Sterling, IL 
Sinnissippi Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #8
4 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    8/22/2019   8/22/2019
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 408  Reviewed: 241  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a beautiful multiuse park. The course itself generally seem to stay away from most other park activities minus the walking/biking trails in a few spots. The baskets here are Mach 3's that are older but still catch pretty good. Most have orange flags on the top which helps with spotting them. Every pin has multiple locations with at least one hole having six which I don't believe I've ever seen before. Many others have 5, some 4, I'm pretty sure every hole had at minimum 2 pin locations. This was awesome to see. Out of almost 400 courses played this was easily the most pin locations I've ever seen. This would really up the replay value. The tee pads are concrete. All are level, grippy and plenty big enough. Holes 14 and 19, I believe it was, share a tee pad but it's flared out so that it faces each hole equally. One tee pad per hole. The flow of the course, while not necessarily straight forward, isn't too hard follow once you find hole 1. The tee signs have a next tee arrow on them. I'd advise using the map on this site or Udisc though. The signs themselves show a basic hole map, hole number, par and all pin locations with distances to each pin. They also have a color coordinated washer bolted to the sign pole indicating which basket location is in use on many, though not all, of the holes. Throughout the 27 holes you will traverse through different types of terrain. The front 9 is mostly flat with a smattering of trees to contend with on all the holes. The middle 9 generally plays along the south side of the park which is located along a tree line with a drop off behind the trees. The drop off gets larger as you move from 13 to 17. Landing off the fairway will most likely cost a stroke, depending how far off you went. Good natural OB. The final 9 holes are similar to the front nine but with more elevation. Hole 24 is a fun blind throw over a slight rise to a downward sloping fairway and a green with a small creek wrapping around it. Probably the signature hole here IMO. The course wasn't real busy on a Thursday afternoon but I'd imagine it can get pretty busy, especially on weekends. The course was in fantastic shape when we went. The grass was freshly mowed and the park was very clean. There's even a driving range type area along the main entrance road. It has 5 baskets all in a line. They appear to be 50 feet apart starting at 150 feet maybe. Not exactly sure, I didn't go over there but it was another cool touch I've never seen anywhere. The course design here is really well done. They did a fantastic job of fitting 27 holes in here without laying them on top of each other. Very nicely done.
Cons: As far as cons, I loved the fact that they had the colored washer indicating the pin location. However it didn't always match the actual pin location. Also the colors on the signs are really starting to fade making it tricky to differentiate between the different colors. Not on all of them but quite a few. Without a map navigation probably would have been a nightmare. I'm not sure when they updated the layout but I don't believe there is an accurate course map by the parking lot. There were two guys who were confused when we pulled in and said to not bother looking at the map. I didn't, and I told them where hole 1 was according to Udisc. They proceeded to throw hole 12 though for some reason. The map on Udisc is accurate though. Another con is the walking trails can be dangerous. My wife nearly decapitated a guy on hole 22 I believe. The pin was located over the trail on the right. She threw and as her disc was tailing off to the right this guy came flying over the bridge and up the trail on a bicycle. There's no way to see someone coming over that bridge from the tee pad up the hill.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a super fun course. If I'm ever in the area again or even passing by I'm going to try to get back here. Is it a destination course?...probably not. But it's a damn fun course that is worth playing if you're anywhere near here. There are 2 teeny tiny 18 hole courses nearby which would serve as a good practice/warm up area before playing here. I'd definitely recommend this one though, even as a stand alone course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

5+    6/12/2019   6/26/2019
Review By: Fademan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 37.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course just had a layout change after adding 3 more holes (27 total) and more pin locations added to some holes. Mixture of elevation shots with and without trees. Great concrete, large tee pads and the pin locations are always different. Good parking, good local group keeps it in amazing shape.
Cons: There is enough land in this park to locate another 18 hole professional course without any crossover or interference. Wish they would put one in for bigger tournaments.
Other Thoughts: Regularly scheduled play times, Wednesday mixed doubles $6 5:30pm

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rockin' By The Rock River

2-4    6/24/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 102  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good shot variety, course will test every aspect of your game by the end
- Gorgeous park setting is a pleasure to play through
- Good course equipment with occasional benches by some tees
- Elevation change is used to great effect on many fairways and greens
Cons: - Middle section of the course can be a bit repetitive
- Identifying the current basket position can be difficult on several fairways
- Odd routing towards the end of the course
Other Thoughts: Sinnissippi Park in Sterling is a gorgeous park overlooking the Rock River. This is a multi-use park with multiple walking paths, playgrounds, and pavilions, but disc golf is the focus for much of the park, and opportunities for conflict with other park users is fairly limited. A few fairways play along or over roads or walking paths, but traffic has always been low during my rounds, and any waits for other park users to move out of the way were minimal. The course is well maintained and a pleasure to walk through.

