Georgetown, TX 
San Gabriel Park Share
Uploaded By: Cody Hole #8 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Along-side the creek and through some trees



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
You Are Forgiven

1    4/6/2018   6/7/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.924 Rating) A typical city park 9 holer.
- NOVICE FRIENDLY - A nice unassuming layout that will work for beginners through newer recreational players. No overgrowth and the odds of losing a disc is near impossible except immediately after heavy rains or throwing up high in a tree.
- UNIQUENESS FOR 9 - A touch below average in general, but for 9 holer really good. Mostly an open layout with a spattering of trees. The holes are also mostly on the short side with (4) and (7) being exceptions. Hole (4) is a legit multi-play for almost all players at 547 feet. A creek is in play 7 times. Two shots are clears, one time it parallels the left side and 4 times it parallels the right side. Elevation is mild with a few shots around the 15 foot grade change range. Hole (2) is a neat valley shot around a big tree and (3) is a nicely guarded down shot. Holes (1) and (9) are completely open featureless shots.
- CHAINS - Older DISCatchers, but still DISCatchers. They caught real well, but still failed reach out and grab my air balls
- QUICK PLAY - A single should be able to complete a full 9 in about 30 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in under an hour.
- NO POISON IVY - One of only a few courses I know of in Austin area that doesn't have poison ivy.
- LOCATION - Literally a five to six minute drive off of the interstate. Great for disc golf day trippers looking to play a warm-up round before one of the more challenging area courses.

Cons: San Gabriel could use a lot of upgrades.
- TEES - They are pretty bad. A mix of gravel and dirt and with lane pitting. Most courses in the Austin Metro that get as much play as this one have concrete tees. So not having this basic amenity is a bit of a surprise. The front of the tee is also not marked.
- SIGNAGE - Pretty much non-existent, with now even more signs missing than was noted on the previous review. I knew it was going to be bleak walking up to (1) and not seeing a course map or community board. Hole (1) was marked with a 4 x 4 wood post embedded into concrete, but it was laying entirely on top of the ground. Metal brackets that I'm sure once mounted a sign were still in place. Players will need to download the course map on DGCR or find a local to navigate this course.
- NAVIGATION - As stated above, it would be very difficult to traverse this course without a map. I joined some locals on hole (3) so I had no issues. The map is accurate except for hole (5), where the basket was relocated. Bringing a cart out here seems easy enough unless an errant disc crosses the creek away from a bridge.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Veteran recreational players should have no problem being under par here. Shot shaping and throwing long are not requirements. Advanced players will probably constantly throw 7 and 8 down with hole (7) being the most common hold-out.
- BASKET AND TEE SEPARATION - Several of the baskets are really close to other tees and fairways. The layout in general is a tight squeeze. My group had a few shots go into adjacent fairways.
- PARKING - A gravel parking lot with kids running all over the place.
- WIND - Like most open courses, the wind will likely howl here and it did on my round.

Other Thoughts: Don't come to San Gabriel expecting some disc golf epiphany. There are some fun shots here for sure, but all average courses can say that. This is a utility course that will provide a service to the locals but that's about it. Players outside the area should only consider this course if they are looking for a laid back round.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Although about average or even a touch below, this is still a nice looking city park 9 holer. Although thankfully the wide and swift San Gabriel river is not in play, it is however in view driving into the park and on the final hole. A mini San Gabriel tributary that's in play 7 times adds to some appeal. Some of the park buildings and amenities look a touch run down, but the grounds are mowed and there are some nice landscaping elements.
- LOCAL TEES - Apparently there are a few holes with unmarked local tees. I know they are there because the group I joined played them on (4) and I saw another group playing them on (5). Although unmarked, the dirt streak in the grass is unmistakable. Good luck finding them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun For A Very Average Course!

1    9/27/2017   9/28/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: San Gabriel Park is huge. Seems like I drove all over Texas trying to find the disc golf. The course starts next to the raised freeway. The signs are simple wood ones with the hole #. The # 1 sign is broke off and laying on the ground. The pads are the same crushed walk as the pathways. These pads could really use a front board as the pads are expanding forward and becoming quite an eyesore. While you're putting in the front board, router in the hole # and distance and you have quickly improved the course. The baskets are single chain Discatchers with a small number on them.

