Denton, TX 
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #13 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 293ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Very fun course!

2-4    12/20/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: obryn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery by a lake that doesn't interfere much with play.
Wide open holes for driver practice.
A community athletics center with vending machines, water fountains, and clean restrooms is located near the 11th hole.
There is also a golf pro-shop by the community center that sells used discs for discounted prices!
The course has a few tees positioned atop hills that are very fun to shoot from.
Usually has a good amount of groups playing that are friendly and courteous. But is rarely overpopulated.
alcohol is allowed.
Well maintained with short green grass. Hardly any mud except by the creeks.
Cons: needs more trashcans/benches.
Very long walk between the middle of the course due to the athletics facility and ball golf driving range.
The final holes are over creeks and a ditch with some pretty swampy water so be careful.
The first part of the course is so open that it is usually very windy. This wind makes advancing through the long holes treacherous at times.
Tees are dirt and desperately need to be replaced with concrete.
Other Thoughts: This course gets more flak than it deserves. I have a lot of fun every time I come out here. If you have 1 1/2 to 2 hours to spare, it is well worth the time. Just don't come on a windy day if you can help it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Crush Time

5+    10/9/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long holes where you get to work on your big drives - this course is unique to the other courses in Denton County. Five elevation change holes allow you to work on shooting up or downhill.
Cons: You'll have a long walk between the holes around the pond and the driving range. No teepads here. This course is super-hot in the summer with little relief until you et to the last few holes.
Other Thoughts: Work on your wind shots here: 75% of the course is open and/or elevated so you'll get to deal with the wind on a bunch of your shots. A fun, big-arm course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Great Wide Open.

2-4    10/19/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a long fairly open course. There are a few elevation holes and one with water that makes you decide just how much you trust your drive...or at least it will when the wind is blowing hard. At the time of writing this, they have dirt tees, but it sounds like they will be getting cement tee pads sometime soon. The tee signs were helpful in finding the next tees. This course has some really long holes. There is one hole that has a kind of peninsula style green. The fun factor here was better than average for me. It is worth going back to play again.
Cons: The dirt tee pads are worn down into ruts and you may want tee off next to some of them. The walk from one portion of the course to the other around tennis courts and a driving range is a bit much. But it is better to have the course and take that hike than to not have the course at all.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was just OK for me. For the most part this is a nice course. There are not many technical holes and very few wooded style holes, but I did enjoy the round. They have a nice course there in Denton, TX. My favorite hole is where you tee off one elevated point to a giant field and the basket was on top of another elevated point.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Great Exercise Course

5+    10/23/2008   10/25/2008
Review By: JayRandy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some really nice long holes including one from the top of a hill over a dranage area to the top of another hill over 400 feet away.
Like the other review says lots of beginners out here. Used to be really weedy out here but he city is doing a much better job of keeping the grass down and a lot more players out.
You can pretty much find players out here everyday any time of day.
Nice course to work on your drives as you will be pulling out your driver on almost everyhole and be able to grip it and rip it.
Cons: Really really hot during the summer and very windy alot of times.
Wind can make some holes play extremely long and the next day make it short.
some baskets are not the best but havn't had the damage effect a putt yet and I play here 3-4 times a week.
Walk between 11 and 12 is a pain but there is a rec area there that has snack machines and drink machines inside as well as a cold water fountain to fill up your bottle.
Other Thoughts: I like the course for the length.
My 13 year old son is learning to play here and nice to let him learn to drive and approach.
Lot's of good people playing out here now so that is nice.
Would like to see weekly tourneys but havn't heard of any yet.
There has been more tourney's out here in the last year then I remember.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just go play Lewisville...

5+    10/5/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.7 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open, no trees or boundaries to challenge you.
Holes 15-18 are the only holes on the course that are not essentially wide open and at least end this otherwise lackluster course in a decent fashion.
Cons: This course is way too long, takes to long to play with lengthy walks between some holes and a considerable walk around a tennis complex and ball golf driving range, unless you wanna risk it. The course used to have a decent tree in the middle of a downhill shot on 5, but last i was out they had chopped it down, and now the hole is just a crap downhill shot with an abandoned parking lot as the only view...
The park has little to no shade over 85% of the course. A couple of the baskets are in disrepair and have minor damages to them.
Other Thoughts: This course should be abandoned and resource the baskets for a new course in one of the many new housing areas around denton. This course is a horrible idea in the middle of the summer.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Open Course

5+    7/21/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 151  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2011
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are plenty of long holes here for the big arm thrower. If you can't throw long, you won't enjoy the course and will just think it is too long. Even though there aren't many obstacles on the fairway, it is still a tough course due to it's length and the wind factor. There are finally concrete baskets installed making the footing a lot better for your drives.
Cons: Some of the baskets only have a single layer of chains. The first 12 holes are very wide open with no obstacles on the fairway. Most of them are long (350 to 500ft), so that is your biggest obstacle. It is often times very windy here and there isn't much shade offered until the last 6 holes where there are more trees. Holes 11 and 12 are disjointed. You have to take about a quarter mile walk along the road to get to 12 from 11. Hole 14's basket is in a low-lying area that fills with water easily after a rain, making it unplayable. Although there are concrete tee boxes installed now, most of them are not level and several are not even pointing to the basket you are throwing to. Currently there are not new signs posted for the new tee boxes and a few of them still have an old sign or pole that is in the way of your backhand motion making your drive very uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: A lot of beginners play here. This is the course that I learned to play on while at school at North Texas. Hole 9 is a big hazard hole with the lake down the hill to your left. I've seen many beginners lose their discs here, including myself when I started out. The last four holes has a creek that runs through that will swallow your discs too. It is dry right now, though and usually is in the summer time. As many times as I've played this course, I still enjoy going out to play it occasionally. If this course gets signs for the new tee boxes that are positioned in a safe place, levels the tee boxes, and points them in the right direction, I could raise my rating to a 3.5, but I think that is the ceiling for this course.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.