Watertown, WI 
Rock River DGC Share
Uploaded By: imoser_me Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good overall design requiring a variety of shots

1    6/24/2017   6/25/2017
Review By: kizhax
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front nine is bland. Starting with hole 12 is where this course gets interesting. The design is challenging requiring long turnovers/hyzers and straight shots with a variety of elevation. Hole 17 is a 400+ foot shot that is completely in the woods, from a slightly elevated teepad. It is birdie-able with a good drive and upshot. Hole 20 is a downhill bomber that I could not play in 15-20mph headwinds.
Cons: This course is almost unplayable on windy days, which is a shame because it is very well designed. The gusty winds will easily place your tee shots in the thick, waist-high rough along the hillside, especially on hole 12, 13, 19, and 20. Holes 20/21 will also be more dangerous when the bordering crop is grown-in.
Other Thoughts: This course is best avoided on windy days (10mph+) and could be most enjoyable the Spring and Fall when the foliage is less. I would make the 1hr drive to play this again on a calm day in late October or early November.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beauty and the Beast

5+    2/19/2017   3/9/2017
Review By: Tree LOVE
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Set in a very clean park with plenty of parking space.
- Maps are usually available on the display board.
- Practice basket
- Two sets of really nice, and relatively large, concrete teepads (pro and am) on all front side holes.
- Tee signs for each set of teepads on every hole.
- The front and back sides almost play like two unique courses which is great for all skill levels
- The front half is relatively open with a few small elevation changes. The terrain is mostly prairie land with an old orchard and plenty of long grass lining most of the fairways.
- The back half of the course is much longer, playing up and down a large hill through narrow wooded fairways. You will also need to use a variety of shot types and shaped lines to score well.
Cons: - No concrete teepads on the back side of the course.
- Very few garbage cans.
- Tennis courts and soccer fields can occasionally get in the way but it is rarely a problem and only effects a few holes.
Other Thoughts: - Hole #1 begins behind the back right corner of the tennis courts (looking from the street). You will see the practice basket first as you walk back, and the teepads for hole #1 are about 50 feet to the left.
- The back side of the course starts after you play short hole #11 (soccer field will be on your right), afterward, turn left through the line of trees and cross the street. Hole #12 starts by the big bushes and plays slightly left and behind the large treeline at the bottom of the hill.

- I enjoy the back half of the course much more, and it's almost worth a trip just to play the back side a few times by itself, which is a beast compared to the front.
- Hole #17 and #20 are by far my two favorite holes. #17 is a long downhill tunnel shot and #20 is an open downhill bomb with a great view from the teepad.
- I want to rate this course higher based solely on the back half of the course, which is excellent. I would definitely increase my rating if the front side was made more unique and challenging, or the back side got concrete teepads installed.
- It is definitely a great stop between Madison and Milwaukee and worth a trip if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the area

1    6/23/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 252  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a nice, quiet and well manicured park. There are multiple concrete tees on the first 11 holes with solid sized rubber mats on the last 10. The baskets are chainstars that are all in great condition and catch fantastic. The tee signs are now present on every hole. These are some of the best I've seen. They have a a nice hole map with distances from both sets of tees and an arrow showing the direction to the next tee on each one. The course is free to play which is always nice. There is a nice kiosk with the hole course map on it. There is a decent amount of elevation in play here, especially on the back half of the course. The back half is also pretty heavily wooded requiring more technical shots. There are also some tough lines to hit on the first half too but not as drastic as the back. The course is permanent which I always consider a bonus. This would be a fun tough round in the winter for sure too.
Cons: Not many. The rough is extremely thick in a few spots so be sure to really pay attention to your shots. Found a putter on hole 12 today in a pretty rough area off the fairway. A few of the holes are kind of bland. Especially the last hole. I understand it is just there to get you close to hole 1 again but it is not really necessary. It would just kind of be cooler to finish your round after the awesome 20th hole.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course to go out of your way to play. Almost all of the negative things in the earlier reviews have been addressed. With concrete on all holes I'd probably bump this up to a 4. It's only about 15 minutes off of I-94 so well worth the drive and not too far out of your way. Definitely worth checking out at least once and if it's been a few years since you last played I'd recommend giving it another try, you'll like the improvements.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/12/2015   1/15/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The original 9 holes is open but has enough elevation and foliage to make for challenging shots (unless you are a huge bomber who can reach them easily).

The new holes are where the excitement begins. Three of these holes are mere connecting holes to the original 9, but and they are simply longer versions of those more open holes.

The holes that wind through a huge wooded hill are among the best in the state. The first is a deceptive hole with a deeply guarded green that makes the second shot a tricky challenge. The following hole is a manageable distance that can't be reached because of the elevation and a left to right slope (making it even harder for this lefty). This is followed by tunnel shots and technical holes that are easily reached with a putter, though you rarely find yourself on the green.
There is one magnificent double dogleg downhill monster of a hole that is always gratifying to make a 3. The 17th comes out of the woods, but winds uphill nearly 400 feet and is as difficult to make 3 as the previous hole. The downhill 18th can be reached, but there seems always to be huge wind out there and one is often in the soybeans.
Cons: The tees and the lack of signage.
Other Thoughts: It's still one of my favorite destinations in South Central WI during the thaw when my locals are closed.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a current review

5+    4/30/2015   4/30/2015
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Other Thoughts: I just saw there hasn't been a review in a few years so I wanted to offer a few updates from the past reviews. Also a little background on me, this is the course where I learned to play. I was rated up to 975 at one point before a back injury but just got the bug to start playing again and I was very critical of the course.