The course plays around the big baseball field and then back the same way. # 1 is a 265' open hole. # 2 is about 288' playing down a small hill and under a canopy of trees. # 3 is a short 176' run into the trees. 4 is the longest hole 547' with the ditch/creek on your right most of the way.

# 5 is a strange little 70' toss over the ditch and tall grass. Now, I love short little Ace Runs but this one is probably too short, even by my minimal standards. # 6 starts you back playing to the basket 157' and set in the trees. # 7 is 445'. # 8 is 234 with the creek on your left. # 9 is a 259' downhill toss with just one small tree to miss.

This is a decent recreational level course. Beginners could play here and not be frustrated by hunting for discs. There is almost no opportunity to lose a disc.
Cons: Holes 3 and 7 seem to be switched. You cross over to play 3 and you cross over to play 7 on the way back. I'd be surprised if the locals don't switch them every other round just to change things up a bit.

Signs are missing or broke on # 1, 4 and 9.

Pretty standard fare course.

Not much challenge for anyone other than a recreational player.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing wrong with this course. It just isn't very sexy. It's probably everyone's third or fourth option. Like we'll play San Gabriel because (Insert your reason here). Maybe there's a Cracker Barrel Restaurant nearby. Sorry, I'm sitting in a Cracker Barrel writing this. Have another sweet tea!

For such as middle of the road, average course, the enjoyment factor is here. You're not throwing 1000' over acres of grass, you're actually shaping some shots. So I will be honored to award San Gabriel DGC the average score of a 2.5 which is considered decent/typical in the other 49 United States. I have however, noticed that here in Texas an average course like San Gabriel seems to get rated 3.0 by everyone. It must be true then, Everything is bigger in Texas!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun 9 holer

1    11/23/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 322  Reviewed: 258  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun shots across and along the creek
-variety of distances on holes but mostly shorter except 5 & 7
-lots of mature trees in play on most holes except 1 & 9
-signs at each tee
-a few fun ace runs
-lots of other park amenities
-parking near hole 1
Cons: -rutted natural tees
-several wide open holes
Other Thoughts: This course is actually pretty fun. I liked the shots around the creek and the ace runs are fun. The basket on hole 5 has been moved to the other side of the creek. It's still wide open and really short but you do have to clear the creek now. Hole 7 is pretty cool: an open tee shot toward a bend in the creek surrounded by mature trees where the basket is perched on a large incline. All 9 baskets are present.

This is a great course for the rec or intermediate player but pretty boring for the more experienced player. It is a reasonable option if it's crazy packed over at Rivery Park though. There is limited space available but it's used pretty well. Holes like 2, 3, 7, & 8 require you to shape a line around or under the trees. Worth playing for locals for sure.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice break

1    1/9/2016   1/10/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 575  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 30.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little 9 hole course not too far off the Interstate. There was not much to work with, but the course does make good use of the land given.

I had no problem following the course, the tees are crushed granite so no mud and easy to see even when the tee marker was missing on #3 (I believe that was the one)

Loved hole #7
Cons: Most of the holes are well designed for what was given. Holes 1 and 9 are open field holes that could have been made longer. #4 should have been made shorter and given some distance to hole #5 that is a joke. (hole is only like 100ft and wide open)
Other Thoughts: If I lived close by, I would probably play this course again. It would be a good course to bring new players out as it has just about everything a 9 hole course should have.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Emotions

2-4    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: redsealking
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful park along the San Gabriel river with tons of amenities for all walks of life. Some shade and a nice breeze. Was not crowded any of the times I played it. Course made good use of space provided.

Hole #2 was sweet. Forced you to throw super low and far, or throw a controlled S around huge guardian tree.

Hole #4 I liked. It required a long controlled drive to a landing area with a shorter controlled up just to get the three.

Hole #7 was a good golf hole. A long drive would land you at the base of a side-sloped fairway with the basket perched atop. A controlled up shot that doesn't roll away with card you a three.
Cons: Holes 1, 3, 5, 6 and 9 were super short and had very few obstacles to traverse. There was one point where you had to cross hole 3's fairway.

Some holes just had not much to offer. Wide open tees and baskets in open space.
Other Thoughts: Park itself was awesome. My wife and daughter were able to play at a fabulous play area while I threw. Being somewhat Austin area, I expected it to be super crowded but it wasn't. Course played super fast, so it would be easy to fit in a lot of golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Park Course

2-4    11/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 240  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Typical park course with lots of mown turf and mature, trimmed up trees.

