Sterling, IL 
Sinnissippi Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Solid course

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 86  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played in the sinnissippi open and had a ton of fun. Overall the course is well thought out and has some great diversity.

Shot variety- there were multiple lines on each of the 24 holes. Some had low tunnels which might require rollers as well as holes where you might need some nice finnesse hyzer flip shots through smalller gaps. Ther was ob throughout which made you think even more about what shot to take. I felt like everyole had a regular route and an aggressive route.

Elevation- elevation was a prominent factor on the front nine. Big downhills on 1,3,5,7, uphills on 4 and six.

Multiple pin placements- during the tournament an easier layout was played during the first round and a much longer, more challenging layout was played the second round. This allows for alot of varietyfor locals. Each pinplacement was clearly stated on the tee sign. If i remember correctly the the distance variety from long layout to the short layout was 15 hundred feet. Thats a pretty big game changer. I also enjoyed the distance variety. The longest hole on the short layout was 465 with the shortes hole being 200. The second round the longest hole was 550 and shortest around 225. This distance variety betwen layouts turned easy threes into tough 3s and 80 ft upshots into 150ft upshots on some of the longer holes.

Creative pin placements- some of the long pins were place precariously close to rivers and one of the baskets was even place on a large tree stump.

Amenities- there is a pavillion with bathrooms and the tee signs were pretty good.

Favorite holes-
#5 downhill shot through a wooded gap onto an island surrounded by a river with the river being ob. Approximately 370-480 feet depending on pin placement.
#23 top of the world shot- you start on the top of a large canyon throwing a tight downhill shot to an open green area. A cliff borders the right side. Road is ob. Makein for a tough island-like shot. Hole length approximately 260 feet.
Cons: Saftey issues- some of the holes were to close for comfort. A shanked drive could easily result in a disc on another fairway. "Fore" was used often during our two rounds

The baskets for the back six needed to be mach 3's as the baskets used seemed to have a cheeply made chains.

Back nine worse than front- if i was just rating the front nine and back six this would easily be a 4.5. I think the lack of elevation on the back nine left more to expect.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the middle of suburban illinois and without the saftey issues and a better back nine it could become a real gem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  awsome course!!

5+    12/17/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: thedilla
Played: 119  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Everytime i come to this course it gets better and better.
1.concrete pads & signs
2.great use of the land
3.beautiful park and views of the rock river
4.4-5 different placements for most holes
5.24 holes now is awsome give the couse
more elevation
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about this cousre thats why i rated it 5 stars because it such a beautiful and scenic course.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Illinois if your in sterling or driving by i suggest u play it.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  "one of the best courses in Illinois"

5+    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bigriv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -nice signs
-concrete pads
-great use of the land for all 24 holes
-restrooms
-trash cans and benches throughout the course
-3-5 placements for each hole
-nice memorial putting area (rip Leo)
-and finally the "Jetman" yea!!
Cons: -the only thing i could think of is the 6 new baskets need to be mach III's(to many spit outs that are dead center)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses Illinois has to offer it will test even the most advanced players you'll learn how to play disc golf here...Hole 5 is a beautiful downhill blind island green shot(the best hole in Illinois) in my opinion...Hole 8 in the tree placement also known as the "stinky skunk"...Hole 23 the cliff shot a beautiful limestone cliff... Those are just some of the signature holes on this course but there are also many more. If your anywhere close to this course its a must play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fun Fun (Doug Doug Doug)

5+    7/8/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 246  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course. There are tons of pin positions out there and the course has been new to me every time I play there. The course is now 24 holes instead of 18. The front 9 here is very filled with elevation and is in turn the best part of the course. Hole 5 is one of the most signature holes in IL. It is a downhill gap shot through large trees onto a legit island. There are a couple par 4s here depending on the pin positions. Hole 7 is fun downhill rip hole. Hole C is very cool hole with 2 routes, an outside hyzer route and an up the middle route with the fairway sloping towards ob. The cliff hole E is always a classic and a tricky shot to stay in bounds on.
Cons: The signage and pin position indicators are not the best. This course has a large amount of flat holes. Many of the holes are too open and allow for a hyzer too often. The new golden baskets feel cheaply made and I have seen a lot of bad spits with them.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you use a spotter on hole 5. Watch for other park users.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/8/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Mofrisbee
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course has it all long holes short holes water hazard trees lots of hills
Cons: the signs to the course are needed and to next hole
Other Thoughts: I did lose a disc on 16 I will play this next time I'm in town. It meanders throghout the park giving players a nice long hilly walk

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Sir E-O
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple basket locations for each hole that can change from week to week. The grass is always mowed. There are uphill, downhill, over the stream, far-far-away, and close-up shots available. Sometimes, there is even a free disc on the ground. This park gets lots of play and you get to see some really good players throw.
Cons: It can be difficult to play alone without a spotter. Sometimes, you have to search for basket location, which slows game play. There is also falling walnuts in the autumn. The only other con I can think of is, fatigue. Which for me, equals errant shots and frustration. This is a personal con, I'm sure.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, which is an extreme pro. I have been playing Sinnissippi for over 10 years. I have seen it morph many times over the years. It has become a very full and rich, play experience. I used to work (in Florida) with a pro. He stated that this was one of his favorite parks and knew it well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Park Disc Course

