecrest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 400ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Under Construction- Course remodel

5+    6/7/2017   5/23/2017
Review By: Bennie Dubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thank you to Simon and Jeremy (re-designers) and the Village of Howard (suburb of Green Bay) for improvements and redesign. This course is located between the Azko-Noble Sports Complex and Mountain Bay Trail.
This is the ONLY full 18 hole course on the West side of Green Bay. While the other 2 courses Pamperin and Perkins Parks are doubled up 9's with alternate tees.

1. Full 18 hole course, now separated into front and back 9's that will both start and finish at the main parking lot.

2. More effective use of space that incorporates many different throw styles throught the course. Whether you are Lefty or Righty, backhand or sidearm/forehand, beginner or pro,there is something here for you.

3. Technical yet rewarding holes make birdies a possibility more so than ever before. As well as mixing it up distance wise for more even gameplay.

4. Elimination of the swampy/wooded holes that can be problematic for regular play. Many holes near the back previosly required boots in the spring and fall if you hoped to leave with dry feet.

5. More accurate distances on signage. I have personally paced off many of the new holes to find them fairly accurate in distance. Something that I and many other people have complained about for years.

6. In its new configuration this course maintains most of its length yet feels like a faster course than before. I no longer feel like i'm in for a LONG WALK when starting this course.

7. Better use of woods and tree lines give this course the feel of a more wooded park setting than the giant field with brush and trees that it realy is.

8. Pro=Red and Am=Blue tees are marked (concrete cornerstones)

New tees are marked, new pin locations are set, new signs are mostly accurate (i.e. distance and flight path).
Cons: Again... Under reconstruction! That being said, this course is not currently open in its new configuration. However with minimal work it will be very soon. Or do what i did and go on a slow day and play without baskets.

1. New tees are marked but not installed.

2. New pin locations are in but no baskets.

3. The new fairways need to be cut and the old ones need some time to grow out.

4. Holes 5 & 7 need walking paths across swampy areas. These are easily navigated with some care at this time.

5. There is not an existing map on site for the new configuration. You will have to wing it.
(However if you follow the signs your next destination should be apparent as each hole leads into the next fairly well. I experienced minimal trouble but only due to the fact that new pins aren't in yet and the old ones are.)
Other Thoughts: I am looking forward to playing this course when finished and check it regularly. I would like to see a few things incorporated with this redesign.

1. A short practice hole (not just a pin) from the wooden footbridge towards the tee box of new hole #1.

2. Maintaining of the back original wooded holes and pond as alternate/bonus holes. Strictly for a short fully wooded/technical option. With the previously mentioned practice hole and new holes 1-4 it could become a secret 9. With access from the parking lot by the pond. As well as keeping use of the existing footbridge. This course needs more wooded area, not equal or less than the current layout.

3. More picnic tables

4. A donation only box. Please don't make this pay to play. However, i would gladly donate money to see this course improve over the years.

I had a chance run in with Simon and Jeremy (designers) on a rainy spring day in April. A few things you will see in the near future and coming years.

1. Concrete tee boxes

2. Benches at tees

3. Garbage and recycling bins throughout the course.

4. Tree Transplants

5. New accurate site map with course layout.

6. Better course grooming

A friend and i finished last season and started this season with the mind set of being "Cautiously Optimistic" after seeing this course get ripped up.
However after my talk with Simon and Jeremy i now believe this course is headed in a better direction and have the mind set of "Anxiously Waiting".

*My low rating is ONLY due to the fact that things aren't finished as of yet and the course is not truly playable. I will change my rating when that time comes.

**June Update** from original May review
This course is starting to shape up. The pins are in on the new course. The old have been removed. The fairways have had their first cut and can definitely use another cut a week later.
The course has good flow with the separate 9's each ending back at the parking lot. There is a fairly long transition between pin #17 and tee #18, which crosses N behind pin #10 across pro tee #11 down towards the the low point in the terrain. This definitely confused me the first time I played the new course.