Good variety of hole lengths from 157' to 547; with a few ace runs and many birdie opportunities. Hole 4 is a legitimate 547 foot Par 4.

Dirt teepads with simple tee signs consisting of numbers on a short post. No maps or distances on the signs. With no specific designation for the front of the tee the dirt pads have gotten extended forward a bit on specific holes. No sign or post on Hole 3 and that pad looked like a runway.

Small creek (mostly dry) provides modest elevation change on several holes. Several baskets near or among trees add challenge. Hole 6 is the shortest hole at 157' but the basket placement between two huge Pecan trees makes it a blind shot from the tee. Good ace run, but if you get behind one of the trees it's par.
Cons: Holes 1, 5, and 9 are open shots across grass. Not particularly challenging or interesting.
Other Thoughts: Pretty little park with good access and parking. It looks like a course that gets a lot of use, but it is clean and in good shape.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open Course

5+    12/24/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: rmarshall
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to get out and practice.. holes 1 and 9 are set up perfectly so you can go up-hill and down-hill to get a great driving practice in. Alot of nice elevation changes, and the grass is usually kept mowed pretty well so the weeds aren't too bad. A dry creek is in play for 7 of the 9 holes, which makes a defined fairway on most of the holes. There are alot of people here usually later in the afternoon / early evening, and are all friendly. All the pads are marked with a #, and the pad points in the direction of the respective basket.
Cons: Wind is a big factor here, and can ruin your day if you use lighter discs. When it gets realy hot in the summer, there is little shade so it can get a bit excessive. The city dump isn't far, so if the wind is blowing right, sometimes holes 1 and 9 aren't very pleasent on the nose. At times, the dry creek will fill with huge weeds, making finding a disc a pain if you throw in it.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course for driving. Hole 9 is a dream for practicing driving with a nice long sloping downhill and alot of space to just let them rip without having to worry about trees or people.

Overall, great course if your new to the game, and great course for practice if you want to get out of the house for an hour or 2. I wouldn't recommend making a long trip just to play this course, but if you are in the area, it's a nice little course with alot to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

2-4    9/6/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: smokfraglerock
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Pretty course with great flow from hole to hole. Great course for beginners. Awesome pin placements on several holes especially on number six. Park plays quickly so you can get nine in in about thirty minutes. People in the park are friendly.
Cons: Not many cons on this park. The tees are dirt and do show the wear of use and years. The flip side though is that the tees themselves act as signs pointing at the hole. No trashcans are on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is what it is. A neighborhood course that gets played a lot. You don't need a large bag to play, three or four discs will be enough. This course can do great things for your confidence if you are just starting.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is my home course

5+    8/9/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great changes in distance a little elevation change but not much. Hole one is fun to drive on and if you have a big arm its good open practice for your slower discs. Hole two is excellent design, over a creek, clear a hill, land past or in between two large oaks.I love pointing the basket out to new players. Hole three is short and a good ace opportunity with a couple angles around well placed trees and a basket just over a creek. Hole four is long but holds obstacle enough to stop you after just over 300 feet, a well placed shot after can land you birdie. Hole five is short and simple but can be damaging if the creek is full. Hole six is awesome basket placement. I haven't seen a basket placed directly in between two trees with only inches of leeway any where else. Hole seven Is a nice dive with a great hill and basket placement. Hole eight is short but requires a little accuracy with some annoying trees. Hole nine is down a hill and is very open. I love to play hole one and nine for a short bit of practice and if you only have a few minutes you can play a short circuit with holes one, two, three, eight, and nine. The course is in a figure eight witch allows quick play.Excellent 9 hole.
Cons: A little easy and not to much variety.
Other Thoughts: This course has a special place in my heart. I recommend it for Georgetown and Round Rock players looking for a fun and quick place to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Beginner Course

5+    4/14/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: cris4422
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or to just practice. Great course to learn on. Not crowded. Fun to ace holes. Some wholes are pretty fun and can be challenging for different players.
Cons: Wind can effect play drastically. If it's windy I recommend going to Rivery Park. Not very well maintained as it is pretty old.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.