Georgetown, TX 
San Gabriel Park Share
Uploaded By: Cody Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Down a bit, across the creek, and through the "gateway"


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 A Typical "Run-of-the-Mill" Course. Not Flashy, but gets the Job Done.

1    3/13/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a nice undulating hill that plays well on holes #2, #3, and #7. The course is fairly wide open with a small creek playing through the middle of it. Don't look for a big challenge, but if you're in the mood for a nice casual round - this is a good spot for you. It's a heavily used park with many family facilities, and is fairly stroller friendly, so bring the family for the day and get some good practice in. However, it's just challenging enough to be a good time for experienced players.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: Hole #8 is currently missing it's basket. Doc half a disc in the rating. I would assume vandals since this is such a high volume park, but I never confirmed. Signage is there, nothing special - just a small wooden post denoting the hole number. The tee boxes are dirt, which aren't bad, but are a bit rutted from use. Being a well groomed park, you can just play the grass if you have an issue.

Parking is fairly sparse since the course is being used for so much, but the course is on the edge of the park, so you may or may not have an issue depending on the day. Facilities are present but there is a walk.

Finally the biggest issue is the simplicity of the course. A few long holes, a few slightly elevated boxes, but everything is a fairly straight shot to the box. #7 offers the only real challenge due not only to its length but difficult pin placement on the edge of the hill. #1 and #9 are boring and filler, but serve its purpose. I understand why, but it's too bad the river couldn't be incorporated into the design.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: I wish I had more positives to say about this San Gabriel because it's a nice average home course for many people. However, being so close to Rivery Park, it's just simply unforgettable by comparison. If you get a basket back in hole #8, I would give it 2.5 discs as a typical DG course. If you live in the area, want to get in a quick round, or get some good practice in with a new disc - this is your place, but don't go out of your way to get here. If you're looking for a challenge, go the extra few miles and play Rivery Park, or the many other superior Austin courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole course

1    5/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: wtafro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great place to play if you are looking for a quick round. Tee boxes are located near the end of the previous hole. Holes are marked well. Has some nice elevation changes and is a pretty nice park.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Needs some more trash cans through out course.
Other Thoughts: It isn't too far of a drive from where I am. Would like to play again when going down to DiscNation in Austin.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good re-design

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the tees are very easy to find and marked with posts after the re-design; still dirt though.
Glad they at least have one amateur par 4 on it which is # 4.
I like the openness as before, and there still are a few tighter shots to be had in that rolling field of old oaks.
Cons: My only gripe is that I wish they would've put the # 7 basket where # 5 used to be; the tee is the same though. There's no reason that they couldn't and it would've added ~80' more to the hole making it an amatuer par 4, in my book anyways, (just like # 5 used to be). # 8 really wasn't a par 4 before, so I guess we still wind up with the same overall par anyway.
Other Thoughts: I just corrected the measurements and par for each hole today by using the very scientific method of "big steps" ( 1 big step = 1 yard). Feel free to re-measure if you've got better methods than that....

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What's up with this course?

1    11/1/2008   3/21/2009
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: not crowded,nice course,lots of oaks,no poison ivy
Cons: Very hard to fine 1st,2nd,3rd,tee pad,etc.,the town should have spent more money$$$ and a better designer.
Other Thoughts: With alittle help and some signs this could be a great 9 hole course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It had very nice dirt tees, well nice for dirt. some length and trees. A nice creek that was dry when I played. Was easy to navigate.
Cons: Was a little difficult to find at first but we got there.
Other Thoughts: Very close to the awesome Rivery Park. About 3-4 miles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2008   7/16/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful little course on rolling hills (elevation changes) and massive live oak trees (low canopies and great shade) along a seasonal creek (water hazards on 7 of 9 holes after a rain).

Hole #2 has become my favorite hole of the new design but #3, #4, #6, #7, and #7 are also excellent holes.

The only good thing about the re-design is that the course now starts and finishes at the parking area.

The course is always mowed and never crowded.
Cons: Dirt tee pads.

The signs have no info other than hole #.

No trash cans.

#1, #5, #6, and #9 are now just short, wide open holes that just don't offer the challenge that this course did before it was re-designed.
Other Thoughts: With the re-design I had to lower my rating from excellent to good.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.