The holes have good distance and mainly accommodate a good RHFH throw, and sometimes a RHBH. Seldom does it favor a LHBH or a LHFH. Lefty's will not be happy often, or so my friend tells me. If by chance you are one to use the Overhand throw you may have some better luck due to possible accuracy improvements and playing a shorter game.
For those of you with a good arm, you will find many greens drivable but not visible from many pro tee boxes.

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES : Should you ever throw into long brush or dense thickets. This will change a great game into a less than stellar round. You will not leave happy, and quite possibly a disc short. Just because the pond hole is gone, does not mean that this course can be any less punishing. Do yourself a favor and go for accuracy over distance on many of these holes.

There is a definite need for some thinning in areas and more trees along fairways to help buffer from some pretty terrible long-grass and weeds.
This course does not have tee boxes yet and is still marked by colored cornerstones and rudimentary signs. There as of yet is no posted course map in its current configuration.

All said, I really like the direction this course is taking. I hope this course continues to improve due to the great potential it has.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/22/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: nickguitarfreak17
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shot variety
Balance of forehand and backhand holes
Cons: Holes 13-16 are not kept well and the pond drains into the fairways of these holes
Fairly easy to lose a disc on a windy day due to the long grass (lost a disc every time I've gone)
Most of the open holes are around the same distance
Poison ivy by the creek
Like other reviewers have said, the distances on the signs are way off
Other Thoughts: It's an ok course, the prairie holes are fun but the 4 holes in the woods could be better. I'll stick to triangle and perkins park though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 arghhh

5+    11/28/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 133  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course, averaging over 300 ft a hole easily, with a few more then 400. a majority of the holes are open where all you do is bomb it. they really are tougher then you think though, its easy to end up in a tree line and end up with a 5. the holes in the woods are a little tricky but easy enough to birdie.
Cons: Tee pads are horrible, by that i mean they dont have pads and its as though someone went out of their way to make were you throw uneven and rutted. Also water can be a big issue early and late in the season, all the woods holes will flood, making a few of the holes unplayable unless you want to go swimming,
Other Thoughts: Despite being a not so great course, I still like to play it more then any course in greenbay. its as tough as a course gets in Green Bay.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I think it landed by this bush

