Lawrence, KS 
Riverfront DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Baskets for holes #4 and #13 looking back at wooded fairway.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 First Course Ever

2-4    8/13/2007   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: By a river, so when you get eaten alive by bugs and thorns, go there.
Cons: Not a good course for beginners. Also very bug infested with awful things in the rough.
Other Thoughts: Maybe its because I was playing for the first time and it was with another first timer, but this was not worth the drive. To be fair, I have only played it once and I was terrible, but my bad memories make me not want to return.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Now Which Pin Do I Throw At?

1    4/26/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a rather unique layout. There are 9 large gravel/sand/dirt mixture tee pads that throw to 2 separate, permanent baskets each. The baskets are numbered 1 through 18 now and there is some decent variation in many of their placements. This course has a creek, wooded holes, wide-open fairways, protected pins, and is in a nice setting. The tee pads are great for not being cement, as they are not that slick. There is a decent balance of open holes verses wooded holes here. The wooded holes are so much fun that they make this style of course totally worth the drive out. The open holes did have nice cut fairways and even though they used the tall grass style rough, it wasn't so bad that you would lose you disc in it. The creek along 6 and 15 is not real deep and just big enough and sloped enough, that it made it a great obstacle. The baskets do have a marker on the bottom of them showing you the direction of the next tee pad.
Cons: If you use the map uploaded 4/22/08, you will need to note that holes 1 and 10 need to be swapped now, as do holes 6 and 15. There are no tee signs on the course, so the map is needed your first time here. This course does need more trashcans as it was bit dirty and a bathroom would be helpful. Bug spray is a must as there is plenty of still water in the area.
Other Thoughts: I have to admit that the Fun Factor here was pretty good. I really enjoyed many of these holes. I can see that this place could get crowded easily with only 9 tee pads and a bunch of shared fairways. If I had the chance I would totally play here again and this was well worth the drive out.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nine tees, eighteen baskets, sort of weird, but some nice holes

1    9/29/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 346  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 14.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you can get past the whole shared tee/ two baskets concept, Riverfront does have some challenging and unique holes and some good wooded versus open variety. The best holes IMO are the tunnel shots on 4/13 and 5/14. 7/16 is a nice hole too as each has its own tunnel the only one of the nine that doesn't share a fairway. I also like the fact that for the most part, the holes by numerical order alternate in length. 13 is the short basket on 4/13, whereas 14 is the long basket on 5/14. Good to help challenge rec players if its in decent shape and has been mowed.
Cons: The whole one tee shooting to two baskets concept is strange and to my knowledge Riverfront is the only course in the area with this sort of a layout. I would have really just preferred they call this nine holes as most of the holes on any other course would have been just alternate placements. Two baskets are nice for player choice, but calling them 1A and 1B as opposed to 1 and 10 would help define to users that there is only one fairway than can practically be used at any given time. Terrain is your typical choppy flood plain course terrain, and while it was decent during my visit, I'm sure this becomes borderline unplayable after a hard rain, not to mention mosquito heaven. Not mowed park style for the most part, just a fairway to guide you. Hole signs are deteriorating.
Other Thoughts: Not a soul on the course when I was here, which suited me fine, but I could imagine crowds being here on the weekends during the summer. In which case, I could perhaps see some conflicts arrising on which group gets to use the teepad, and hence the hole first. Not as good as Centennial, but if that course is too crowded and Topeka or KC is too far, this is your best bet in Lawrence.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Course

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: KSsteven
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of distance with well manicured fairways
Cons: Immediately off of the fairways you find yourself in knee high-head high grass or dense foilage in the summer. Not much room for error
Other Thoughts: I won't play this course again until winter when there is little foilage to navigate. Or until I become quite a bit better and don't have to spend more time looking for the disc than actually playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Hole Mix

2-4    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of property to fit in a nice mix of hole variety. Holes varied from open to a couple of nice corridor holes as well as some pinball wooded holes.
- Fairways on the open holes were mowed. (1/10,2/11,3/12,8/17)
- I felt the use of two baskets off one tee was actually very well done. Placement offered enough change between the two that shot selection had to be varied on half the holes.
- Hole variety is average with 12 straight/2 left/4 right
- Overall very well thought out course design to mix up the hole types.
- Nice course Map
- Although the tees are not concrete, they are a quality dirt/gravel mix that was approximately 5'x12'
- Nice view of the river along a couple of the middle holes.
Cons: - No restrooms
- Minimal trashcans - course was littered
- Course got backed up with the dual basket placement. that being said everyone let me play through and was very courteous
Other Thoughts: - Dogs were everywhere, but NOT a problem at all
- Hole #3/12 has tall prairie grass on one side that can be as bad as a water hazard!
- Hole #6/15 has water in play with a creek that appears to get as deep as 3'. Was minimal and not a factor when I played.
- My opinion is boots are a must on this course. The terrain changes from grass fairways on the first 3 holes to a wooded wonderland for the next 4 holes to grass fairways for the last 2. This course is most likely a nightmare after a rain.
- Favorite hole was #4 due to the tight corridor technical nature of the hole.
- Just a very nice compact course that would allow all skill levels to have a great round

- For more detailed review see http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../f5421e99.pdf

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Use of Area

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good shot variety. Mowed/well defined fairways. Not very busy. Course flows very well.
Cons: Lots of tall grass on both sides of the fairways (you may be looking for a bad throw for a little while).
Other Thoughts: The park doubles as a dog park. It was nice to take our dog for once and let her run free of a leash. But don't be suprised if a dog comes wizzing by you as you're getting ready to throw.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

11/18/2007   3/11/2008
Review By: cooper
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good difficulty with a good mix of open shots and densely wooded shots.
Cons: The pads are not concrete and consequently are unplayable after rain. During the summer the course is enshrouded with mosquitoes due to the proximity to the river. The dual target nature of the course can make it get backed up if even just a few people are playing on the course.
Other Thoughts: Play this course in the dry times of the fall and winter and it will be much better than playing it anytime in the summer.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.