Over its 24-hole layout Sinnissippi will challenge just about every aspect of your game. Low ceilings are frequently a defining feature, and being able to have your disc finish both left and right without high hyzer/anhyzer routes is important. Those with a strong roller game will find many holes to their benefit. Elevation change is present on many holes, with baskets frequently placed on treacherous greens, speed control and placement is just as important as being able to throw for distance to score well here. The course starts and ends great, but a run of fairly typical, flatter, parks style fairways in the middle of the course can get a bit repetitive. That said, I don't think there are really any bad holes, with the possible exception of the completely open Hole 9. Hole 5 is a fantastic signature hole downhill over a creek to an island green.

Routing can be a bit odd after Hole 18, so much so that a recent tournament changed the order of the last 6 holes as well as using an alternate, temporary Hole 21. So, maybe bring a picture of the course map your first time through. The baskets on the last 6 holes are also a bit odd with lighter chains, though I didn't experience any issues with chain-outs or spit-throughs. The rest of the equipment is in good shape, a few more benches would be nice, but not a big deal. As many other reviewers have noted, however, a system for indicating which basket locations is currently in use would be great. Even when you are able to see the basket, telling which position it is in is not always easy. This is partly a result of there being 3+ positions not all that far from each other, and partly due to the signs being slightly unclear in their depiction of the fairway.

Sinnissippi is a great course with enough variety and challenge to appeal to a wide variety of disc golfers. It won't beat down recreational players too badly, and won't bore more advanced players, with several holes that are fun to throw over and over again. I've enjoyed each of my rounds here, and the pleasant scenery is a great bonus.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sinfully Delicious Course

5+    7/25/2015   1/20/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is more than modestly wooded, the front 9 highly technical and challenging. As open as many fairways might appear from the tee, the middle of those fairways will contain well places trees and the greens will be very well guarded. You are going to have to bring your 'A' game for approaches (and it won't hurt to be long and accurate off the tee). My personal favorites are the blind 3rd and the highly technical 8th, which comes to an elevated pin mounted in the stump of a dual trunk tree. Stunning.

The back 9 appears more open, but again the trees are well integrated into the fairway and green design and each hole is well protected. Any sense of sameness on the back 9 is mitigated by the wide variety of distances that alternate nicely, and by the variety of left, right and straight shots you will have to make.
Cons: The course is extremely flat.
This old guy is a little put off by SIX holes in the extreme distance range (400-520), but I guess that's part of the challenge when you get older: making pars on the holes that even the bombers will have difficulty with when the design is so guarded.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a fun round

1    10/30/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 97  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 19.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A great multitude of pin positions, particularly on the front 9, and then also through #18. Very different lines for all. I used multiple drive-types the whole round.
- Great distance variety throughout the course. Hole to hole, and even within holes on different placements.
- Good tee pads. Three obvious generations, front 9, back 9, last 6. Front 9 are deteriorating a little, but serviceable.
- Good baskets on the first 18. Older, well-loved, but definitely in serviceable condition.
- #5 - this is definitive hole of the course. 300 ft downhill shot to a shallow brook, which creates a natural peninsula "island green" 5 feet below on the opposite side. Wide variety of great pin locations, all great. Actually kind of a shame this comes so early in the course.
- #21 - great rolling fairway along a hillside peppered with mature trees. A couple lines to take here, with the more direct route having a greater risk for rollaways. Love that design fundamental.
- #22 - short hole, but picturesque, requiring you to pass a tree gap in a gully 50 feet out. Nice.
- #23 - certainly one of the more scenic and better hole designs on the course. Great approach and green alongside a natural limestone wall. Relatively a short hole, but difficult enough to make up for it.
Cons: - Flow of the course is not very good. (Although thanks to good tee signs, navigation is just fine. Note my differentiation between the two.) Just not very intuitive, quite a few long walks in the 2nd half of the course and final 6.
- Quite the long walk from #24 back to parking at #1. I'm sure this was better than re-numbering the entire course for better flow (which could be done), but with such and old course, usually best not change it up.
- Relatively repetitive middle of the course, #9 - #20.
- A number of safety hazards concerning fairways and walking/biking paths. #2, #3 (big time), #5 (big time), and #23. #23 is a great looking hole, but holy cow could you nail a walker or biker. Probably not with a straight on drive, but a bad tree kick or knockdown can fall right onto the path below you, 80 feet in front of the tee. Plus players finishing this hole have to walk back up to the next hole via this route. I did not see any warning signage for non-players. The roads throughout the park are also in play on many holes.
- No markers for pin placement, which was a huge pain on the front 7. With so many options, and all of these holes being essentially blind, it amounted in a huge amount of frustration for me. While frustrating for a first-timer, I'll bet it's annoying to locals when basket positions are changed as well (if ever).
- Not a huge fan of the Disc Nation baskets installed on 19 - 24. Certainly is a sudden change after the first 18, with the lighter chains. Did have 1 spit-out.
Other Thoughts: - I threw a lot of rollers in the middle of this course, which was repetitive for me. I don't even have the best rollers in my arsenal. But I'm just not a good enough player to feel confident in hitting the lines around all the mature trees for good distance. Some very low green ceilings as well in this part of the course.
- I think it's pretty obvious to see the evolution of this course, which is neat. The front 8 is probably original, with the old #9 tee pad still in place, which obviously sent you back to the parking lot and #1. Then the back 9 was added for a full 18, and then these final 6 recently.
- The front 9 itself would be one of the best 9-holers I've ever played, if it was stand-alone. The addition of the next 9 was a good addition, but not a great one. The last 6 are a solid addition that really end the course on a high note, particularly from a visual/scenic perspective! Great job.
- I'm very torn on rating this course. 24 holes + some good visuals + signage + multiple pins...all fantastic stuff. But over half of the holes are very bland, and only a few holes that I found grand in their design. In general, avoiding mature trees is the name of the game, as it is in most community park courses. This is probably better than most 3.5 park courses, but it's unfortunately just not quite a 4.0 for me.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A regional standard

