South Daytona, FL 
Reed Canal Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discpilot86 Hole #15
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
My Favorite Course / old school par 3

5+    8/4/2019   8/9/2019
Review By: drambo
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I grade courses on the fun factor. That's why we play right? This course is just plain old fun! Reminds me of why I started playing disc golf in the first place.
Classic old School Par 3. If I didn't know better, I would of thought this course was installed in the late 80s/early 90s.
Super technical. You must have a wide range of shots to score well.
Impossible to loose a disc unless you get it stuck in a tree.
Locals have PVC pipe poles to poke discs out of trees if you do get them stuck.
Park is well maintained.
Concrete Tee Pads.
Multiple ace run chances, who doesn't love that?!?!
Cons: It's hard for me to give any cons for this course so I'm nit picking here:
Tee Pads are on the short side, but long enough for the short course.
A couple of the holes are very short with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: shots from a Right Hand Players Perspective. Preferred routes are to the holes that were in place the week I played it.
I only get to play this course 1 week every year. I make the best of that week and try to play it everyday because I love it so much.
Hole 1: 304 Feet, wide open fairway, basket hidden behind trees at the end. Preferred route, backhand straight drive with minimal finish.
Hole 2: Short hole but VERY technical. Tight wooded hole that finishes hard to the right. Preferred route forehand that finishes hard right.
Hole 3: Short hole with open fairway, guarded green. Preferred route straight forehand with minimal right finish.
Hole 4: Short, but very tight fairway. There are holes if you miss the fairway but you have to get some luck to get through to the basket. Preferred route, super straight backhand with minimal finish left.
Hole 5: Very short hole. Super tight fairway. Ace run every time if you make the it threw. Preferred route, straight at the basket.
Hole 6: Very short hole. Trees in front of tee pad force you to think about your release. Preferred route backhand with minimal finish left.
Hole 7: Open fairway with dog leg right finish to a guarded pin. Preferred route forehand with a hard right finish.
Hole 8: Straight fairway, tight but not too tight with a hard finish right to a semi guarded basket. Preferred route, straight forehand with minimal finish.
Hole 9: Open fairway to a very guarded basket. You can get one too the pin with a little luck, I've done it. Preferred route forehand with a hard right finish.
Hole 10: Open fairway and open green with minimal trees in your way. Preferred route straight at the basket.
Hole 11: The longest hole on the course and the only one I have yet to birdie. Open fairway with an open green, but you do have to miss some trees to get close. Preferred route turnover forehand.
Hole 12: Open fairway with open green. Minimal trees to miss. Preferred route forehand with right finish.
Hole 13: Open fairway with open green. Minimal trees to miss. Preferred route forehand with right finish.
Hole 14: The start of what we call birdie alley. VERY SHORT hole with a raised basket. No obstacles. Ace run. Preferred route straight at the basket.
Hole 15: Very short hole. No obstacles. Ace run. Preferred route straight at the basket.
Hole 16: Straight fairway minimal obstacles. Preferred route backhand with straight finish.
Hole 17: very short hole. minimal obstacles. Ace run. Preferred route backhand with minimal left finish.
Hole 18: very short hole. guard trees around the green. Ace run. Preferred route big backhand sky hyzer over the trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Put the Pedal to Metal at Daytona's Short Track

