Sheboygan, WI 
Jaycee Park Quarry Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4
3 / 206ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A much appreciated local favorite

1    8/26/2018   8/30/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 511  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 26.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing Vollrath Park , this was automatically going to be my next stop . I enjoy most of the older courses in an area , and this definitely qualified .This course is almost set up as 2 different courses , or parts of one . The first 5 holes and the last 2 are pretty open air holes , and the 13 in the middle play down into a tightly wooded plane . The course boasts mostly 2 sets of tees for it's 20 holes . A lot of love goes into the caring of this course . The baskets are in decent shape and there are concrete tee pads for the shorter holes and gravel tees for the more skilled and longer arms . I couldn't print a map for this , but the course flows pretty well , and I didn't have a problem navigating until close to the end . The lower 13 holes look like they can hold water after a rain , but the locals have put wood chips down in the ungrassy areas of the fairway to soak up excess water and help keep your shoes dry . This course looks like the next step of progression that you go to after you have mastered Vollrath . There is plenty of parking and the course itself is hard to miss as it sits on your left as you drive down 42 toward Sheboygan . Plenty of elevation here and good pin placement . You shouldn't lose your disc here . The steps here help out with the elevation I knew this course was a hit with the locals when I walked up to the first tee and was greeted by a guy sitting on a picnic table ( Hi Larry ? ) who was selling slightly used discs and talking it up with everyone that was coming to play . The first basket is a " good morning " 170 footer that has a tree on your right and overhanging branches that cause you to have to throw you tee shot low and to the right . The next 4 holes become progressively longer and more difficult , even though they are in the open . Now you are standing on a teepad that drops straight down into the flats .This section of the course kind of runs clockwise with hole ranging from pretty easy to " you better be accurate , or else " . The course design here was fun and at most times easy to follow until being confused at about #16 . I thought I saw the basket , but the pad didn't match . Anyway , the last couple of holes are open and #19 is a blind shot over a hill and straight . I met some guys that live fairly close and convene here almost every Sunday . The 3 plus Larry ( who told me that he has been playing since is was object golf only in the early 1970s ) , have been playing since at least the 1980s , have followed the World's when held in the midwest , and have played many courses both close and abroad . Thanks for talking to me and filling me in . Lots of good stories . Have fun playing this course and couple it with Vollrath , which is 10 minutes away .
Cons: t Even though he course is set away far enough from nonplayers that you shouldn't have them run up on you while playing , playerwise , it can get crowded and it wouldn't be out of the question to clip one with a bad throw . The course looks like it will hold water on the lower level , even with the wood chips helping out . Hey Sheboygan . How about inserting a map on this site for the out of towners ? Bugs could ge bad as it gets humid sometimes , but it's that way at most courses . The course might be considered short for the bigger arms , but I consider this to be a more " enjoyment course " not a championship caliber one .
Other Thoughts: A fun course that is well taken care of and respected by the community . Clean , obviously utilized by both the community of disc players , and the occasional out of towner . Play the course and enjoy the day . Say hi to the gentleman selling the discs , maybe even buy a putter or approach from him .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Top Park is good, valley is excellent = 3.5

1    11/7/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 92  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right off the freeway
Good mix of shots
Great terrain for DG
Two tee pads that often times have totally different lines
Easily navigated
Lots of 'touch' shots
Signs with pics and distances
Lots of fun with several memorable shots
Cons: one set of tees is just gravel
very soggy in places once you drop down
The baskets are very rusty
Not many cons this course is great
Other Thoughts: This is a very good disc golf park right off the freeway. I like how a lot of the shots have two tee with totally different lines, not all but a lot. The flow of the course is cool, you can start on 1a and the first few holes start out in a typical park with rolling hills then there is this wicked top of the world shot that drops you down into a valley. All the shots down in the valley are really cool, mostly short and technical. Its pretty wet down there but super fun. You play a bunch of holes then come back up to the park for a few holes.I could see a little TLC going a long way at this park, new baskets, a few tweeked pin locations, concrete tees on all and maybe an elevated pin or something. Also love the wood chips!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quality local course

5+    10/25/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 528  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the local course I play the most. It's a quality course with a mix of open, wooded, and elevation. Each hole offers quality concrete teepads on the shorts and natural teepads (with crushed gravel) on the longs. The course seems to have been designed for the short holes, with the longs mostly adding distance. A few of the long pads offer a different line.