5+    10/8/2014   3/22/2015
Review By: AHagglund
Played: 61  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The first 8 and the last 5 holes are the highlight. As has been mentioned, Hole 5 is probably the standout, though I think I like the tee shots on 7 and 18 more and would play these holes all day if I could. Holes 20 through 23 can all produce big scoring swings as they are relatively short but require tight lines and pose major hazards to errant shots.
2)Probably the biggest plus for this course is that it can be played and enjoyed by players of all skill levels--a tough feat to pull off from a design standpoint. I would rate its difficulty as intermediate, but presents enough length to give the stronger players places to stretch out their arms, but it is not so punishing that it will be frustrating for the rec players.
3)It's a well-maintained course. And because it's mostly open, it doesn't become overgrown with poison ivy and nettles during summer like some of the other good courses in the area.
4) Pin placements keep the course fresh. I don't know how often they are changed, but it seems to be every couple of months.
5)I feel the length is appropriate, and most of the longer holes play downhill
Cons: In spite of everything good about it--and there is a lot-- this still feels like a city park course to me. There are a lot of unique, exciting holes, but they are mixed with an equal number of the mundane flat, straight holes where you throw around a tree or something that are prevalent in city park courses.
-A concealed walking path cuts across fairways in a couple places. (5 and 23 are the most glaring examples) On 5 in particular, a low laser-beam type shot could really hurt someone.
-Hard to know what placement the pin is in (see other thoughts). A lot of the pin placements are similar to one another, maybe 30-50 feet different and since the course is relatively open it's tough to gauge distance. Even as many times as I have played the course, I still choose the wrong disc 3-4 times when playing a new layout. Also, on the back 6 the pins will occasionally be in positions not indicated by the signs
Other Thoughts: Simple solution to helping players identify what position the pins are in: update the bulletin board whenever the layout is changed.

I always have a good time playing here, and I plan to keep coming back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park

1    9/3/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: Scramble630
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park, beautiful landscape
- Baskets were aged but all kept in good condition(didnt notice any unattached chains or bent baskets)
-Tee pads were aged but all worked perfectly fine
-Tee signs were very nice
-Multiple pin placements, this is awesome if you frequent this course regularly.
- Course design forces you to use many different shots.
-Short and long technical holes but also has plenty opportunity to launch some drives on more open fairways.
-Fair amount of garbage cans
-Fair amount of benches/picnic tables
Cons: -walkpaths cutting through fairways on some holes
-no tape on baskets or anything to direct you to the next hole AFTER you finish a hole.(there were arrows on the tee signs but i suffer from severe short term memory loss so by the time i'm finishing up a hole i can barely remember what par it is)
-mulitple pin placements were confusing at times and made the round take a bit longer than expected. some sort of indicator on the tee signs and this is definitely a 4/5 course
Other Thoughts: We had a great time playing this course and will definitely be back. If you're playing this course from out of town as we were, definitely check out Air Play Sports in downtown Sterling. Very nice selection of discs and accessories.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE this course!!!!!

