Kingwood, TX 
River Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: HoustonHyzer Hole #5 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
  Love this course

5+    11/6/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: robcoolj
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course that is very technically challenging. For those people who enjoy trying to shape their shots and don't mind the frustration of hitting trees this is a must play course. This was actually my very first course to play (as some has suggested - not a good idea) and although I was initially pretty frustrated - it kept drawing me back. They've now made a number of improvements to the course - especially on Number 5 which is now very playable.
Cons: This is certainly not a course for beginners as many have mentioned. I still consider myself to be a novice and it can be very frustrating at times. There are also lots of bugs - mosquitos and spiders (and contrary to other reviews - they are Golden Silk spiders (harmless) - not Banana spiders. They are huge though so you will eat a lot of webs. Just remember to swing your disc up and down when going between the trees and you'll be fine. Lots of standing water after rains as well.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course close to 25 times now and it just keeps getting better and better. I've also played McGregor and Tom Bass (the championship course) and I'll take this one over those anyday. Way more fun trying to truly plan your approach to the baskets. Give it a try really and just try and stay patient. You will hit trees but there are rewards to those who can control their shots. Par feels so good!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kinbgwood Tightness

5+    6/9/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Sambo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will Humble you quickly....A great challenge for any player. There is a lot of shade with nice big conrete tee pads, even if they are in backwords. If you are looking for a tight course, this is it. This course makes Spring Valley look wide open.
Cons: The maintance on the course is pretty poor. There are still trees down in a lot of places from IKE.
Other Thoughts: I would have like to see more choices for shot selection with risk/reward shots. Every one I have played with out there always thows the same shots at the same holes.

Again, this course will Humble you quickly, you aren't going to go out and shoot 6 down like you can on other courses.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not for begginners

1    1/13/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: kpc2004
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course called for a combo of technical + distance throws, making it a success to earn par on most of the holes. There are a few that if you get your drive through the trees you should have no problem making a birdie, while there are a few that it seems like a miracle when you earn par. all of the baskets are present, and the tee boxes are HUGE with plenty of room to run up for a power shot.
Cons: the shule here has sharp stick piles and mud because of damage from the hurricane so i reccomend taking a little power off your drive and focusing on straight shots because if you hit a tree you are 10-20 feet off the fairway in many places that you have to take a stroke just to toss it back where you have an open shot. If you have never played before, be sure to look closely at the map at the entrance, because after the first 10 holes it may get a little tricky to figure out where the next tee box is.
Other Thoughts: i would not take a begginner to this course in fear that they may be frustrated with hitting trees and think this sport is as much fun as it really is

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ehh, Ok

5+    1/13/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is the closest one to me when I am home from college. I play it quite often. It is a fun, challenging course because of the tight fairways and tons of trees to hit.
Cons: It gets really muddy after it rains. And after the hurricanes, there are trees knocked down that get in the fairway and make it hard to get to discs.
Other Thoughts: Be careful! I saw a snake that looked like a 10 foot cobra swimming in the water right next to the course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly good

2-4    12/22/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: pineappaloupe
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the tightest course I have ever played, every drive is more of an approach. It makes you work on tricky approach shots on every hole. In the winter finding a disc is not too difficult, despite some thick understory vegetation
Cons: Tee boxes are backwards and slippery when covered in leaves. Must have a Kingwood sticker or risk being towed... but I highly doubt that is enforced much.
Other Thoughts: With some effort this course could be great. Only 2 holes are ridiculously impossible and make you just want to walk up a bit to throw. If someone got the right OK's and some help, some trees could be taken down to open the course up a bit
I still had fun playing it, and have only had 1 birdie. This course requires some side arm stunt shots, which is really fun.
If I lived in the area I would love to mobilize some people to give this course some love and make it a 4 star course (which it could be)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

