Gresham, OR 
Rockwood Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #8
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Not a terrible neighborhood course

1    9/1/2019   9/5/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good course for beginners, trying to develop some length in their drives. Goodly number of trees to navigate. Tightest trees on nos. 5 and 9. While it is nothing special, it's not a bad course. I think in its early days, it must of been distinctly pretty. I like holes 1 (wide-open fairway to start the round, but the basket is behind a tree), 5 (tunnel from start to finish), and 8 (along the back fence with a sloping fairway and the basket in a cove of trees). Hardware (pads and baskets) are old but holding up well. I also like the yardage and hole number painted on the pads (very helpful).
Cons: Yes, the 9 holes are crammed into land also shared by walkers, runners, picnickers, etc. Evidence of homeless living here along the periphery. One legit player told me that playing in the late afternoon/early evening is a thing not to do, has had his discs picked up and not returned. Despite the real ability to hit someone, play during the busy day. I went on a Sunday afternoon around 12:30pm. Parking lot and park was packed. You do need a map (print the one here) for your first time out. It had rained the night before, and some of the baskets are in enough of a depression to collect water and make the basket an island. Come with a stick to pull disc out and a towel to wipe them down.
Other Thoughts: I chose the course as something easier to play than my original choices (Blue Lake too long for me; two others in neighborhoods either sketchier or redneck). Portland is full of zombies (addicts) which is depressing. There is a strong family vibe here though that keeps that at bay. Many families in the park for the soccer or baseball or picnicking.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/28/2019   5/28/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 126  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has tee pads, and distances our written in the pads
Decent baskets that our in good condition
Chances at some aces
Good place to introduce new people to the sport
Cons: Very crowded course, and small area with fairways, and holes playing right next to each other. The layout is kind of dangerous and be prepared to hear 4 a lot lol.
No actual tee signs and with everything close together first timers could get a little confused.
No elevation change all flat
Other Thoughts: When paired with Vance you have a nice short 18 hole disc golf day and might be able to get first ace or add to the resume. Good place to dial in your mid range game. However not a destination place and very crowded with new players. Only need to bring couple disc can leave the main bag at home

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2015   11/12/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 61  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Okay little course good for practicing your short game
-Good amount of trees forced some different shot shapes
-Restrooms
-Decent baskets and tee pads
-Navigation is intuitive
Cons: -Really short, no great driver chances. Not a huge problem, but worth mentioning.
-Rough area. There were a bunch of sketchy-looking drunk guys sitting at a picnic table. After my round, I saw one of them had some kind of gun. I took off and I don't think I'll ever be back.
Crappiest layout ever. SO many holes you were crossing the lines of or were way too close to adjacent holes. Many holes also were too close to private property fences, the road, or the ball fields. FORE!
-This is an 8-acre park, half of which is athletic fields and the other half is where they crammed this 9-hole disc golf course. There's also a little playground, but that's it. There is no room for picnickers or other park users whatsoever and I don't blame anyone for blocking the fairways.
-A course such as this would get old very fast, with only one tee and pin placement
Other Thoughts: -This course shouldn't even be here. A central city park needs to have some simply open areas for people to run, picnic, or do whatever they please. This park is basically a crummy 9-hole disc golf course and some baseball fields, plus a playground, which really isn't all that safe, being within foul-ball range from the softball field. No area for kids to run around safely.
-The shady-looking dudes with a gun really sent me over the line, if you know what I mean.
-If you're in the area, play Vance Park twice and skip this one.
-Not coming back, period.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    9/14/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 484  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small city park, that has some walking paths and a basketball court. Definitely could see some interference from other park users, though it might just mean waiting a little bit.
- Decent amount of trees here to force some line shaping. #3 has a big pine tree in the fairway that forces a RHFH flex line or a super wide hyzer, and #4 offers a similar shot as well. #6 is a low straight shot or a wide hyzer, while holes #2 and #7 have trees to block the simple RHBH hyzer shot. At least, they take away the easiest ace run hyzer. #9 is the tightest; either a super skinny window directly off the tee, or very wide shots around the clump of trees.
- A couple holes are on the longer side... two at 270' and another at 330'. Nothing too crazy by today's standards, but it helps to offset the two 180' holes.
- Good teepads and baskets. Sign by hole #1 to aid in navigation helps, but it's pretty goofy in spots. Definitely want to take a good look.
Cons: - Definitely a shorter course, with the average hole length a little under 240'. Maybe a spot or two for a driver, even for those without a big arm.
- Layout here is jacked up. The hyzer line on #4 shoots over #9's basket, #6's teepad is situated in between the baskets of #5 and #8, and the baskets of #6 and #9 are kinda close. Heads up!
- Land is dead flat, except for a little hill on #6.
Other Thoughts: - Not the most exciting course, but there are holes that force interesting lines. Some allow for the wide shots to go around everything, but also have a skinnier direct route to the basket. #9 is unique with a thick cluster of trees directly off the teepad.
- Definitely best suited to beginners; hopefully they don't hit anybody.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for mid-range practice