1    7/18/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: WhippetChucker
Played: 228  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1. Great mix of distances...short, medium, and long holes
2. Manicured city park...guys were cutting and weed-eating the day I played...super beautiful!
3. Holes 5 and 23...you want to throw them over and over and over...
4. You have to throw several shots...hyzers, anhyzers, straignt, uphill, downhill, spikes, ceilings...
5. Choices...multiple lines with varying degree of risk and reward on most holes
6. Multiple pin locations

This is easily in my top 5 courses played!
Cons: This course is 900 miles from Denver...wish I could pick the whole thing up and drop it where I live!
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

1    6/8/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing I can say about Sinnissippi is that its a course that will make you a better player. It forces you to throw a lot of different shots: long bomber shots, low ceiling shots, rollers, sidearms, putter shots, etc etc.

The course is truly a fun course that really tests every aspect of your game. Its a mostly open park but the obstacles are placed well to really make you think. You can stand on a hole and think that a certain shot is the best shot and realize there are two more options off of the tee.

The course has many different alternate pin locations. This is both a pro and a con. See below for the con. Some holes have between 4 and 6 alternate pins. There are so many different options with this course that it truly is mind boggling. The difference in the amount of strokes between the hardest setup and the easiest setup could easily exceed 8 to 9 shots.

The course features 24 holes and that's a good thing here because the extra 6 holes are nice holes. Hole 23 in particular is just a fun hole to throw. Its straight downhill with a huge rock cliff to the right. Hole 20 is also one of the more interesting and scary holes you will throw, as it dives straight downhill from the teepad to one of the fastest greens you will ever play. Hole 5 is probably the signature hole, a blind, downhill hole to an amazing island green.

You can really tell that a lot of effort has been put into the course. The tee-signs are phenomenal, the maintenance of the course is great and the alternate pins really show a lot of hard work and dedication.
Cons: There's not a lot of bad things with this course but there are a few things worth mentioning:

While the alternate pins are great, they are maddening in one regard: you just don't know what you are playing on any given day. When I played the course my buddy and I were beyond frustrated that we had to continue to walk ahead (sometimes walking nearly 3/4 of the hole) just to find the location of the basket on that day. In particular, the first half of the course really had some blind shots and required a lot of searching for what position the basket was in that day. This could easily be fixed by a simple "washer" system on the tee signs, along the lines of what Highbridge Hills features. Simply place a screw on the sign for each pin and place a washer next to that day's pin. We spent a lot of time walking up the fairways to location the position of the basket and it was frustrating. I will say that the back half of the course was fairly easy because most of the holes were not blind shots.

The baskets are beginning to wear and are showing their age. We had a few putts go right through the chains and you can tell by looking at the baskets that they are older.

Other Thoughts: This is an area of Illinois with not too much in terms of disc golf, and having a course like this is a huge bonus. This is a phenomenal course with a great setting. Kudos to the area for putting in and maintaining such a nice disc golf course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 3.3

1    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 152  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sinnissippi seems to be one of the area's more popular courses, and I made sure to stop by on my way home from Iowa this past weekend. Here's what I liked about the course:

*Decent golf, particularly toward the beginning of the round. Hole one was a blast.

*24 holes! If you are looking at this review then you probably like disc golf, which means that more disc golf is viewed as a good thing :)

*Nice mix of shots demanded. There are short holes and long, hyzers and anhyzers. Everything that a good disc golf course should have without the intensity of a super wooded course.

*Beginner friendly... as mentioned above, this is not a super wooded course where a beginner can lose their discs or get thorns in their leg etc. If you are the type of person who is considering taking a girl disc golfing on a date, then this may be the course for you!

*Signs and teepads seemed to be in good condition.

*Scenic views of the Rock River surround the course, so make sure to take some time to walk around the park and enjoy the view before or after your round.
Cons: I had heard quite a lot about this course prior to my round here and everything I heard gave me reason to have high hopes. I'd even heard golfers proclaim that this course was among the best in Illinois.

Unfortunately, this course did not live up to the hype, and I would NOT consider it to be in the top 15 courses in IL. Here's what led to my disillusionment:

*Safety... This is a very dangerous course that interacts heavily with park traffic. The best golf holes on the course are holes 1-5, but these holes cross walking paths, go near pavilions, and in general make no attempt to isolate themselves from the rest of the park. Many pins are either next to streets or in line of fire from other holes.

*None of the holes here blew my mind. They were slightly above average for a public community park but after the first few holes there was no elevation change, and most holes are fairly open with just a few trees separating the tee pad from the pin. I would consider the golf slightly above average

*There is no indication at the teepad of which pin position the basket is in... This caused some frustration as most of the holes have between three and five drastically different pin placements!
Other Thoughts: It may not be worth a special trip on its own, but be sure to hit up Sinnissippi on your way to or from the Quad Cities.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.