5+    5/15/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: EventHorizon
Played: 118  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful scenery. Nice big trees which gives the course challenge and might. There are a variety of placements for the pin as indicated on the signage. Signage is well done, clear, and all intact. Concrete pads are well done with being level and have good traction. Stream on a flew holes greatly adds to the course and it diversity of pin placement layout. Also seen there is some new concrete pads poured for new pins. Maybe upgrading course to 27 holes to close the gap between hole18 and 1.
Cons: Just a few minor things not detract from this course. When you come into the park, there was no signage that I saw to indicate where to drive, to park and start the course. I ended up starting on 10 and wondering over to find hole 1 after 18. Another thing that slightly detracts is the signage and all the possible pin placements. Some holes had up to 5 possible placements which made finding some of the front 9 difficult and somewhat guess work. I like a course having 2-3 possible placements, but 4-5 placements are a bit much. I understand the idea to change up the course so it doesn't grow old, but 3 placements should be enough on a 18 holed course as spread out as this. Last thing was the quarter mile gap between 18 and 1. Once you finish with 18, there is a pretty good walk back to parking area and hole 1. This might not be an issue in the future because of the new concrete pads i seen that seem to play the way back to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Despite starting at hole 10 and playing through from there, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. To date I've only played 51 courses but of those, I really liked this course and would drive out of my way to play it again. You get a little bit of everything at this course. You have holes that have elevation changes, huge oak trees, big pine trees, over a stream, long pins and short. With the surrounding scenery, i think the locals are very lucky to have such a wonderful course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Public Park Course

5+    3/10/2009   9/30/2011
Review By: DeertayD
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Sinissippi Park is a very nice public park. The concrete tees are in good condition, and the signage is adequate. Nice baskets are featured on all of the holes. The first five or so holes are great. Elevation changes, large trees, and water hazards make the first handful of holes very fun and challenging to play.
Cons: This is a very busy park. It has a number of shelters, softball fields, and walking trails that have a high volume of use. This takes away from the "scenery" that makes disc golf fun for me. After the first five or so holes, they become very typical public park disc golf holes. Not extermely challenging or scenic.
Other Thoughts: I lived in Sterling for about two years, and played this course multiple times, as it is the only quality course anywhere around. I can't remember a time that our group didn't have to wait to throw for people using the park for other activities. This becomes frusterating, as it makes your round take much longer than it should. The layout could be much better, as shelters, softball fields and walking trails come into play on many of the holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sinnissippi is a very good course that features some solid variety and challenge for intermediate level players.

The front 8 here are 4.5 star caliber holes, #5 is a long downhill shot through a tree lined fairway, with the creek forming a water hazard around the basket... one the coolest holes I've ever played. #3 and #7 are also phenomenal downhill shots.

The challenge is consistent throughout the course with either trees, distance, elevation, or tricky angles to contend with on pretty much every hole. I loved the amount of distance here, and most players will need a driver off the tee on almost every hole.

Course flow is nice, tee pads are roomy, and the baskets and signs are in good shape. There are rotating pins, but the current pin placements are not listed on the signs. In all but one or two instance you can see the pin from the tee, so this isn't an issue. The park is located just off the river, so there is some great scenery here.
Cons: This course comes up short of a 4-star because of the final 10 holes. They're fairly challenging, but they aren't particularly interesting and remind me of a standard multi-use park course. This area is pretty much completely flat and there is less distance than the first section of the course. #18 is a decent hole (long bomb, with huge OB area to the right), but nothing else from #9-#17 was memorable.

Small beef, but #18 ends like 300 yards away from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Sinnissippi is one of the better 18ers I've played in Illinois. It's worth the drive from Chicago if you're a serious player or looking to rack up your course count.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sinnissippi=G.O.A.T.

5+    6/12/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Nick from Sterling
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/12/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes 1-8 vary in elevation and most have foilage.
Some have Water Hazards that are very fun to play.
Each hole has cement tee boxes and a sign telling par and distance, along with direction the hole is in (very helpful going up hills.) Great baskets.
The park is very scenic, and nature is all over. Last time I went, a fox walked within 25ft of me.
Lots of animals, a great shelter, 3 softball diamonds, and a couple good playgrounds. Good parking lot.
The first 8 holes are the funnest to play, specifically hole 5. Hole 5, in my opinion, is the best hole in Illinois. That hole alone is enough to go to the course, the other 17 holes add to that.
Cons: Holes 9-18 are rather boring, as you are just going across the flatness of Illinois.
Also, You have to make a decent walk if you want to go from 18 back to 1.
The park is often crowded.
In the front 9, its pretty easy to turn an errant throw into a missing disc, due to the poison ivy and stinging nettles, heavy wooded areas and steep, loos dirt hills.
Other than that, theres not much bad to say.
Other Thoughts: Best home course ever? yes, yes it is.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.