1    1/20/2019   1/27/2019
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 325  Reviewed: 320  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2019
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Reed Canal Park is a short, fun course. Just like the Speedway down the road, you can throw caution to the wind and have one fast-paced, aggressive round. Let the birdies fly.
- Simple, straight ahead course is a fantastic city park. Course uses the trees as an excellent obstacle without feeling tricked out. Besides the trees, the only other obstacles you'll see on the course will be some of the crosswinds and park-goers.
- The front nine has more trees creating a more varied layout. The back nine is sparser, with baskets strategically placed near trees to create the challenges.
- There are dual pin locations on many holes. Based on the tee signs, many give the holes different looks - i.e. dogleg left vs right. I only noticed a couple that seemed to be unimaginative putting the basket 30 - 40 feet further back types.
- This is a mid-range and approach-shot type of course. I only used anything longer than midrange on several holes. Only three holes are longer than 300 feet - 1, 10, & 11. Those three are very open so no challenge.
- #2 & 3 are two of the more challenging and enjoyable layouts. Both have heavily tree-lined fairways while offering enough gaps to carve your shots back to the basket. I had birdie putts on both and didn't think I threw an exceptional shot on both.
- Course begs for ace-runs. Eight holes, including four of the final five are less than 200 feet. You play a couple rounds here and you should have at least one shot that has...a...chance...to....go....in....
- Along those lines, great course for beginners and kids. With no true long holes, most holes in the 150 - 250-foot range, and virtually no chance of losing a disc, you can bring a newbie, one-disc owned player here.
- Best thing about the course is the park its located in. Lots to do here for the family: playground, walking trails, large pond, picnic tables. Let them do there thing while you play a round.
Cons: I enjoyed this for being a short, beginner-friendly course. Along those lines, this course essentially nails its target. In the big picture, several observations.
- My biggest issue was the inconstancy of the basket locations - Pin A vs Pin B. The metal-colored baskets blend into the shaded areas, or are hidden by trees, so it's not always easy to spot them from the tee. When I couldn't see them, I'd base the location off the distance listed on the DGCR app. My success rate was about 50% for picking the correct location. On one blind tee shot (somewhere around hole #6 - 8) I threw to the blind dogleg left, parking my disc within 4 feet of the sleeve. Unfortunately, it was in the OTHER location, so I had a 50 foot, bending putt. Instead of a tap-in birdie, I had a disappointing birdie.
- Course plays over and close to the walking trails a lot. Had to wait on walkers multiple times. Also had to wait on a kid on a bike riding in the fairway while his dad stood 20 feet from me pretending not to see me. FYI, watching me about to tee off before your kid rides 100 feet in front of me, making eye contact with me for a couple seconds, then looking away doesn't mean you didn't see me no matter how much you tried.
- A few more next tee arrows would be nice. Yes, there are arrows on the tee signs. However, for those of us who didn't pay attention to that when we teed off, when we hole out and now see multiple tee pads and holes, it's kind of a crap-shoot of which hole to play next. I only walked to the wrong tee one time. After that, it was a simple process of elimination.
Other Thoughts: Reed Canal is fun for what it is. In the DG universe, it's very non-descript. If you're wanting to stretch your legs in the middle of a 10-hour car ride, this was the perfect 40-minute break for me.
- Courses like this serve a purpose. Regular players want & need more challenging courses. To continue growing the sport and getting support from local governments, you need to appeal to new players as well.
- Being from Charlotte, this course is right up there with our area's 3 pitch-n-putt courses. If it means I'm in Daytona, I'll pick this one every time over those.
- The crosswinds playing off the ocean add an extra challenge. On #11, the tee pad is protected by trees. The fairway then opens up, at which time the winds lovingly picked up my disc and blew it a good 75 feet off line. By the time I got to #18, breeze was strong enough that I was aiming a good 60 feet right of the basket, throwing a big sweeping shot back to this 152-foot hole. Nailed my 15-foot birdie putt so consider it a success.
- #15 has a raised basket, begging you to make a run. It's only 141 feet so it feels playing the safe up-and-down layup is the easy way out.
- Overall, this is slightly below average as a course. The biggest factors are that the course doesn't force players to use many different discs. Play the entire course with a midrange disc - Roc or Buzz - and you'll be fine. You also don't get penalized for being overly aggressive as you should be able to recover with a bad tee shot on most holes with easy up and downs.
- Because of that, I'm giving this course a 2.0. Fun factor, scenery, and overall park quality rate higher. As for the disc golf, consider this a good practice course or ego booster.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent Local Course

5+    8/23/2018   8/23/2018
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Reed Canal Park is located in Port Orange, FL (A nicer area of the greater Daytona Beach Beach area) so the park upkeep is usually at a premium.

The course here has a nice mixture of holes starting with the shorter technical front 9 that are through the "woodsy" section and then finishing in the back 9 for some more opened up throws with some more distance and fewer trees.

You will not encounter panhandlers in this park or any real shady types of people like you may see in other parts of the city that we don't need to name here.

There are dedicated Concrete tee pads which is always a plus to give any course an official feel.