5+    9/14/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 106  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pinecrest is a nice looking quiet place to disc. Most of the course is in a grassy field with a solid tree line on the north and south, it has low wetlands in the middle and in the wooded area, no swampy water hazards for the most part. Expect some windy conditions, just enough elevation that makes throws more difficult than expected, and wide open fairways that you still cant seem to hit! There is some distance required here, if you can throw close to 350' you should be able to reach almost every hole. There are four wooded holes, all within 250', birdies, but you have to hit lanes cut out of the trees. The signs look good and direct traffic well enough.
Cons: Horrid dirt tee pads, they are rutted and the 4x4 front of tee marker is unacceptable. Poor balance to the course, but the designer didn't have much for fairway defining elements to start with. Several holes are wide open and far. Its easy to get tired just bombing drives not caring about accuracy. The wooded holes are quite soggy in wet months, sometimes unplayable. Sign footage is far off on a few and debateable on the others. Watch out for thorns. The course would have a better feel if not for the line of houses on the east edge.
Other Thoughts: It gets a 3. Of the four Green Bay courses I prefer playing this one the most. The village is giving this course attention. Howard likes to have clean parks. One can hope that new teepads are coming. Good looking teepads would make this course into something that would be worth a drive. Fairways will continue to be defined, trees will get bigger, field grass will get more trampled. Its a placement shot course despite the wide openness, since a RHBH (for me) isn't favored on the holes that end in a right turn, and not landing where you want is probably in tall weeds or a tree line. After landing a drive where you want then comes a wide open putt. Scoring under par is expected but very few birdies are gimmies.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Much "Wow" Factor, But a Good Overall Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 19.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good use of terrain. While mostly flat, the designer(s) tried to use as many of the trees and bushes as possible. The wooded holes are definitely technical/finesse ones, and even the really open holes utilize tree lines to make you think twice about bombing a big hyzer.
2. Clean and quiet. A huge difference from Baird Creek in East Green Bay. It's good to play a secluded course where most of the patrons seem to be environmentally conscious and just a decent crowd. I didn't see much litter (there's always SOME), but then again I didn't see a lot of trash cans, so people are mindful of the pack-in/pack-out tradition.
3. Dual tees on most holes. The long tees don't necessarily change the feel of the holes (most of them are just straight back from the shorts, essentially giving you the same hole + 50-80 feet), but it's always a nice option to have some longer tees.
4. Maintenance. I probably would have rated this course an entire disc less if I was basing my rating on the first few times I was out here. The rough at those times was absolutely terrible (we're talking neck-high in a lot of spots), and the wooded holes needed a LOT of work. Fortunately, that work has been put in, and it shows.
5. Nice color tee signs with distances and hole maps. Some of the shorter blind holes in the woods may still require you to scout ahead a bit for a solid visual of the basket, but there's only one pin placement per hole, and the signs accurately reflect whether you're going straight, left, or right.
Cons: 1. Not as balanced as far as shot types required. Most of the shorter holes cater to RHFH/LHBH types.
2. Tee pads. I don't mind dirt, and for the most part they are pretty even, but the tees are marked with red and blue 4x4s that carry a real risk of tripping you up on your follow-through (a few stick up an inch or more!). I shouldn't have to worry about injuring myself on a tee...going exploring for my botched shot in some rugged terrain containing thorns, poison ivy, and holes in the ground maybe, but not on the tee.
3. Tee signs need updating. The one that comes to mind is #6, listed as 310/410, with a basket about 280' in front of you...#7 also is listed as 195/295, yet plays much longer, so maybe these holes have been swapped? Memory fails me here...
4. Pretty bland overall. The only hole out here that's truly unique out here is #11, perched on the left side of a 12-foot-high dirt mound, where most people's second shot will need to be placed accurately or will miss the mound completely or roll away. Everything else is pretty lackluster.
Other Thoughts: Despite my cons making it sound like this course isn't worth it, it's a welcome change from the other GB-area courses. It seems like more work goes into Pinecrest every time I'm out here, so I'm looking forward to seeing more improvements and maybe the addition of some unique landscaping to give the course a much-needed wow factor. My biggest issue is with the tees (I can deal with lefty hole after lefty hole after lefty hole so long as I'm not hitting my ankle on a giant piece of lumber). A manmade water hazard on one of the long bomber holes would be an IMMENSE improvement (there is a "creek," if it qualifies as such, near 16 and 17, but when you smell it you'll realize why the designers opted out of putting this nasty water in play). A solid course overall, and I haven't encountered the crowds of douchebags you'll run into repeatedly at Baird Creek.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 getting better!

5+    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: truk
Played: 69  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of nice updates going into this course. The woods are in the middle of a major cleanup, all the tees are smoothed out with paint on the 4x4 boards, and the pins are all surrounded by new mulch. Some "next hole" signs are in place. Best of all, there are finally some real bridges up over the creek!

The past several seasons have seen the fairways kept up much better than when it first opened, but even the rough has seen regular trimming lately, which is good for finding errant discs.
Cons: Even with the cleanup in the woods, there's still the problem of low ground, especially around hole 13 and the path to 17 (both near the creek)...maybe that's in the works though.

Tees are nicely packed, but concrete or at least packed gravel would really help, especially in the spring.

Not really the course's fault - I think there's enough barrels, but LOT's of garbage (wrappers, cups,bottles) especially by the tees.
Other Thoughts: More often that not, I'd skip 13-16...that's finally changing. Much thanks to the crew doing the upgrades!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.