1    10/20/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Reyrey01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is out of the way of pedistrians so you don't have to worry about hitting someone or having any cross play
Cons: Since the Hurrican ( IKE) the park has not been cleaned up of debree's and the pads are un accessable. Debree is in the way of every hole so it made it extremly difficult to play the entire course. When finishing with hole number 1 you are cut off to go to hole number 2 inless you walk around the piles of down tree's

BEWARE OF TOW TRUCKS.. inless you live or have friends in kingwood I would not suggest this course.. I went on 6/20/13 and almost got towed away because I was not a resident of the kingwood community. B/S
Other Thoughts: Im going to wait again intill this course is cleaned up. It'll make the experience more enjoyable and challanging. When at Oct 20 2008 @ 11 AM

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, spiders, and bees

2-4    8/9/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 215  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.6 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
First of all this review applies to the course as it stands after the Aug 2008 clean-up and trimming that was done by some players and the Kingwood Parks department.

This is a prime example of a technical course. There are zero holes on which you can grip-and-rip. Every hole has you thinking of how you're going to carefully avoid the trees on your way to the basket. The sharp dog-leg holes are balanced with two to the right and two to the left.

The course map posted at the start is adequate for navigating the course when combined with the fact that each basket has one spoke painted yellow to point towards the next tee. The course is essentially two loops, one for first 9 and one for the last 9. Each loop starts and ends near the parking lot.

Large concrete tee pads. Ample parking. No chance of pedestrian interference on the course. For the most part, the course was very clean and there were a couple trash cans available.

Shade! The abundance of trees provide a nice break from the hot Texas sun and a change from most of the other Houston courses.
Cons:
After the course trimming and clearing that was done there are still a couple holes that could be cleared out further. #5 and #18 come to mind. #18 is a short 201' hole, but has the player teeing off almost directly into a maze of trees. Making it through is more luck than skill.

The course is literally covered with Banana Spiders... big 6-8cm Banana Spiders. While you're walking with your head down to avoid tripping over tree stumps and looking for discs it's very easy to walk right into one of the frequent eye-level webs. There's also a bee hive in the ground off to the right of fairway #17; be careful.

The tee pads were installed backwards (on the map too!). The pads are wider in the front than the back, but overall they're large enough that it shouldn't matter on this short course.

No maps on tee signs, just hole number and distance. Several blind holes require you to scout the fairway the first few times you play.

To balance the course it would benefit from a few longer and more open holes.
Other Thoughts:
Kingwood Parks department has now budgeted for course maintenance and as of Aug 2008 did some major cleaning of the course fairways and tree cutting. I hadn't played the course before it was cleared, but from everything I read from people who had it was a nightmare of a course before with no reasonable fairways. I'd imagine the course now plays muuuuch better. I encourage previous nay-sayers to give this course another chance now.

This is not the best course for first timers as the frustration level will be high after hitting tree after tree.

16 of the 18 holes are between 200-300 feet. At those short distances a well controlled drive by most any player can lead to a birdie opportunity. But with a lot of trees you really need to control your throws.

I would definitely play this course again if I'm on the North side of town.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 The Kingwood,TX Course

1    6/26/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 59  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2009
20 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of trees giving you shade on 90% of the course. Also, trees block the wind on windy days. Very challenging to play. Concrete tee boxes. Nice sign with a map. Restrooms. Great to play on a hot or windy day. A nice change from normal courses.
Cons: Not a good course to take beginners. Snakes and Spiders can be a problem. No holes over 325ft. Can be a little hard to find the course if its your first time at the park. Course can be a little hard to navigate if its your first time there.
Other Thoughts: A very challenging course to play. Can be fun but a little frustrating at the same time. A great course to really challenge your skills. I have played this course about 100 times, and each time, its very challenging. It can be a little tricky finding your way around, but each basket is marked with orange paint on one of the spokes on the basket, pointing to the next tee box.
If you a looking for a different kind of course that will challenge your skills, give River Grove Park a try. Also, the signs at the parking lot say, "you must have a "K" sticker or you will be towed.". This is only if you are towing a boat trailer. Disc Golfers have never been towed.

20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.