When the back 9 went in, I hated it. It was confusing, there were no teepads, and no lines on half the holes. In addition to that, THORNS everywhere. It was not a pleasant experience and I avoided the newer 9 at all costs.

A few years later and living back in town, I gave it another shot. The club here has done a TON of work. First, there are 21 holes now. They added 3 connector holes to have a better flow between the two 9's. Next, they added rubber pads to all of the back 9's pads. Additionally, they cut down a few trees to actually make the holes playable and have removed the thorns.

I still think the course would be confusing for someone new to the course playing alone, but they have made attempts to put some additional signage out on the course apart from the teesigns.

The front is still a 2 or die kind of course and the back is much more challenging with only a few birdie options unless you have a cannon. For those of you who have had a rough experience, come give it another chance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ok front 9, back 9 is a joke

1    5/20/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 81  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads on holes 1-11 at least.

Multiple tee pad locations.

Tee signs on front 9 labeled with tee numbers
Cons: LACK OF ADEQUATE SIGNAGE!!!!!!

Most of the holes I played were straight ahead aside from hole 6 where there is a random basket placed in the middle of a thicket of trees without a clear line of getting to it.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 of this course is ok, I looked around for hole 1 and was directed by the reincarnate of Jeff Spicoli to behind the tennis courts and found holes 8 and 9 instead. I found hole 1 after playing 9 and the rest of the front half played ok. Tee signs simply giving the hole number were there, but distances would've been nice.

No signage from 9's basket to where hole 10 was, but I manged to find it after wandering around a bit. Holes 10 and 11 had concrete pads but no signs indicating them as holes 10 and 11 with no stickers on their respective baskets indicating them as such. Wanna play hole 12? Go wander across the street and find a patch of mud to throw from and assume it's hole 12. I played what I thought was hole 13, got to the basket and the sticker on the center pole said 18...decided I wasn't going to waste another moment on this course any longer.

I came up to Wisconsin with the intent of playing as many quality courses as time would allow. Luckily I'm hitting the big 3 in Madison tomorrow. I was severely disappointed with the general sense of flow in this course and was not willing to wander around to figure it out. I would have much rather played another 9 at Ripley and Firemen's than here.

This course could potentially be a nice course, but rated separately I'd give 1-9 a 3 disc rating and 10-whatever a 1 disc rating. As a first timer I couldn't get past the random baskets of the back 9 with no indication of where the tees and general course flow were. I guess that money went towards one of the many unnecessary roundabouts in Watertown.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

5+    4/11/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: ljcblink182
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
Pros: -2 Seperate 9 Hole Setups
-Front 9 Concrete pads
-Good Variety of Hole Lengths
-Good Variety of hole opsticles
-Great course design
Cons: -Back 9 grass tees (the property is owned by the school district and no permant style tees will ever be there. They are planning on gravel tees though)

-Back 9 no signs (there coming this summer)
-Some of the holes tend to retain water around them after it rains so it can geet soupy some times.
-Wish they would have different basket placements (not there fault)
-Wish there was an actual water hazard.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course for both amatures and experienced players.
The Front 9 offer a fun and enjoyable course for players of all caliber.
The Back 9 is still fun and has a few really really long and tricky holes. But its more for people who have a few months under there belt.
All in all this is a good course and a fun one.
Plans are in the works from what I hear to add an additional 21 holes in the not too distant future, which means the Rock River DGC could be one of the premier courses in the state. But as of now I am happy with the 18.

  New Pads!

5+    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: BudDanger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The tee pads are in on about half of the front nine and will be completed soon! There are a wide variety of shots, easy, hard, technical, long, etc... Members of the local club are very knowledgeable and willing to assist players unfamilier with the course or sport.
Cons: Poor markings for pads on the back nine. This should be resolved when the concrete pads are completed.
Other Thoughts: A great course to check out if you are in the area. Once the tee pads are completed this will be a course worth driving a distance to shoot.

 Was good course but could be much better

1    7/2/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: The course contained both easier hole layouts for the beginners out there and tougher layouts for the more experienced players. The buggs were not TOO bad on the course for playing at dusk. The fairways were well maintained and the hazzards were placed in good spots too keep a challenge.
Cons: The course was not marked well and was hard too find the tee box for some holes.
Other Thoughts: There was open spots near the course too practice ur throwing and there was a bathroom and drink machine nearby.

  Prepare for mosquitos

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Byteme62
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Variety of course layout means rarely the same shot twice. Decent location. The Beauty (front 9) and the Beast (back 9) really provides variety.
Cons: Back 9 drastically needs hole markings. Even after downloading the photos, it was challenging to find the holes without giving up too much blood to mosquitos.
Really could use improvement on the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Seriously consider printing out the photos for the back 9 or you may find yourself spending time wondering.
Note that the photos are identified as 1 to 18, but they renumber the back 9 starting at 1 again.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.