Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Top Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Great Course- Very Busy

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of baskets that are moved frequently.
Diverse holes, some long and open, some short with obstacles.
Right off the highway.
Challenging for all players, but good place to learn.
Flows very locigally.
Has another course, Down Under, literally right below it.
Cons: This is the most crowded course in KC which can be good and bad. You might be able to hop in with a group and have fun with them, or be stuck behind a group of beginners that don't understand ettiquette.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and advanced players that play a variety of courses.
Allow yourself plenty of time to finish as it is busy.
There is also one of the best courses anywhere, at the same park.
Great KC course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Course Down Below...

1    6/19/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a hilly park of south-western KC. Plenty of changes in elevation here. Lots of uphill/downhill shots. Excellent variation in shots here. Left to Right/Right to Left and even straight shots are here. Good mix of open/wooded here, but not as many wooded holes as I would have liked. Good variation of distances and there weren't very many "should have been par 2" holes. Tee signs were in good shape. Tee pads were the biggest I've ever seen! Benches and trash cans at most tees. Baskets were in good shape and had flags on the top of them which made them easy to see from the tee.
Cons: Grass really needed to be mowed when I was there. I spent a good half hour looking for discs in the open. Navigation was a little rough. I skipped one hole and spent lots of time looking for the next tee. Not in the best neighborhood. I saw some guys sitting at a table who looked like drug dealers. Some of the fairways with rocks really tore up the cheap discs (DX Pro-D etc.).
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. I didn't have a good day when I came. I got a disc stuck in a tree and I wasted tons of time because of navigations issues and looking for discs in the tall grass.

*UPDATE* I decided to up the rating from a 3 to a 4 because I've played a lot of courses that were worse recently and I realized that this isn't that bad of a course.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy Holes

1    4/16/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Risk/Reward everywhere
-Golfer will use every shot, every disc and every decision making scenario in their arsenal
-Great course layout. It was busy, but play was uninterrupted for the most part.
-Concrete tee pads
Cons: -Dirtiest course I've ever played. Garbage and obvious bathroom sights in the woods.
-Grass needs to be cut last week
-No trash cans to speak of
-Difficult for a first timer to navigate from basket to next tee in some places
-Noticed drug use by other golfers on the course :(
Other Thoughts: I was in KC for the weekend and just had to play. This course was within 10 minutes of the Westin and just what the doctor ordered after a 5 hr car ride. I was challenged and satisfied with this course. This course isn't in the best area, so be careful. Probably won't play here again, but I enjoyed myself for the most part.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Just a Course, but an Adventure

1    3/24/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic. The hole layouts are great. Excellent use of the land's elevation. Many of the baskets have some kind of risk/reward threat to them. They might be on a hill or next to the woods or even close to a drop off to the lower course (Rosedale "Down Under") on the same property. One thing for sure, this course has some fun holes. I really wanted to play this course again and I played it in the rain and mud. There are so many pin placements I think one hole may have even had 6 or 7 locations. This course has elevation, woods, sloped greens, good pin positions, wide open holes, tunnel shots, and is well maintained. The tee pads and signs are fantastic.
Cons: This course could use a few more trash cans, even though it really wasn't too dirty. Hole #2 makes you walk the hole from the basket back past the tee, before another group can throw on #2. It is not that big of a deal, but still worth mentioning. Navigation wasn't too bad, but you might need some help or the map for your first time. The ground also gets oddly slick when it rains. This place must be busy normally-as I was playing it in the rain there were 12 other people out on the course with me.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was excellent for me. I really wanted to jump right back on #1 and play it again. And this is really saying something consider it was raining. If it was not for the time restraint, I would have. The variety of shots and hole layouts, along with fun pin placements made this a real treat. This was certainly one of the highlights on my DG trip. Great job KC!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 nice intermediate course

5+    1/31/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: tannerdj
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice variation. Some short holes, some long, it's a very good course for the beginner to intermediate to try get out and throw some long holes and still practice on the technical ones.
Cons: really flat until about the last half of the back nine. alot of holes are just the long, straight boring shots.
Other Thoughts: Good Location, easily accessible.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hone your skills here

5+    11/8/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Mr. Sir
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course to work on your skills, it has some technical holes and some farily open ones as well. Always find a good group of player to shoot a round with. If your accurate lots of birdie chances
Cons: This park gets crowded quick. This parking is also crowded. Not that it's a true con but if your not accurate you could end up down a cliff for your up shot
Other Thoughts: Keep it on the green. Play on players. There is an am tourney there every fall the RAC. Its a great time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun open course

1    2/7/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open course than can be played easily with any skill level. Some interesting terrain changes and reasonable tree challenges.
Cons: Sometimes hard to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Can be incredibly busy on weekends, so be prepared to queue up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 quite simply...a really good course

5+    11/22/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -alot of different pin placements.
-really nice variation in types of holes, some are in the woods, or out in the open, some play right to left and vice versa. a few tunnel shots come into play also.
-almost every hole has some sort of challenge, alot of the baskets, are within 10-15' feet of either a densely wooded area, or a severe drop off. either way a "slightly" errant shot could have you practicing your wilderness survival skills.
-overall a great course.
Cons: -there isn't alot of change in elevation throughout the entire course, and most of the holes are not terribly long.

-listed among my pros are the severe drop offs looming near some of the holes. I have to include this among the cons also. I spent the better part of 20 minutes searching for a disc that had rolled down a steep, muddy drop off.

-not in the best of areas in KC. best played before dusk.
Other Thoughts: overall, a great place to play a round. A very challenging course, that will test your technical skills, and your patience. However, not overly frustrating, or difficult.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stop on by you will love it

5+    4/2/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in the KC area.
Great mixture of shots and a ton of pin placements that are moved a lot.
Elevation is used well.
One of my favorite courses to play. If I'm down in KC again I'll be stopping through
Cons: The only big con I have with this course is the people. Sometimes there are WAY to many people to deal with and trash.
That having been said, it isn't really a CON to the course.
Everytime but once I have had to wait on the first hole because of the people. So forget throwing multiple discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course and I highly recommend it. Even though it is arguable one of the busiest courses in KC, go in the morning or on an overcast day and you will be pretty isolated.

I believe there are a few bathrooms throughout as well

One of the other great things about this course is there is another 18 hole course right below it so you can get 36 in if you have the time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 133  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love how many pin placements there are, fun variety
Cons: cliffs can be a problem, especially with the proximity to the hole. don't overshoot the putts, rollers can be a bad idea
Other Thoughts: Good variety of length. One of the closer courses in the area. It is very well trafficked, so do not expcet to blow torugh the course, there are occastionally holdups. Very popular course to hold tournaments, so plese be aware of those as they hapen.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.