Holes 1-6 (technically 1, 1A, 1B, 2-4) are all open park type holes. No mystery and not much difficulty. Hole 1 does have a large tree obstacle.
The course changes dramatically from there, starting with a wooded downhill hole with a tough line. After that, there's a mix of shorter wooded holes on numerous different lines. Every hole is a chance at birdie, and getting out of trouble isn't usually too much of a problem.

The last two holes come out of the woods for two open holes, with the second to last being a blind, over the hill shot.
Cons: Distance. The shorts are all pretty short, maxing out just over 300'. The longs do add some distance, but usually just for the sake of distance. They seem to be more of an afterthought, although there are a couple interesting lines.

This course can get crowded during prime hours, and parking is limited directly next to the course.
Other Thoughts: A lot of work went into this course over the summer. New tee signs, extra gravel on the long tees, and large amounts of wood chips were all added, and done in a quality manner.

Put concrete tee pads on the long tees, and this almost instantly goes up to a 4.0.

This is a great course for a family, or somebody looking to run for birdies all day. Navigation is a breeze with well carved out paths and a really nice natural flow. For a park course, it's kept up quite nicely, with trash cans at many holes.

Overall, a solid course, even if a bit on the short side.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course Keeps Getting Better Evertime I Visit!

5+    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: DGTiger
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played on 4/20 and was amazed at the work that was done on the lower holes! Paths have been elevated by abundant wood chips to help keep your feet dry after days of rain. Even in areas where water naturally likes to accumulate, slabs of concrete were played down to create paths to get to your wet disc. Small/low vegetation has even been cleared out on some of the lower holes.

With the quarry, river and excellent work to get this course into top shape, it really gives you a dose of what Wisconsin is about.

EXCELLENT WORK AND THANK YOU TO EVERYONE INVOLVED!
Cons: Pros/cons are much the same as other reviews. I just really wanted to add in the review of how much work has been put into the course.
Other Thoughts: I maybe would've rated this as a 3.5, but with the added work put into the course and the beauty alone, it has my 4-disc rating!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 108  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Good chances for aces
-Elevation is well utilized on some holes
-Nicely wooded but not overly wooded
-Pretty good mix of shots due to trees scattered in fairways on most holes
-Navigation is pretty straightforward
-Quiet setting one you get back in the woods
-Some water hazard from creek that is near a couple of the baskets and the quarry could claim a disc if you either make a bad throw or roll back towards it
-Fun course for experienced players and challenging for less experience players
Cons: -There are a lot of very short holes, I didn't find the need to throw any high speed drivers on any of these holes. I personally enjoy throwing mids and fairway drivers so this is not a huge con for me per-say but to some this could be a deal breaker.
-Many of the tee signs are gone or damaged to the point where they cannot be read and I did notice that the signs and baskets are mis-numbered on some holes which made things a little bit confusing at some points.
-There are a few holes and spots where you could get hit by other players if you don't keep you head on a swivel. Granted, if you are paying attention to your surroundings this is a non-issue but it is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: I played here today for the first time, I went on a weekend road trip from IL with my buddy to crusade some disc golf courses up in the door county area and we decided on playing this one on our way home as it was not far off the highway and looked interesting. After all the other courses we played this weekend the shorter holes here were very welcoming to tired arms like ours.

Locals were real friendly, We played a couple holes with a random guy who was in the lot when we pulled in and he gave us some pointers about navigation and mis-marked pins and signs. We got to talking about random stuff and as it turned out he had went to school with my cousin and knew her, small world!