2-4    7/30/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 306  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 25.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course for the first time today, and went around 3 times (-6, -3, -5). I hooked up for the last round with some very friendly locals.
--Cement tees, very long and narrow, great for this course.
--Mowed grass, highly manicured
--9 baskets in good shape
--A few mature trees and some light poles in key locations add the need to shape some shots
--Usually 2-3 ways to attack each hole, hyzer and anhyzer, so good for RHBH and LHBH throwers
--Helpful locals to show you the layout
--Simple layout, not confusing and a good use of available space
--Parking along road is free, and bathrooms on site
Cons: --No tee signs
--Multiple user park, so beware of non-disc golfers when throwing
--Some fairways are very close, and given the level of many players, it is likely you'll have some discs whizzing by you
--No on-site 'board' with a map on it of the course, also letting people know simple rules, etc.
Other Thoughts: Fairly open, although a few holes are tricky due to trees. I had a very good time. There were kids, families, disc golfers, and the usual colorful array of people that gravitate to urban parks. I never felt unsafe, and the local players I met were very nice and helpful.

I scored it low due to the short distances, but it is good for a par 9 'beginner' course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Review

5+    7/3/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I will have to say this is a fun technical little course. It is perfect for new players yet technical enough to practice your short game/ putting. There are enough trees to make shots tricky but not difficult. The replay factor is great. The park itself is nice during off hours. The grass is mowed and kept up. Nice addition of bathrooms.
Cons: Because of the tiny nature of this course some of the holes overlap. Most errant shots can get in the way of other holes. Most players are cool and will hold up. Best with two to three players per hole. Big groups will be slow and miserable.
Other Thoughts: This is a rough neighborhood. Drug deals and gangs might be a problem. Community is trying to fix this and there are many police drive by. Couple this course with Vance for a good warm up to play some of the nicer courses in the Portland/Troutdale area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rockwood Review

5+    10/16/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: Corey D
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice baskets , nice tee pads , lots of trees , easy to follow nice flowing course, lots of cool people hang out there. bathrooms onsite , free , lots of parking
Cons: lots of traffic , gets crowded its a city park , broken glass and trash all over, some rough looking groups of teens hanging out.
Other Thoughts: great course for glow discs at night

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well...

1    9/19/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 65  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The teepads are concrete and the baskets are spectacular. The course is decently designed, with many of the trees in the park coming into play.
Cons: There is zero elevation change here. The "hill" on hole 6 doesn't count. I only saw one sign, which was on hole 1. The holes were laughably short. Although I may not be considered a "beginner" anymore, scoring birdies on three of the holes is unheard of for someone with my range. The other park users seemed to all be drug addicts, and were absolutely offended that a disc might come within 20 yards of them.
Other Thoughts: I was unimpressed with this course. I'd only thrown a par round once in my life, and threw this course to a -3 with a mediocre round. Being told by a park user that my disc "could have killed" them was a huge turnoff when they were sitting in a fairway. If I lived in Gresham I would play Vance through 18 before I would move on to this park, but if I were in a rush I would hit this one. This just seemed like a typical beginner 9 hole, which just isn't challenging enough for a player who is visiting. Hole 9 was worth a look due to the trees directly facing the teepad, but so short that I nearly aced it. I was able to leave my bag in my car and play through with just two discs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Over all a fun course

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: samsung3384
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is by far one of my favorite courses, fairly good hole length, not too long not too short. This is a good course if you are a beginning player. Works for all skill types. Some trees but nothing too sinister. Perfect course for a casual day of playing.
Cons: On a saturday this course can be very crowded. Watch out! Also there can be a lot of people walking the paths in the area too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Easy Course

1    3/19/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Vidar
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to in Portland.
Cons: Not much in the way of interesting holes, not much elbow room between holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy course (flat ground, few trees, mostly straight shots), a decent course if you just want to get a quick game in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.