El Paso, IL 
South Pointe Park Share
Uploaded By: ElementZ Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
4 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Iíve Played In El Paso

1    11/21/2018   11/23/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (0.980 Rating) A short beginner's course needing some love.
- QUICK PLAY - When I start my review pros with "Quick Play" it's not a good sign. The course can be conquered in 20 to 25 minutes by a solo played.
- MAINTENANCE - The park was in decent shape. There were no tree limbs down and trash was minimal. I can't say for certain if its mowed regularity, but considering all the other adjacent park activities I'd say it's done at least every other week.
- LOCATION - They'd have to start putting disc golf courses at rest areas to get a course more convenient off of the interstate. Less than a one-mile drive from the exit. There are also gas stations and fast food places at the exit. Thus, this is the perfect bagger stop.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Beginner distances and obstacles. A good course to learn the basics of game, but its lack of depth will stymie personal development.
- NAVIGATION - Good enough. There was a missing sign on (6) and it was the only time I had to pull out my phone to check my map.

Cons: Too small of a course to please even Recreational players.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Despite the par listing on site, this is at best a par 28 course. Six holes are 250 feet or less. The obstacles are non-existent on several holes and the rest are comprised of a spattering of trees. Hole (3) is likely the only hole I'd personally play as a par 4 being beyond 400 feet and with a few blocking trees 100 feet short of the basket. In all, I think 840 rated players will average 27 out here.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Baggers better hope for an empty park on their arrival. I personally got an empty park, but it was 40 degrees out. There are lots of other park elements in play from walking paths, to athletic fields to playgrounds. In addition, several tees are way too close to the prior basket and overall it feels like the holes are squeezed together.
- CHARACTER - Other than baskets and tees signs, there isn't much else. No multi-tees, no alt baskets, no practice basket, no seating and natural tees without a defined line. The tee signage is starting to fall apart and as noted above, its missing on (6).
- CHAINS - Every basket out here is either beat up, listing or both. Most of the baskets are machIIIs, but a couple are DISCatchers. The basket on (9) has the rim 18 inches off of the ground.
- UNIQUENESS - Not the blandest course I've played, but close. All 9 shots are park style plays. Every shot can be played straight ahead. The distances vary from low 400s to upper 100s. Water makes a fringe appearance once on hole (6), but it can easily be avoided with a play to the left. Elevation is no more than 10 to 12 feet on any one hole.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Pointe Park is not going to win any awards for its natural beauty. Yes, there is a nice pond at the center of the layout, but everything else around it looks run down a touch. Back yards can be seen on several holes and I'll just say that these are not McMansion properties. The park buildings are older and a couple look in bad shape. Chan link fences are in view the whole time.

Other Thoughts: There will be no reason to check this course out unless a player's direct route to another destination is through this town, and they're out of gas, and they're hungry, and they're a course bagger. For me, I showed up here because I checked off all four of the above boxes. The course may work for newer players in town but that's it. After a town's player has advanced to the novice level they will need to start planning trips to other towns or start creating a hybrid unmarked layout here or they'll be stunted in their disc golf growth.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty boring

1    11/21/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 16.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat park around a pond. Most holes have a few scattered small trees in play to encourage some different lines. The pond adds some risk on a couple holes if you really shank it or on a windy day. There are descriptive tee signs with hole layout and distance (though the symbols for the tees and baskets are very strange). The park is nicely groomed with mowed grass and no trash or vandalism that I saw. The flow is easy to follow, with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course is pretty boring, with mostly short and open holes. A couple holes add some length, but not much else, with only scattered trees in play, not enough to force anything other than hyzers on most holes. The pond isn't used very well to add challenge or interest to the course. There are also a lot of safety issues here, especially on a nice day when the fields are in use. Walking paths, picnic areas and soccer fields are all in play on several holes, it's hard to imagine playing safely on a nice summer day. The baskets are not the best to begin with, and a couple are bent and loose, making them catch even more poorly.
Other Thoughts: The park available for this course really doesn't have enough going on to have the makings of a great course, and the safety issues on top of that just make it less of a good place to play. If you want to add a course to your list, go for it, otherwise I wouldn't go out of your way. Beginners will find the course pretty accessible, though less accurate players will exacerbate the safety concerns. More experienced throwers won't find much in the way of challenge or variety, it won't test many different skills or make newer players try any new types of shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    9/4/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 471  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is spread out well in a small park, which allows for some decent variety.
- One hole plays by a forested area, and small trees are present on most of the holes. A little line shaping is needed to avoid them, but nothing too extreme.
- Good use of the pond for one hole, as a RHBH hyzer route has to clear a small corner of the water.
- Very good tee signs, grass teepads in good shape.
Cons: - Some of the holes are too short and too open to be enjoyable, just a tee sign and a basket in a field.
- Holes play around a lot of walking paths and other man-made obstacles, as well as through soccer fields. Almost half the course can be occupied on game days.
- Baskets in bad shape, but I have seen worse.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, an average small 9-holer. There are some decent highlights that make it memorable, but not remarkable. Definitely a great course for a beginner to learn the ropes, possibly a good stop for a pro just for a decent hole or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town DG

