Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: natedawg Hole #5 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun Place to Play!

5+    10/4/2017   10/7/2017
Review By: Joecuzzi
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Holes are Challenging but not very long, so not to difficult if your new to the sport. Has a proshop, which is convenient. Even though I got hit by a disc on the first hole the first time playing this course, it is still one of my favorite places to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

5+    9/9/2017   9/9/2017
Review By: the_bird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a load of really old, beautiful oaks make this course scenic, challenging and unique. It is the best course I've played in my short disc golf career.

-For me (a true novice) it is really a great but fair challenge. I feel like I am punished fairly for errant shots but rewarded when I actually throw a decent disc.

-None of the holes are so long that I leave feeling totally emasculated, but they are still long enough that they force me to use all of the discs in my bag in a variety of different ways.

-It's really nice having a disc golf shop at the course to get a gatorade after a round, or to replace a lost disc (which has happened I'm afraid).
Cons: I hear the crowds can be awful, but I haven't experienced that yet. I've only played Shady Oaks these past few weeks during the week, and it has been pretty wide open during this time. Granted, it has been ridiculously hot during this time, with some of the nastiest 108 degree days of the summer. I still managed to finish 12 holes on a couple of occasions during the hot-spell, but both times was barely able to crawl back to my car.
Other Thoughts: I'm excited to continue playing Shady Oaks, and can't wait until the weather cools down and seasons change. I am sure it's a hell of a place in late fall and early spring.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course for any skill level

5+    1/29/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 32  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pin positions for all holes

-Bench/seat on every hole to sit or put your discs on, instead of the ground

-Still challenging even after playing it more than 25X+ since I began playing disc golf

-Obstacles on every hole force you to bring out all of your tools in the bag

-Any skill level can play the course and play well

-Pro shop on site

-Bathrooms on site

-BBQ pit with tables under a large wooden canopy type structure, provide a place to relax after a round or just a place to get out of the Sun

-Pedestrian walkers not a problem, maybe 2%-3% of the time. Never been a problem for all the times that I've played there

-Plenty of parking, despite being a small park

-3 practice baskets: 2 by holes 1 & 12, 1 by hole 2 teepad
Cons: -Hole 5 on deep in the jungle should be a Par 4

-Get there before doubles start at 10AM, or you can and probably will be waiting for a bit

-Holes 1 & 2 are upshots and players in front of you might forget to let the trailing group know it's clear to play, so one in that group must walk up the hill and find out. 1 isn't a problem if the basket is in the short position
Other Thoughts: My home course is still enjoyable even after playing it a ton of times. The players that play here are mostly friendly, as is the Pro Shop and it's staff. Jim, the manager of the Pro Shop is one of the nicest guys that you'll ever meet. He is one of the touring pros in the Grandmaster division. Drew Gibson, another tour pro in the Men's Open division, has spent a lot of time honing his game here. The tournaments that are held here are phenomenal and I hope to enter one very soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I spend way too much time here.

5+    1/5/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: FatLarry
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I am lucky enough to play here almost everyday. The multiple pin placements and frequency of change keeps it fresh. A mix of long and short, right and left keeps the round fun mixing shots. The creeks and trees changing throughout the year is also a game changer. Having a pro shop may be a downside for my wallet. The locals are a good group, my game has improved greatly since I started playing the Get Bent Daily random draw doubles.
Cons: Lately parking has been hard. I am amazed at how seriously folks take bag tags, it's a key chain with a number on it for christ sakes. A thousand people play here everyday, I'd like to see more help with the course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: OV for life! Get Bent.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/2/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: TeetersMcClain
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms on site
- Practice baskets near the pro shop
- Numerous garbage cans and very little litter on the course
- Concrete tees and clear, accurate signage
- Signs posted for any mandatories
- Varied hole layouts challenge all aspects of a player's game
- Course layout is both intuitive and accurately represented in course maps
-Friendly, knowledgeable staff at the on-site pro shop
Cons: - Very crowded by 11:00 am every day.
- Extremely muddy for most of the late fall, winter and early spring
Other Thoughts: -Watch out for snakes, mosquitos, and dogs off leash
- Show up 15-20 minutes before sunrise if you want to get a round or two in before it crowds up
- See the pro shop for lost & found
- Beware of numerous water hazards from September-April, as the fairway for several holes are dominated by a creek.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Sacramento???

5+    8/29/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: martianmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everything! Great layout, 18 holes, challenging obstacles, great indoor pro shop, each hole has multiple pins that are changed regularly, shady (thus the name), well maintained, plenty of friendly people. FREE to play.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc on many of the holes with all the trees. Can get VERY hot in the summer, but there is shade. Can be VERY muddy in rainy seasons.
Other Thoughts: This is my personal favorite course, I play often as I only live 20-25 minutes away.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Stoked on Shady Oaks

1    12/13/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very prominent DG community & culture. Superclean, well laid-out, superb teepads and signage, excellent baskets. High number of trees; played in fall, so leaves everywhere, but very aesthetically pleasing. Excellent flow to the layout, especially for the large crowds playing. Not too long, not too short. Amazing DG pro shop on site; easily found a rare disc I've been looking for. Benches at each teepad. Just a perfectly maintained DGC that has obviously been around for a while, and gets tons of traffic. Beautifully "broken-in".
Cons: Right up there with Golden Gate, Condon, & Sunset for busiest DGC I've played. Not too hilly.
Other Thoughts: This course compares with De La Raza in San Jose. Joined up with a couple college kids on 5th hole, and overall had a really great 1st time out.
==================
Uniqueness: A (a truly nice course; aged like a fine wine)
Difficulty: A- (tons of trees; more elevation would be better)
Fun Factor: A (great hole designs; tons of shot variety & drive options)
Aesthetics: A (gracefully aged for a 30 yr old course; litter free!)
--------------------
Overall: A

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 SacTown's Most Popular

5+    9/19/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: EG ChainRacker
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -all the local pros play here (Oates, Billings, Anthon, etc.)
-2 practice baskets
-biggest pro shop in norcal on site (THEY GOT EVERYTHING THERE)
-everyone plays here
-short and technical
-multiple pin locations
-daily doubles every day
Cons: -not alot but it does get crowded sometimes and alot of people do lose discs here alot but i have yet to lose a disc here
Other Thoughts: don't come and play here unless your ready because this course is not begginer freindly

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Good the Bad and the Ugly

5+    12/23/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has all the shots with many alternate pin locations.Tuff technical yet forgining to to novice
Cons: Increased popularity has overwhelmed course traffic causing huge crowds causing very slow play. Too many lets go just to get drunk and stoned and cause a ruckus type of people who dont respect this game or people for that matter
Other Thoughts: Pro shop on site. But dont expect great customer service or product knowledge of anything other than popular Innova prouducts.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great!!!

1    6/30/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: bongripper0420
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offered alot of different types of shots, mostly techinal, with very few wide open shots. Lots of unique uphill/downhill shots. Layout was o.k., fairly easy to follow. Pro shop on site is a big plus in my book. Locals seemed really friendly and willing to lend a hand.
Cons: REALLY DUSTY!!! Not used to playin a course that was that dry and come out as dirty as I did!!
Other Thoughts: All and all this was a unique experience for me as I will probably not be in the area for a few more years. really enjoyed all the courses in northern cali. and cant wait to get out here again. If your in the area I definetly reccomend this course. A must play!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.