Marion, OH 
Sawyer Ludwig DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 345ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Quiet Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 188  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Quiet
Good Variety
Nice Layout
Newer Tee Pads
Ample Parking
Bathrooms in Park
Cons:
Very Short Tee Pads
Tee Signs (No Map, Distance, or Par Marked)
Small Navigation Issues
No Benches or Trashcans
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice sized and well rounded course. There are a variety of holes that vary in distance. Park can be a little hard to locate, but once you are there, the course is really easy to spot.

The front nine really vary in distance, but are mostly open. The designers did make good use of some matures trees in the fairways and near the baskets. Wind can be a huge factor on the front nine and can really carry your disc, fortunately there isn't a lot of rough and what is there is rather forgiving.

One navigation issues we had, which wasn't really that bad at all, was between hole 8 and 9. When you are at the basket for 8 you can see a tee pad directly to you right, just on the other side of the fenced in area in the park. This is the tee for hole 15. The tee for 9 is more towards the parking lot. Hole 9 and 10 play in the little grove next to the parking lot, and 11 is on the back side of the woods, near the baseball diamond.

The back nine are shorter and play in the woods. What the back nine lacks in distance it makes up for with tight technical shots. The fairways are tight and the rough is pretty hard to recover from. Its not too thick, discs are pretty easy to spot, but the trees can be thick and finding a route back out can be difficult. In my opinion the fairways could be opened up a bit more and a couple don't really have clear enough fairways to make a great intentional shot, in other words a couple "poke and hopes" on the course.

The course does have a couple blind shots where you might have to walk at least halfway down the fairway to spot the basket, but not so many that it is annoying. We also had a slight navigational issues once we finished up 18. We followed a huge path that was cut up into the woods that led back to the parking lot, but about 4 feet from the edge of the woods the path ended, and was blocked by a huge pile of brush and downed logs that we had to climb over. We didn't see the actual path out, so can't be much help there, but I can tell you not to follow the huge path that runs parallel to the fairway for 18 unless you want to climb through the brush pile. Another big con for me was the tee signs. All of the tees were marked with a sign, but the map of the hole was missing and no par, or distance was listed.

Overall the course played pretty well. It has a really good variety and plays nicely. If they could clean it up a bit, add some trash cans and benches it would really help with the overall look and feel of the course. The course could really use some newer, well longer, tee pads. Each tee pad was about 5 feet long and it was really hard to get a good run up. I really can't see this happening however because the tee pads are in really good condition. Another great addition to the course would be updating the tee signs with maps of each hole and especially mark the distance of each hole.

If you are in the area this is definitely a course worth checking out. It only take about an hour and fifteen minutes to an hour and half to play, so you will have plenty of time to check out some other courses in the area. As I stated before there are no trashcans throughout the course, so please remember to pack out what you pack in.

Update: Apparently we had a bit more navigation issue than we thought. When I was uploading the photos I realized that we missed hole #7 completely. I think that it must have been into the woods behind the basket for #6. From the basket of 6 you can see the tee for #8 right beside you, so we thought this was the next hole.
Update 2: Added some pros to the list.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/30/2006   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 271  Reviewed: 260  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2010
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in nice city park. Front 9 easy to navigate, the back flows pretty well. Good baskets. It starts out by a creek, but it shouldn't come into play.
Cons: The front 9 is pretty easy, no real trouble or major length. The back is newer and much more difficult (and needs some maturity to make actual fairways.) The con for me is the extreme difference in the level of difficultly between the front and back.

This course was very muddy all over when I played it so take this into consideration if it has rained a lot.
Other Thoughts: [Original Review] -> This course was originally a 9 hole open course, and 9 more wooded holes were added later. I feel courses constructed this way just don't have the kind of continuity that a planned 18 hole course has.] -
Update-> I have been informed that the course was designed as an 18 hole course from the beginning, just in two 9-hole stages. However, this does not change my opinion that the front and back are completely different in style, and I personally prefer more of a back and forth mix between open and wooded.

The front 9 would make a great course for newer players or for the whole family. The back 9 had just been added last time I played it (2006).

*2nd Update- This course has apparently matured nicely as they are hosting Am Worlds in 2010. Hopefully I will get a chance to play it again sometime soon.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course offers a good variety of shots including technical and distance shots and both Hyzer and Anhyzer. Good flow and newly redisigned which offers some great improvements
Cons: A couple holes in the woods might be classified as poke and hope especially #13 and #17. Could be improved with just a couple trees removed. The tee pads being installed might be a little short on the open holes but should be sufficient on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads are currently being installed. Holes 1-5 are complete with both short and long tees. The long tees are very creative on the front nine and will be very fun to play. The long tees on the back nine looks to have just lengthened most holes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Marion - Short Tees

2-4    9/23/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: FrankieG
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course currently has natural tees which in my book qualifies it as a temp course even if the baskets are installed.

Course layout has good flow and no obvious dangerous areas such as crossing fairways or pins too close to tees. Layout was also logical so finding next tee wasn't difficult. Grass areas were well manicured.
Cons: The front nine is very open not requiring much strategy other than "throw to the pin". Back nine tried to make up for it by having several holes without a discernible fairway. Good scores on these holes was more luck than skill but this could've been remedied with a few trees taken out of each fairway.
Other Thoughts: Pleasant enough course but probably won't make anyone's Top Ten unless they don't get of the area.

Projected long tees don't look like it will require any more than moving up a disc but am looking forward to having the final tees in.

Will also be interesting to see how short tees play in a tournament. i predict those starting on the back nine will finish much sooner than those on front nine. Once players start playing pinball on the back nine things should pile up quickly.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.