5+    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 348  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 17.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located very close to the interstate and easy to get to. It is a nice park and you will not have to look for a disc as it lacks rough. It's a good option to stop for food and play a quick 9 to stretch your legs. There is a swimming pool with facilities open during the summer monthes.

9 Hole Recreational Disc Golf Course

Tee signs for all 9 holes.

Good variety of distances.

This is a great place for practice. I have never seen another golfer while playing. My dad live 7 miles away and says it's rarely played.
Cons: It lacks challenge for more experienced players.

Tee pads are natural grass.

The baskets are very old and some are beat up pretty good. Some putts fall out thru the bottom of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice sports bar down the street. Great place to catch a game and food.
Koozis Bar & Grill
197 North Fayette Street
El Paso, IL 61738-1007

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pass on El Paso

1    10/23/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 438  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good range of hole lengths (from 200' to over 400')
-Signs are informative and include hole length and flight path
-Easy to follow navigation
-A couple interesting holes: 5 is a straight shot from the open into a grove of trees and the shot has to go over a slightly raised dam. 6 is a big left to right safe shot with a large willow tree in the middle, or a big risky right to left shot over the pond.
Cons: -Lack of facilities: no bathrooms or water that I saw.
-Grass tees
-Tee signs indicate that you throw from the right side of the sign, which is fine until you get to hole 6 where you are throwing from the dam, and the right side of the sign is on the side of a hill. Thus, that system doesn't really play well in practice.
-One of the baskets (7, I think) looks like it had been hit by a mower.
-A few holes interfere with other park activities (fishing, walkers, kids on the playground).
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is your usual small town Illinois course, it serves its purpose as a local's rec course, but it seriously lacks intriguing holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 El Paso Frolf Course

1    8/4/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 155  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course covers the whole park which is very well taken care of.
-It's a pretty park and the course flows very well from basket to tee to basket to tee, etc.
-The maps at the tees were very useful.
-It's usually very empty. This park doesn't get very much attention.
Cons: -Hole #2 goes through a soccer field! This can get a little tricky if there's soccer practice going on.
-The sign on hole #1 was upside down (I'll try to upload a picture after this review)
-The baskets weren't exactly sticking straight up out of the ground...rather they were on an angle.
-Most of the holes require you to go over walking paths which means that people often can be in the way.
-It's very apparent that the disc golf course was added waaaaaay after the park was completed. As said, some of the holes go over soccer fields and hole #8 even goes over a playground!
-I had no way of knowing where to tee off from. All there are at the tees are maps of the hole and it just says "Be sure to stand behind this sign when teeing off".
Other Thoughts: I understand that El Paso is in the middle of no where, and it's great that they put in an effort to attract the disc golf community, but this course just doesn't cut it. If you're in the area, I'd drive to Peoria or Normal to play the better courses there. But while you're here...you could always check out the Kappa Kabana. ;)

This picture basically sums up the whole course:
Basket 9 in the middle, Basket 8 on the right along with hole 9 tee, and Basket 3 in far left background.

http://i32.tinypic.com/2m4vtox.jpg

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Really Worth Stopping

1    6/10/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: jdizzle3id
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It was directly off the highway so it was a good pit stop for our road trip. No bugs.
Cons: Quite a few of the baskets looked like they had been hit by trucks making it difficult to sink a putt. There were a lot of holes that played through childrens play areas (swing sets and such). There weren't many obstacles to avoid unless they were in the tee area.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't stop there again.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.