A nice added feature of this course is the large soccer field right next to the parking lot which can double as a sort of driving range (if not in use of course).

We play here often mostly for the convenience of it (being local) and that it is a fun little 18 holes of Disc Golf
Cons: While it may be a challenge of some newer players to traverse the abundance of trees on this course, more seasoned players will breeze through it. a Putter/mid range combo can be used pretty much on every hole since they range between 150 - 300 ft.

You will find no elevation changes here nor any water hazards which I feel always increase the Character in any course.

TREES...love em or hate em...you will hit them on this course, especially in the front 9. Some holes allowing only way through so limited line options.

As far as baskets go, RCP uses Chainstar which are not the best quality imo. If you are playing here as a first timer, these baskets will be hard to spot at first. Even just adding some flags on top would help.

The course was put together like a Grid to maximize the area of land but it makes for some rather uneventful and mundane gameplay especially holes 10-13 where you tee off to the basket, then another tee right next to that down to the other end again and so on...for 4 straight holes. This place will not give you any type of Nature hike type of feel...it definitely feels like a shared park atmosphere.
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you play disc golf and are always looking to play a new course...and are visiting the Daytona Beach area, sure...come by and play a round here. Will the course Wow you? No, but will it provide some fun, semi-challenging outdoor disc golf activity? Yes it will.

There are some very nice courses in the surrounding area here and I would rate Reed Canal probably 5th on the list of the 8 courses within 30 miles. This place is nice for the locals but wouldn't be one you would probably make a road trip of to go play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 About as good as it gets for practice.

5+    10/3/2016   10/18/2016
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a beautiful piece of city property and also serves as a multi-purpose park/recreation area. Its very scenic and relaxing and for how busy it is I rarely have pedestrians in the way of discing. The front nine are heavily wooded sans a few holes and act as a great warm up for the longer back nine. It is a great course for a random practice round and the chance of losing discs is quite low. Because its a park there are bathrooms and soda machines as well as an adjacent soccer field for driving practice when empty. Multiple pin positions on many of the holes as well.
Cons: Most players with any experience will find this course very easy. There aren't too many holes over 300 ft and there are a couple gimme birdies (#14, 15). Every so often a random person will obliviously walk right across the fairway but as previously mentioned it doesn't happen too often from my experience.
Other Thoughts: My opinion of this course has changed significantly in the years I've been playing. As I get better and play more courses, I've grown more of an appreciation for this course and have enjoyed it more in the last couple years. I got my first ace and second ace at this park so it will always be special in that regard. Objectively speaking it is a great place to go for a quick 18 if you live locally. I wouldn't drive a long distance to play just this course but if you are coming from out of town I would highly reccommend it as a warmup for tuscawilla or doris leeper. It is quite scenic and the front nine is relatively secluded for being a public park in a developed area of town. (listen for the owls that inhabit the front 9 around holes 4,5,6)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Easy 18

2-4    7/16/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Quick and easy course. Great for beginners or intermediates working their short game.
-Nice concrete tee pads
-Potential to lose a disc is very low
Cons:
-A few holes are very short
-Hole maps on the tee signs are a little confusing and lines to the basket are not always well defined
-Had to keep a sharp eye out for pedestrians on all of the walking paths throughout the course
Other Thoughts:
Reed Canal is pretty decent recreational/beginners course. The first 9 holes are the more difficult ones mainly because of the amount on palm trees all over the place. I think playing 10-18 first and then 1-9 would make more sense because the course would gradually get more difficult. Even with all the trees, par is typically easily saved here because there is basically no rough. Navigation here is fairly easy, without a map I found the next hole easy enough. Overall this is a fun little course if you looking for a quick and easy 18. No need to make a special trip for this course but it's a nice change from other courses in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Light Fun

1    8/18/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Light, easy course tucked into a small city park is very well constructed in terms of the space available. Though all the holes are played in the same, relatively open area, it doesn't feel that way while playing.

And while the course feels open, the shots aren't. Individual palms provide most of the obstacles in your path, creating a nice vacation feel to your round. The park is maintained very well, and while there are other activities, they don't get in the way as afar as I can tell.
Cons: That said, there's not a ton of difficulty and not much length at all. While most of the holes are decent, and provide a few different looks, none are memorable and a few are just silly. I'm speaking particularly of 14 and 15, which are open looks at basket less than 150 feet away. Holes like that cheapen the potential aces in my opinion.