I liked this course, it reminded me alot of a course by my home that I really like but it was better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Quarry

5+    4/20/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lokis Tyro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rarely over-crowded. Minimal risk of disc loss. Well taken care of with many improvements in the last few years. Amateur and pro tees for most holes. The short holes are challenging. Concrete Tees. Flags on goals. Wildlife (Ducks, Deer, Misc.). Bells on the necessary blind holes so people know when you have finished. Trash bins. Rest areas. Respectful players. Overgrowth has been taken care of. The walking paths are maintained nicely. The breezy or windy days can be a lot of fun once you get to know the usual patterns and "dead spots" (no wind when it's windy). Easy layout if you haven't played before.
Cons: It's hard to think of any that aren't because of personal preference, the need, at times, of bug spray for instance. It is not unbearable like it used to be and spray will do the job if the bugs decide to come out. I'm not a fan of the bike trail. Once in awhile you'll have to wait.
Other Thoughts: I've given this park a high rating because it has transformed into a great playing course and an overall fun place to be. The guys there are doing a bang-up job maintaining and improving. If you haven't played here in a couple years you will be pleasantly surprised. There are still issues of the lower spots having standing water or squishy soil but there are usually logs/branches you can use to walk on or fetch your disc if you don't want to play it where it lies. There are also stepping stones in some of these areas. Some wont be found if you don't know where they are once the brush and such grows in throughout the summer. If you haven't played the course walk through and you can plainly see what you want to avoid. This course deserves a much better rating than what is shown. It blows Vollrath out of the water. The info shows that there are not any water hazards when there is definitely at least 1 and a maximum of 2 in my opinion. I say this because my buddies disc was swept away by the then murky, fast flowing stream/river. If some oddity occurs, chances are you're not getting your disc back. There is another where if you have a bad throw you could fly right towards the quarry and depending on your throw, plop, skip or roll into the water. Stairs were put where needed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/12/2011   2/12/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long and short shots
Nice tee pads
Good use of the woods
Cons: Fairly open until hole 7 but other than that it is a nice course
Other Thoughts: This course had great flow and nice people that let me play through. I will definately be playing this course again

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 174  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Many Different Shot styles but good for both right and left handers
2. Great use of the land incorporated with the course.
3. Short tees= pretty decent scores. Long tees=levels the playing field a lot more for all players.
Cons: 1. Back side in swampy area= tends to be flooded quite often
Other Thoughts: First time I ever played this course I was very, very impressed with the overall quality of the course. There are some decently long holes, but the shorter ones are chirping at you or they're Ace-able.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The New Quarry

5+    1/16/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: BRW33114
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Quarry offers a nice variety of shots with some longer open holes as well as some tighter technical wooded holes. Many improvements and maintenance has been done to make this a worth while course to play. Offers pro tees as well as short tees depending on your preference. Not the same course as it was in the past.
Cons: Not really any extremely long holes and lacks cement pro tees at this point.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = Interestingly random feeling course

1    6/25/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 386  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 25.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(Only about 3 third of the holes are good risk/reward "real" disc golf holes. Lots of the other holes are either wide open or too short to make you stop and think what and how to throw them....and these holes will not punish you for screwing up.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(A little under half the holes are in my wheelhouse of challenge/reward. The others are too short to be rewarding or too long to ever expect score variation other than by my mistakes. Overall, the course feels very random....maybe like the designer had no particular audience in mind or decided to design 2-3 holes for each type of player.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(This is the area this course shines the brightest. Lots of right/left/up/down variety in the holes. Although elevation is limited, the designers did a really good job of maximizing what they had to work with. This course has 3-4 more open holes than I prefer.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C+
(Other than the first couple of holes when you enter the woods (7-8) which are quite nice, the rest of the course feels a little scruffy and tired. A lot of it is that the bottom part of the course is built in a flood plain and the vegetation has that wetland feel to it. The grassy area of the course has a neglected feel to it.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.