While most tees are withing a few feet of the previous basket, it can still be hard to locate them. Since the entire area is open, you will be looking in all directions for the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is alright. I'd go back again. It's 18 holes that can be played played quickly and doesn't demand to be taken too seriously.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 130  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 15 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is a beginner friendly rec course located in a really nice quiet beautiful park! Lots of scenery to take in!
-Tee area has Tee signs with fairway map & distance, and there are concrete tee's
-Beginner friendly; A couple of long drive shots, Numerous tight & Technical short shots; the rest are average range open field shots.
-Decent Fun Factor that does have challenging shots. Non-playing friends could have a good time here.
-Perfect for a quick round, also good to bring non-playing friends and family.
-A plethora of opportunities for an Ace here. This course could host a real nice Ace Race Tournament.
-If you have a bad or deflected shot on the tighter holes, you'll still be close enough for a run at the basket for an deuce or an upshot.
-50/50 Balance of Wooded and open field
FWIW
-Other activities and playground equipment in the park.
Cons: -Navigation was a little hard to follow. I figured it out without a map, but there was more than a few moments of "Where is it?". (Primarily a First time issue)

-The park could be crowded on weekends, and during the summer there was an apparent summer rec program happening here during the week. So there was a large group of children that ended up walking across the field. On a busy weekend, I could see the open field side of this park being very crowded.

-Could be considered too tight by some peoples standards, although I enjoyed threading the needle on some of those shots. The front 9 has some really tight lines.
-Walking/Biking path that weaves through the course. Make sure to Look before you throw.
Other Thoughts: By most Disc Golfers standards, this would be considered an easy course. Despite that, I found myself having a good time. It could be considered a pitch and putt, and you really don't need to bring a full bag. 2 or 3 discs will do fine here. It's Daytona, a place most visitors are on vacation with their families. You could definitely bring them all out for a round and have a good time! It's more of a family course, rather than Daytona's Tuscawilla Counterpart. The course is located in a really nice park, where there is a lot of things to do. So there are a lot of things you can do with your family while you are here. This is not a professional course, but a family rec course. It is a short course and it plays very quick. It does have a decent fun factor. More than I initially thought going into it.
If you are staying in Daytona, grab a couple of discs and just go play it! If you are looking for a big challenging course, go to Tuscawilla. This is the easier, fun course to play. It's still worth checking out if you're in Daytona. It's not a course I would necessarily drive out of my way to play, but if you happen to be on a road trip, and you're stopping in Daytona, then stop in and check it out. It's not too far from Tuscawilla.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Shade!

2-4    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 38  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very first time friendly. Easy to follow course. Concrete Tees and maps at every hole. Lots of ace and birdie shots. When you finish a hole, just look around and then find the next map stand. Nice playground with bathrooms available.
Cons: Very simple course. The front nine attempts to be hard due to trees, but it really is a beginners course. Back nine gets extremely basic. No course map or scorecards available.
Other Thoughts: Look, I know it may seem like I didn't like Reed Canal, but I did! It was great fun. Easy to follow and have a good time at. Lots of shade to protect you from the beating sun, but its just not too challenging for the players reading this. Located just a stones throw from Tuscawilla, I'd have to say play there for a challenge, play Reed for a fun relaxed time. If not for the simple back nine this course would easily get a three, but as it is 2.5 is a fair rating.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy course

1    3/18/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: BogeyMurder
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Simple layout. Good signage. Good for beginners. Bathroom, trash cans, and water fountains readily available.
Cons: Some holes are too short. Not a lot of variety in shots/holes.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners or people who just want to paint their some aces/birdies

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    7/15/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: chuckrcp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has lots of shade.
The finishing holes allow for some good ace runs.
You get to try lots of different shots.
Cons: Front nine is tough for a beginner, lots of trees.some holes changes and signs are wrong.
Other Thoughts: Nice park not to busy had a fun time. My son is only 11 and has been playing as long as me and he had fun.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.